American Fidelity Assurance Company

  www.americanfidelity.com
  www.americanfidelity.com

American Fidelity Assurance Company Reviews

Updated December 3, 2014
Updated December 3, 2014
36 Reviews
3.5
36 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Bill Cameron
21 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great Place to Work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Afa in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Afa in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work and grow. American Fidelity cares about our customers including our employer groups and customers as well as our employees. We truly care about how our employees can grow and improve in the future and be successful.

    Cons

    no cons for American fidelity

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    continue to work on a united theme to help grow and be as successful as possible as we move into the future.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    Dec 8, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for your feedback! We love hearing how we’re meeting our goals to be a great place to work.

  2.  

    American Fidelity: Great Company to Work for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Worksite Director in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Worksite Director in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company

    Pros

    Unique niche market approach to sales
    Generous pay, opportunities, and benefits
    Defined benefit pension and 401k match
    Private ownership makes decisions for long term success
    Culture- family feel with goal oriented structure

    Cons

    Significant travel for sales positions (although fully paid for by AFA)
    Need to develop better online service tools for customers
    Varying degree of proficiency for managers

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Communicate corporate objectives better.
    Make sure all employees understand career path, perks and benefits, and retirement plan

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    Dec 11, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback on where we’re meeting our Employer of Choice goals and are always looking for ways to improve. We have several project teams currently in place ... More

  3.  

    Great company to work for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology to work with, always looking to continuously improve processes, great work culture and colleagues

    Cons

    Still using a lot of older technology and going through pains of transforming itself.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Leadership should continue to be open to ways to improve processes and suggestions from those in their team. Should find ways to be more aware of technology around and being more innovative.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    Dec 1, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! We’re glad you enjoy working here! As you probably know, we’re currently addressing our older technology and are in the process of updating all of our legacy ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    If you enjoy fun and high stress then this job is for you.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Benefits Adjuster in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - Benefits Adjuster in Oklahoma City, OK

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company was in Best places to work. Great pay, Great Bonuses. Fun environment at times.

    Cons

    High Turn over, Very stressful job, Advancement in company can be difficult at times. They have a record of keeping employees for 20 years and right before they are to retire they get fired.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Fast paced, great people, generous company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Technical Infrastructure Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Technical Infrastructure Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company really cares about making work an enjoyable place to be. The salary is very competitive with other top-rated companies around town, especially when the yearly bonus is figured in. I've been satisfied with the benefits package, which includes several health care options, 401K match, Holiday bonus, good PTO plan, and pension plan. In addition to the benefits, I work with great people that are passionate about what they do which makes a world of difference. Management is supportive, giving verbal praise and recognition often, and hands out cash "team awards" to recognize individuals that are going above-and-beyond. Lastly, there's always been enough money for training I needed and annual conferences. The company really does care about investing in its employees and technical infrastructure.

    Cons

    There are tons of projects to get done, and despite the formation of a committee that is supposed to prioritize projects, it can still feel like there is no strategy. It can be easy to get lost in all the work that needs to be done in order to feel like you're making a solid contribution towards a common goal.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on communication to the business units. Establish company-wide strategies so that we can all work towards a common goal.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    Dec 1, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate receiving the feedback, especially since we work hard to be an Employer of Choice. It’s great to know what’s working. You are definitely right that we ... More

  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    Meh. Not the greatest but not the worst

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Benefits Adjuster
    Current Employee - Benefits Adjuster

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time

    Pros

    Company tries to motivate employees positively and does little things like drawings for prizes etc. Lots of training available. Onsite cafeteria and gym.

    Cons

    For an insurance company, not the greatest benefits packages. Salary is not very competitive without the annual variable bonus which isn't even guaranteed. The claims department has an extremely high turnover rate (firing or making an unbearable work environment) and employee burn out. The position doesn't tell you that you will feel like a call center rep taking lots of phone calls, (following a script) as well as processing claims. Management plays favorites and demotes and promotes employees based on personal affinity.

    No opinion of CEO
  8.  

    Very Busy during school enrollment benefit season. Lots of travel.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great home office. Good benefits includes company car. Opportunity to grow and move up. Since going to same school districts every year good source of production. Can build great relationships with customers and clients.

    Cons

    Turnover of employees. Lack of consistent management. New manager almost every year. Territories for Reps always changing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Nothing will change by commenting here.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    Sep 2, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the middle of a project regarding turnover. We’re analyzing our turnover for the past two years so that we can address any consistent areas of ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    AWESOME Company! I'm sticking around until retirement!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Carlsbad, CA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Carlsbad, CA

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility, independence, great pay, enjoyable work. Management does not micromanage and as long as you do a good job you are left alone. Great incentive trips to places like Monaco, Mexico, Portugal, Hong Kong, Banff, Hawaii, etc. Defined benefit pension plan plus 401(k) match (up to 6.5% company contribution). AFA has been great to me and my family!

    Cons

    Things have not always been so good. California had significant challenges around 2009 that affected compensation but this was due mostly to the poor economy. It can be hard to go to work sometimes with so much freedom so you have to be a real self starter. Executive management has made some changes to comp during the middle of the year that affected top performers in a negative way. No company is perfect but I do believe AF is one of the best places to work overall.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't change compensation during the middle of the year or after you have rolled out new comp plans. Save the changes for the following year.

    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    Aug 11, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for your feedback! We work hard to be an Employer of Choice and we’re glad you took the time to share your thoughts. If you have any questions or concerns about the comp structure, make ... More

  10.  

    The atmosphere is 100% positive, parking is great, and I enjoy coming to work everyday.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Para Actuary in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Para Actuary in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly, the on-site gym is a bonus, and everything seems progressive. The benefits are everything I would expect from an employer. I've only been here less than a year, and I can't imagine a better place to work.

    Cons

    No cons as of yet. I've sat here, trying to think of something negative to say, and I honestly can't think of anything.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    My job is a typical 8-5, Monday through Friday, and has paid holidays. Therefore, the work-life balance is great. I don't believe I've been here long enough to give adequate advice to the management.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    Aug 18, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We’re glad you’re part of the American Fidelity family. Don’t feel like you can’t share advice just because you’re new. We’d love to hear from you at any time ... More

  11.  

    Great company, excellent at what they do, appreciate their staff

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Strong leadership and management. This is a sales organization, and if you are a sales person this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    As with many jobs, particularly in sales, this one can quickly edge the work/life balance into mostly work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It may serve the field better to not only promote from within for management positions. Great sales people don't always make great managers.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    Aug 7, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for sharing! I noticed you mentioned the potential for work/life balance issues. Our Colleague Assistance Plan has tools and resources to help with that. You can see how to log-in on AFweb ... More

American Fidelity Assurance Company Photos

Work at American Fidelity Assurance Company? Share Your Experiences

American Fidelity Assurance Company

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.