Zillow Reviews

Updated February 8, 2015
27 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.0
27 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Spencer Rascoff
Spencer Rascoff
16 Ratings

27 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (1)

    Overall great company, not great locally.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The CEO is amazing and you can see his vision and passion for his company. People are very knowledgeable and helpful, in Seattle. The benefits are great. The speakers that they bring in are encouraging. Spencer, the ceo, is accessible, unlike other companies.

    Cons

    The Lincoln office was run like a good old boys club. If you question anything they will find a reason to let you go. If I could have trnsfered to the Seattle office, it would have been the best job I ever had.

    Advice to Management

    My advise would be to have more communication between the two offices.

    Zillow Response

    Feb 9, 2015VP, Mortgages

    I'm sorry you felt that way about the Lincoln office when you were there. Over the past year, we've made a lot of changes that I think you might find have changed the local office culture for the ... More

  2. Awesome atmosphere.

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    The people are really fun to work with.

    Cons

    They work you to the bone and the compensation isn't amazing.

  3. Helpful (1)

    Inside Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Culture, location, benefits, training, CEO

    Cons

    Hours and call count are such high expectations causing very high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Need to trim down hours and not have 11 hr days sometimes.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    great potential that is impossible to reach.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    great start up mentality. awesome perks. primo location. everything is fun all the time outside of your grind. this of course was 2 years ago.

    Cons

    the turnover rate is very depressing. it is hard to stay focused when people are vanishing left and right. if you can handle that, and you can sell, you can be very happy.

    Advice to Management

    more hands on training from the managers to their salespeople. one week before sending them off into the wild just is not enough.

    Zillow Response

    Nov 19, 2014

    My name is Doug Slotkin and I run the Inside Sales organization - I likely interacted with you a couple of years ago when you were at Zillow.

    The training, to your point, has improved in terms of
    ... More

  6. Helpful (8)

    Work to live, don't live to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    You CAN make 100k first year
    The product you are selling CAN change lives and work for your clients
    Upper management (executives) seem to care about the employees - local management does not
    This is a great first job in sales (they will hire anybody) - if you can succeed at Zillow, you can succeed anywhere
    You will build relationships with outstanding people all across the country
    If you are one of the few, you will be fast tracked out of inside sales (12 -18 months)

    Cons

    LOUD - you will have people screaming, cheering, clapping, noise makers, loud music, etc ALL DAY EVERYDAY
    Its a non stop pep rally and the farthest thing from a professional sales environment you will ever see.

    Revolving door - 90% turnover - don't believe otherwise

    35k base salary

    Long hours - expect 10-12 hours a day to succeed for your first year - sometimes more

    Job outlook - This job never gets easier, don't believe the hype. You will make even more calls tomorrow than you did today. There are 200+ sales reps calling the same zip codes, talking to the same agents, about the same product day after day.

    Call time - you are REQUIRED to TALK 210 minutes everyday (no, the phone ringing doesn't count towards it)
    You will be expected to hit this number every day. Skip lunch, come in early, and stay late but for gods sake don't miss call time. (this correlates greatly to the 90% turnover).

    You will be told to stand up constantly. Some managers will even take your chair away from you.

    You will be discouraged from ever taking time off. Management pretends they need advance notice to take your PTO. They will railroad you if you are sick and expect that you work anyway.

    You will sell terrible advertising packages because you have a quota to hit. You know its not worth what it costs but you'll sell it anyway. (This is a flaw because the product can work well when sold correctly)

    Advice to Management

    The OC office needs an influx of culture from Seattle - you can have fun and still remain professional. OC hasn't found that balance.

    Get rid of call time - manage on activity (calls, conversations, sales, etc), not minutes

    Pricing - Find a better formula. Its obscene in many areas. Talk to the front line regarding lead quality and quantity. There is a problem when leads cost hundreds of dollars each.

    Zillow Response

    Nov 12, 2014

    My name is Doug Slotkin and I run the Inside Sales group at Zillow - thanks for taking the time to pass along your feedback - I'd like to address your comments:

    • You're absolutely right in that
    ... More

  7. Helpful (3)

    Good company, good people, boring job.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Free food, nice people, nice offices, room for growth, nice benefits, stock options, decent training program.

