AvalonBay

www.avalonbay.com

AvalonBay Reviews

Updated January 27, 2015
Updated January 27, 2015
109 Reviews
4.3
109 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Timothy J. Naughton
62 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • I feel like you truly have a work-life balance with this company (in 8 reviews)

  • Challenging work environment with a lot of room for growth (in 9 reviews)


Cons
  • Dealing with disgruntled residents everyday can be taxing, but that is the nature of customer service (in 6 reviews)

  • It is hard to advance unless you work for the right manager that can get you noticed for the hard work you do (in 5 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Good company, plenty of room for personal growth

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - IS (IT) Administrative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Current Employee - IS (IT) Administrative in Virginia Beach, VA

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, good managers, great company culture, excellent life-work balance, plenty of overtime(in my dept at least), good benefits (incl tuition reimbursement!), once you are situated there is opportunity to work in other depts if desired.

    Cons

    LONG hours, crushing workloads, meager pay increases, quite a few disorganized/inefficient workflow processes, sometimes difficult deadlines to meet.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay increases should be more than just cost of living, especially for those really busting hump and making things happen. The hidden cost of turnover and wasted pay while the next new person gets acclimated should be enough to motivate proper pay increases.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Nov 13, 2014Hiring Manager

    Thank you for your review; we're pleased to hear you enjoy your colleagues and AvalonBay's culture. We are also happy to hear your praise for work-life balance, benefits, and opportunity to learn ... More

  2.  

    Pleasant experience but not challenging

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Summer Associate
    Current Employee - Summer Associate

    I have been working at AvalonBay as an intern (less than a year)

    Pros

    The hourly pay wage was high for an internship, very laid back environment

    Cons

    Hour lunch break that meant you couldn't go home earlier and work was dull and repetitive

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Dec 8, 2014Hiring Manager

    Thank you for the feedback on your summer internship experience. Your comments will help us to make the internship program a more valuable experience for participants.

  3.  

    Average experience, uncovered lots of unfair treatment.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous
    Former Employee - Anonymous

    I worked at AvalonBay (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    People on-site are friendly and have a fun work environment. Nice properties in great locations. Pay is fair compared to others in industry.

    Cons

    No support from upper management. No expectation setting, nothing is ever good enough, no one saying and meaning what they say. Employees treated unfairly compared to peers. Experience is dependent on manager.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take a real interest in your people, don't pretend you care. Take time to say thank you and actually mean it. Add staff to properties onsite staff is over worked.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good Experience Overall

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Community Consultant
    Former Employee - Community Consultant

    I worked at AvalonBay full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    compensation
    office/company culture
    room to grow

    I enjoyed what I did as far as interacting with residents & doing whatever I could to make sure they were happy and had a good experience living at the community. The quarterly events were fun and it was a good opportunity to meet colleagues at other community & really feel like one big team. I learned a lot about customer service in this position and felt motivated.

    Cons

    work-life balance
    ridiculous dress code

    Having to work every weekend at a lease up & every Saturday at a stabilized community is difficult. Really limits your ability to be a normal person & spend time with your family & friends. The dress code changes were ridiculous and the necessity to move to different communities is a bit daunting - hard to really feel comfortable anywhere.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Someone is going to lease with me whether I'm wearing a black dress or a pink dress. As long as I look professional, it shouldn't matter what color I'm wearing. If women have to wear a jacket, men should too. A woman in a cardigan & blouse is the same as a man in a shirt & tie. If you're going to be that strict, provide uniforms.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Oct 30, 2014Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear that you had a good experience at AvalonBay. With respect to our apparel guidelines, our goal is to provide a consistent brand image for the ... More

  6.  

    Great Company that is Committed to being the Best

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Highly committed to being the very best. Tremendous amount of effort and resources are dedicated to understanding our markets and what our residents want / need.

    Great working environment with an emphasis on respect and genuine caring for one another.

     If you're a self motivated hard worker the opportunities are endless.

    Cons

    The work load can be overwhelming at times.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The intermission program after 15 years of service is an awesome perk.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Oct 30, 2014Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks so much for the feedback. Associates like you make AvalonBay a great place to work!

  7.  

