Zillow Reviews

Updated August 28, 2015
185 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
5.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Spencer Rascoff
Spencer Rascoff
150 Ratings

Pros
  • The work life balance is very good for a company that is growing this fast (in 15 reviews)

  • Need I say free food and drinks (in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • You're working in a call center - talking to real estate agents, having the same conversation ALL DAY LONG (in 10 reviews)

  • Call time is good metric but there better metrics to drive business forward (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

185 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. I love working at zillow

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    If you love to work at a place where good ideas, hard work, a fast pace, team work as well as independence all lead to success, you'll find all of it here. Great people, good perks (health insurance 100% covered, food, casual work environment, and many work-life balance benefits). Some pros: 1. Consistently voted one of the best places to work in Seattle - and for a good reason 2. Free orca pass - i haven't had to drive at all! and i use it on weekends and outside work hours. 3. Exposure to amazing projects 4. Z talks 5. transparency from the top down 6. Growth opportunities 7. Zillow encourages volunteerism, charity work and more at a grassroots level 8. All the zillow parties, happy hours and other fun activities 9. Work life balance is respected, but when the need arises, everyone is happy to work as long and as hard as needed 10. Positive inclusive culture and 11. Amazing leadership team with women at the top!

    Cons

    No pets allowed at the seattle building... but that's not zillow's fault! Need to see more ethnic diversity in the leadership

    Advice to Management

    Hire more engineers and more tech/customer support people! It seems like everyone is always backlogged and while we move fast and think big, our teams can't keep up with the demands and maintain high quality work. As we grow it's important to grow the backbone too! Other than that, it's amazing to see what people can do, how hard and smart they work: perfect example has been the latest IotT project! Amazing what was accomplished by so many teams across the country in such a short time!


  2. Client Engagement Specialist

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Client Engagement Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Former Contractor - Client Engagement Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Best work environment of all time, location is wonderful being in downtown Seattle by the waterfront with minute walk to Pikes Place Market. There are no cubicles in the building, it is an open work environment. The table tennis tables, video game room, and kitchens stocked with delicious snacks on every floor provide for an excellent work environment. The dress is super casual, all other employees in the building wear suits, so it is easy to spot a fellow Zillowite. All higher position employees were fun and interactive and would not ignore you, all voices can be heard.

    Cons

    My specific position required many phone calls to be made daily, this can be taxing after a long time; however, the excellent work environment and friendly coworkers make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    I have no complaints or advice, I was checked up on regularly by my boss in one on one meetings. I felt valued to work for Zillow.

    Zillow Response

    Aug 26, 2015 – VP, Sales Strategy and Operations

    Thanks for the great feedback. I'm glad you're enjoying Zillow and thanks also for your contributions to both the company and our customers!


  3. SDE Intern

    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer Intern in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome place to work! I absolutely loved my internship. Pros: -Great pay ($36/hr) -Free (very nice) housing in downtown Seattle -Great, helpful, friendly co-workers -Lots of fun events (jet skis, movies, whirly ball, rafting, etc) -You hear loads of upper management and executives speak -Learn a ton about enterprise level web development -Small enough company that the work you do is visible and impactful

    Cons

    Zillow's growth means there's lots of growing pains: -there's great difficulty deprecating anything -similarly, bad architecture only gets worse as things grow -there was a lot of struggles around the testing framework when I was around

    Advice to Management

    Continue to try and move fast think big as the company grows, it's gonna make or break.

    Zillow Response

    Aug 24, 2015 – CTO

    Thanks for the feedback, and all your efforts this summer. We have been hosting interns from the very beginning of our company history, and this was our biggest class to date. Each year we look to ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Inspiring work environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Employees are appreciated and hard work never goes unnoticed. Spencer, the CEO, personally takes feedback from employees on how the work environment can be improved and he acts on it. I have worked at large companies where it's easy to get lost in the shuffle, but Zillow still has the intimate "start up" feel even as they grow to 2,000+ employees. I work with brilliant people who work extremely hard yet always make time to answer a question or help a fellow employee.

    Cons

    There is really nothing to complain about.

    Zillow Response

    Aug 24, 2015

    Thank you for your review, and I'm so glad you're happy here! Please feel free to reach out to me directly (or post here) if you have any further feedback, we're always striving to make Zillow a ... More


  6. Great place to work!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Zillow full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Awesome culture, management, benefits, transparency

    Cons

    The quick growth did create a lot of growing pains, many of which didn't get addressed as quickly as necessary to keep our agents happy on a basic level.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!


