Zillow

  www.zillow.com
  www.zillow.com

Zillow Reviews

Updated December 16, 2014
Updated December 16, 2014
239 Reviews
4.2
239 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Spencer Rascoff
Spencer Rascoff
181 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The work life balance is generally has gotten a lot better since the startup days (in 15 reviews)

  • Fun atmosphere, lots of free food, great salary, big impact on the site (in 24 reviews)


Cons
  • Be prepared to work with real estate agents all day (in 10 reviews)

  • Call time is good metric but there better metrics to drive business forward (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

143 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 4 people found this helpful  

    Love my job and the people I work with!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Besides the typically perks you get working at a tech company, (free food, weekly HH's, offsite events, etc) the overall culture here is awesome! I can honestly say the best part of working here is my coworkers. People come from various backgrounds, and I dig the diversity! Everyone is really smart, respectful and overall just a fun group to be around. Also, we have a good gender ratio here (as a female, that's pretty important to me) which can be difficult in tech companies. Also, dog friendly = awesome!

    Cons

    Trying to keep track of all the new people getting hired!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2. 3 people found this helpful  

    Read this review and you will get the complete truth behind Zillow Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The NUMBER ONE thing I love about working at Zillow is the culture and the people. You get all the fancy stuff like catered lunches, happy hours, unlimited snacks and drinks, unexpected Zillow trips out and an amazing Holiday party in Seattle... but I could not imagine my work life without all the amazing Zillowites I get to spend my day with. At Zillow, there is so much camaraderie and support, each and every person WANTS you to succeed. The benefits are AMAZING and more importantly, the room for growth is substantial. The best part is upper management has all started as a sales rep. They know the ups and downs you go through so there is nothing that they can't help you with. Upper management asks for advice on how to improve and what the "little guys" want / are unhappy about and ALWAYS implement.

    The CEO, CRO, Directors, Managers and all the Execs are the BEST professionals and people I have ever worked with. Period.

    Cons

    Like any sales job, the job is going to be TOUGH. Some people hate it because they are not cut out to be sales people. Period. You can not determine your role or how well you will do at the job for at least 6 months. Therefore, if you are hardworking, positive and enthusiastic, give yourself time to see how amazing the job and the company really is. You will have to cold call people and get uncomfortable at times... i was fresh out of college when I started little over a year ago. The thing about this sales job is THE PRODUCT WORKS. There is nothing worse than selling a product you don't even believe in. We have THE BEST PRODUCT in the industry... how many people can say that?!? Once you see it work, the conviction in your conversations will sell itself. Most have the initial fear of failing because you have no book of business to work from. You have to start fresh and that is hard and scary... but every day gets easier and you will not have a better support system anywhere else.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep being transparent! You all do a great job of being very approachable and encouraging to be a culture carrier. I never feel like upper management is a tier of people who are intimidating and won't talk to you. I just want to thank all upper management and the managers in the Irvine office for always having my best interest in mind. Even things that affect me outside of work, I know my work family will always be there for me. Just know, as a rep, I am 100% comfortable and inspired each and every day by the management in the Irvine office. You all have "raised" the best people and built an amazing office.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Dec 12, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the terrific review - I greatly appreciate it.

  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    I will NEVER regret my decision to come work here!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Finance in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Finance in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Zillow is truly a fast-paced, innovative and exciting company to work for! This company takes its core values seriously (based around teamwork, visibility, empowerment, ownership, etc), which is exactly why their interview process is so detailed and sometimes lengthy. The whole process took me about a month and a half (from application to offer), so stay persistent if it feels like the right move for you!

    Cons

    No complaints to report so far. Everyone I work with is awesome, and the work I'm doing is interesting!!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you're doing and inspiring your teams everyday!!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Best place to work in Southern California

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Every salesperson is treated like a true professional. We are encouraged to reach our potential but are given freedom with how we sell. Tons of incredible lunches, awards and an all around positive support. I have made the most money and had the most fun while doing it at Zillow!

    Cons

    It is a competitive environment, but that's sales! With uncapped sales potential of course it is going to be a grind at times. The hungriest sales person will win.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you are doing- Great sales team that is treated like family.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    The Best

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The Culture of Zillow has continued as we have grown in size. The leadership has done an amazing job of keeping the transparency and collaborative culture alive and well. It's odd to say but every employee I talk to loves coming into work. I never hear someone groaning about 'another day at the office'. The company invests in it's employees and provides a safe, comfortable, and career growing environment.

    Cons

    The gym at the Zillow Tower is not a full gym. Yes, this is my only gripe.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what your doing, there will be changes, but you have continued to hire and keep the best employees. Spencer is amazing and I love that Lloyd and Rich continue to be involved. I have never heard a manager from the top down say something that indicated they didn't have their finger on the pulse of Zillow.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Dec 11, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Awesome. Thank you!!!
    Yes, Rich and Lloyd remain very involved (probably more involved than most people realize!). Lloyd mostly focuses on product and strategy issues, and Rich is very involved
    ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Incredible company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    I have worked at Zillow for just under a year. I actually found the job listing a year ago on Glassdoor and after reading the reviews, I knew it was too good to be true.
    Everyday when I walk in the office, I am so happy to be there. From my co-workers, to the environment, to the snacks--- it's so easy to see the culture. Zillow thrives on our core values, for example: think big, move fast and winning is fun. These values are apparent in each of the employees. They are posted on our walls as constant reminder of what we are here to do.
    I work directly with our Sales Team and Agents. Though at times, it can be tiring, like any job, I have never been more excited helping my colleagues and customers at any other job.
    I have scheduled monthly meetings with my supervisor, though it's rare that a week goes by without us checking in. My manager is in touch, as well as the VP.
    I have never felt happier at any company that I have worked at. Of course there are moments when you are physically and mentally tired, but it's worth it.

