ARM Holdings Reviews

Updated July 2, 2015
167 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.9
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ARM Holdings Chief Executive Officer Simon Segars
Simon Segars
58 Ratings

Pros
  • Work-life balance ok - rare to come in on a weekend (in 16 reviews)

  • In these divisions it did seem like there is a system of recognising smart people and engineering is respected (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Company is growing up and getting far more corporate, with less emphasis on getting the job done vs (in 6 reviews)

  • It has lost a lot of its small company startup appeal (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

167 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (7)

    Outstanding place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    ARM is uniquely positioned in the industry to provide technologies that underpin nearly every exciting new market in the electronics industry. ARM technologies are used in mobile phones, tablets, TV, set top box, enterprise networking, servers, cars, smart embedded devices and a myriad of others. Even if you don't know the ARM name, dozens of your favorite electronic devices are powered by ARM technology via our extensive network of silicon partners who incorporate our designs into their chips and systems.

    As a company, ARM has a culture of collaboration, innovation, a commitment to diversity, and a passion for progress. I cannot imagine a company I'd like to work for more than ARM. We have offices all around the world, allowing us to offer opportunities in many of the major technology hubs. We are committed to leading our industry and have leaders in many fields among our staff.

    Cons

    There is little down side to ARM as I see it. We all work hard, but we do it as a team and the results show for it.


  2. Amazing work environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at ARM Holdings

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Small engineering employee body thus great chance to meet seasoned engineers and HRs.
    Every experienced enigeer here is so helpful for an intern like me.

    Cons

    Nothing much to say about the cons for ARM Inc

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging University students and fresh graduates.

    ARM Holdings Response

    Jun 11, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review!

    Glad to hear that you're having a great intern experience, and we're always looking for new ways to support the next generation of engineers. If you have any
    ... More


  3. Talent Aquisition

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Advisor in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Advisor in Austin, TX

    I have been working at ARM Holdings

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    great atmosphere, really like my team, challenging work

    Cons

    working on building up processes to help streamline


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Fast pace and growing company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    interesting work, open, lot of benefits, European culture, travel opportunity, diverse, collaborative environment

    Cons

    salary, rapid turn over, work load, growing too fast, HR, re-organisation

    ARM Holdings Response

    Jun 11, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review!

    It's a bit of a cycle that we're caught in right now. As the ARM product portfolio grows and we get more industry recognition, our partners are looking for us to
    ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    Smart and easygoing co-workers, good vacations and benefits

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    ARM's a good company to work for. Since the company's British, we've got more of a laid-back culture than somewhere like Apple. And we get good holidays and benefits because of the British culture. Mobile stuff is on the way up, and ARM's at the front of that. It's nice to be in a market segment that's trending up instead of down.

    Cons

    They're a little conservative with money. We don't have fancy headquarters or fabulous perks in the office. Salaries are supposedly lower than at similar American companies. We're not as deep into implementation technology as companies like Intel and Apple, since we mostly license the ARM instruction set.

    ARM Holdings Response

    May 22, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review!

    I completely agree that there are some great perks for working for a British company in the US, foremost being the generous vacation and holiday allotment we get
    ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    Engineer

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at ARM Holdings

    Pros

    Good place to work overall.

    Cons

    Salary wasn't sub par when compared with companies in the area.

    ARM Holdings Response

    May 20, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review!

    -Rick C.
    Social Recruiting Manager


  8. Helpful (3)

    A growing company with severe growing pains.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    This is the place to be if you like being at the beginning of a tech revolution. Compensation for my job is quite generous and most other employers won't even attempt to match it.

    Cons

    If you like personal space you won't get it here. Management insists on bringing more people on board and then pretends like the offices defy the laws of space like the TARDIS.

    If you want to be promoted I'd recommend looking elsewhere. If there's a choice to promote someone or hire from outside, 90% of the time it is always the latter decision. Management also doesn't feel that taking on more responsibility and stress merits a pay rise either.

    Upper management over the past year has done very well insulating itself from upward feedback. Employee surveys are conducted but results are spun in a fashion that'd make the best politicians jealous.

    Advice to Management

    Stop ignoring the Elephant in the room and start addressing the issues that are leading to job dissatisfaction. You can't keep cramming more employees into offices without addressing the issue of more space. Stop berating your employees for saying things you don't want to hear.

    ARM Holdings Response

    May 20, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your honest feedback.

    Since we have grown so big so fast, it's hard to find the space to put people sometimes. Depending on your location, we are looking to address that with new
    ... More


  9. Great place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Design Engineer
    Current Employee - Principal Design Engineer

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Not the best pay but great benefits / bonus / stock plans

    Cons

    Penny pinching for some things cab be annoying. Increase in email volumes / worload for line managers might become unworkable if trend continues

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees - I think that is being done do keep it up.

    ARM Holdings Response

    May 12, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review.

    First, thank you for having worked at ARM for over 10 years! With how fast we're growing these days, more and more employees will be looking to your expertise and
    ... More


  10. Great place to work!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern Software Engineer
    Former Employee - Intern Software Engineer

    I worked at ARM Holdings

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of resources to learn from. People are super helpful and go out of their way to ensure you understand how different things fit together. In my case, I was a software automation engineer and had lots of one on one help from senior engineers explaining how different tools and programs work together. There was never an instance where I was stuck or lost and no one was able to help me. Work is challenging, but rewarding.

    Work life balance is great as well. There was no micromanagement and as long as I got the work done, my superiors were fine with it.

    Cons

    I wasn't here long enough to see the cons.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    ARM Holdings Response

    Apr 29, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review, even though you were only at ARM for a short while.

    We hope you consider us for employment once you have finished your studies!

    -Rick C.
    Social Recruiting Manager


  11. Staff Verification Engineer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Good work to life balance

    Cons

    Not sure if I'm paid enough

    ARM Holdings Response

    Jun 1, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review, and great to hear that you think the work/life balance is good.

    In regards to your salary, we are introducing a new AFDS log book so you work on feedback with your
    ... More



Showing 167 of 183 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.