Affymetrix

www.affymetrix.com

Affymetrix Reviews

Updated October 30, 2014
Updated October 30, 2014
58 Reviews
3.5
58 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Affymetrix President & CEO Frank Whitney
Frank Whitney
22 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Affy provides good work life balance and the people are great to work with (in 6 reviews)

  • I get to work with a lot of smart people, they provide good benefits and the salary is competitive (in 5 reviews)


Cons
  • Bad and ineffective Senior Management (in 4 reviews)

  • Upper management needed a refresh (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great company to work for, even when the company was going through it's growing pains.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Library Technical Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Library Technical Assistant in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix as a contractor (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    There are always ways to proof yourself. Individual Managers are great in parsing out workloads.

    Cons

    Like any other company, have to make the most of a roller-coaster economy, which means being lean and mean.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your employees more, they do make a difference.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 31, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Here at Affy we feel that it's very valuable to be able to hear from our employees. It's nice to see that employees are able to voice their opinions here on Glassdoor. This will allow us to better ... More

  2.  

    Very rewarding!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Administration
    Current Employee - Administration

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    In my opinion, the employees and the leaders.

    Cons

    Nothing, everything seems to be very fair.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 29, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    We would not be where we are today without the help of our dedicated employees. Thanks for taking the time to post a comment on our profile page.

  3.  

    Great place to work, and help make a better world!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've been an Affy employee for 4 years, and am happy to be part of a company that is making a difference in the world in so many ways. I enjoy being with my friendly, down-to-earth, hard-working and very smart co-workers. Our CEO, Frank Witney, has done an amazing job of turning around the company; and he's also a genuine, caring, and extremely conscientious leader. There is a lot of opportunity ahead for Affymetrix, and for employees who are willing to make the extra effort.

    Cons

    Affymetrix went through some hard times, and is making huge progress. Sometimes, employees need just a little more patience, and realize that we still have to keep watching the bottom line. Like every company I've ever worked in, we need to keep focusing on simplifying processes, and finding ways to keep the workload manageable while getting the best productivity we can.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep communicating openly -- even if there is unpleasant news. Keep caring -- it shows that you are now better aligned and working together to help the company succeed.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 9, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear that you are having a positive experience here at Affymetrix.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Company is okay - some growth in maturity required.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Management
    Former Employee - Sales Management

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good technology. Leadership wants to regain the company's proper place in the market. Compensation is fair - probably the industry average. Weak areas identified and efforts are appropriately placed.

    Cons

    While the top leadership is capable, some of the middle level management engages in distracting politics and silo fights. If they got behind one another and supported other groups' efforts, it would be a much better place.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Spend more time in attention to employees. Keep them happy and they will deliver on the loads of work you've burdened them with.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Affymetrix Response

    Nov 4, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Your opinion matters to us. Thank you for your review.

  6.  

    A Great Place to Work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Affy provides good work life balance and the people are great to work with. The company is helping employees better understand how we are making a difference in the world. Hence "Biology for a better world".

    Cons

    Not all of us are technical. So sometimes the presentations that are shown during the town hall are complex and hard to understand.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Simplify the presentations that you show. Not all of us are scientist, but we all are interested in what you have to say.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 2, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thank you for your review and feedback. The leadership team is continuously working on ensuring that our message is understood across our employee base. As an alumni, it's great to see that you are ... More

  7.  

    I enjoy coming to work every day

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Affy allows us to understand what we do and why we do it. I get to work with a lot of smart people, they provide good benefits and the salary is competitive. The culture here is very collaborative and offers opportunities in all different areas of the company.

    Cons

    Processes can some time be too lengthy and there may be more meetings than what is really required.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to help employees understand how they are contributing to the big picture.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 9, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    I appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. It's great to have your comments in mind as we continue to improve the experience for employees here at Affymetrix. Thank you!

  8.  

    Good Place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of Learning, flexible management, no nonsense place

    Cons

    Usual Management politics
    Need to come up with new products

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 2, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    I'm glad that you are able to grow in your learning. Affy takes pride in our training and development and we hope to provide additional tools to enhance your growth even further. We will also ... More

  9.  

    A good, but too-short experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Web Publisher in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Web Publisher in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix as a contractor (less than a year)

    Pros

    Good money for a contract gig, good people to work with, lots of freedom to improve things, within limits. I'd recommend it.

    Cons

    The usual corporate nonsense, unrealistic deadlines, lousy content, no respect for worker bees on the part of senior management, no money to make things actually good, just "good enough," which was almost never good.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Lose the skin-flintyness, spend the money to keep people from extreme burnout, be realistic, abandon the agile/scrum development concept.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 2, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write this review. The leadership team will find your comments helpful to better improve Affy.

  10.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Research Associate I in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Research Associate I in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology, great benefits

    Cons

    Less of work-life balance, worked weekends when deadlines due

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep being supportive

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 2, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thank you for being supportive as well.

  11.  

    Documentation Project Contractor

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Documentation Specialist in Emeryville, CA
    Current Employee - Documentation Specialist in Emeryville, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix as a contractor (less than a year)

    Pros

    Working on the genomics research cutting edge. I was a vital contributing member of the GUI development team for the Exon Array Computational Tool (ExACT) for analysis project-enhancement by a specific audience of Ph.D. genetics and bioinformatics research biologists. The hourly rate paid as a contractor was however a career zenith for me. Employees paid $3 for $8-12 because lunches of the very shady Oakland border location (I was warned to not allow my vehicle to remain in the employee lot after dark.)

    Cons

    I worked for an acquired company satellite division in Emeryville underpowered from the Santa Clara headquarters where preapprovals were required before proceeding, and where Scientific Technical Writers and other personnel were uncooperative. Affymetrix has a strict policy of an undergraduate microbiology degree at least to become a Scientific Technical Writer so despite my Master's degree in another area & 20+ years of experience promises to the contrary of being brought on permanently went unfulfilled.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Narrow the pyramid of Directors, VPs, and upper management in general.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Work at Affymetrix? Share Your Experiences

Affymetrix

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.