    Strong respectable honest company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Project Superintendent in Glendora, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Superintendent in Glendora, CA

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benifits, aewsome employees, great working enviorment

    Cons

    They expect the best out of all employees

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Oct 30, 2014Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

  8.  

    Great people and good company overall

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    I work at the Corporate Office and we have about 270 Associates. Everyone is friendly and there is such a wide variety of people with different backgrounds, which always makes for interesting lunchroom conversations! Associates from different departments are willing to help out, even if you are asking form something outside of their normal scope.

    Cons

    Upward growth for women is somewhat lacking and even sometimes discouraged and not supported, especially for working mothers. Although we are constantly told we are paid above industry standard, it is not the case for all positions. We generally have good time off policies, although there is no materniry leave available.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Oct 30, 2014Director of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and agree that the culture at AvalonBay is welcoming and collaborative. We strive to provide development and promotional opportunities for ... More

  9.  

    It’s not a job, it’s a career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Internal Auditor in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Internal Auditor in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    AvalonBay is the type of company you should join if you’re looking for a career and not just a paycheck. This company is growing and there are a lot of opportunities available for anyone willing to put in the effort. I work with a great group of people that really pull together as a team. It’s a good feeling to know if you need help on a project someone has your back and if someone else needs help you have theirs. I’ve been at too many companies that push a cut throat culture in the name of performance. When my team had to work late to make a deadlines during the Archstone Acquisition, my boss was working right beside us. He recognized that the team went above and beyond what was expected of us to get the job done and remembered it during our performance reviews and in our bonuses. I think the best comment I can give is, I can see myself still working for this company in 10 years or more.

    Cons

    The company often seems too big for the amount of people we have working here. The feeling of being overwhelmed gets be compounded by the amount of continual growth. Our team always seems to be trying to play catch up with the amount of work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You have a great group of people working for you that are always willing to step up when you need them. You need to recognize when to take the reins and hold them back some so they don’t burn out.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Oct 30, 2014Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks so much for your kind words! We strive to make AvalonBay a great place to work.

  10.  

    Great job, great company. Lots of changes in last year that have made me question our direction and my future.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Maintenance Manager in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Maintenance Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Love my job. Company has been very good to its associates in the past. My director is very engaged and a true mentor. Fellow associates are very good at their jobs and make coming to work worthwhile. Pay is competitive.

    Cons

    Real change in management with the Archstone acquisition. Seems like upper mangement that joined last year cares less about associates. Very unfriendly and dismissive. Many former Archstone associates I have had dealt with have a holier than though attitude and refuse to be a part of the company. They would rather just change everything here to how they used to do things.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Change is good and natural but some changes are causing disgruntled associates and poor business decisions. Company should pulse check associates more frequently to stay ahead of associate issues and unhappiness. My VP is extremely unfriendly and seems to surround herself with "yes" men.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Oct 30, 2014Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please look for a company-wide Associate Perspective survey in early 2015.

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Meh

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    At first I loved my job!! Easy going, good pay, great hours, holiday time and vacation is great. Love my benefits, (I'm sure there is better but this is manageable.) Good work life balance. Company events are fun and MOST people are great to work with. Regular evaluations with pay increases (although they are rigged to cap you at a certain level of excellence for financial reasons. This is not a joke, it's been happening my entire career and when I first started I was in denial of it but now it's just getting old)

    Cons

    As time goes on you do more and more work outside of your "job description" or "title". This is great for development but eventually enough is enough. It makes employees feel like they are doing the job of a Community Manager (which they LITERALLY are) but just don't get paid the same or get the same benefits. The same is true for Community Consultants, several CC's take on a lot more responsibility yet can't seem to be promoted. Maintenance Supervisor's are in the same boat, usually running a property with no direction from maintenance manager or senior. Even maintenance tech positions find themselves in the same boat. Avalon keeps staffing small to keep costs down. Most of this stems specifically from "podded" communities. Company favors certain employees which include offering better housing discounts to one person over another. The stress of doing more than one persons job with NO thanks or recognition is becoming extremely draining.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Offer better training and roadmaps for employees that are trying to grow with the company. Be straight with employees who are not qualified for a promotion and tell them how to get there and what you're REALLY looking for.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Oct 30, 2014Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and more than 8 years of employment with AvalonBay.

Work at AvalonBay? Share Your Experiences

AvalonBay

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.