blinkx

www.blinkx.com

blinkx Reviews

Updated January 19, 2015
Updated January 19, 2015
80 Reviews
2.9
80 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
blinkx CEO S. Brian Mukherjee
S. Brian Mukherjee
38 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Good compensation, good benefits, flexible hours and good opportunities for advancement (in 6 reviews)

  • They also provide free snacks/beverages and do a staff lunch every Thursday which is generous of them (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Worst senior management team (at least from engineering perspective) I've ever worked with (in 7 reviews)

  • There is no one leading the company (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

43 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

     

    Great Company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great working environment with flexible work life balance, which is good for my family life. Good pay and benefits. I really feel part of the team, and it was clear my work is appreciated and my hard efforts do go rewarded.

    I have found my team leaders/management to be both responsive and helpful. So am not sure why so many reviews here are so negative.

    Blinkx has many exciting products and is being well lead by senior management (even if the current mood of investors is very negative towards the company, it is not so for those of us working here).

    Cons

    Expect employees to work hard. So if this is not you then you may find life hard.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work. I expect our hard work will bear fruit shortly.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you feel part of the team! We strive to create a great team that works together. Our challenges make us stronger and as you ... More

  2.  

    how is it to work at blinkx

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    convinient, nice location, great office space

    Cons

    salary, stock in really bad state

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 23, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoy the office environment. We are always open to additional feedback. Please feel free to reach out to blinkxcares@blinkx.com and an HR ... More

  3.  

    While even the highs weren't very high, the lows are a bottomless pit of unhappiness

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    One thing blinkx has always had going for it is good people, even as it grows through acquisition. Somehow (most) of the people remain amazing. I don't know how the company has retained so many for so long, although we're definitely starting to see some of the lifers trickle out. And I don't think it's just people coming together to make the best of a bad situation--the majority of people are truly dedicated and talented and fun to be around.

    Benefits are good. There are some great managers and some of the business leaders know what they're doing.

    Cons

    It's good we tend to get along, because we see A LOT of each other. The CEO puts in 24 hour days and expects everyone else to, too. Unfortunately most people aren't compensated at his level, so sorry everybody--you're kinda working for free! Everyone complains about the low pay.

    At a certain management level, no one takes a real vacation. 24 hours a day, 7 days a week is the expectation pushed down from above.

    To make things even more entertaining, we have major attrition and nothing's going to change anytime soon. Like I said, people are abandoning this sinking ship and none of the execs are doing anything about it.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You know why people are leaving? Because no one likes being one person doing the job of three (except maybe the CEO). Pay us more, respect our lives outside the work day, and stop pretending blinkx is a start up. It WAS a start up. Now it's a raggedy collection of loosely organized businesses held together by spit and despair.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    blinkx Response

    Jan 27, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy to hear you recognize the rockstars we have here at blinkx! We are always striving to be better and will take your comments into ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 4 people found this helpful  

    CEO needs to go

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The people you work with day to day are smart and dedicated.

    Cons

    No vision strategy or leadership at the top is made worse by questionable ethics and business practices they pretend don't exist. CEO doesn't care at all about employees and morale has been declining for a long time. Miserable place to work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Find a leader who can turn the company around, otherwise it will continue to fall apart.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    I am sorry to hear your thoughts on blinkx and our leadership team. Blinkx strives for excellence and works tirelessly to make sure the company is a success. I invite you to contact us directly at ... More

  6.  

    Lot's of autonomy and perfect job for the self-starter who doesn't need a lot of supervision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx

    Pros

    there's a lot of ears open when you voice your opinion. You have the freedom to really branch out and take on whatever role you'd like to take. If you have initiative, you can pull in other employees from other departments or divisions to really make a difference..

    Cons

    The industry is very fast face and ever changing. Sometimes it's difficult to keep up with all the changes.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep looking out for the A players who are looking to take on more, and make sure they're recognized and noticed for their contributions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 15, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with blinkx.

