Zillow Reviews

Updated March 24, 2015
154 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
5.0
154 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Spencer Rascoff
Spencer Rascoff
201 Ratings

154 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful

    Great benefits, great product, innovative company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Compensation and culture. Can easily make 6 figures on the inside sales floor. Great people and exciting company to work for.

    Cons

    Upward mobility is limited especially pertaining to the sales floor. It is hard to move into management or vertically into other departments.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Relax on monitoring employees days using arbitrary metrics. They do not accurately portray the output, efficiency or effectiveness of an employee.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Mar 26, 2015

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

    I'm glad the experience has been positive and I wanted to address your concerns.

    While it is competitive to earn promotions, there are literally
    ... More

  2. 2 people found this helpful

    Positivity Run Rampant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    I've never worked for a better organization in my life and would like to retire happy and old as a Zillow employee. Google-style environment with game rooms, nap stations and desks with treadmills. Base salary plus competitive compensation plan, amazing benefits, catered meals weekly, monthly retreats/getaways, free snacks/foods/beverages daily, complementary fitness classes, comprehensive training program, tons of bonus giveaways and plenty of upward mobility.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about Zillow as an organization. The job itself is extremely difficult and there is no room for "off-days"; it's not for the feint of heart. For those not self-motivated, I suggest you steer clear.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue on the optimistic and positive track that you are on. You are some of the strongest culture carriers I've ever encountered in my life. Keep up the good work!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Mar 18, 2015

    Thanks for the thoughtful feedback! I am glad the experience has been so positive and appreciate your candor about the opportunity and challenges that the role presents.

    Sky's the limit - Happy
    ... More

  3. 3 people found this helpful

    Best real-estate tech company in nation.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Amazing work environment and candy-culture, and I mean (free skittles, m&m's, starburst, trail mix, etc). Young hipster , party employees.

    Cons

    very few cons to discuss if any.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    none.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Mar 4, 2015VP, Sales Strategy and Operations

    Thanks for the nice feedback! Glad you're enjoying (and I assume thriving) in our team. Also remember - we just added a frozen yogurt machine on the 33rd floor.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful

    Zillow is an excellent company to work for and I enjoy coming to work everyday.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Outreach Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Outreach Coordinator in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    - Awesome People
    - Collaborative Environment
    - Food Perks
    - Happy Hours
    - Pet (Dog) Friendly "Never really seen anyone bring a cat to work?"

    Cons

    The misconception from agents that we are trying to take over the industry.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stay quick and nimble. Be clear on employee career path.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6. 5 people found this helpful

    Better than I ever could have imagined...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, NE
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, NE

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    I was super nervous when this acquisition between Mortech/Zillow went down but this seriously has to be one of the best places to work in country, let alone Lincoln NE.

    Perks Include:
    Game Rooms (Ping Pong, Shuffleboard, Video Games, Golf, Basketball)
    Catered Lunches (Every Wednesday and special occasions)
    Free snacks/drinks
    Laid Back Work Atmosphere (tunes playing through Sonos speakers all day)
    Great Benefits
    Work Outings that are really fun
    Great People
    Opportunity 2X a year to work on whatever you want to improve company/product
    Casual Dress Code
    Encouraged to email anyone from manager to CEO with anything you need

    Cons

    I'd love to see more accountability between departments, too many issues turn into a "he said she said" type conversations that can get frustrating not only to employees but our customers.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Zillow seems to still be under the radar a bit in the Lincoln community , we need to continue to get the word out about how great this place is which will result in deeper talent pools for open positions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Feb 4, 2015VP, Mortgages

    I can understand why many folks were worried about the acquisition when it originally happened, but I'm so glad you are really happy with where we ended up together. Zillow's mortgages business is ... More

  7. 3 people found this helpful

    Fantastic, all around.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Work Environment
    Benefits
    Co-Workers
    Executives
    Salary
    Management
    Work events

    Cons

    Downtown Parking (But bus pass is paid)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    No advice. Keep on doing what you are doing!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8. 1 person found this helpful

    It's the people that make this company great - Highly intelligent, fun, devoted people!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    I've been with Zillow a little over 2 and a half months now. However it feels like I've been here forever?! It's definitely a good kind of feeling - people here are so friendly that you make friends right off the bat. More importantly, the employees who have been here for a while are extremely experienced and have so much knowledge to offer that there's always something new to learn everyday - it's never ending! It's an open atmosphere where people challenge each other and valuable information is translated across and created on a daily basis. Besides, there's no better way to enjoy all the awesome free food over great conversations with none other than your fellow Zcolleagues - it's the people that make Zillow great.

