Thycotic

  www.thycotic.com
  www.thycotic.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Thycotic Reviews

Updated September 3, 2014
Updated September 3, 2014
17 Reviews
4.3
17 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Thycotic CEO Jonathan Cogley
Jonathan Cogley
14 Ratings

10 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Awesome job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great location, awesome management, astounding benefits, and overall just a great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Constantly challenged to grow your horizons and expand your abilities.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the great work, and provide more feedback to your employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Thycotic Response

    Sep 6, 2014CEO

    Thank you for your review. We will look at ways to provide more feedback - we did just start a 360 degree review program using an outside 3rd party - this is helping to get more info for the leaders ... More

  2.  

    Constant Learning, Great Environment for an Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic as an intern for less than a year

    Pros

    As an intern, I pair with the full-time software engineers and do the same things they do. There are no boring intern tasks that undervalue my skills - I work on real product code that goes into production. I learn a lot from my experienced co-workers and we learn a lot together when we come across an issue neither of us have experience with. There are a lot of very intelligent programmers here to learn from and share ideas with, making everyone a better software engineer at the end of the day. I also get a prorated amount of vacation days since I'm part-time, which NONE of my friends in college with internships receive. The company also offers the option to pre-load your metro SmartTrip card at the beginning of the month and take out those funds pre-income tax, which is a small but helpful benefit. There is no limit to the amount of hours I can work so long as there is work to be done, and Thycotic is VERY flexible and reasonable regarding my schedule with college. There are no unrealistic expectations for me and an unlimited amount of opportunities to learn new things here, making it a joy to come to work. No one is overly critical or judgmental in the workplace - ideas are valued and shared on a regular basis, and decisions are usually team-based (even if subject to approval of those higher in the chain of command). Similarly, management is usually readily available if questions need to be answered or advice needs to be given. The development process allows for every bit of code to be reviewed by several pairs of eyes, allowing many opportunities for feedback from different engineers. Location-wise, Thycotic is very close to the Farragut North and Farragut West metro stations, so the walk to them is only about a block or two - this makes the DC commute a bit less daunting. The overall laid-back and productive environment of Thycotic make it a great place to work without micro-management or criticism - there are rarely any "slow days" where work seems to drag on and be unproductive.

    Cons

    The commute to DC can be rough and time-consuming for some people - my commute to and from work is 1.5 hours one way (this is definitely worth considering when working anywhere in DC, and not wholly specific to Thycotic by any means). Although the pay for interns is fair, I know several (intern) peers in college who work elsewhere with higher hourly rates than mine ($17/hr, $18.50/hr, $21/hr) - this is mediated by the benefit of paid time off (which none of those interns receive) and the flexible schedule I work. While some may prefer a higher hourly rate for a high-level part-time internship, it is worth taking those things into account when talking about compensation, along with the constant learning/growing as a programmer and possibility of becoming a full-time employee down the road - being an intern at Thycotic pays off in the long run in more ways than just the monthly paycheck. Speaking of which, the monthly pay can be tricky for some people to deal with - most companies are bi-weekly or even weekly, but this is really a personal preference that will just have to be adjusted when working at a company that pays monthly.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    One-on-one meetings are definitely a great time to address any concerns and give any praise where it is due - interns especially value positive feedback to let them know that they are pulling their weight and improving from where they started. My experiences in the past six months I have been employed at Thycotic, including the one-on-one meetings I have had with management have been very pleasant and productive - this is merely forward-looking advice.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great environment and awesome industry with ability to grow.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great team. I really enjoy the people with whom I work across all departments.
    - Great company culture. Laid back but most everyone works hard. People have autonomy for the most part. Micro-managing is nearly non-existent.
    - Working in a fast paced and growing industry. Industry trends are always changing which make for an interesting and exciting challenge.
    - Travel both domestic and international.
    - On-par compensation plans, depending on your department.
    - Honest care from management. Small business usually has this as people work closely across all departments.
    - Most people care about their craft. "When you stop learning, you die."
    - Hard work is starting to become recognized more often.
    - Very strong collaborative environment!
    - Organic growth with no external funding. One of the few if not only companies in this space/industry which is not backed by a multi-million/billion dollar company or VC fund. This means company cares about the solutions we sell and the problems we solve. No external shareholders or management dictating the direction of the company.

    - Overall great place to work and would definitely recommend this company to people looking to work in a small but growing environment in a very fast paced and ever-changing industry. There are waves to be made, and this company is definitely making waves. We have dramatically increased our brand awareness and constantly eating away at our competitors stake in the industry. With a little more time spent on development, we will soon outpace our competitors and be the gold standard within the PAM space. As long as we keep to our roots and do what we do best, we will continue to shine and make a name for ourselves.

    Cons

    - Some collaborative tasks are hard to get passed through management. However this trend is shifting and teams are given more autonomy.
    - Come review time, you will have to prove your worth to the company to receive bonuses. Sometimes hard for non Type-A personalities to achieve this.
    - Certain individuals can dictate projects or shut down ideas because of their tenure and/or strong personalities - once again this trend is starting to shift. Sometimes senior management either ignores and/or is blind to this happening.
    - Personal growth is slow but feasible. Remember, this is still a small but growing business. Not everyone can be a manager.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep on doing what you are doing. I think the company is definitely headed in the right direction. I would continue the trend of giving teams more autonomy and only stepping in when problems are imminent. Even then, it's good to let people bump their head and learn from mistakes (unless it will be a very expensive mistake). I think a clear picture of the future of the company and the direction management wants to take it, needs to presented to the company in a more open format. We are definitely given the "why" things are happening, but where do we see the company in 5-10 years, and how are we going to empower our teams to take the company there? Are we giving the teams the right tools to succeed?