    Cons

    Can't speak for other departments, but sales and account management is dull. You're working in a call center - talking to real estate agents, having the same conversation ALL DAY LONG. Team leads are supportive and my manager was a nice guy, but if you don't enjoy being on the phone and want more action in a job, this isn't for you.
    They watch you more than you think and the first month is really more of a trial run - come in early, stay late, take a short lunch or you're sacked - simple as that. If you're in sales, prepare for a grind - if you're good at it, theres money to be made. If you're not - pack your bags. Account management - don't get used to a lot of money - you won't make it. Enjoy talking to real estate agents and having the same conversation every day all day. Your headset and free popcorn will be constant companions.

    Advice to Management

    allow employees time to blossom at their job before firing them.

    Zillow Response

    Nov 12, 2014

    I run the Inside Sales org at Zillow and thanks for taking the time to review your experience.

    I'd like to address your concerns:

    • As with any job, there is a certain amount of routine that's
    ... More

  8. Helpful (24)

    Zillow is a great place to work, for a while.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    There is a long list of positives. Great base salary, strong commission structure if you're a performer, excellent location, nice people, amazing benefits (including stocked snack-kitchen, occasional free lunch catering, company-paid ORCA card, stock options when hired and again upon receiving a good annual review, etc). They start you off with relatively easy sales goals to encourage you. The product works well for some clients. Potential for advancement, if you're a rock-star out of hundreds. Great Monday-through-Friday hours. They've recently announced the purchase of a major competitor, and overall I believe the company's future is bright.

    Cons

    Price points that change wildly - which often infuriates clients. General disregard for their paying customers (not in what they preach, but in their actions and how you're allowed to work with or help them when things aren't going well - which can be often). When their ad products aren't working, they'll blame the customer, then you. Massive turnover of salespeople - they want the top 20% and are more than willing to churn the bottom 80%. Often-changing (downward) commission structures and ever-increasing minimum requirements, with a constant threat of write-ups and termination. Most who are hired and trained are gone within a few months, few make it to 2 years.

    You'll work on a team of about 9-12 fellow salespersons. If you're not top-of-the-top, not just on your team but out of about 200+, don't expect upward mobility. You're held accountable for your cancellation rate, but clients regularly cancel because the product isn't working. Much of your time is spent calling real estate agents who often, literally, tell you how much they hate your company and think it's bad for their industry. You're calling potential customers who've been bombarded by the same calls now for years.

    Commission structure with "accelerators" if you're having a good month vs. your goal, but which has devastating "decelerators" if you're not. You can sell a certain dollar amount early in your career and get paid a strong percentage on it, but sell double or triple that a year later and get paid next to nothing because your commission percentage is tied to ever-increasing minimum monthly sales goals. Also, expect a lot of charge-backs. You'll be selling one-year contracts and will be paid on six months of its value. If someone cancels early, you'll be charged back for the cancellation, which is pretty standard in this type of sales. Your goal is to find clients who the product works for, then get them to buy more and more. Strangely, if a client purchases a one-year contract (for which you were paid on the six-month value only), completes it and stays much longer, but eventually ends that contract and buys another - you won't be paid on the new purchase because they canceled the old one. (That's right... even though the customer completed their annual contract, and then some, the company will still punish you if the client drops that territory/contract by not paying you on the new contract you get the client to enter. In other words, if the client books a year contract, completes it, and leaves there is no charge back. However, if they do exactly that and then buy more from you, you don't get paid on the new sale, which is a roundabout way of getting a charge back!). Your goals and commission percentage are based on your "delivered" sales, so too many of these completed-but-eventually-canceled contracts get deducted from your totals and can really hurt. Naturally, the longer you're there the more cancellations you'll have.

    There are team Sales Managers who tend to be very nice but do very little sales-managing (depending on which one you work for). Overall, it tends to be a motivation-by-fear environment for the majority, but an amazing place to work if you can consistently (and I do mean consistently) deal with the pressure and produce sales. But don't slip! The longer you're there, the stiffer your requirements become. As your book builds and you end up with hundreds of clients, you'll find yourself doing more and more customer service-related tasks, with far less time to cold call (high volumes of cold-calling are required to keep your business healthy). If you're one of the top three or four guys, they'll hire you an assistant so you can keep selling. If you're not, either your sales or your service may have to suffer. They have no problem firing you and giving the sizable book of business you've grown to the next guy so try to keep the plates spinning! Don't, and you're dead.

