blinkx Reviews

Updated March 19, 2015
47 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Current Employees
3.1
47 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
blinkx CEO S. Brian Mukherjee
S. Brian Mukherjee
29 Ratings

47 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    Great Company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great working environment with flexible work life balance, which is good for my family life. Good pay and benefits. I really feel part of the team, and it was clear my work is appreciated and my hard efforts do go rewarded.

    I have found my team leaders/management to be both responsive and helpful. So am not sure why so many reviews here are so negative.

    Blinkx has many exciting products and is being well lead by senior management (even if the current mood of investors is very negative towards the company, it is not so for those of us working here).

    Cons

    Expect employees to work hard. So if this is not you then you may find life hard.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I expect our hard work will bear fruit shortly.

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you feel part of the team! We strive to create a great team that works together. Our challenges make us stronger and as you ... More

  2. Great Benefits, Fast-Paced Environment - Overall Great Place to Work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Cool company / fun place to work.

    Most of the staff is made up of super talented, smart, and approachable people. The fact that blinkx has acquired a few different brands means that an employee from one company has access to the skill set of an employee from another company. I didn't realize this was much of a "pro" until it came up with a project I was working on and was able to leverage an employee from a recently acquired company.

    Benefits are great, and a lot better than similar companies in the industry from what I've seen (especially with the recently implemented 401k match). Awesome health care coverage and great vacation / time off package. You can carry over vacation and sick days to the next year if you don't use them. Free snacks & coffee are also a nice touch, especially for someone like me who probably drinks 7 cups per day :). Benefits weren't bad 3 years ago when I first started, but have definitely gotten a lot better over the last year and a half or so.

    Upper level management also does a good job in recognizing and rewarding those with a strong work ethic; including promoting within the organization. I've seen many colleagues (including myself) get a promotion as a result of the hard work they put in.

    Cons

    Workload can sometimes be heavy and result in putting in extra hours. It doesn't often interfere with weekends, but most employees are working more than a 9-5 day.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your employees. Focus on continuing to align the different divisions within the organization.

    blinkx Response

    Mar 26, 2015Human Resources

    We appreciate your review! As we grow, employees are given a unique opportunity to work across divisions and utilize strengths across multiple projects, within the organization. As you have seen ... More

  3. Good first job, can learn a lot.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Information Technology
    Current Employee - Information Technology

    I have been working at blinkx

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Some great people, exposure to a rich technology platform. They deal with all pieces of advertising, including display, video, mobile, programmatic, and SOE.

    Cons

    Poor communication across business units makes it hard to see the Big Picture. Company seems to change direction frequently, but not decisively.

    Advice to Management

    Give more autonomy to mid-level management. Focus on communicating effectively, and getting buy-in from employees.

    blinkx Response

    Mar 26, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for providing feedback! We are excited you recognize the awesome team here at blinkx and our range of products. We strive to provide each employee with growth opportunities within the ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    Culture of fear

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Development
    Current Employee - Business Development

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great industry, some very talented people are still at the company.

    Cons

    The CEO leads by instilling fear, just like what was said in the last (real) review. No one will stand up to him, and if you do, you will find yourself out of a job. Which is a shame, because the CEO knows the least about the company and what we actually do. A good CEO welcomes different opinions and surrounds himself with smart people who are trusted to lead the company. CEO surrounds himself with people who tell him what he wants to hear. He makes things personal and no one respects him or his get rich quick schemes.

    Advice to Management

    Stand up and be counted. The employees deserve that.

    blinkx Response

    Mar 19, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. While we were happy to hear you recognize the awesome, talented employees we have here at blinkx, we were disappointed in reading the rest of your review. Blinkx prides ... More

  6. Helpful (9)

    Empty Promises, Empty Chairs

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    There are still some good people who still work here. A small handful anyway. Work hours are pretty decent. You don't often have to work weekends.

    Cons

    Nobody is happy to come to work anymore. And many have stopped coming permanently, they quit.

    Communication is terrible from the top down.

    Morale is in the toilet, and for valid reasons. It's pretty unanimous. Unless you believe those reviews posted by HR to try and stem the onslaught of the inevitable.

    They try and ask us to write them too. We all know you're trying to pad reviews here on Glassdoor. We don't appreciate it. Trust me, we want to write good reviews. Give us some reasons too. Then ask. You won't have to when that time comes.

    The execs who drove this company into its current dire situation, blame everyone but themselves. They seem perplexed. They can't fathom why on earth they see constant failure. Even though, the reasons stem from their own actions. They don't invest in their people. They don't provide resources. They don't provide the time.

    Salaries fall short. They promise things and don't deliver. The culture sucks, we don't even have any. HR seems to think a newsletter is all it takes.

    Advice to Management

    Stop with your get rich quick schemes. We all love a quick dollar on occasion, but your employees deserve stability. The type of stability that only comes with proper business models and great products. You try and rule by fear. You push unrealistic deadlines. You kick your employees when we're already down.

