Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated October 31, 2014
Updated October 31, 2014
72 Reviews
2.9
72 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
37 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance (in 4 reviews)

  • The company also heavily promotes from within (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • Too often a person in an upper management position will have either no casino experience or they are "old school" casino people (in 3 reviews)

  • Negative work environment, no recognition, top-heavy, no one seems to really care what the lower level employees feel (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    BOYD Gaming is a great company to work for !

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Steward in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Executive Steward in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    I must say Boyd gaming values relationships with Team member plus as a very good promotional program!

    Cons

    Boyd Gaming has a mutitude of challegance you will face on a daily base but with that said it comes with the hosipitality field!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The only thing that i could advise or ask upper managemnet to do is be more proactive Lead by simple!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  2.  

    Conservative Pay for most positions

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Secretary in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Executive Secretary in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Paid holidays at corporate offices

    Cons

    401(k) match is paltry compared to most gaming companies

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Loosen up dollars to pay employees more

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Oct 12, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest and frank feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to
    ... More

  3. 3 people found this helpful  

    Abusive, sneaky and corrupt.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Property is usually clean, they provide employee meals while on shift and have standard PTO accumulation.

    Cons

    Management is abusive and it almost felt like it was an employee against management war. When I exposed wrongdoing to the corporate office, they launched an investigation & found the allegations against management to be true. Management made life at work very hard and hostile to myself and others involved until we quit or they could fire us. They maliciously marked anyone who left "Non rehireable" (so now we cant ever apply at any other BOYD property ) because we exposed things about management.

    Never even did anything against policy.....Terrible company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire managers that are leaders, not ones who abuse power and have t prove "they are in charge"

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Oct 30, 2014Company Administrator

    Needless to say, we are extremely concerned about the issues you raised in your review. The only way we can address them, however, is to get more information on exactly what happened.

    We ask
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Boyd Gaming is an OK company to work for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming (less than an year)

    Pros

    The customers are extremely nice, the casino is well lit, the smoke isn't too noticeable, they promote from within, and have a minimal amount of meetings outside of regular work hours.

    Cons

    The pay is very low which contributes to high turnover. Management is inconsistent as to how they treat the dealers and supervisors. Also, one of the shift managers really changes their attitude towards dealers and supervisors when customers are winning (this person sweats the money). The company also sent a letter to employees telling us how to vote in the upcoming election which I do not think is appropriate.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be more consistent towards employees, and consider a higher pay scale to keep the turnover rate down. Also, do not allow employees to gamble at the property they work for. I do not see what good can come from letting your employees gamble at their current property.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Oct 30, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest and frank feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to
    ... More

  6.  

    Cage cashier was decent money for easy job.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    The money is decent, employees are fun.

    Cons

    This company follows a point system policy.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It would be nice if the insurance was better and cheaper.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 29, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your review. Boyd Gaming is committed to operating with the highest ethics, and when we fall short, we want to know about it.

    We will pass along both your compliments and your
    ... More

  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    A steady paycheck.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Table Games Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Table Games Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Pros

    A "paycheck" for life. It would be very difficult to lose a job at Boyd gaming. They have fair medical benefits.

    Cons

    Amateur management team. Management does not like suggestions or ideas. The company has not kept up with the times and operates like its still 1980. Salaries are sub par. The work culture is very weak. Very few employees take pride in their work. Work loads and pay are very imbalanced.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 19, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest and frank feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to
    ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    I love working here, everyone is helpful and nice.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Specialty Bus Person in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Specialty Bus Person in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    There are a lot of great people here staff is awesome! Enjoy coming everyday to work, I can see myself here for a long time.

    Cons

    I don't see no cons yet I am still new to the company, all I know is it's great.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Awesome job!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 18, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review.

  9.  

    Amazing, love my job, wish it paid better

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    The people. The ones I work with and the guests. My job is very enjoyable. Management is great and the opportunity to advice is there

    Cons

    Pay sucks. At least offer overtime if you can't pay better or cross train something

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 18, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    We strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it. That is why we commit to items such as our team member opinion
    ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Awful, very inexperienced management.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Casino in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Casino in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Steady paycheck. Hourly employees are great.

    Cons

    I work in a downtown property and management basically blamed us for the awful shortcomings they have. Our VP has become so outdated in his running of our casino that it is failing. He is always golfing and doesn't actually know what goes on in his casino. Shameful. They took a week of vacation away from us per year, they took our pto sellback away, they have more than tripled our cost of medical insurance since it was changed from percs,

    But the most worrisome thing of all is that picture frame of managers they put up and all of them are Caucasian. Except the FB director. He's the only African American. They laid off the other African American manager. But you look the employee of the month wall there is the diversity they so claim.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If your heart is really not in it you should move elsewhere. Good employees are being lost because of your inadequacies and severe lack of knowledge or skill.
    Diversity is lost on you. Get better HR representatives because frankly they are a joke. They now refer you to outside companies or materials to deal with your "problem." ALOHA.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Oct 8, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your frank and honest feedback.

    It is always helpful to get the perspective of a long-time team member. You’ve been with us for a significant amount of time, and we hope your
    ... More

  11.  

    Smart, friendly family owned company that is losing market share due to increasing competition

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Peoria, IL
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Peoria, IL

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Friendly employees & customers. Customer oriented focus. Some top management actually cared and listened to the employees. They promote from within. Decent benefits. Free food. Great work schedule.

    Cons

    The pay was not the best. Small bonuses. The chain of command was a bit disorganized, and there was a lack of communication between departments. I don't think they reached out to understand their customers very well. The gaming Industry lacks avenues for growth, and the market is becoming saturated.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to the customers. Don't just ignore what they have to say, because it conflicts with revenue. Bridges were being burnt with customers all the time, sooner or later, if things don't change or more new customers are not created, there will be no solid ground for the company to stand on.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Aug 11, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    We strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it. That is why we commit to items such as our team member opinion
    ... More

Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

Boyd Gaming

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.