The Home Depot

  www.homedepot.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated August 17, 2014
Updated August 17, 2014
4,753 Reviews

3.3
4,753 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot Chairman and CEO Frank Blake
Frank Blake
2,991 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits (in 209 reviews)

  • There were some good benefits for part-timers, such as a discount on your cell phone bill (in 190 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to (in 135 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits (in 241 reviews)

More Highlights

459 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Lack of work life balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous
    Current Employee - Anonymous

    Pros

    Experience with a large company

    Cons

    Horrible work life balance. Hard work is not appreciated. It's all about who you know, not what you do.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Reward performance and results versus the shmoozers and "special clubs".

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 18, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core ... More

  2.  

    Great! Supervisors are great, and its a fun environment to work at.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate  in  Galveston, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Galveston, TX

    Pros

    Definitely a change to grow and progress in Home Depot.

    Cons

    To be honest none lol

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Lack of caring

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate  in  Monticello, NY
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate in Monticello, NY

    Pros

    It was close to home.

    Cons

    Cut throat. Everyone out for themselves. My Supervisor stole time be taking extended breaks and allowing his favorites to do the same. When I reported it in a written letter to the store manager, she could care less.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay more attention to employee concerns. I quit because I was not given a day I needed off after my Uncle passed away.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 15, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 3 people found this helpful  

    Low pay, low pay, Low pay

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Associate  in  Goleta, CA
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Goleta, CA

    Pros

    None, none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none none

    Cons

    Low pay, expect much pay lirrle

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay the employees more, starting at $15/hr

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  6.  

    Soul crushing!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Specialist  in  Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Project Specialist in Denver, CO

    Pros

    Brainless, easy, work. I walk really fast around the store which gives me a great workout. Free wifi enables comparison shopping, and access to the brains of the master tradesman retired in the aisles ensures continual learning & development!

    Cons

    Keep your mouth shut around managment - any comment that could be interpreted as 'negative' will not bode well for your future @ HD.

    Staff are expected to promote the HDX brand manufactured in china, then volunteer for home improvement projects to help local American veterans.

    Filthy break room, avoid the hot dog wagon on the front apron.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    There does not seem to be any distinction between leaders and managers in HD culture - change that!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    Cashier

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate  in  San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX

    Pros

    Honestly, this was the most awful job I've ever had especially when considering opportunity, pay, and benefits. It's soul crushing.

    Cons

    The crushing boredom is awful. Standing in one spot for over eight hours is mind numbing torture. Customers treat you with contempt, and there is no hope for a promotion, except for more responsibility with no extra pay. You are not a person to this company, you are an expense.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat your employees like real people, and pay them a fair wage.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 7, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. Our associates are key to our success. We strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected, their contributions are valued and they have ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    disappointed

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    I love the job but is was the managers

    Cons

    different managers do things different ways

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 7, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We wish you were happier with your current management. Please call 1.866.698.4347 and select the option for the Associate Advice Council Group ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    No Chance of Work-Life Balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Operations Manager  in  Romeoville, IL
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Romeoville, IL

    Pros

    Compensation for the position is fair if the hours worked were closer to industry standard. Unfortunately in the building I worked at the hours were much greater than the standard 55 hours or lower.

    Cons

    Minimum work weeks of 65 hours and not uncommon to work 5-6 14+ hour days. Extremely high turnover of management. No support from HR or Sr. Leaders. Held to extremely unrealistic goals for daily business metrics (far exceeding stretch goals).

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Support your distribution leadership teams by developing policies and standard practices. Enforce those policies and practices consistently and structure the business more closely to the industry standard for work-life balance. Develop a culture where your associates are proud to work for The Home Depot.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core ... More

  10. 2 people found this helpful  

    Very mixed company!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Special Services Associate  in  Alsip, IL
    Current Employee - Special Services Associate in Alsip, IL

    Pros

    Not many pros to this company they are very unfair to the works they over hire and under pay they over look experience and take favoritism to the maximum.

    Cons

    Unfair management, had work but light pay. they give very little hours and when they do give hours they usually give a large un bearable work load.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be more fair to your employees and pay better

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We wish you were happier with your current management. Please call 1.866.698.4347 and select the option for the Associate Advice Council Group ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Not interested in commitment. Just want employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist  in  Cumming, GA
    Current Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist in Cumming, GA

    Pros

    Terrible co for motivated people

    Cons

    Management not up to par

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be honest in all aspects

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We wish you were happier with your current management. Please call 1.866.698.4347 and select the option for the Associate Advice Council Group ... More

Worked for The Home Depot? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.