Affymetrix Reviews

Updated April 26, 2015
74 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (3)

    After 14 years they laid me off.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good work life family balance.

    Cons

    BAD management no other excuse.

    Advice to Management

    Get real, stop trying to do everything

    Affymetrix Response

    Apr 6, 2015Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    We really appreciate you taking the time to comment.

  2. Helpful (4)

    nice group of people to work with

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Product Manager
    Former Employee - Product Manager

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    good group of people to work with, very smart and outgoing people.

    Cons

    when I was there every 6 months we had a layoff, management like to hire friends and form clicks that just runs the company down. We build factories just to demolish soon after, spend millions on new technology and never apply them or make a profit from them.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so greedy, stop laying people off and hiring friends that are nice but don't know how to grow the business. it's killing the company. Develop a plan for the future and go for it, and put people in charge that are accountable. Managers need to stop cutting teams to the bone then hire some back because the cut too deep. It kills morale and impact productivity. Make managers accountable for the team's failure.

    Affymetrix Response

    Apr 6, 2015Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for your feedback. Affymetrix has a solid plan in place so that the company can continuously improve.

  3. Helpful (2)

    Affymetrix could be better

    Former Employee - Scientist in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Scientist in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits and nice people

    Cons

    low salary, slow promotion, bad manager quality

    Advice to Management

    Annual review should be more stringent to higher level managers

    Affymetrix Response

    Apr 6, 2015Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for your response. Is it possible for you to elaborate more on the last comment about "annual review should be more stringent to higher level managers?"

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Great company to work for, even when the company was going through it's growing pains.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Library Technical Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Contractor - Library Technical Assistant in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix as a contractor (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    There are always ways to proof yourself. Individual Managers are great in parsing out workloads.

    Cons

    Like any other company, have to make the most of a roller-coaster economy, which means being lean and mean.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more, they do make a difference.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 31, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Here at Affy we feel that it's very valuable to be able to hear from our employees. It's nice to see that employees are able to voice their opinions here on Glassdoor. This will allow us to better ... More

  6. Increasingly Exciting Atmosphere

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Employees are devoted and determined to the mission of the company resulting in a very positive work atmosphere. Employees are engaged with plenty of company functions. The benefits are very good as well.

    Cons

    Miscommunication between departments will cause the departments to run in two different directions only to find out progress made is not compatible.

  7. Company is okay - some growth in maturity required.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Management
    Former Employee - Sales Management

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good technology. Leadership wants to regain the company's proper place in the market. Compensation is fair - probably the industry average. Weak areas identified and efforts are appropriately placed.

    Cons

    While the top leadership is capable, some of the middle level management engages in distracting politics and silo fights. If they got behind one another and supported other groups' efforts, it would be a much better place.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time in attention to employees. Keep them happy and they will deliver on the loads of work you've burdened them with.

    Affymetrix Response

    Nov 4, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Your opinion matters to us. Thank you for your review.

  8. Very rewarding!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Administration
    Current Employee - Administration

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    In my opinion, the employees and the leaders.

    Cons

    Nothing, everything seems to be very fair.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 29, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    We would not be where we are today without the help of our dedicated employees. Thanks for taking the time to post a comment on our profile page.

  9. Great place to work, and help make a better world!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I've been an Affy employee for 4 years, and am happy to be part of a company that is making a difference in the world in so many ways. I enjoy being with my friendly, down-to-earth, hard-working and very smart co-workers. Our CEO, Frank Witney, has done an amazing job of turning around the company; and he's also a genuine, caring, and extremely conscientious leader. There is a lot of opportunity ahead for Affymetrix, and for employees who are willing to make the extra effort.

    Cons

    Affymetrix went through some hard times, and is making huge progress. Sometimes, employees need just a little more patience, and realize that we still have to keep watching the bottom line. Like every company I've ever worked in, we need to keep focusing on simplifying processes, and finding ways to keep the workload manageable while getting the best productivity we can.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating openly -- even if there is unpleasant news. Keep caring -- it shows that you are now better aligned and working together to help the company succeed.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 9, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear that you are having a positive experience here at Affymetrix.

  10. I enjoy coming to work every day

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Affy allows us to understand what we do and why we do it. I get to work with a lot of smart people, they provide good benefits and the salary is competitive. The culture here is very collaborative and offers opportunities in all different areas of the company.

    Cons

    Processes can some time be too lengthy and there may be more meetings than what is really required.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to help employees understand how they are contributing to the big picture.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 9, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    I appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. It's great to have your comments in mind as we continue to improve the experience for employees here at Affymetrix. Thank you!

  11. A Great Place to Work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Affy provides good work life balance and the people are great to work with. The company is helping employees better understand how we are making a difference in the world. Hence "Biology for a better world".

    Cons

    Not all of us are technical. So sometimes the presentations that are shown during the town hall are complex and hard to understand.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify the presentations that you show. Not all of us are scientist, but we all are interested in what you have to say.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 2, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thank you for your review and feedback. The leadership team is continuously working on ensuring that our message is understood across our employee base. As an alumni, it's great to see that you are ... More

Work at Affymetrix? Share Your Experiences

Affymetrix

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.