Amtrak

  jobs.amtrak.com
  jobs.amtrak.com

Amtrak Reviews

Updated December 17, 2014
Updated December 17, 2014
131 Reviews
3.3
131 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Amtrak President & CEO Joseph H. Boardman
Joseph H. Boardman
67 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great benefits - caveat - now being removed (in 9 reviews)

  • Good benefits, Good retirement we do pay for it as does the railroad (in 9 reviews)


Cons
  • Lack of direction from senior management (in 6 reviews)

  • Sometimes away from home longer than scheduled (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Station Services Ticket/Baggage Agent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Amtrak

    Pros

    Decent living wage and relaxed employee atmosphere.
    Coworkers are always willing to help out and the station manager is great to work for.
    Good benefits, paid vacation based on years of service, personal days, and paid sick days!

    Cons

    Odd hours and 24/7 365 but well compensated for the holidays

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  2.  

    Amtrak Salaries

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Amtrak full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Easy to work for but overqualified

    Cons

    Poor management and unqualified personnel

    Amtrak Response

    Dec 17, 2014Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thank you for your feedback - we will make sure this is communicated back to management for action.

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Intake Representative in Cherry Hill, NJ
    Former Employee - Intake Representative in Cherry Hill, NJ

    I worked at Amtrak full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Even though I only worked here for three weeks, I loved the job. The training may be intensive to some, but it is designed to weed-and-seed, which ensures that employees are capable of succeeding. There are chances for promotion to Assistant Case Manager and Case Manager, and additional pay if you speak Spanish. During training you are paired with someone who is currently doing the position and they act as a mentor to answer any questions or concerns that you may have. They even have daily/weekly contests with cool rewards (e.g. tickets to a sporting event or the chance to leave early with pay). I would definitely consider going back!

    Cons

    The only con that I have with the company is the lunch break. I forget how long it was (I think about an half hour) but it was not long enough. You basically had to bring lunch with you because working in Cherry Hill, which is always busy, makes it difficult for you to leave and get lunch.

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Amtrak Response

    Dec 17, 2014Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thank you for the feedback!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Amtrak is an Horrible Company and Abuses its Employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Train in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Train in New York, NY

    I have been working at Amtrak

    Pros

    Benefits, Dental, Medical, Friends, and a few more

    Cons

    Where does one begin...

    Daily employees are threatened, beaten down, verbally abused If you are liked or in the click you have nothing to fear. If management does not like you they make you life a living "H.E.l.L" daily. Managers constantly embarrassing you and humiliating in front of your co workers as though its a game. Not paying us for the extra time we worked - Then blowing it off with some excuse.

    This is just a tip of the ice berg I can go on forever.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Bring in real managers that don't threaten people

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Amtrak Response

    Dec 17, 2014Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thank you for your feedback - we will make sure this is communicated back to management for action. We appreciate your honesty and the opportunity for improvement.

  6.  

    Read the Negative remarks~ All these positive remarks are a joke! Trust me , I know !!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at Amtrak full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    You can't get fired ! While this is a fair pro~ It's actually a HUGE warning sign..

    Cons

    Please read the negative remarks like i mentioned before , You have no idea what you're getting into working for this company... There's a reason they have to beg for subsidies to operate the company ~ Yet another HUGE warning sign, That really should tell you all you need to know ..

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Work on your worker efficiency , Get rid of Managers that instigate workplace violence , problematic agreement employees who use these managers to create all the violence . They are destroying your company and make you a drain on the tax payers of this country.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Amtrak Response

    Dec 17, 2014Employer Brand Program Manager

    We are working hard to make workplace and culture improvements. Thank you for your feedback - your honesty is appreciated.

  7.  

    Decent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Electrician in Long Is City, NY
    Current Employee - Electrician in Long Is City, NY

    I have been working at Amtrak full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    the benefits are pretty good & the ability to travel for free

    Cons

    the pay isn't as good as it should be

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Amtrak Response

    Dec 17, 2014Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thank you for your feedback!

  8.  

    Amtrak electrician

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous
    Current Employee - Anonymous

    I have been working at Amtrak

    Pros

    Steady and easy job. Most of the supervisors are laid back.

    Cons

    There is no too much possibility to grow in your craft.

    Recommends

    Amtrak Response

    Dec 17, 2014Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thank you for your feedback - we are working to provide learning and development opportunities that will lead to career growth for our employees.

  9. 3 people found this helpful  

    A good company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Train Dispatcher in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Train Dispatcher in New York, NY

    I have been working at Amtrak full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Everyday brings a new adventure. It's never the same so there 's no chance of bordom.

    Cons

    The people you work with can make the job more difficult than it really is.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take time to get to know your enployees

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10. 2 people found this helpful  

    Good place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Support Specialist in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Support Specialist in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Amtrak as a contractor (more than an year)

    Pros

    -kind management, relaxed atmosphere, lots of events, decent training, office culture

    Cons

    hard to get promoted, budget cuts, some ppl here lack ambition

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    hire more ambitious ppl

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Amtrak Response

    Dec 17, 2014Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate it!

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    internship experience really good, good work to do but not too challenging. overall a great place to work for as an into

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Amtrak as an intern

    Pros

    not much training is provided but good work-life balance no overtime, medium compensation, no negotiation on payment, return offer may be considered

    Cons

    no promotions mentioned, limited benefits

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Amtrak Response

    Dec 17, 2014Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thank you for your feedback - we'll make sure we pass this information on to our campus recruiting team!

Work at Amtrak? Share Your Experiences

Amtrak

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.