The Home Depot

  www.homedepot.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated August 20, 2014
Updated August 20, 2014
4,774 Reviews

3.3
4,774 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot Chairman and CEO Frank Blake
Frank Blake
3,007 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits (in 209 reviews)

  • There were some good benefits for part-timers, such as a discount on your cell phone bill (in 190 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to (in 135 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits (in 241 reviews)

More Highlights

1,405 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Freight

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate  in  Halethorpe, MD
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate in Halethorpe, MD

    Pros

    For the most part people are nice.

    Cons

    Occasionally you have those who don't like you and try to get you fired. Pay could be better especially for the hours I was working I was practically full-time. You rarely get credit for your work. It is hard to move up even if you are one of the best/hard working employees.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 31, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  2.  

    Kitchen and Bath Designer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Kitchen and Bath Designer  in  Conway, AR
    Former Employee - Kitchen and Bath Designer in Conway, AR

    Pros

    Will work around your schedule and had a family type atmosphere. Everyone helped each other, both employees and the customers. It was a great place to contribute and have a big impact when tornadoes hit, storms hit, or other disasters.

    Cons

    Pay was low for having a family but you could survive, especially if you were retired or putting yourself through college.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management has changed since I left but I would say keep the store clean and to plan instead of running around trying to get it up to par when you know someone from corporate was coming.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 31, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing. An important part of The Home Depot is giving of our time, talent, energy and resources to our community and society.

  3.  

    It is a professional retailer that truly gives you the mindset to think about the overall company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    It is the overall professionalism. From HR to management the oppurntunity to grow and learn about more is paramount and a tool that many use

    Cons

    Dealing with customer is the toughest thing to deal with. Basic retail atmosphere

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Being more transparent with information

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 31, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. Retail associates are the face of The Home Depot for the thousands of customers who walk through the doors each day. As a retail associate you can expect to interact in a ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 7 people found this helpful  

    Complete Chaos. Totally unorganized. Management has favorites.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good starting pay and dental benefits for part timers

    Cons

    Yearly raises with no negotiation

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    My 12 years with HD

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Kitchen and Bath Designer  in  Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - Kitchen and Bath Designer in Oklahoma City, OK

    Pros

    Loved my job, I really liked doing designs for customers and making them happy with their choices

    Cons

    Management in this store is not very good to some of his associates. He rode me pretty hard, wrote me more than any one has ever done. Matter of fact I don't think I ever got a write up until he came to this store. I made good money and loved my job, but I did get very sick with an uncontrolled Diabetes. I was sick all of the time and didn't know why. Now I do. The stress from management contributed to my glucose levels being so high all the time

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    He needs to be personable and absolutely stop riding people on the floor. He did this often. I thought this was never approbiate. and I personally had this done to me and I witnessed several other associates that were being repromanded in this manner

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 25, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. Our associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s network. We appreciate ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Family-like work enviroment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cashier  in  Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, Quick training, opportunity for growth, fun,

    Cons

    It gets a bit tiring since every employee in the building will eventually have to lift anything from small bricks to 40 lb bags of cement.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to employees more, not just management employees but lower level employees. Especially cashiers, since they are the ones who go face to face with customers and know what they complain about.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Department Supervisor

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor  in  Lake Forest, CA
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Lake Forest, CA

    Pros

    Before, the company offered a flexible schedule, and provided part-time benefits. I have friends who still work here, and I have heard that has changed.

    Cons

    Always short of staffing, to save money for company= angry customer, not as good cuts service as should be, lazy
    co-workers, not all managers are as helpful as some.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Support your people!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 25, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to customer service.

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    By the seat of your pants

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Overnight Stock  in  Danvers, MA
    Current Employee - Overnight Stock in Danvers, MA

    Pros

    Associates are nice to work with, Do your job all is good.

    Cons

    No one pays attention to the real issues untill its gone past

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    people work there, not robots, they feel, think, work laugh play just as you do. communication is the key to success..

    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 25, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Excellent,wonderful and loved working there.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cashier  in  Hillsboro, OR
    Former Employee - Cashier in Hillsboro, OR

    Pros

    Loved the fact as a cashier we got moved around a lot meaning giving people there breaks u might start off at register six and the head will move u to returns or lumber and or self check out.. I was never just at one register for my shift. Excellent excellent benefit's for both full time and part time worker's.

    Cons

    You either fit in or you don't.. If you don't they won't talk to you much this even includes management.. They will try and get you to quit on your own.. They only higher for part time you will NOT get full time hour's.. Very few are full time... Getting transferred sucked for me they would Not transfer me, because I was a good worker and went above and be on my job.. If they don't like u or how u do thing's or what ever it might be you will get your transfer almost right away.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Wish I would have got my transfer or I would be still working for the Home depot.. Most of the management was poor at the store I worked for... Some of the head cashier's need to be spayed on so management know's what they are doing and how there treating us and the customer's

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 25, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot. Our nearly 300,000 associates share The Home Depot’s “orange-blooded” culture ... More

  11.  

    Sales Associate

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Everyone working there is very friendly and helpful, easiest part time job you will have. Most days just walking around talking to customers. If you are customer focused you will do well

    Cons

    Pay scale and availability of full time work

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    need a regular schedule

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Worked for The Home Depot? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.