The Home Depot Reviews

Updated July 28, 2015
1097 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
5.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
173 Ratings

Pros
  • The pay allows part time workers to survive at below poverty levels (in 254 reviews)

  • Good benefits (we wil see what the new BCBS plan holds) (in 225 reviews)

Cons
  • days per week - So bad work/life balance (in 170 reviews)

  • benifits are minimal for part time employees (in 282 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

1,097 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (62)

    Changed my opinion about retailing

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Loveland, CO
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Loveland, CO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    The Home Depot has a solid moral compass. They aren't about sacrificing their ethics for the sake of a sale, which I love. They also hire a diverse group of people and give a lot back to the community. They offer a lot of benefits and little treats for their employees. Although they push their associates to meet quota, they're realistic about what can and can't be accomplished.

    Cons

    Home Depot has two different sides to it. Store associates and those of us considered "store support" who are payed by the vendors but work in the stores 100% of the time. I constantly hear about how store associates are stressed out by management and their hours are being rearranged a lot, cut, and they often are stretched thin due to lack of full staffing. "Store support" associates who do merchandising have it better than those who work in specific departments. However, you never really gain knowledge unless you have the time to look things up and read packaging.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting associates based off of favoritism.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 29, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    assistant store manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    awesome company to work for. Really takes care of the people

    Cons

    the schedule is not very good.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  3. Great place for a person in college

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lumber Sales Associate in Knoxville, TN
    Former Employee - Lumber Sales Associate in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedules and great people

    Cons

    Minimum hours during non peak seasons

    Advice to Management

    Continue to cultivate accommodating atmosphere


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Store Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Arlington, TX
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Arlington, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Work flow in a positive environment, steading and functional work performance.

    Cons

    Not enough hours, wasn't advices about work contract.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience in your time at The Home Depot.


  6. Department Supervisor

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Coral Springs, FL
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Coral Springs, FL

    I have been working at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Working for Home depot is awesome. The benefits are awesome and the eye insurance is great. There is many opportunity for growth in the company .

    Cons

    The only down side for me was the price of the health insurance for the whole family

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  7. Assistant Store Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Bronx, NY

    I worked at The Home Depot (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Starting pay rate scheduling Bonus Benefits Promotions

    Cons

    None for me enjoyed my experience with the management team for noticing my work

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  8. Executive Leadership

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fenton, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fenton, MI

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Company Core Values, belief in their people, and focus on putting customer's and their needs first. Excellent community involvement opportunity and a true sense of belonging.

    Cons

    Too Many layers of leadership that at times may distort the focus and disrupt the front line associates from the customer. Seeing a switch in ideas and culture currently and not sure what the long term direction is but "balance" is not a real world ......

    Advice to Management

    Say what you mean, and mean what you say. Be truthful, transparent, engaged, and real. The corporate politics and buddy system is a black cloud that the shareholders do not need.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience in your 5 years at The Home Depot.


  9. THD

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parking Lot Attendant in Cheyenne, WY
    Former Employee - Parking Lot Attendant in Cheyenne, WY

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    The people at THD are one of it's greatest assets. An individual that's customer service driven can and will go far in this company. You can and will develop many good friendships along the way.

    Cons

    An individual seeking to work as I did, as a Lot attendant must be prepared to work hard. There's a lot of heavy lifting involved.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to THD Management team is that their profits would go up if they just had the staffing on those busy days.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  10. If you are going to work retail, this is the company to work for.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Designer in O'Fallon, IL
    Current Employee - Kitchen Designer in O'Fallon, IL

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I came to Home Depot to help people improve their homes. I have stayed 16 years because the company values everyone who works there.

    Cons

    The same challenges you will find working retail anywhere....the schedule. Not having a set schedule is the worst part of working retail.

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to Bernie and Arthur's vision. Take care of your people, empower them to take care of the customer and that will take care of your bottom line. Find a better way to calculate what a store should spend in payroll. Find a way to retain people with experience.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience in your 16 years at The Home Depot.


  11. Freight Team Associate/ Recovery Team Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate/Recovery Team Associate in Brownwood, TX
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate/Recovery Team Associate in Brownwood, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    The Home Depot is very dedicated to it's employees and it's comunity.

    Cons

    Hours to accomplish tasks in.

    Advice to Management

    Loved working for the company. Very organized and thorough with keeping employees up to date with courses and skills.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing. An important part of The Home Depot is giving of our time, talent, energy and resources to our community and society.



Showing 1,097 of 7,528 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.