Affymetrix Reviews

Updated June 24, 2015
27 reviews filtered by
  • Santa Clara, CA
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
4.1
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Affymetrix President & CEO Frank Witney
Frank Witney
11 Ratings

Pros
  • Affy provides good work life balance and the people are great to work with (in 6 reviews)

  • I get to work with a lot of smart people, they provide good benefits and the salary is competitive (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • Bad and ineffective Senior Management (in 4 reviews)

  • When I was employed at Affy there were some mind bending politics going on with Sr (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

27 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (1)

    Great company

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time

    Pros

    Work with great minds and very goal driven individuals

    Cons

    competitive workplace and difficulty moving up

    Affymetrix Response

    Jun 25, 2015Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for your review!


  2. Helpful (1)

    One of the best companies I have ever worked for :)

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Since Affy is a midsize company there is a lot of opportunity to learn and grow within the company. Colleges are very helpful and extremely friendly. Even the senior leadership is very approachable unlike other big companies. Employees are recognized for their work. I have been with the company for 4 yrs. and have no plans of leaving anytime soon.

    Cons

    It's a small company so one side you get to learn a lot but the only problem is when an employee leaves it really impacts as we have limited resources and along with that the subject matter knowledge also is gone with that employee and due to lack of documentation sometimes it's a challenge to keep systems running.

    Affymetrix Response

    Apr 22, 2015Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Happy to read this positive review! Keep up the good work! Yes, sometimes resources might be limited but it sounds like you work with a strong team that helps one another. Thank you for taking the ... More


  3. Helpful (3)

    After 14 years they laid me off.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good work life family balance.

    Cons

    BAD management no other excuse.

    Advice to Management

    Get real, stop trying to do everything

    Affymetrix Response

    Apr 6, 2015Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    We really appreciate you taking the time to comment.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    Affymetrix could be better

    Former Employee - Scientist in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Scientist in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits and nice people

    Cons

    low salary, slow promotion, bad manager quality

    Advice to Management

    Annual review should be more stringent to higher level managers

    Affymetrix Response

    Apr 6, 2015Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for your response. Is it possible for you to elaborate more on the last comment about "annual review should be more stringent to higher level managers?"


  6. Great company to work for, even when the company was going through it's growing pains.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Library Technical Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Contractor - Library Technical Assistant in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix as a contractor (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    There are always ways to proof yourself. Individual Managers are great in parsing out workloads.

    Cons

    Like any other company, have to make the most of a roller-coaster economy, which means being lean and mean.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more, they do make a difference.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 31, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Here at Affy we feel that it's very valuable to be able to hear from our employees. It's nice to see that employees are able to voice their opinions here on Glassdoor. This will allow us to better ... More


  7. Great place to work, and help make a better world!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I've been an Affy employee for 4 years, and am happy to be part of a company that is making a difference in the world in so many ways. I enjoy being with my friendly, down-to-earth, hard-working and very smart co-workers. Our CEO, Frank Witney, has done an amazing job of turning around the company; and he's also a genuine, caring, and extremely conscientious leader. There is a lot of opportunity ahead for Affymetrix, and for employees who are willing to make the extra effort.

    Cons

    Affymetrix went through some hard times, and is making huge progress. Sometimes, employees need just a little more patience, and realize that we still have to keep watching the bottom line. Like every company I've ever worked in, we need to keep focusing on simplifying processes, and finding ways to keep the workload manageable while getting the best productivity we can.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating openly -- even if there is unpleasant news. Keep caring -- it shows that you are now better aligned and working together to help the company succeed.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 9, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear that you are having a positive experience here at Affymetrix.


  8. A Great Place to Work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Affy provides good work life balance and the people are great to work with. The company is helping employees better understand how we are making a difference in the world. Hence "Biology for a better world".

    Cons

    Not all of us are technical. So sometimes the presentations that are shown during the town hall are complex and hard to understand.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify the presentations that you show. Not all of us are scientist, but we all are interested in what you have to say.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 2, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thank you for your review and feedback. The leadership team is continuously working on ensuring that our message is understood across our employee base. As an alumni, it's great to see that you are ... More


  9. I enjoy coming to work every day

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Affy allows us to understand what we do and why we do it. I get to work with a lot of smart people, they provide good benefits and the salary is competitive. The culture here is very collaborative and offers opportunities in all different areas of the company.

    Cons

    Processes can some time be too lengthy and there may be more meetings than what is really required.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to help employees understand how they are contributing to the big picture.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 9, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    I appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. It's great to have your comments in mind as we continue to improve the experience for employees here at Affymetrix. Thank you!


  10. A good, but too-short experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Web Publisher in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Contractor - Web Publisher in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good money for a contract gig, good people to work with, lots of freedom to improve things, within limits. I'd recommend it.

    Cons

    The usual corporate nonsense, unrealistic deadlines, lousy content, no respect for worker bees on the part of senior management, no money to make things actually good, just "good enough," which was almost never good.

    Advice to Management

    Lose the skin-flintyness, spend the money to keep people from extreme burnout, be realistic, abandon the agile/scrum development concept.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 2, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write this review. The leadership team will find your comments helpful to better improve Affy.


  11. Great place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate I in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Research Associate I in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology, great benefits

    Cons

    Less of work-life balance, worked weekends when deadlines due

    Advice to Management

    Keep being supportive

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 2, 2014Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thank you for being supportive as well.



Showing 27 of 77 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.