American Red Cross
3.0 of 5 595 reviews
www.redcross.org Washington, DC 5000+ Employees

American Red Cross Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.0 595 reviews

                             

65% Approve of the CEO

American Red Cross President and CEO Gail McGovern

Gail McGovern

(274 ratings)

48% of employees recommend this company to a friend
595 Employee Reviews
in

Review Highlights

Pros:
  • "Many of the employees are good people who really want to make a difference"
    in 20 reviews
  • "It was also very good to know that I was helping to save lives every day just by going to work"
    in 29 reviews
Cons:
  • "I understand they are "non-profit" etc, but that's still not an excuse"
    in 27 reviews
  • "No work/life balance (it's required that you still check and respond to emails while on PTO)"
    in 12 reviews
  • Show more review highlights

Reviews

    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    2 people found this helpful  

    Feel like I am paying to work for them....

    Donor Recruitment Representative (Current Employee)
    Wichita, KS

    ProsGreat people to work with daily

    ConsThey are constantly changing rules and I have actually lost money working for them since I started three years ago. They are going to go bankrupt in a few years if they don't make some changes but sticking it to the little man isn't my recommendation. I suggest paying your CEO's a few hundred thousand less per year so you can keep your good, hardworking employees. The car reimbursement program (Runzheimer) is a joke and they pay less than $185/month for their employees to use their own vehicles to do the job. Putting over 20,000 miles per year on our own vehicles and getting a stipend of less than $200/month is obnoxious. Our mileage reimbursement averages only 15-18 cents per mile. You want to hire sales people but no right minded sales focused employee is going to work for the money you are offering. Most sales individuals have a car stipend of $400-700/ month on top of their salary and commisions/bonus. Helping save lives is a great feeling but when you are getting ripped off in the process it begins to make you re-think your employment with this organization. It cost a lot of money to train new employee's and I would think they would want to do something to keep those that have stuck it out so that expense isn't an issue. The mindset among the leaders is "if you don't like it then leave!" That is a terrible attitude to have when all of this can be fixed and it just costs the organization MORE money! This organization is a big let down and it's time for the senior directors/CEO's to make a sacrifice to save it.

    Advice to Senior ManagementFind a way to increase those car stipends and mileage reimbursements and quit having meetings about meetings. This organization and the leaders running it spend more time in meetings discussing meetings that they are losing control of what is happening in the work force. You have people running the show just because they have been employed for the Red Cross for a long time not because they are acutally qualified. It's very sad to see this organization heading down the bankruptcy road when there are so many ways to prevent this from happening.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review May 23, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we appreciate you addressing your concerns around car and mileage reimbursement. Our program was designed to reimburse qualified employees fairly and ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Boss driver

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsGood money good hours you meet a lot of people

    ConsEverything company does not care about you at all

    Advice to Senior ManagementNo you couldn't

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review May 20, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for leaving a review. We're happy to read your praise for your compensation and schedule, and are glad that you enjoyed meeting different people in your role. We are sorry to hear that you ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    Great people and mission. Poor leadership at senior levels.

    Manager (Former Employee)

    ProsMission of saving lives. Hard working and dedicated staff.

    ConsLeadership is lacking ability to lead the company. Relies on hiding behind charts and graphs. Great disconnect between line staff and senior managers.

    Advice to Senior ManagementWake up to the reality that continuing to sacrifice long term dedicated employees to cut costs because of your poor long term planning is killing the organization. You can only rely on the brand image for so long.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review May 20, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your praise for our mission and agree that our staff (and volunteers) are outstanding. As you alluded to, our organization recently underwent restructuring in ... More
  • We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    RED CROSS IS NOT ATT WIRELESS

    PHSS (Current Employee)

    ProsMy co workers and that's all

    ConsSr management's lack of knowledge and respect of the red cross

    Advice to Senior ManagementThis is advice to the board of directors please step in and fix the "issue" if this was any other orgnazation/company it would have been taken care of 2 years ago

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review May 20, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you had positive relationships with your coworkers. Our senior leadership team is concerned with making our organization both a viable and positive ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    5 people found this helpful  

    Horrific place to work

    Development (Current Employee)
    New York, NY

    Prosthe volunteers are dedicated to the mission

    ConsPoor Leadership - from the top down - fosters blaming, secrecy, sabotage and ego - NO TEAMWORK
    Nepotism
    Low Morale
    Poor Benefits
    No chance for advancement
    Fundraisers are essentially raising money to pay pensions and get the Red Cross out of debt
    Ineffective organization living off of the brand name

    Advice to Senior ManagementGet rid of poor leaders and encourage new ideas and creativity - treat your employees as though they bring value or you will continue to lose talent - retaining negative and complacent workers with low morale does not bode well for your future

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review May 20, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your review; we agree that we have amazing and dedicated volunteers and employees. We are sorry to hear your comments concerning workplace environment and employee morale. The Red Cross ... More

    6 people found this helpful  

    Run the other way

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsSeeing and hearing from the people who have benefited from receiving blood products.

