Avery Dennison

  www.averydennison.com
  www.averydennison.com

Avery Dennison Reviews

Updated December 12, 2014
Updated December 12, 2014
257 Reviews
3.5
257 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Avery Dennison Chairman, President, & CEO Dean A. Scarborough
Dean A. Scarborough
153 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • good careers oportunity ; good work/life balance specially in the European HQ (in 17 reviews)

  • The work environment is driven and leadership pushes for results (in 18 reviews)


Cons
  • Work-life balance is basically mostly work so expect to put in the extra hours if you are in the field (in 9 reviews)

  • Upper management do engage at the production level to relate to all employee group (in 12 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Good Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Product Development Specialist in Beaverton, OR
    Current Employee - Customer Product Development Specialist in Beaverton, OR

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great Work Life balance and office culture

    Cons

    Leadership and lack of training

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 7, 2014Director, Global Digital Corporate Communications

    We will evaluate improvements in relation to your comment on more training. Thanks for the insight.

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Lack of Vision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Director in Painesville, OH
    Former Employee - Director in Painesville, OH

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Good Pay, colleagues below top management level are quality people with good intentions.

    Cons

    Short sided Leadership team always fishing in the same pods with blind spot for new market potential

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Recognize talent and embrace innovation

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thanks for your review. We'll look into better ways to communicate with the leadership team.

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Proceed at Your Own Risk

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Field Manager
    Current Employee - Field Manager

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Good Compensation
    GOLD Program
    Average Benefits
    Tuition Reimbursement

    Cons

    Unhealthy leadership culture at a corporate level
    Poor management of processes and systems
    Disjointed - decentralized company that needs to take a good look in the mirror and figure out who they are and set a strategy

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the insights. We're always looking for ways to improve.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Well-recognized company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Painesville, OH
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Painesville, OH

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good training

    Cons

    No chances for promotions.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    We appreciate the feedback, we will look into more opportunities for internal promotions.

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Ten years with the company, never one day the same as the next!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Finance Associate in Westborough, MA
    Current Employee - Finance Associate in Westborough, MA

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Solid structure, competitive, strategic in the markets that they serve. Appear to be forward thinking but the sale of some core competencies makes you wonder what would Stan think.....

    Cons

    lack of investment in people, systems, and leaders. Too much nepotism and "old boy" network at play. Regions and plant locations are pitted against each other creating negative tension that is not positive.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You can't build for the future on a foundation of sand.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback. We will look into improving upon the points you bring up in your comments.

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Overall, a good place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Brea, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Brea, CA

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company culture - employees care about the business and manage it like it is their own, but more importantly also care about each other.

    Cons

    The office products industry as a whole is in structural decline. There is significant consolidation among manufacturers as well as retailers.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Follow the trend of work moving from physical paper based products into more digital solutions.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8.  

    Good Company with excellent Benefits

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Tech IV
    Former Employee - Tech IV

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits package
    Nice working conditions

    Cons

    Company make alot of unexpected decisions-some good some bad.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    ALways focus om better communication

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 7, 2014Director, Global Digital Corporate Communications

    We'll look into better ways to communicate at the senior management level, thanks for the input.

  9.  

    Excellent Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Brea, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Brea, CA

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great People and training for Marketing.

    Cons

    Lots of meetings and maybe too much consensus-building.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the great wor.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    IT

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Avery Dennison

    Pros

    Open communication, global foot print, good collaboration

    Cons

    Not good planning of projects

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time

    Pros

    Great Continuous Improvement environment with a the fun element

    Cons

    Not a good balance between work and personal life

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

Work at Avery Dennison? Share Your Experiences

Avery Dennison

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.