    Cons

    None at all! But we should have instructions on how to change the milk / empty grounds at the Starbucks machine for newbies like me! And YES - I googled it and am proud of it!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    [Regardless of my short time here] Keep up the great work. I'm really enjoying the entrepreneurial spirit here even though Zillow has been growing at such a rapid pace - I hope it stays this way!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  9. 1 person found this helpful

    Building something great, and having a great time doing it

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Inspiring leadership.
    Amazing colleagues.
    All kinds of opportunities.
    Great benefits, from pay and insurance to free soda, meals, and more.
    You will feel valued.

    Cons

    Startup ways of getting things done don't always scale. Opportunity now is to build process without becoming a prisoner to it.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  10. 12 people found this helpful

    Read this review and you will get the complete truth behind Zillow Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The NUMBER ONE thing I love about working at Zillow is the culture and the people. You get all the fancy stuff like catered lunches, happy hours, unlimited snacks and drinks, unexpected Zillow trips out and an amazing Holiday party in Seattle... but I could not imagine my work life without all the amazing Zillowites I get to spend my day with. At Zillow, there is so much camaraderie and support, each and every person WANTS you to succeed. The benefits are AMAZING and more importantly, the room for growth is substantial. The best part is upper management has all started as a sales rep. They know the ups and downs you go through so there is nothing that they can't help you with. Upper management asks for advice on how to improve and what the "little guys" want / are unhappy about and ALWAYS implement.

    The CEO, CRO, Directors, Managers and all the Execs are the BEST professionals and people I have ever worked with. Period.

    Cons

    Like any sales job, the job is going to be TOUGH. Some people hate it because they are not cut out to be sales people. Period. You can not determine your role or how well you will do at the job for at least 6 months. Therefore, if you are hardworking, positive and enthusiastic, give yourself time to see how amazing the job and the company really is. You will have to cold call people and get uncomfortable at times... i was fresh out of college when I started little over a year ago. The thing about this sales job is THE PRODUCT WORKS. There is nothing worse than selling a product you don't even believe in. We have THE BEST PRODUCT in the industry... how many people can say that?!? Once you see it work, the conviction in your conversations will sell itself. Most have the initial fear of failing because you have no book of business to work from. You have to start fresh and that is hard and scary... but every day gets easier and you will not have a better support system anywhere else.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep being transparent! You all do a great job of being very approachable and encouraging to be a culture carrier. I never feel like upper management is a tier of people who are intimidating and won't talk to you. I just want to thank all upper management and the managers in the Irvine office for always having my best interest in mind. Even things that affect me outside of work, I know my work family will always be there for me. Just know, as a rep, I am 100% comfortable and inspired each and every day by the management in the Irvine office. You all have "raised" the best people and built an amazing office.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Dec 12, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the terrific review - I greatly appreciate it.

  11. 6 people found this helpful

    Seven Months

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    I absolutely adore this company as a whole. The benefits it has provided for me and my children are unmatched.The atmosphere is incredible and the income potential is unlimited. Best of all the product works and I've seen it changed lives for both friends and family in the real estate business. That in itself is a very difficult thing to find especially in Orange County

    Cons

    Like any rapidly growing company I think they need to pay more attention to what drives revenue. Don't forget the little guys on the phones pushing the cart ;)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you're doing and make sure everyone has the same opportunity for growth.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Jan 6, 2015CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for your review. Sounds like you are in our Irvine office where we have about 200 people who work very hard every day to help our advertising real estate agents be successful. We also have ... More

Work at Zillow? Share Your Experiences

Zillow

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.