ARM Holdings Reviews

Updated May 25, 2015
61 reviews filtered by
  • United Kingdom
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
4.2
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ARM Holdings Chief Executive Officer Simon Segars
Simon Segars
25 Ratings

Pros
  • Work-life balance ok - rare to come in on a weekend (in 16 reviews)

  • In these divisions it did seem like there is a system of recognising smart people and engineering is respected (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Company is growing up and getting far more corporate, with less emphasis on getting the job done vs (in 6 reviews)

  • It has lost a lot of its small company startup appeal (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

61 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (2)

    Software Engineering Intern

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)
    Current Intern - Intern in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)

    I have been working at ARM Holdings as an intern (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of Oppurtunities for development and learning more.
    Lots of community events and communal feel.

    Cons

    Cambridge is expensive to live.
    Would be nice if Catering was freely provided.

    Advice to Management

    Share information of customers and management plans etc with engineers

    ARM Holdings Response

    May 6, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review on your Intern experience with ARM!

    We too wish that Cambridge was a bit more affordable to live, and I'm definitely with you on the free food! Alas, with how much
    ... More


  2. Best place to learn, work and contribute as a whole

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)

    I have been working at ARM Holdings

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very intelligent colleagues
    Competitive salary
    Friendly environment

    Cons

    Nothing as such...

    Some random disagreements which may happen at any workplace

    Advice to Management

    A monthly feedback form from employees in order to understand their comfortability at current work place

    ARM Holdings Response

    May 26, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review!

    We don't currently have a monthly feedback form for employees in place, other than your scheduled 1:1's with your line manager, but this is something that I have
    ... More


  3. A great place to work.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Collaborative culture and amazingly intelligent people makes for a great place to work. There are so many opportunities at ARM and you really feel like you can make an impact because the company is still relatively small.

    Cons

    The company has grown quickly and therefore some of the processes are not scalable. As such there can be some bureaucracy but there is serious effort to improve this. The office environment in terms of facilities could be better. By no means are they bad, but there is definitely room for improvement.

    Advice to Management

    As long as employees are still given opportunities to develop their careers, ARM will be a happy place to work! A quick win would be to do an office refit to just get the physical environment on a par with other tech companies.

    ARM Holdings Response

    May 6, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your honest feedback.

    We completely acknowledge that we have grown very quickly, and some of our services haven't scaled to match our growth. We are investing heavily in our IT
    ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    interesting, challenging work, but low pay, terrible facilities and increasing corporate bulls*it

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Smart engineers, interesting work. Opportunity to innovate if you push for it. Advancement is possible if you put yourself in the right place.

    Cons

    Awful facilities in Cambridge, poor pay, HR out of control.
    Pathways for promotion are very poorly defined and vary a lot between divisions.

    Advice to Management

    Retain what made the company great rather than introducing corporate crap like "be your brilliant self"

    ARM Holdings Response

    May 4, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review. We continuously review and benchmark salary data across the industry, though that is only part of our equation we use to determine salary. If you do feel that you are ... More


  6. Great Company - Too Much Politics

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Let it be said that ARM is a fantastic company - good pay, good benefits, good opportunities.

    We're exposed to great opportunities and the working space in cambridge is fantastic!

    Cons

    What lets it down is the politics - it's got too big too fast and many are playing games to get ahead.

    if you're a non-engineer in this company, prepare to feel unimportant at times. There is a huge push to help engineers feel well paid and looked after, but non-engineers struggle. There is no definition of grades for non-engineers and no guidelines on how you can improve.

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN to your staff, take in what they say and don't let politics rule the business!


  7. Helpful (1)

    Software Engineer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)

    I have been working at ARM Holdings full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Policies, benefits, balance between work and life

    Cons

    Too much information to absorb

    ARM Holdings Response

    Apr 20, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your review!

    The information that needs to be a little overwhelming at times, but that's why we have a great holiday policy in place that allows you to step back and refocus on what you
    ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    Web Developer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Web Developer in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)
    Current Intern - Web Developer in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)

    I have been working at ARM Holdings as an intern (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    * Relaxed atmosphere
    * Many smart people

    Cons

    * Low salary
    * Tiny gym
    * Terrible intranet

    ARM Holdings Response

    Apr 29, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving your honest review regarding your internship at ARM.

    While I do pass on feedback to the relevant teams, I highly encourage you to also leave the feedback regarding pay in
    ... More


  9. Great Company with great people

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at ARM Holdings

    Pros

    Nice business model, intelligent people

    Cons

    Internal communication not good

    ARM Holdings Response

    Apr 13, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review and feedback regarding internal communications. We are constantly working to improve internal comms, and with our recent launch of the new ARM intranet, we hope that ... More


  10. Huge impact on technology

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)

    I have been working at ARM Holdings

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The company is chock full with super-bright people who are heavily committed to the success of the company. That shoes on a day-to-day basis with how easy it is to affect change when there's a customer knocking at the door, but is balanced by a good strategic view.

    Cons

    The pace is relentless, but somewhat tempered by quite an academic consensus culture. Many new people find this balance very difficult to get used to.

    ARM Holdings Response

    Mar 30, 2015Social Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the feedback!

    -Rick C.
    Social Recruiting Manager


  11. Helpful (3)

    Great people

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at ARM Holdings part-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great people to work with, relaxed atmosphere, great summer and Christmas parties, if you are on the main site there is a gym and canteen. Open to flexible working and part time arrangements.

    Cons

    Too many meetings, benefit package is poor, the 2015 bonus was dire and there appears to be a huge discrepancy between US and UK salaries. If you are off the main site there is no canteen or gym unless you travel to the main site. The technology you are given to work with is not good.



Showing 61 of 183 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.