Thomson Reuters Reviews

Updated August 27, 2015
217 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
1.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters President & CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
84 Ratings

Pros
  • Work life balance can be good if you have a good manager (in 474 reviews)

  • work from home options/flexible schedule (in 92 reviews)

Cons
  • My work/life balance is not respected (in 47 reviews)

  • It is incredible that the senior management are so intellectually bankrupt that they have lapped-up everything that the Eikon management have sold them (in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

217 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (2)

    Anonymous

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Lots of nice people to work with.

    Cons

    They talk the talk but don't walk the walk. Preach 24/7 technology to customers but don't let employees work from home - very old school. Lots of politics.

    Advice to Management

    Train, train, train managers to manage, not play favorites, not be in cliques, not bad mouth employees, and to learn basic business principles.


  2. QA Engineer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters as a contractor

    Pros

    The peo and nice. Mle I worked with were friendly

    Cons

    My son died at 25 years old and they fired me because I was crying.

    Advice to Management

    Have a heart


  3. Helpful (1)

    Used to be a good place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Eagan, MN
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are outstanding. Work/life balance is good and benefits are ok.

    Cons

    Pay is far below industry standards. HR knows this and intentionally keeps the pay low. This leads to lots of turnover so staffing is always a challenge. Good employees are leaving the company in droves. In addition, the company focus on cost cutting (mostly through layoffs and outsourcing) is leading to very low morale and only adds to the loss of good employees.

    Advice to Management

    Start making TR a good place to work again. Focus on employees and listen to the engagement surveys. Bring pay up to par with other companies to stop the loss of the best employees.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Aug 13, 2015 – Human Resource Partner

    Thank you for your feedback and valued contribution.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    It's lucky they are basically a private company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Thomson culture and way of managing information and software businesses created a world-class franchise. The previous generation of Thomsons were classy and savvy.

    Cons

    Lost their way buying Reuters. Integration was an abject failure. Current senior management, especially David Craig and Jim Smith, are clueless

    Advice to Management

    Move on to a different top team - try Brian. Break up the company and sell it off


  6. Helpful (2)

    Architect

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Not many, unless you are white, straight and skill-less. If you have all of the three, you future with Thomson Reuters is limitless.

    Cons

    Is a wonderful place to work if you are white, straight and have no appreciable skills

    Advice to Management

    Please try to hire a diverse group of individuals. Start with hiring intelligent people. You are already have an abundance of stupid.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Jul 30, 2015 – Human Resource Partner

    Thank you for your feedback and prior contribution. Diversity and Inclusion is a part of the mandatory Code of Business Conduct and Ethics. At Thomson Reuters, we foster an inclusive workplace where ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    Account Executive

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Tulsa, OK
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The people on any level below management, are great. I truly loved working with my coworkers and have relationships all over the US thanks to working at TR for the last 11 years.

    Cons

    It is a very hard place to work. It takes 60 hours+ a week to do this job well. Management is a HUGE MESS. The company says they are customer focused, until the customer needs something. It used to be a fairly good place to work but now, it is almost too much to handle.

    Advice to Management

    MANAGE DOWN and stop worrying about your own careers so much.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Jul 23, 2015 – Human Resource Partner

    Thank you for your feedback and prior contribution.


  8. Helpful (1)

    Sales Order Specialist

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Family friendly. Flex time.

    Cons

    Layoffs, outdated systems, no raises, low salary.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Jul 17, 2015 – Human Resource Partner

    Thank you for your review and prior contribution.


  9. Helpful (5)

    Very bad place to work...you have been warned...

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    There are absolutely none...place is HORRIBLE!

    Cons

    Promote people who truly do not deserve it; but are favorites and have clearly been at the company way too long...Management spends tons and tons of money on parties/meetings, but when it comes to the people that really work hard, nothing...constantly changing...layoffs galore...petty, cheap, I could go on...just stay clear!

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Jun 15, 2015 – Human Resource Partner

    Thank you for your contribution and review. There will be challenges along the way with overall improvements. While this is a platform to initiate topic(s) of conversation, the solution(s) will come ... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    Run Screaming!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Eagan, MN
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There is a fabulous gift shop on site, you will never have an excuse to forget to buy birthday cards again! They will also take your dry cleaning at the gift shop. They allow you to take advantage of their negotiated rates with FedEx and UPS. Shuttle to YMCA across the street.

    Cons

    Worst environment/culture I've seen in 25 years of working. People hide in their cubes all day. First company I've worked for as a financial analyst where they refused to let me know who the accounting people were that supported the division. Have been a top performer at other large employers such as US Bank, but my supervisor felt like she had to nit pick every e-mail I wrote.

    Advice to Management

    Wow, where to start? I think I'll go with what another reviewer said: na na na na, na na na na, hey hey hey, good bye.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Jun 9, 2015 – Human Resource Partner

    Thank you for your review and prior contribution.


  11. INTERN

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multi Commodity Exchange in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Multi Commodity Exchange in New York, NY

    I worked at Thomson Reuters (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good environment good perks good incentives weekend off goo area large size of office

    Cons

    long working hours monotonous work less scope less knowledge to apply no growth

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Jun 9, 2015 – Human Resource Partner

    Thank you for your review and prior intern contribution.



Showing 217 of 3,485 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.