    Cons

    The only con isn't really a con in my eyes... we are growing so quickly that we can't hire support in each department fast enough. The work load is tough at times. If you can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Just keep the work load in mind that each employee is taking on. Listen to what your employees are complaining about and try to take them off the floor for those conversations.
    I think you are doing a great job though.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Zillow Response

    Dec 9, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you very much for the great review of Zillow. I'm really glad that you are enjoying your time here, and finding the work challenging and the culture to be solid. Thank you!

  8.  

    Great company with great opportunity

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Zillow is a great company to work for. Salaries are competitive and they make a strong effort to keep them fair as well as even with the market. Zillow is also very fair with raises and stock equity grants.

    As far as personal growth, Zillow encourages you in its core values to Own It. You get ahead at Zillow by owning big projects, taking big swings, and succeeding at them.

    Zillow as a large company is also very generous. Every year employees get a very cool gift that has a purpose, to make us better at our jobs. Last year was FitBits (good health means good work), this year it was Kindle Fires (smarter employees are better employees).

    Cons

    Zillow has historically been weak on training, but that is changing quickly. I think the biggest con is that it can be difficult to be in an office other than main headquarters, and can also be difficult to work on a business that is not the core real estate/for sale business.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep being open, keep sharing numbers as freely as you do. Be willing to make tough decisions when they need to be made, even when they involve people.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9. 2 people found this helpful  

    Its sales: take the good with the bad

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Excellent pay. I made 90k my first year. Most managers are awesome and care about us. Health package is top notch. The product actually works. Most of my teamates are fantastic. people who say its like boiler room are just not being fair or honest. I am not pushy at all and I make really good money. My clients who listen to my advice kick but.

    Cons

    Long hours. They can work on noise control. Call time is good metric but there better metrics to drive business forward. dollars per min or number of product demonstrations should be weighed in when it comes to daily activity goals.

    Zillow Response

    Dec 9, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the review. Looks like you are in inside sales, probably in our agent sales group which sells Zillow advertising to "Premier Agents" around the country. I agree with you -- we are NOT a ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    best job I've had

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow (less than an year)

    Pros

    -Ridiculously fast growth and fantastic culture.
    -Hack week is probably the most fun I've had in my software dev career.
    -The people around me are the best balance of passionate, fun, yet professional that I've worked with in the industry.
    -There's always a lot of interesting work to do and problems to solve, but I'm still able to consistently work 40-45 hours a week.

    Cons

    Not quite elite compensation package, The company seems to be trying to hire the top candidates, but offered a smaller comp package than what I was offered from Twitter and Facebook, and no free (daily) meals or parking.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep the fun culture. You guys are doing great.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11.  

    The real deal about Zillow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    There is honestly a ton of benefits from working at Zillow but I'm only going to address the top 3.

    LEADERSHIP: Anyone in real estate knows the 3 golden rules for success which is location, location and location. In my opinion the 3 golden rules for corporate success is leadership, leadership, leadership. If I ever quit Zillow, they have switched up how I would search for a new job. The first thing I would investigate is the leaderships track record and let's be honest Zillow's leadership is about as good as it gets. Spencer's natural charisma and knack for leadership gets two thumbs up from me. Don't get me wrong I know Zillow is a Team Sport and we have hundred's, actually thousands of very talented people but I believe the top executives are responsible for the long term growth.

    COMPENSATION: All and all Zillow's compensation is fair. You can definitely make really good money but be ready to grind you tail off, lucky for me I don't mind. When you throw in all the company functions, health benefits, 401K match, bonuses, regular hosted lunches, bus pass, PassPort card and much more, Zillow makes it worth it to work 10-12 days.

    WORK ENVIRONMENT: If you are a person that has high energy, likes loud music, likes wearing relaxed attire, competitive nature, likes to play video game at break time, working in a beautiful high profile modern building, watching the sunrise from behind Mt Rainer or watching the whales swim by at sunset in the Puget Sound........you might want to apply at Zillow

    Cons

    Only a couple negative ones....

    I've been here for just under 5 years and personally had issues that really started to surface after we went public which I suppose typically happens. My main issues were pay related because I was hired on at certain splits and then one day they just announce they are changing it. It seems to change up a few times a year now. It's not always in the same form but they are always trying a way to push us harder to get the dangling carrot. I get it that it's good for the Zillow bottom line but it burns people out pretty quickly and ultimately provides lower level customer service to clients because we are pushed to bring on more new clients over anything else. It's an endless circle.

    We are so big now and unless you are a person that likes to schmooze you can often feel like your efforts go unnoticed. If you are single with no kids it's much easier to advance because you can participate in all the after work functions.

    I feel trapped in my position because I don't feel like I can make as much money in a different position within the company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You guys are the Rock Stars, how about some advice to me?

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at Zillow? Share Your Experiences

Zillow

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.