Boyd Gaming

  www.boydcareers.com
  www.boydcareers.com

Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated December 17, 2014
Updated December 17, 2014
84 Reviews
3.1
84 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
41 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance (in 4 reviews)

  • The company also heavily promotes from within (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • Too often a person in an upper management position will have either no casino experience or they are "old school" casino people (in 3 reviews)

  • Negative work environment, no recognition, top-heavy, no one seems to really care what the lower level employees feel (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Really love what I am doing in slot marketing!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Slot Marketing in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Slot Marketing in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Benefits(once I start receiving them) and the team members dinning room.

    Cons

    Some of the challenges have been getting comfortable with the people that I work with. Some of them not very nice, tattle tales, and don't even show up for work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    A better eye on what is going on in our department.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 22, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to have you on our team!!!

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about
    ... More

  2.  

    Dealing: My Dream Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    I LOVE the teamwork. Working with Human Resources has been a real pleasure. The supervision staff, especially Lori Sommerness, has been so professional and caring that it has been smooth and easy to learn my new job. The leadership has been superb. I absolutely love my schedule.

    Cons

    At this point I am part-time and do not share in the benefits of full-time workers. I am looking forward to growing in this company so I may be considered for more hours later. I wish it was a smoke-free environment.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work. I liked everything about getting the job, and appreciate it very much.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 27, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  3.  

    First casino job, glad to say BOYD is a great company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    At first I thought "oh a lower scale casino corporation, compared to MGM" man was I wrong. BOYD cares very much about their employees & customers.

    I was very well pleased with how much training I received I actually felt great about going into my job title with all the training provided.

    Pay is mediocre but what can I expect for entry level, it's competitive.
    Benefits are great too.

    They also are in the process of renovating the Gold Coast, which was needed.

    I also just received my check a few days early because of Thanksgiving & heard something about a Christmas bonus! Just those few things make me want to stay with BOYD Gaming for the future.

    BOYD takes care of everyone.

    Cons

    Typical casino cons: late hours, smoke, some customers that just want handouts & some supervisors & or managers are just rude.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Only thing I would recommend is listen to your employees, they might have ideas no one has thought of.

    The team member questionaire is a great way to get your employees thoughts.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 8, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    We're glad that you pointed out the TMOS program
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Positive experience!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Designer
    Current Employee - Designer

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for to gain some valuable first hand experience. Great team environment and a great sense of job security. The company strives to provide whatever is necessary for you to fulfill your job functions as effectively as possible.

    Cons

    No growth plan for employees. virtually no raises and no way to "grow" as you gain better experience. Just stuck. Obnoxious dress code for corporate team members who work in cubicles all day. Salaries could be a lot more competitive, I would not call it a "living" wage...

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If they make salaries more competitive and offer regular raises based on performance and delivery then there would probably be less turnover.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 17, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    You did mention a few issues of concern
    ... More

  6.  

    The casino business is fun again!

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    The rapport between the co-workers.

    Cons

    The same as any casino: noise, smoke, hours,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it fun for us and we'll keep it fun for the customers.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 1, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    We want to encourage you to participate in the
    ... More

  7.  

    Great

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Valet Attendant
    Former Employee - Valet Attendant

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    All..everyone is helpful and nice and friendly

    Cons

    Pay could be better..but the environment could be better

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 20, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad that you had a good experience working with us. We'll pass along your comments to senior management.

    Thanks again for your review.

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great company

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Very reasonable company. Easy to talk to upper management. Everyone is friendly.

    Cons

    It took awhile to go through the hiring process.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 8, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us. With the upcoming team member opinion survey we ... More

  9.  

    Boyd is FAMILY.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer in Tunica, MS
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer in Tunica, MS

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Less stressful than other gaming companies. Great co-workers, great management. People respect and speak to each other, even between departments. No one looks down on another. We take care of each other. Always big on training people who want to move up and around in the company. I was always very proud to say I worked for Boyd.

    Cons

    Typical casino cons: Smoke. Noise. There will always be a couple of people you don't necessarily get along with, but this really was rarely a problem compared to other casinos. Boyd employees really do enjoy a family atmosphere.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up. The recession hit hard and layoffs were hurtful, tough times. But, you've really scaled back well and focused on your target customer. Business has picked considerably up as a result, and I cannot wait for the day I get to come back home. Here's to further growth in the Tunica community and for all Boyd family!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 12, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad that you were a part of our Sam's Town Tunica team and we’re thrilled to hear that you had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for
    ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    BOYD Gaming is a great company to work for !

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Steward in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Executive Steward in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    I must say Boyd gaming values relationships with Team member plus as a very good promotional program!

    Cons

    Boyd Gaming has a mutitude of challegance you will face on a daily base but with that said it comes with the hosipitality field!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The only thing that i could advise or ask upper managemnet to do is be more proactive Lead by simple!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 1, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us. With the upcoming team member opinion survey we ... More

  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Doesn't care about employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Kitchen Help in Mulvane, KS
    Current Employee - Kitchen Help in Mulvane, KS

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Pay is OK benefits good but pricey, OT available in buffet

    Cons

    No breaks except your 30 minute paid lunch.work every holiday with no extra pay and no chance of getting any of them off to be with family. They do not value their employeesno matter how hard you work. They pick favorites to get promoted.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Promote those who work hard and have good attitudes. Show appreciation for those who work hard for you by paying more for holidays, offering bonuses and giving free food to employees more often. Most of us do not feel appreciated.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 1, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest and frank feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to
    ... More

Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

Boyd Gaming

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.