Atmel

  www.atmel.com
  www.atmel.com

Atmel Reviews

Updated November 23, 2014
Updated November 23, 2014
119 Reviews
2.6
119 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Atmel President and CEO Steve Laub
Steve Laub
79 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Good Work life balance you have all the time to achieve your personal commitments and goals (in 13 reviews)

  • Good people and an easy going working environment (in 7 reviews)


Cons
  • The upper management levels treat everyone beneath them as slightly unintelligent, unworthy peons (in 7 reviews)

  • Poor progression for employees except maybe at senior management level (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    Management review @ Corporate

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Operations in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Operations in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    If you want to work, work, work this is a great place to be. There is constant change to improve the company so you can learn a lot.

    Cons

    You have to prove your pay history if you are interviewing, they will only pay within 10% of your last rate. Once you are in they will get every penny they pay you out of you and than some.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't forget the people at the foundation of the company who are doing all the daily work to get the revenue out the door-logistics, planning, customer service etc... Remember the company values apply to everyone not just the people below management!
    Because right now they are invisible to you and everyone knows it!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Dec 2, 2013hr

    Thanks for the feedback. We are in total agreement that it is the people who help make a difference at Atmel. We value our talent in all locations and at all levels. Our compensation philisophy has ... More

  2.  

    T

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Atmel full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    While still subject to the typical semi-conductor cycles, Atmel has fixed many of its structural problems (selling businesses, excess foundries, etc) to enable it to be quite profitable when in the up-cycles. It's through most of the "turn around" pain and now building for the future.

    Cons

    All semi-conductor companies seem to suffer severe business cycles and Atmel is no exception. High Tech is a demanding place to work (but always intellectually interesting).

    The touch marketplace is currently mostly associated with phone handsets and is therefore extremely volatile.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    Great company with lots of growth protential

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    * Big corporation with different sites all over the world
    * Good benefits ( health insurance)
    * Smart people with brilliant ideas of creativity

    Cons

    Salary for admin is not quite satisfied

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 3 people found this helpful  

    Micromanagement at its worst ever!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Atmel full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Can't think of any really

    Cons

    Low cubicles, too much open space and need to find and reserve a conference room just to have a meeting or an impromptu meetings. Micromanagement from the CEO himself that often delayed recruiting processes and lost lots. Of great candidates that went on to work for our competitors. Our department had double digit attrition rate within 9 months - undesired departures. People just had enough. Executives act like big babies and whine! I've worked over 90-100 hours per week, sleep deprived, expected to be in the office, no working from home even though many of my colleagues are located overseas, unnecessary conference calls. Also an executive that is afraid to write memos to the entire company on communicating important things like socks, bonuses, policies, etc.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The whole management team needs a brand new make over. Bring new leadership in and get out of your comfort zone! You want culture change? Start from the top! Not do as I say, but not as I do.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Dec 2, 2013hr

    Thanks for your feedback. We are in a very competetive market. Sometimes the workload does get quite intensive. Part of our core value is to win as a team with great passion. A very unique ... More

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Manufacturing support

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Atmel (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Generally people are good to work with

    Cons

    Middle management poor, direction blows in the wind

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Dec 2, 2013hr

    Thanks for your feedback. It looks like you were not satisfied with the communication. We certainly agree that there is room for us to improve and will continue to make progress.

  7.  

    Atmel provided me great international exposure and invested in my career.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    A human sized company where anyone contributing can be recognized and get visibility from top management.

    Cons

    No real career planning; you have to make your own path.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Should rotate responsibilities more often for individuals with same position

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Dec 2, 2013hr

    Thank you. That's a great suggestion. We have started a rotational program within a few functions and will continue to promote this great learning opportunity to other functions and business units.

  8. 3 people found this helpful  

    Worst culture

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Atmel full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    It's better than being unemployed. But not much.

    Cons

    Oppressive culture. CEO makes all decisions and runs it like a prison. That behavior trickles down to other executives. It's the cheapest place I have ever worked. I feel like had had a significant positive impact on the company but it was such an unpleasant place to work.

    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Dec 2, 2013hr

    Thanks. We are glad that you felt you made a significant positive impact on the company. We will continue to make improvements of our environment in order to help people thrive to higher success.

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Test Engineer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Test Engineer
    Former Employee - Test Engineer

    I worked at Atmel full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Friendly place to work. Balance work/life environment, Small company environment where red tape are minimum and can get things done quickly and effectively. Cost of operation is low.

    Cons

    Fab lite and business cycles cause a lot of employees to look for jobs elsewhere. Top heavy management model may not be a right management model for the company

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    A royal talent employee may not be easy to come by

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  10. 2 people found this helpful  

    Not going anywhere

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Colorado Springs, CO
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Colorado Springs, CO

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    pay is good if you are on a compressed shift.

    Cons

    Lack of guidance, Corporate does not support the facility, Lack of communication. unreal expectations. If yo umove up the ladder, your pay goes down???

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    get involved more.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Dec 2, 2013hr

    We sure hope that you can feel comfortable enough to come and talk to the HR department about your concern, especially on the pay issue. We believe in compensating our people fairly and consistently ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Slow moving, indecisive company, few opportunities for advancement

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Atmel

    Pros

    touch technology is good, have acquired some good technology

    Cons

    micromanagement, company slow to make decisions

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    empower people

    Atmel Response

    Dec 2, 2013hr

    Thank you. We totally agree that we should continue to empower people to grow and win.

Work at Atmel? Share Your Experiences

Atmel

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.