AvalonBay Reviews

Updated March 26, 2015
119 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. best company in the apartment business!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The great people at the company and the work life balance. total job security...unless all apartment building collapse.

    Cons

    with any customer service job you are dealilng with upset people on many occassions. this can be difficult for some personalities because the customer service standards at avalonbay are very high.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    keep up the great work!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Feb 16, 2015Hiring Manager

    We are happy to hear you find your work fulfilling. We have high expectations when it comes to customer service and it is associates like you that make it a better place!

  2. Great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company with strong financials and a rising stock price

    Cons

    Periods of no work/life balance.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    AvalonBay Response

    Feb 16, 2015Hiring Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Your contributions have helped to positively impact the company. Thanks again for your feedback.

  3. Great Entry-Level Positions

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Community Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Community Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Solid Starting Pay
    Additional Commission Potential
    Minimal Sales
    Outstanding Benefits

    Cons

    Promotional Opportunities
    Commissions are Taxed Heavily

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Eliminate All Micro-Managing
    Better Training Program

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Feb 16, 2015Hiring Manager

    Thank you for your review and your service to the AvalonBay! We appreciate your feedback about promotional opportunities. Please continue to communicate openly with your supervisor or regional HR ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful

    Community Consultant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Community Consultant in Brooklyn, NY
    Current Employee - Community Consultant in Brooklyn, NY

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment with multiple perks. Many opportunities to advance in the company in various sectors.

    Cons

    Difficult to fulfill all work requirements on a daily basis.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    AvalonBay Response

    Feb 16, 2015Hiring Manager

    Thank you for your review; we're glad to hear you enjoy your work environment. We appreciate your feedback concerning fulfilling your daily requirements.

  6. Great company that cares deeply about their customers and values their associates.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    We have bright, highly engaged associates who care deeply about what we are doing everywhere here. This makes for an amazing work environment. Associates are encouraged to go out of our way to help customers. AvalonBay selects people who are service oriented. We have deep rooted core values that shine through how we work. We are very stable and financially sound. We have been growing through acquisitions and have a strong development pipeline. I have attended three apartment community grand openings in the last month in Southern California. This brings many growth opportunities.

    Cons

    If you're not a service orineted person, don't apply.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Dec 18, 2014Hiring Manager

    Thank you for the review! It is an exciting time to work at AvalonBay with so many new developments. People like you make it a great place to work.

  7. Love working here.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Maintenance Manager in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Maintenance Manager in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Good people to work for.

    Cons

    none that I can think of.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    AvalonBay Response

    Dec 18, 2014Hiring Manager

    We appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoy working at AvalonBay!

  8. 3 people found this helpful

    Great company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Fairfax, VA

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Positive work culture. Good, inexpensive benefits.

    Cons

    Wish there was greater opportunity for advancement within the company

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Nov 21, 2014Hiring Manager

    Thank you for your review and your more than 3 years of service to AvalonBay! We are pleased to hear about your positive experience working for us. We appreciate your feedback regarding advancement ... More

  9. Nice but crazy

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Maintenance Tech III in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Maintenance Tech III in New York, NY

    I have been working at AvalonBay full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work is very busy and hectic.

    Cons

    Management can be clueless at times and will threw you under the bus to save there neck.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Before having people manage a property make sure they are really qualified

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Dec 18, 2014Hiring Manager

    Thank you very much for writing a review and your 3 years of service to Avalonbay! We are always looking for ways to improve and should you wish to share more information on your experience or ... More

  10. Great!

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at AvalonBay

    Pros

    great company with great people. They are always building so there are always new opportunities coming up.

    Cons

    Community consultants have to work on weekends and sometimes it takes a long time to advance positions.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Good job!

    AvalonBay Response

    Dec 8, 2014Hiring Manager

    Thank you for the positive comments about your experience at AvalonBay. Your feedback helps us to make AvalonBay a better place to work!

  11. Pleasant experience but not challenging

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Summer Associate
    Current Intern - Summer Associate

    I have been working at AvalonBay as an intern (less than a year)

    Pros

    The hourly pay wage was high for an internship, very laid back environment

    Cons

    Hour lunch break that meant you couldn't go home earlier and work was dull and repetitive

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    AvalonBay Response

    Dec 8, 2014Hiring Manager

    Thank you for the feedback on your summer internship experience. Your comments will help us to make the internship program a more valuable experience for participants.

Work at AvalonBay? Share Your Experiences

AvalonBay

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.