    You never know, incidentally, what your commission percentage is. It's very difficult (impossible) to look at your sales and figure out how your paycheck is shaping up because of accelerators, decelerators and strange chargeback rules.

    Overall, I'd say this place, in the sales department anyway, is the employer version of a Stepford Wife. Really good in many ways, but look out if you start to see a twitch.

    Advice to Management

    They will listen to ideas regarding how to improve the company. I don't believe they will listen to ideas regarding advice to management. That said, they have to do far more to improve their position in the eyes of their paying (and potential) customers, and the industry as a whole. Yes, buyers and sellers like to check Zillow out and, yes, advertisers will want to follow. But don't forget who pays you! You need MLS's and agents just as badly as they need you (more, in fact) and their numbers aren't infinite. A lack of respect for them, starting with telemarketing practices and following through to how we treat those who the product doesn't work for, is harming the long-term health of the company. Make all agents, not just those who pay a lot and find success with your product, feel included and important if you truly want to gain acceptance and, therefore, access. I believe the company places high value on most of its employees outside the sales department. Inside the sales department, you're literally only as good as your sales and call-time yesterday. It can make even a consistent producer feel like they're on the outside looking in. Commit to your sales employees, longevity and otherwise, as strongly as you do your other employees, and as strongly as you want them to commit to you. If huge turn-over in the rest of the company wouldn't be healthy, how can it be healthy in sales?

    Once a consultant has proven themselves with you for two years, offer a work-from-home option.

  9. Helpful (7)

    You better enjoy calling people.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great benefits package. All of your medical is paid for, and they also give you an ORCA card so you can get downtown. Great atmosphere. They keep the kitchen stocked with good food, and you occasionally get free lunch from a catering company. Most of the people there are cool.

    Cons

    Their turnover rate is super high for inside sales, and they kinda dont like to talk about it. Of the 12 people in my training class, 1/2 of them quit within 2 months. We had a really great trainer, and we also had a really bad trainer. She would shush people like she was putting a niece in check, and I always wondered why none of her superiors ever addressed her on how unprofessional she was.

    They do give you free lunches often, but you pretty much eat them at your desk because they really frown on someone actually taking a lunch break. One of my fellow classmates was asked if he was ok because he took a 45 minute lunch once.

     They want you to be over 210 minutes on the phone each day which is arbitrary if your making sales. Ive seen and overheard plenty of top sales people barely pick up a phone all day or go over an hour on the phone. They do threaten to take away your inbound calls or emails if you dont meet your time quota, which will ultimately make it harder to make more sales.

    Everything is transparent so you can see peoples sales, minutes and call time anytime you want. They want people to be competitive and make that hot sale. Which is the opposite of what the CEO preaches. We were told to respect that we are asking for real estate agents hard earned money, but when they listen to your calls and critique you for not making a one call close, it makes you wonder what really is the quality of the relationship to the customer.

    Lastly, taking time off is not the best thing to do. It's highly frowned upon, because if your on vacation your not at your desk making sales. End of the month is especially a big NO NO. If your a top earner....your chances probably improve a little.

    Advice to Management

    They love to say how transparent they are.....but they really aren't. Be more real about your expectations with your incoming class. This job is an emotional roller coaster. When you sell your on a high, and when you ....it feels like a wasted day. If your not selling hot like some of the other salespeople, your gonna be critiqued for one thing or another.

    Zillow Response

    Oct 3, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    There's lots of important and interesting information in here for me. Thank you for posting it.
    We do strive to be as transparent as possible -- sounds like we could do better, according to your
    ... More

  10. Helpful (3)

    The toughest sales job I've ever had.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of perks- free snacks, drinks and gatherings. Benefits package is good and they offer stock as well.

    Cons

    Long hours with no breaks. There's an expectation of 200 calls a day which is made very clear. They hire a ton of sales folks all at once with the expectation that most will quit.

    Zillow Response

    Jun 30, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Hi,
    Spencer (ceo) here. You are right that we have very high expectations of our people. We don't however expect that most of our new salespeople will quit! That's definitely not the expectation nor
    ... More

  11. Helpful (4)

    Poor Management in Facilities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Facilities Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Facilities Coordinator in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Most employees were nice to work with - Nice view - Free benefits

    Cons

    Manager and co-workers in dept

    Advice to Management

    Need strategic planning and clear direction! Manager too busy to lead team effectively!

Work at Zillow? Share Your Experiences

Zillow

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.