    Guess what. We're not afraid. Those of us left are just trying to turn things around for the other people who work here. You've used your axe to cut people, but soon it will be your positions if you don't change.

    Trust the people you have employed. Let them do what they do best. Stop derailing everything they're trying to accomplish. Your decisions did this to the company. Your lack of understanding continues to plague this company. Your lack of communication is felt every day. Your lack of trust is known by all.

    CHANGE ALREADY!

    blinkx Response

    Mar 2, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Know that management understands and appreciates the value, hard work, and dedication each employee brings to the company. We are extremely ... More

  7. Helpful (7)

    While even the highs weren't very high, the lows are a bottomless pit of unhappiness

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    One thing blinkx has always had going for it is good people, even as it grows through acquisition. Somehow (most) of the people remain amazing. I don't know how the company has retained so many for so long, although we're definitely starting to see some of the lifers trickle out. And I don't think it's just people coming together to make the best of a bad situation--the majority of people are truly dedicated and talented and fun to be around.

    Benefits are good. There are some great managers and some of the business leaders know what they're doing.

    Cons

    It's good we tend to get along, because we see A LOT of each other. The CEO puts in 24 hour days and expects everyone else to, too. Unfortunately most people aren't compensated at his level, so sorry everybody--you're kinda working for free! Everyone complains about the low pay.

    At a certain management level, no one takes a real vacation. 24 hours a day, 7 days a week is the expectation pushed down from above.

    To make things even more entertaining, we have major attrition and nothing's going to change anytime soon. Like I said, people are abandoning this sinking ship and none of the execs are doing anything about it.

    Advice to Management

    You know why people are leaving? Because no one likes being one person doing the job of three (except maybe the CEO). Pay us more, respect our lives outside the work day, and stop pretending blinkx is a start up. It WAS a start up. Now it's a raggedy collection of loosely organized businesses held together by spit and despair.

    blinkx Response

    Jan 27, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy to hear you recognize the rockstars we have here at blinkx! We are always striving to be better and will take your comments into ... More

  8. Helpful (7)

    The latest reviews speak for themselves

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great snacks. Nice view. People are generally nice and smart.

    Cons

    Like others have said, there is no leadership and the company and CEO have very questionable ethics. It's like a labor camp here. No recognition for working countless hours to deliver projects.

    Advice to Management

    Start leading and get a new ceo

    blinkx Response

    Mar 2, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear you recognize the incredibly awesome and smart employees we have here at blinkx! However, we are disappointed to hear that you feel management is not ... More

  9. Lot's of autonomy and perfect job for the self-starter who doesn't need a lot of supervision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    there's a lot of ears open when you voice your opinion. You have the freedom to really branch out and take on whatever role you'd like to take. If you have initiative, you can pull in other employees from other departments or divisions to really make a difference..

    Cons

    The industry is very fast face and ever changing. Sometimes it's difficult to keep up with all the changes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep looking out for the A players who are looking to take on more, and make sure they're recognized and noticed for their contributions.

    blinkx Response

    Jul 15, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with blinkx.

  10. how is it to work at blinkx

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    convinient, nice location, great office space

    Cons

    salary, stock in really bad state

    blinkx Response

    Jul 23, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoy the office environment. We are always open to additional feedback. Please feel free to reach out to blinkxcares@blinkx.com and an HR ... More

  11. Helpful (6)

    You'll gain experience here.. because you literally have to think on your feet and fix everything that breaks each week.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The work-life balance is great, making your own hours, even though you're expected to work weekends... The office culture is split into two. Once someone has pass the 4/5 year mark, you're in with the "good ol boys" group. Free snacks in the kitchen... nothing but junk food. Want to learn a new skill in a hurry? Great because there's always something that's been broken for weeks...years... and it needs to be fixed now.

    Cons

    Please read the comments below the last 3. True wisdom is there and please run.. RUN. You're on your own after a few months. Not much help or praise is given, a half smile "good job" here or there or "thanks". Then back to work. You're paid next to nothing, and they know it- this is something they're proud of! It's an office full of desperation.... While you look at your co-workers in pity knowing all the hard work they put in for the less than measly pay given. Expect yearly cuts in any bonus, mbos, etc. Forget about an increase in salary or growing with the company in any way shape or form.. except for when others start to leave. They won't hire someone to replace them.... That's now your responsibility. Expect to wear many hats and deal with "that's not my job" and "we have to get this done so stay late" types in the office.

    Advice to Management

    Validate your employees hard work. Pay them what they're worth. Be loyal to them and the favor will return.

    blinkx Response

    Jul 10, 2014Human Resources

    I am sorry you are having a negative experience at blinkx. Over the past 10 years we have worked tirelessly to make this a great place to come to work. We are extremely proud of the company and ... More

blinkx Photos

front entrance

+ Add Photo

Work at blinkx? Share Your Experiences

blinkx

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.