  7. 6 people found this helpful  

    You'll gain experience here.. because you literally have to think on your feet and fix everything that breaks each week.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The work-life balance is great, making your own hours, even though you're expected to work weekends... The office culture is split into two. Once someone has pass the 4/5 year mark, you're in with the "good ol boys" group. Free snacks in the kitchen... nothing but junk food. Want to learn a new skill in a hurry? Great because there's always something that's been broken for weeks...years... and it needs to be fixed now.

    Cons

    Please read the comments below the last 3. True wisdom is there and please run.. RUN. You're on your own after a few months. Not much help or praise is given, a half smile "good job" here or there or "thanks". Then back to work. You're paid next to nothing, and they know it- this is something they're proud of! It's an office full of desperation.... While you look at your co-workers in pity knowing all the hard work they put in for the less than measly pay given. Expect yearly cuts in any bonus, mbos, etc. Forget about an increase in salary or growing with the company in any way shape or form.. except for when others start to leave. They won't hire someone to replace them.... That's now your responsibility. Expect to wear many hats and deal with "that's not my job" and "we have to get this done so stay late" types in the office.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Validate your employees hard work. Pay them what they're worth. Be loyal to them and the favor will return.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 10, 2014Human Resources

    I am sorry you are having a negative experience at blinkx. Over the past 10 years we have worked tirelessly to make this a great place to come to work. We are extremely proud of the company and ... More

  8. 6 people found this helpful  

    Don't waste your time or talent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Problem Solver in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Problem Solver in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The snacks are a perk, the person ordering does her best to come up with variety while keeping some favorites and fulfilling requests. Admin is always smiling and helpful to everyone. Office location is nice, but seems to be getting crowded again. The health insurance is good, not a lot of out of pocket expenses.

    Cons

    There is no one leading the company! I asked human resources a question a while back and the answer was wrong, I was referred to a guy who isn't even a company employee but a contractor that works with the accounting department. I wasn't sure why an accountant was supposed to help with HR issues except upper management is either never around or doesn't know what they are doing. The budget for upgrades and training seems to be non-existent. Despite years of asking for it we still don't have a company match to our 401k.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your employees, engage with them. When you come in the office don't run to the nearest empty office and hide out. Why do you spend money flying all over if you're not there to interact with the employees? Wouldn't it be a better use of money to stay in your own office if you're not having a dialogue with the people working hard to make sure you get your big bonus? Raises and bonuses were delayed because you were too busy playing CYA after a blog came out that told people we work for an unethical company. We know it wasn't wrong, we are the ones working on the products. You can change the names of the divisions all you want but unless you change the products we're still the same company with the same leadership.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 14, 2014Human Resources

    Dear Employee,
    I am sorry to hear about your experience at blinkx. We try hard to make this a great place for employees to come and work. That said, I know we are far from perfect. We are always
    ... More

  9.  

    Overall a forward thinking company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work! Everyone really has a sense of ownership and direction, and the company embraces this work ethic. Lots of opportunity if one has the drive.

    Cons

    Company has grown pretty quickly, and feel like maybe some eggs are spread too thin, but otherwise, overall management is working towards better growth

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    A growing company with great opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Current Employee - Employee in Tempe, AZ

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    I have worked at blinkx for almost three years now. I have learned so much and really advanced in my career. You can make the position your own and take on new projects, as the company has grown a lot in the past few years. You work with people from multiple offices and continue to learn new things every day.

    Cons

    The challenge of working at blinkx is keeping self-motivated. You are not micro-managed and you must be proactive at all times.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I trust the senior leadership team is continuously working to make blinkx a better business ! I love working with a team that challenges me and helps me grow.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 9 people found this helpful  

    pathetic

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx

    Pros

    There is nothing good to say about this place in regards to work ethics. The CEO does not care that people are leaving. His attitude is that the company is better off without them.

    Cons

    No raises, no career path and no training or advancement. They only promote from outside.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Figure it out. You need to actually fix the issues from the ground up for a company to work. Talk to the worker bees and see what is going on. Don't take your top brass words for it.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Work at blinkx? Share Your Experiences

blinkx

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.