Zillow

  www.zillow.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Zillow Reviews

Updated June 16, 2014
Updated June 16, 2014
209 Reviews

4.1
209 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Spencer Rascoff
Spencer Rascoff
154 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The work life balance is generally has gotten a lot better since the startup days (in 12 reviews)

  • Great benefit package, phenomenal colleagues, and lots of free food (in 21 reviews)


Cons
  • You are a telemarketer that has to cold call 100 real estate agents everyday who do not want to be called (in 8 reviews)

  • But I felt that trade off was worth it due to the great work life balance and company culture (in 5 reviews)

More Highlights

37 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great work culture and awesome company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer  in  Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is one of the big reason, I like working here. Smart people all around and you feel like going to work everyday, which wasn't the case at my last job. Management empowers engineers to innovate and ample freedom to experiment. You will be surprised how transparent the company is; you can walk up and talk to anyone from CEO or CTO.

    Cons

    Base salary could be higher, but I guess we are paying the price for other incentives. Sometimes I feel that there is lack of engineering challenges given the nature of business, and I feel my talent is underutilized.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You guys do awesome job, and keep keep it up. Might want to revisit the compensation policy to keep in line with other companies around.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Jun 30, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the review. I'm glad you're enjoying your experience at Zillow, and that you appreciate the transparency with which we run the company.
     I was a little bummed that you're not feeling
    ... More

  2. 2 people found this helpful  

    It's a cool place to work but they tend to keep deadweights around too long.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Lincoln, NE
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, NE

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Start up vibe, free food and drinks and transparency. The CEO is pretty energetic and cares about employees.

    Cons

    Mortech training team sucks, they don't work and they are disorganized. Too many rules but It's probably because we are a Public Company and have to comply with all these regulations that all Public Companies have to follow.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Overhaul the training team from top to bottom. Maybe have more "Hire Slow, Fire fast" mentality for managers to keep out the deadweights.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great place to work - but there are limits

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Lincoln, NE
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, NE

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefit package, phenomenal colleagues, and lots of free food. Plus, getting to be part of something really big and really cool; bringing transparency in real estate to everyone, not just the most educated or with the most to gain.

    Executive staff really pushes "zillow culture" and funds lunches, speakers, and events to keep it going. In Lincoln, the food is usually from local restaurants instead of the national chains. The speakers are typically leaders of well known companies, political figures, or amazing people doing amazing things. A recent speaker was from a non profit building schools in Africa.

    It's also cool that in such a huge company the top brass are very accessible, friendly, and really care about the workers doing the entry level jobs. I've emailed the CEO, Spencer, and actually received a friendly response in return. I don't think you'll find that at most companies, especially one the size of Zillow.

    Cons

    Working in a small office outside Seattle, I feel like I'm unable to be promoted or change roles because of the limited jobs and job types in my office.

    I'm hearing about the tremendous growth of the company all the time, but I'm not seeing it in my office and I'm not seeing it in the way of expanded opportunities for me or fellow co-workers. To take the next step in my career, I'll probably have to leave Zillow.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Think about how to keep motivated and hardworking employees rewarded and how someone could really make a long term career at Zillow in all the offices. Also, post internal promotions instead of hand picking staff to promote. I've seen unposted staff changes/promotions in nearly every department. You never know if someone from another department may be qualified or interested in the role. When jobs are limited, everyone should get a fair chance to compete for them.

    On the same note, I think Zillow could benefit from utilizing all resources from coast to coast. With so many offices, can Zillow allow for employees to join teams from other offices? If you already have a great employee trained with a proven work history, why not keep them and allow them to do roles that most greatly benefit the company at large, instead of the best role for them in their office?

    So that's my $.02

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    May 6, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for your feedback. And thank you for calling me accessible -- I appreciate it!

    As you probably know, I am very excited about our opportunity for Mortech and Zillow Mortgages, and the
    ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 2 people found this helpful  

    Overall - very good place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    -Benefits
    -Transparency
    -Leadership
    -Competitive vision
    -Marketing

    Zillow has been a great place to work. The transparency is encouraging and I like the fact we are "playing to win" - not just compete, but to win.

    Cons

    -HR (as the company gets bigger and HR being in a different location, it's tough to get answers in a timely fashion)
    -Seattle based - this is great for those in Seattle, but employees in other cities constantly get to hear about the Zillow culture but are still trying to figure out how to change the culture at their location.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Spend time sharing with non-Seattle Zillowites how the bricks they are laying will impact Z as a whole.

