U.S. Security Associates

  www.ussecurityassociates.com
  www.ussecurityassociates.com

U.S. Security Associates Reviews

Updated November 19, 2014
Updated November 19, 2014
221 Reviews
2.0
221 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Richard Wyckoff
11 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • If your looking for an easy job, they don't get easier than this one (in 8 reviews)

  • easy work nothing extremely difficult but it all depends on the account you are located at (in 7 reviews)


Cons
  • No raises given unless you move to a site that pays more (in 12 reviews)

  • Low pay & account managers that leave you waiting for your check (in 12 reviews)

More Highlights

46 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    good company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist in Roswell, GA
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist in Roswell, GA

    I worked at U.S. Security Associates full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    benefits, bonuses, gift cards, luncheons, Christmas parties

    Cons

    dealing with irate supervisors, over worked

    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO
  2.  

    U.S. security

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Miami, FL

    I have been working at U.S. Security Associates full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Not much really just something to hold you over when you don't have a jobs you're looking for.

    Cons

    Branch office is slow and hard to reach sometime, really no advancement, no as professional as they make it seem

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat guards better pay better people will work harder and take their jobs more serious and act more professional

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Decent company, good amount of freedom, no micromanaging.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Site Supervisor in Bedford, MA
    Current Employee - Security Site Supervisor in Bedford, MA

    I have been working at U.S. Security Associates full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Low Stress for okay pay. Lots of free time at work.

    Cons

    Managers tended to hire incompetent people and I would have to make up for their mistakes and try not to get them fired and make the site run smoothly.

    Managers often lied or fell short on pay raises, and did not respect/invest/recognize their top performers/employees enough.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Learn to recognize your top employees, that are reliable, constantly maintaining and improving the level of work, and going above and beyond.

    No opinion of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 2 people found this helpful  

    It's a paycheck until you find your next real job/career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Miami, FL

    I have been working at U.S. Security Associates full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    8 hour shifts that includes about a 15 minute break. Not 8.5 or 9 hours (30 min-1 hour lunch break). You get a check every two weeks. It all depends at the post they put you at. Some supervisors are terrible and make life on the job hell, others are great. I had a bad supervisor which made it terrible at first, asked the operations manager to put me at another post in which they did and this supervisor has been good so can't complain. Job gets the bills paid.

    Cons

    They take $200 from you at the beginning for background check, uniforms, etc without even telling you during the interview process! ($50 per pay check for the 1st four checks). They pay a measly $10/hr with absolutely no raises (pay even less in other posts)! Someone at my post been there for 3 years and is still at $10/hr! No advancement into supervisor/manager roles. They had me do some online courses about 6 months ago through their company in which if I passed all the tests I could be a supervisor/manager when a "position opened up." Well I passed all the tests and still nothing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Some supervisors and even managers are very unprofessional.

    No opinion of CEO
  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    Working here in this specific location was not a bad start, however with time things were getting worse.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Ventura, CA
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Ventura, CA

    I have been working at U.S. Security Associates full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great pay for the area.
    Great work experience.

    Cons

    Lots of favoritism, it was hard to approach management about particular issues.
    No communication was ever established between immediate supervisors and general managers.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  7. 3 people found this helpful  

    Primarily a 'Give What You Get' Job.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at U.S. Security Associates full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The job is not labor intensive
    For beginners or a fall back
    Really hard to get fired once you have a decent schdule

    Cons

    Hard to get a schedule
    They tend give you horrible hours.
    No benefits
    No good leadership
    If there's a problem don't expect it to be fixed
    Vacation hard to take (from my experience).

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    U.S. Security Associates Response

    Oct 14, 2014Marketing Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience. We value our employees, and we would like to help you find a schedule and position that meets your needs and allows you to ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Chill job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at U.S. Security Associates full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    If you are a patrol driver you spend most of your time on your own without supervision. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Long shifts, not a lot of interaction with other people if you are a patrol driver. Not a lot of opportunity for career advancement.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    U.S. Security Associates Response

    Oct 14, 2014Marketing Team

    Thank you for your review, and for your hard work! Should you ever wish to return, we encourage you to review the post options on our careers page; there, you can find a position that offers customer ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Major Company,Lack Of Communication

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at U.S. Security Associates full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    It's a big company,pay better than some other companies in Atlanta.Interesting Online Class.

    Cons

    There is a severe lack of communication.Unless you go to the office you can't get in contact with people there.Can't leave messages cause their mailboxes are always full. And they don't return calls or e-mails.This seems to be the hammond office,For a major company i am disappointed.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stay in touch with your officers when they need things.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    U.S. Security Associates Response

    Oct 14, 2014Marketing Team

    Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted that our training courses are keeping you interested and challenged. However, we hate to hear that you are disappointed with the frequency of your ... More

  10.  

    Not very organized

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Officer in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Security Officer in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at U.S. Security Associates full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    They try to get you 40 hours per week.

    Cons

    Communication issues; send you to a post then call you to tell you it is cancelled. Rover is not the position you want unless you want part time. Best to get a permanent post.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    if someone is willing to work for it and asks for a certain post then make sure you help them get it and don't take months to help them get it.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    U.S. Security Associates Response

    Oct 14, 2014Marketing Team

    Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologize for the confusion you have experienced. We try our best to place officers at sites with the scheduling requirements that fit their needs ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Security not at its finest

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Braintree, MA
    Current Employee - Manager in Braintree, MA

    I have been working at U.S. Security Associates full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    With the right site and manager not a bad job. Not necessarily worse then other security companies. Good stepping stone into other fields like corrections or maybe an armed government security guard if your lucky..

    Cons

    The right site is very unlikely. Most are $10-$11 jobs yet you can do the work of guards making closer to $20 depending on what the client wants. Howeve

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop low balling to get work. Your just setting everyone up for failure when you have to underpay guards for work. Also promote from within more some guards are worth it.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    U.S. Security Associates Response

    Oct 14, 2014Marketing Team

    We appreciate your feedback! We know that we have one of the most talented and best-trained workforces in the business, and we are motivated to retain our top performers. We love to recognize ... More

U.S. Security Associates Photos

Work at U.S. Security Associates? Share Your Experiences

U.S. Security Associates

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.