  7. Helpful (1)

    OC Development

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    The development teams in Orange County solve interesting technical problems, use the latest technology and get to work in a relaxed-ish environment. The people are fantastic and the number one reason to work here. You'll get to work together, share ideas and learn while contributing to software used by millions.

    Cons

    There aren't any huge downsides. There will be less than amazing projects but that happens everywhere. The benefits could be better in some areas but they're still good.

    Zillow Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – VP of Industry Solutions

    Thank you for the kind words. We work hard to create a fun but highly productive environment for everyone to do their best work. Incredibly smart, creative and hardworking employees like yourself ... More


  8. Helpful (13)

    Hard work pays. Daily grind. Repetitive. Competitive.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The opportunity to make a lot of money is there you just need to be good at seeking it out, being consistent, not letting "no" discourage you and really believing in the product. The job itself is the best sales opportunity I've ever had because of the product, brand recognition and culture. Im about to hit my two year mark as a sales consultant and I am very proud that I've been able to reach the stretch goals/quotas every month. Zillow pushes you to succeed and if you believe you can, you will. I've really enjoyed the challenge.

    Cons

    My biggest complaint would probably be regarding the expectation to bring 100% energy everyday or hit a certain number of phone calls or minutes everyday. Being on your "A" game everyday isn't really possible in my eyes. Some days I would prefer to work "on" my business rather than "in" it. With the daily eye on my activity I feel guilty taking breaks to recharge my batteries. Some days I may be really productive taking care of emails, finding new reports to be more effective and researching how to do my job better and those types of things aren't applauded because they aren't recorded in the sales dashboard. To sum it up, I think recognition from management could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    I'm a pretty happy employee! :)

    Zillow Response

    Aug 14, 2015

    Thanks for the thoughtful feedback. Glad to know that for the most part, your job has been satisfying for you and rewarding in terms of hitting your numbers and challenging yourself - Thank you ... More


  9. Awesome place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice work/ life balance. everybody here is so talented and friendly. Great place to work

    Cons

    everything is good since I got here

    Zillow Response

    Aug 14, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad you're happy here! - Amy (COO)


  10. Helpful (1)

    Great Company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Great benefits and work/life balance -Both teamwork and individual contributions are highly valued -Wonderful management -Frequent opportunities to expand your skills and range -Perks like free snacks, standing desks (they move up and down at the touch of a button), gym reimbursement etc. - Zillow invests in keeping their people happy -Data meritocracy - best idea with best data wins; minimal politicking compared to anywhere else I've worked -Good advancement opportunities

    Cons

    -Not a lot of effective communication between different teams

    Advice to Management

    Remember that communication is key - transparency has long been a Z principle; please keep it that way. Communication between sales and other teams could be stronger, as could communication on some of the recent policy changes (Workday etc.). Site changes could also be communicated to support teams better/faster. In general: keep doing what you're doing. Spencer is a fantastic leader, and I trust our executives to take us in the right direction. Very happy to be here, and I always say I don't know how I could leave Zillow because I'm getting spoiled here!

    Zillow Response

    Jul 13, 2015 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for your great review! You are right, we do keep investing in our employees because they are our number one asset. I hear your point about communication, you’re right, communication is key ... More


  11. Helpful (5)

    Best job I've had so far

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Zillow gets it. The management seems to put a lot of thought into what makes a great workplace and does everything they can to empower their employees to be successful and happy. One thing that always bothered me about previous employers was the lack of internal communication regarding company direction and decision making. I've never once felt like I was in the dark at Zillow, and if something wasn't immediately obvious I've always had my questions answered honestly. As an engineer I've always felt like I've had a clear goal and direction, and I've never had to spend time spinning my wheels wondering what I should be doing. Management works hard to unblock things if any hurdles do arise, as long as you're willing to admit when you're having trouble.

    Cons

    Zillow is a very team-oriented company, so if you're the type that loves personal glory and recognition, you might not do well. Achievements definitely get recognized, but arrogance is massively frowned upon. That's not really a con for most people, but it might be for some.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency and communication. It feels like I'm trusted as an employee, and I hope it stays that way.

    Zillow Response

    Aug 24, 2015 – CTO

    Thank you very much for the positive comments. We certainly put a lot of effort into communicating and making sure everyone knows the strategic direction of the company and how each team and their ... More



Showing 185 of 308 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.