    Consider more talks or speakers in other offices.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Apr 1, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the review and the feedback. Regarding HR issues being tricky in remote offices, please always feel free to escalate things to Kathleen quickly. She can triage emails about HR ... More

  6. 3 people found this helpful  

    A good place to work with lots of smart people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good leadership vision and opportunities to grow, a place where good ideas can come from anywhere, get heard and get implemented

    Cons

    Benefits could be better, e.g., 401k matching, lower deductible health/dental plans

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on the core. Some of the most important teams are not working as efficiently as they could be. It takes a frustrating amount time to get things done. Need to improve the process and put more of the best people on the core teams.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Apr 1, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the review, and I'm glad you are having success at Zillow. Regarding your comment that some teams aren't as efficient as they should be, I agree. If you ever have specific suggestions ... More

  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great company with work life balance but lack of charm of tech

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer  in  Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great and friendly people.
    2. Clearly defined project and well executed
    3. Great executive leadership, clear roadmap on what they are doing.
    4. Schedule is reasonable and not aggressive.
    5. Easy problem to so solve if you like it.

    Cons

    The following cons are from engineering/eng-management prospective, may not related to other orgs:
    1. Engineering talent/leadership is not top level, and if you are the top ranked engineer, you will feel a lot of push back and dragging. And great idea is not easy to spark out.
    2. Mid-management is very laid back, need to be more aggressive to help the company moving to the right direction.
    3. Granted, long staying people are now in mid-senior management level, but this is the problem of allowing the company to move forward. They have a lot of legacy, which *should* be fixed long ago if committing to it, but unfortunately, the safe route is always selected.
    4. A lot of cost optimization can be done within the technical stack, but hard to convince people to care.
    5. The technology management/development is traditional, you will see a bunch of Unix admin/DBA and ops, and handing day to day ops and also the blockers of moving fast in SOA world.

    I understand a lot of companies have similar problems, probably Zillow is better than all of its peers, but given Zillow is young and want to move to next stage, then it has to do something different.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    1. Keep the good work defining clear goals!
    2. More aggressively invest into R&D, I can see the ROI will be much better than flooding in sales org in longer term, and more scalable.
    3. Hire top level talents and put them in charge, magic will happen. Focus on quality rather than quantity in tech talent hiring.
    4. Hire technical management talent from top companies, FB/AMZN/GOOG, and transform the development process within Zillow, it may only need half of the developer to do the same job yet yielding much faster iteration and better products.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Mar 20, 2014CTO

    To Former Senior Software Engineer in Seattle,

    Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback regarding your experience at Zillow in the Seattle office. I am sorry your experience here
    ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    Average

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant  in  Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, great view, Free healthcare, free coffee.

    Cons

    On the phone all day, customer service, call time.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't worry be happy.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Feb 20, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the review. I'm glad you like the food and the view (me too). Sorry to read "average" in your title though. Hopefully we can do better for you in the future.

  9. 2 people found this helpful  

    Solid Organization

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very intelligent Executives and Founders. Company is run by pro's.

    Cons

    Sometimes Zillow seems very frugal when it comes to compensation, resources, etc.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Feb 23, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you!

  10.  

    Big opportunities if you are up to the challenge!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Manager  in  Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At Zillow, you will be challenged like you have never been before. You will be asked to tackle big projects, work fast, and deliver great results. You will be provided with opportunities that do not exist at other companies - and that is awesome! If you are willing to roll up your sleeves and dive right in head first, then Zillow is the place for you.

    Cons

    Sales team is quite large and sometimes out of control. Tons of moving parts which makes it hard to educate those on the front lines to make sure we are providing the best customer experience and/or introducing new products/features.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Create more visibility and provide feedback on performance.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Sales isn't for everyone

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Inside Sales  in  Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Yummy snacks, beautiful office, great company parties, fun atmosphere, free orca card, great benefits!

    Cons

    High pressure sales, really high activity expectations, and long hours. This type of sales was absolutely not for me - the rejection got to me. I came home in tears a lot and despite meeting goals, the stress was too much. I can appreciate that some people are great at this - and the money is there!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Lay off on talk time - there are plenty of other expectations that reps should focus on. It has us appreciating customer service calls when we should be selling.

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

Worked for Zillow? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.