Ascend Performance Materials

www.ascendmaterials.com
Engaged Employer

Ascend Performance Materials Reviews

Updated July 15, 2015
48 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ascend Performance Materials CEO Fred Poses
Fred Poses
8 Ratings

Pros
  • Broad, challenging jobs which offer great career growth (in 3 reviews)

  • Pays well and very positive work environment, they invest very much into the intern program (in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • Work-life balance is poor; the average work week is about 50-65 hrs a week and can go as high as 90 (in 3 reviews)

  • 3 new and very good corporate HR guys have already left the company; not so good corporate HR guys stayed (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

48 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (5)

    Awesome Ascend

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - E & I Technician - BCF in Greenwood, SC
    Current Employee - E & I Technician - BCF in Greenwood, SC

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Safety is #1! Great benefits! New company that is excels with new talent in management. Employees are supported with help when job task is overwhelming. Great team support. Great pay! New improvement ideas are welcome from management.

    Cons

    Hot at times. Overtime work can be excessive when personnel out is medical leave or vacation. Parts to make repairs can be hard to locate. No profit sharing for employees

    Advice to Management

    Add profit sharing for employees and increase vacation for new hires to 3 weeks to make company more attractive for new talent. Have a central parts store to reduce MRO cost.

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Jun 9, 2015 – Digital Marketing

    Welcome to the team and glad to hear you're enjoying the Greenwood location. I grew up 30 minutes away in Johnston, SC, so I agree it’s a pretty great area to live and work. Thanks for ideas ... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    HR Running the Show

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Decatur, AL
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Decatur, AL

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    No many; unless you keep your mouth shut and don't get on HR's bad side. Good employees, scared to open their mouths.

    Cons

    Local HR runs the place, not sure how they got to the top but don't make them mad. Now on our 3rd plant manager since HR showed up. Once they understand the mindset and start questioning the ethics, job knowledge and hours worked, some how they end up leave. Hope the next one knows whose toes not to step on

    Advice to Management

    When are you going to open your eyes and see the problem

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Vice President Human Resources

    While I don’t know the specifics of your concerns, I am reminded of a quote from Simon Sinek: “To earn trust we must extend trust.” Thank you for sharing your experience. If and when you are ... More


  3. Helpful (3)

    Unprofessional HR Dept

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Decatur, AL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Decatur, AL

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Decent wages and average benefits for this company. Helpful co-workers with years of experience, knowledge and dedicated to their jobs.

    Cons

    HR Dept rules by Intimidation, Harassment and Bullying techniques to cover up the lack of knowledge on how to handle day-to-day answers. Employees should be able to go the HR Dept with confidence that their issues are held in the utmost confidential manner. NOT IN THIS DEPARTMENT.

    Advice to Management

    Need someone in the HR Dept that we can respect and trust. Time to clean house and gain the respect back from the employees.

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Vice President Human Resources

    Feedback on the HR team is important to me as I have responsibility for this team. I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you about your experience if you are comfortable reaching out. My ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (4)

    Great Place to Work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials

    Pros

    A Great Place to Work

    Cons

    They have no Alternate Work Schedule

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Jun 10, 2015 – Vice President Human Resources

    Glad to hear you are having a good experience. Thanks for the feedback. Also, share any ideas on schedules with your team leader.


  6. Helpful (1)

    engineer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials

    Pros

    can gain valuable experience; people are nice; easy drive to work; good work/life balance

    Cons

    difficult to move upward within the company; organization is continuously changing; no clear career paths exist; upper leadership tends to "wait" instead of leading/deciding path forward; leadership leans more on outside opinions rather than internal team recommendations

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Jun 9, 2015 – Vice President Human Resources

    We are always interested in helping our team explore career paths – both traditional ones and less typical ones like mine (engineering to HR). I’d like to hear more of your thoughts on how we can ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    technician

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay and opportunities

    Cons

    Poor benefits, crappy hr, mediocre business

    Advice to Management

    Improve trust

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Jun 10, 2015 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thank you for your taking the time to share your comments. I agree with your comments on trust. It is what matters most. We have to earn it day by day, and team member by team member.


  8. Helpful (1)

    Typical of American Manufacturing circa 1960

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Ascend Performance Materials

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    It is easy to stay busy and easy to get involved in what could be considered business critical activities. The company seems open to rapid change (though often at the detriment of long term planning).

    Cons

    It's like walking into a time machine. The work force isn't engaged and won't embrace technology past the early 80's, the management technique is textbook lead by intimidation, and the underlying sexism at the office is so pervasive it's almost sickening.

    Advice to Management

    Get a CEO who will spend the time to develop an actual vision for the company. Get leaders who will truly work to develop the work force. Engender trust at all levels of the organization by being realistic and focused on actual, sustainable results rather than the proverbial lipstick on a pig. Lastly, eradicate the boys club. It's 2015.

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Jun 10, 2015 – Vice President Human Resources

    In our early days and years as company we have certainly made some mistakes, but over time we are growing better every day. A mistake we won’t tolerate though is any form of harassment. Please ... More


  9. Helpful (4)

    Good Company, Great People

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Wellness perks, laid back culture, good work/life balance, good pay.

    Cons

    Still fighting some of the "old culture."

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create avenues for your employees to drive value back into the company. Dont focus too heavily on "cost savings" - this doesnt work everywhere.

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Jun 10, 2015 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thank you for the feedback on what is working. We’re committed to helping everyone work on themselves while working on the business at the same time. If you have any specific ideas we should ... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    Great Place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Alvin, TX
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Alvin, TX

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    competitive pay, employee wellness programs, opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    no pension offered to employees


  11. Helpful (3)

    So Sad!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    I work with great people! It's pretty close to home. Pay is decent enough! I have a great manager! I like the work I do but thinking I should look elsewhere.

    Cons

    Oh there are so many. This used to be a great company, but it's just gone in the toilet and that is so sad. A bunch of rich dudes bought it and are proceeding to squeeze it for all they can get and dump it. Not valued at all as an employee by anyone above my managers level. Morale is crap and turn over high. HR is the worst ever. God Bless you if you go to work in AN2/3! No alternate work schedule, but we used to have and they took it away for no reason. Only 4 days emergency leave and sick time in a rolling 12 months. I am so mad at what they've done to this place and their A2E circus brainwash crap. I could go on forever!

    Advice to Management

    Why bother they don't care one bit!



Showing 48 of 53 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.