    ConsEverything else. Insane working hours (I once went an entire month without a single day off; regularly worked nights, too). No work/life balance (it's required that you still check and respond to emails while on PTO). Absolutely no management support. The Red Cross wants you to think it's a noble organization, but the blood services side is completely based off sales (the Red Cross makes money off of blood donations!). No consistency when it comes to company practices; local offices operate under the "don't ask for permission now rather forgiveness later" mentality. Completely resistant to change; no one like new ideas so no room to grow. Sales reps (Donor Recruitment reps) are bullies and get away with everything because they pass it off that they need to make goal. Of course, they are commission-based so it's not about helping others, it's about helping themselves.

    Advice to Senior ManagementEnforce rules consistently and for everyone. Demand respect from all levels. Don't lie to potential employees during the interview process.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review May 20, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your review, and are glad to hear you found it rewarding to interact directly with those who benefited from blood products. We are also sorry to hear your comments regarding work/life ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    How can humanitarians create such a toxic work environment?

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)
    Washington, DC

    ProsThe pros are that the compensation is better than you will get at most non-profit organizations.

    ConsMiddle managers openly hostile to employees. Screaming and swearing at employees is accepted, and if you bring abusive behavior to superiors' attention it is made clear to you that you are free to leave (and maybe not so free to stay). On top of that the organization is poorly organized, there is a very high turnover and few opportunities to advance beyond entry-level positions.

    Advice to Senior ManagementThe corporate culture is competitive and toxic due to lack of opportunities for career development at every level. Environment is full of suspicion as all are vying for few opportunities to advance. The attitide is that every person helped by an employee is an opportunity to shine that was lost for other employees. This needs to change.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review May 20, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your review; we are glad you found your compensation to be fair. We also thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns with workplace environment. Under no circumstances does ... More
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    "re-engineered" after 12 years-and GRATEFUL!!!!!

    Donor Recruitment Supervisor (Former Employee)

    Proshad wonderful boss and liked the people I worked with. Mission is part of us.

    Conseven though I liked the people I worked with, we were all so overworked all we did was complain. Highly stressful and never "got away from work" as you were expected to work normal business hours, then all of your blood drives, which could be two hours away and could last until 7-9 PM. If you didn't have at least one or two drives on most weekends, you almost considered yourself on vacation!! Slave to telephone and emails: expected to always answer your cell and your emails, even on your REAL vacation. People lost vacation hours every year due to just not having time to take it, and even when you did, felt like you were on call. Even though I worked 9 months before I was downsized, company refused to pro-rate year end bonus.

    Advice to Senior ManagementStop telling us "people are one of the six major priorities." We are not. Our donors are not. Of all of the companies I have worked with over my career, the American Red Cross is the absolute worst. Maybe people who get to work in an office from 8-5 "feel the love", but Donor Recruitment and Collections are stressed beyond belief

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review May 20, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your review; we are pleased to hear you had strong relationships with your boss and fellow coworkers, and that you all felt a sense of dedication to our Mission. We also appreciate your ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Sucked

    MUA II (Former Employee)
    Washington, DC

    ProsNONE at all people are mostly challenged

    ConsUnder Qualified Management and rude no patience

    Advice to Senior ManagementQuit

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review Apr 7, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback; we will pass this along to our leadership team.
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    4 people found this helpful  

    Ask more but gives very little

    Plebotomist (Former Employee)
    Durham, NC

    ProsThe idea of the company is the only good thing about this job. Where you are saving lives. That's the only reason I can the star.

    ConsI have to say there isn't one employee there that likes their job. The only thing they like about the job is it actually saves lives after that every single worker would leave and love to leave.

    Where to start...... Work load, management, time wasting, constantly changing procedures, they don't listen to their employees, sexual harassment, keep you on the hook for promotions, they don't pay you for what you actually do, very cheap, lazy people that have worked there for so many years get passes on work load, the work load is not equal, no free time, scheduling, constant travel, zero turn around, no free time, if u have kids there is no way you can do this job, during horrible weather the people that are out working in it they don't care, they will literally use every inch of energy you have to give .... I mean the list can go on.

    Advice to Senior ManagementListen to ur employees and actually pay them for what they do. Also, stop promising advancement knowing you have to plan to do so.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    American Red Cross Talent Acquisition Program Associate responded to this review Apr 4, 2014 EditDelete
    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you and your fellow employees believe in the Red Cross mission, and we also appreciate your bringing to our attention your ... More
RSS Feed Embed

Worked for American Red Cross? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.

Glassdoor is your free inside look at American Red Cross reviews and ratings — including employee satisfaction and approval rating for American Red Cross CEO Gail McGovern. All 595 reviews posted anonymously by American Red Cross employees.