Boots Reviews

Updated July 31, 2015
283 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

283 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Very strong community, low pay, but comfortable working environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Assistant in Leicester, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Operations Assistant in Leicester, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very friendly staff, nice people to work with, a good strong brand reputation, attracts a wide range of customers, makes it a comfortable environment to work in. Good discount benefits on Boots and Non-Boots products, opportunities for promotion by joining management schemes

    Cons

    Pay is rather low, management schemes incentives are not great, it is best to do it more out of enjoyment than for the money.

    Advice to Management

    The company was better when I started, due to the takeover by alliance and another American company afterwards, the benefits got worse, good staff left, some who had been there more than 20 years, sadly it seems to be getting worse.


  2. D90

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Analyst in Beeston, East Midlands, England (UK)
    Current Employee - IT Business Analyst in Beeston, East Midlands, England (UK)

    I have been working at Boots full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Nothing to do so you can spend most of your time walking to the staff shop and back! Managers have no idea what's going on and spend a lot of time in "meetings" so you can really coast by... some people don't like it but I personally love it! Very inclusive. As a gay man I don't feel I can't be myself!!

    Cons

    Bus takes ages! Sometimes there is a bit too much people watching going on, really, it's like, get a life! Pay could be better but I suppose I Don't do a lot!!!

    Advice to Management

    I don't know what to say, I don't want to jeapordise my easy life!

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and we will share it further.


  3. Boots Head Office

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Nottingham, England (UK)

    I have been working at Boots full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Lovely environment to work in with a real 'community' feel within the head office. Great development opportunities and support.

    Cons

    Salary can be quite low and not always reflective of work load as it can be an extremely demanding.

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Positive work environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Dublin, Dublin (Ireland)
    Former Employee - Buyer in Dublin, Dublin (Ireland)

    I worked at Boots

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Works very hard for the customer. Provide good courses for personal growth

    Cons

    Too many layers of decision making. Overall development plans long winded and lead to little progression. A lot of staff there too long and lazy and ineffective

    Advice to Management

    Way too bureaucratic, business growth stunted by this.

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Boots value your feedback and is committed to employee satisfaction therefore we will take your feedback further.


  6. Customer Assistant

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Temp Customer Assistant in Leeds, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Christmas Temp Customer Assistant in Leeds, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Discount in store, friendly staff

    Cons

    Long interview process, basic pay

    Advice to Management

    Take more interest in staff working for them.


  7. Seasonal Sales Assistant

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boots part-time

    Pros

    Friendly and welcoming atmosphere, staff discount, not a bad pay for a seasonal position

    Cons

    A lot of the time we were told to promote products that really sold themselves, meant focus wasn't where it was really needed (eg. the tills)

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your feedback.


  8. Chrismas Team Member

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Temp Customer Assistant in Norwich, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Christmas Temp Customer Assistant in Norwich, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots

    Doesn't Recommend
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Pleasant team, overtime on offer, e learning system, not bad pay, nice uniforms.

    Cons

    Favouritism is rife, could only use staff discount in own store, bad communication between management and staff (the date we were scheduled to finish changed and nobody was informed, so people turned up to work only to be turned away). A friend who also did the same job in a different store didn't get paid.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more with team members as to when their contract is ending.

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for sharing this with us. We will look into the aspects you mentioned.


  9. Decent Place to work

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boots full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Generally good atmosphere among staff, something different everyday, good place to expand into a career, either management or pharmacy, Pay rate better than other shops

    Cons

    very heavy on sales targets and upselling - even when not appropriate (pharmacy), some management can look down on staff members, stores need good management to run

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback.


  10. What I found:

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Assistant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Healthcare Assistant in London, England (UK)

    I have been working at Boots (More than a year)

    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    + Accommodated flexible hours + Offered over time

    Cons

    - Little care for patients as they were too concerned with numbers, values and targets - Customer service was focused on quantity of positive response via the feed back system, less so actual physical customer satisfaction.

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Boots value your feedback, thank you.


  11. please support and value your team

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portsmouth, South East England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portsmouth, South East England, England (UK)

    I have been working at Boots

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Discount, friendliness, freebies, good fun

    Cons

    Management don't know what they're doing, always restructuring, lack if staff continuously

    Advice to Management

    Please support your staff, back them up to customers and don't expect miracles

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.



Showing 283 of 298 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.