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    I'm very blessed to work here.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    zero micro managment
    positive people
    fun atmosphere
    hard workers all around
    people care about their craft
    knowledgeable staff
    great perks
    great flexibility
    great industry
    food, so much food
    casual dress
    great paid time off (PTO)
    great recruiting methods
    growing organization
    bright future

    Cons

    learning technology is challenging and there aren't a ton of reading or video resources to draw from so you need to have a bit of a go get em attitude about learning your craft, inexperienced sales team but at the same time, they're so excited to get better and learn and grow and everyone is humble

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    have more recognition meetings baked into the schedule for motivation and positive news and individual recognition

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Better than I'd dreamed

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineer  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Engineer in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at the company is your friend. You will constantly be encouraged in what you do and constantly challenged to improve yourself. I am excited to go to work everyday in this amazing atmosphere, doing what I love daily.

    Cons

    I have yet to find anything that dissatisfies me, and I've been working here for a year.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the brilliant work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Thycotic Response

    Jun 23, 2014CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - I am so proud of our team that we can get such great comments - they are an amazing crew right across the board.

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Awesome job.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing Team  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Marketing Team in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Benefits are great
    -There is a lot of room for learning and growth. If you are just starting of your career, there is a lot of room to stretch your wings, wear new hats, and build new strengths.
    -No micro-managing, as long as you work hard
    -Work with a team of smart and motivated individuals
    -Company is growing at a steady pace, not too fast
    -Stable company with a start-up vibe
    -Very low turn over rate speaks for itself
    -Job security, we are working in a very promising industry

    Cons

    If living outside of DC, commuting can be a pain.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Thycotic Response

    Dec 23, 2013CEO

    Thanks for the great review. The people here on the team are the magic to our success.

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to work with a fast-growing company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time

    Pros

    -Small team
    -Great product in high demand-You will get some of the praise!!
    -Evolving industry, so lots of room for product development, suggestions.
    -Excellent leadership with open-minded and experienced professionals
    -Quick implementation of great ideas and ways of doing things
    -Open space interaction yet good personal space
    -AMAZING benefits-Pay is also very good.
    -You can work on many different projects if you really want to.
    -Casual wear every day. You could technically wear a tie and you could still fit in.
    -Free lunches on Wednesday; great way to interact more with other team members that are not that close to you.
    -The list goes on.

    Cons

    It's a small company with a great and evolving product, so expect some change and adjustments around the product and your work. This could be a Pro as well. I can't think of any other con.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep attracting great people with a good dose of flexibility, and great work experience.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Thycotic Response

    Jul 23, 2013CEO

    Thanks for the great review.

  9.  

    Fun Place to work with great people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good office location, great office space.
    Challenging but rewarding work.
    Small-ish company, your opinions don't get lost or brushed off, everyone's feedback matters. Everyone works together, successes and failures are made by team efforts.
    Co-workers are fun and easy to work with.
    Fantastic health benefits.
    Catered lunch on Mondays.

    Cons

    Hours can be excessive (though infrequently, and how much is up to the individual)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The CEO is spread a little thin, but this seems to be getting better. Make an effort to interact with everyone (pleasantries only go so far) that doesn't normally get the opportunity to do so.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Thycotic Response

    Jun 25, 2013CEO

    Thanks for all the great words.

    We need to do more company events so everyone gets to know everyone. I will make sure this happens - thanks for the feedback!

  10.  

    Overall, working for Thycotic is a dead-end. I'm less and less interested to work here as time goes on.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits. I enjoy most of my coworkers. Free lunch on most Wednesdays is nice.

    Cons

    No career path. "Goals" for getting bonus are rediculous. Leadership and consistent vision is sorely lacking. Pay is average for DC at best.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Reevaluate leadership structure. Consider hiring real management experience. Stop making promises that aren't realistic. Develop long term organizational plans and goals - then stick to them.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Thycotic Response

    Jun 25, 2013CEO

    Thanks for your candid feedback.

    I am not sure how outside leadership would be better than team leads who have proven their worth - that doesn't seem like the Thycotic team way to hire in unknown
    ... More

  11.  

    Passionate place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time

    Pros

    Lots of freedom to work on your own - no micro management
    Flat management structure - team leads support the team
    Free lunch on Wednesdays
    Awesome goal program with real money every 6 months - all based on personal growth
    Great software that customers love - rewarding to work with good stuff
    Beautiful office space
    Very supportive team - lots of mentoring and help - lots of team work
    Typical 40-45 hour weeks
    Great healthcare/dental and 401k benefits
    Generous vacation time

    Cons

    Engineers don't have personal space - all team space
    Sales folks have activity quotas
    Hard work is expected
    Career path isn't always clear but that is improving as the company gets bigger
    Responsibility can often be given to people before they are ready - you will be stretched

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More career planning and better understanding of path to promotions/raises
    CEO is overworked - need more senior people to share the load

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Thycotic Response

    Jun 25, 2013CEO

    Thanks for all the great things you said about our team.

    We have started in the last 6 months to get some outside HR help to assist with onboarding of new hires, improving the documentation of our
    ... More

Worked for Thycotic? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.