Acquia

  www.acquia.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Acquia Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.6 32 reviews

92% Approve of the CEO

Acquia CEO Thomas Erickson

Thomas Erickson

(25 ratings)

70% of employees recommend this company to a friend
32 Employee Reviews
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

     

    Great company but management still experiencing teething problems.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsThis company has great potential with some amazing success stories over the last few years. Great rates of pay.

    ConsVery little training provided. Expected to work several extra hours a week.

    Advice to Senior ManagementDysfuntional Management still need to be more realistic about their goals and there is too much overruling.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    One company I would never work for again!

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsThe salary was ok, but not the added pressure of the environment

    ConsNo Strategy
    No Management responsibility
    No stability in the company (hire and fire mentality)
    No retention plan
    No Career Development
    No support at all
    No respect for fellow colleagues

    Advice to Senior ManagementRather than just throw people in at the deep end and let them sink. Would it not be better to hire the right people and retain them by giving them support and the relevant training for their chosen markets. A few dodgy leads from Africa and Asia will not help grow the European business!

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

    2 people found this helpful  

    Great people, horrible management

    Sales (Former Employee) Reading, England (UK)

    ProsAcquia EMEA had some great people. Unfortunately middle/senior management pushed them all out. Nice office but not great location for acquiring and retaining talent. The tech and support side of things run very smoothly. Great people there and middle management there knows what it takes to keep people happy both on the customer side and employee side of things. Wish I could say the same of sales. Also, really believe in the product and the passion of those working to improve it.

    ConsVery cut-throat culture for the sales team. The "you're only as good as your last quarter" mentality has never been as true as here. And even if you do well but don't play their political games you stand the chance of being given the boot. You're not encouraged to think for yourself at all. The weather in the UK changes less than process, procedures and structure at Acquia (Not to mention employees). This was literally the worse job I ever had but with the highest potential. If only they would get their act together.

    Advice to Senior ManagementI would advise senior management in the US to take a very close look at what's happening in the EMEA office. With the high level of staff turnover for more than a year and a half now they must realise that the problem lies more with management than with the sales team. People don't even get the chance to finish their ramp-plan before getting pushed out. You'll never have a fully functioning sales team if you don't provide the proper training or push them out before they even had a chance. You need to get a proper sales structure in and stick to it. Listen more to your employees as they are at the frontline with your customers. They hear the a

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Acquia Response

    May 22, 2014CEO

    I'm sorry that your experience at Acquia was not a positive one. I personally have made several trips to Europe to ensure our initiatives there were on track. We've made some mistakes for sure ... More

  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great US organisation but extremely poor EMEA organisation,

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee) Reading, England (UK)

    Pros- OSS which is different than proprietary
    - multi cultural environment

    Cons- high turn over of staff (EMEA) ; 10 sales people left in first 6 month of the year, on a team of 15
    - obsolete sales strategy and same for marketing dept.
    -micromanagement a la callcenter ( who wants to buy a 1mil+ service from an agent)

    Advice to Senior Management-implement tools allow greater reach into the market
    - transform your message from transitional to consultative
    - localize and expand to asiapac

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Acquia Response

    Sep 13, 2013CEO

    Thanks for the note. We have had a rocky time with our EMEA staff. We made some mistakes in hiring, not applying the same criteria as we had in the USA, and that has resulted in more turnover than ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    No training structure for employees

    Account Manager (Former Employee) Burlington, MA

    ProsStrong leadership, great products, free beer and snacks!

    ConsNo sales training for new employees, not willing to invest in employees long term. Very "sink or swim" right from day 1.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    In one sentence I would say this was one of the best and worst companies I worked for.

    Technical Account Manager (Former Employee)

    Pros- Great Colleagues.
    - Great learning opportunity, although all learning is done hands on when something crashes and you need to fix it.
    - Lots of high profile projects.

    Cons- Too much micro management and scrutiny. The feeling big brother is watching every move.
    - Too much exposure to higher management discussions. As a technical account manager, my goal is to be great and useful to my clients, not be 70%, 80% or 90% billable.
    - Very little time allocated to training and practically no training budget.
    - Rough work/life balance sometimes.
    - Lack of care towards employees. Even though it's a technical position, you're only as good as your billable hours.

    Advice to Senior ManagementStart caring more about your employees and less about your numbers. After all, the people make the numbers.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Acquia Response

    Jul 12, 2014CEO

    Certainly very disappointing to see your thoughts here, though I appreciate them. Clearly our employee recognition and compensation / benefits / equity efforts are not having the desired effect ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

     

    Good for your career, bad for your family

    Engineer (Former Employee) Burlington, MA

    ProsLot's to learn, lot's to do. Snack and drinks are a very nice thing to have. They try really hard to have a positive culture. Will look fantastic on your resume.

    ConsNo project ownership. Many tasks are refactoring code, fixing bugs, or worse, adding features without any chance to fix the underlying code. Way to much process, easy to get held up for a week. Management gives no feedback until it's to late. Reviews are mandatory but don't matter when it comes to pay considerations. Some team members work constantly, at all hours and every day. This makes a 50-60 hour week light in comparison, and management encourages you to complete more projects to 'get on par'.

    Advice to Senior ManagementCut some process, be prompt with feedback and expectations, encourage project ownership and discourage project pirates.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Acquia Response

    Aug 9, 2013CEO

    On behalf of Chris Brookins ......

    We're sorry you had a negative experience, but glad you agree as many do that Acquia is a great place to build your career.

    re: your points, I'd like to
    ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    No work life balance

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsFun atmosphere, being a part of company that is growing rapidly. there are plenty of activities that work to bring the teams together, and plenty of free beer to fill those activities. For the most part there are a lot of great people there but that is changing quickly.

    ConsNo work life balance at all and there is no room for error. They like to think that they are all having fun and it's great to be there but I think they do that to disguise the hours that you have to be there. Even if you are done with your work and have nothing to do, don't even think about leaving before 6:30. Even if it's a family emergency

    Advice to Senior ManagementPractice what you preach! and take sometime to work with your employees to reach a goal

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Acquia Response

    Aug 9, 2013CEO

    I'm confused by your comments. In Pros, you admit its a fun atmosphere. In Cons, you state that folks are disguising their fun. I agree that it's hard work. That's the nature of a start-up, and ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Acquia

    Technical Account Manager (Current Employee)

    Pros- Most of the tech people are amazingly helpful.

    Cons- Working long / odd hours is not unusual and my family hates it.
    - Ironocally the company made Drupal much less fun for me.
    - Drupalcon is no longer a fun event but a mere business opportunity.
    - Because of the workload, I struggle to contribute back to the community.
    - Sales can be too aggressive at times

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Acquia Response

    Sep 17, 2013CEO

    From Michael Krause, VP Customer Solutions:

    Thank you for your post! Your courage, candor and willingness to be transparent helps us increase the quality of our experience here at Acquia and yours
    ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    tsunami effect

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsGreat work environment. Very open, collaborative, free food and drinks all the time! Fun culture, monthly activities and team building. Friendly co workers.

    ConsReally a sink or swim experience. Somewhat overwhelming when you start and there is really no one to help you after onboarding. You kind of have to find your own way. There seems to be a lot of ego rolling around the office as well which doesn't help the communication among some of the staff.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Acquia Response

    Aug 9, 2013CEO

    Very pleased you love our culture and values. It's the center of creating a great company in my opinion, and we work hard to sustain them. Certainly helps, because as you rightfully point out ... More

Worked for Acquia? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.