Boyd Gaming

www.boydcareers.com
Employer Engaged

Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated February 10, 2015
Updated February 10, 2015
91 Reviews
3.1
91 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
43 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance (in 4 reviews)

  • The company also heavily promotes from within (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • Too often a person in an upper management position will have either no casino experience or they are "old school" casino people (in 3 reviews)

  • Negative work environment, no recognition, top-heavy, no one seems to really care what the lower level employees feel (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    I like the place and good personal

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    I considerate is a good team

    Cons

    Excellent job for my guest

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    considers new employees, give more days and hours of work

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Feb 12, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us. Please know that you have the Open Door Policy
    ... More

  2.  

    Excellent Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Overall a friendly and interesting place to work

    Cons

    Working hard to expand the company

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jan 13, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  3.  

    A great place to work at.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cocktail Waitress in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Cocktail Waitress in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    There is a very strong family feeling between other staff and customers. Everyone is very friendly.

    Cons

    Sometimes certain shifts can be harder than others. Also, I wish I was a full time employee versus on call.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Thank you for the opportunity to be a part of the team/family.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jan 13, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to have you on our team!!!

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great chance to be promoted no matter how long with the company but pay probably isn't worth it.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Working environment is great to work for. Great chance to promote from within.

    Cons

    Pay scale is not competitive at all and especially if you are promoted internally. Will probably make bottom 10 percent of what the average pay for your job is. Also HR won't take your opinion of pay in to account nor will they attempt to sit down and renegotiate pay unless SR management makes a stand and they won't.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Seriously should sit down and discuss pay or put in place a system where employees can get increases in pay especially for internal employees who have put time in with the company to match market value that is current with other casinos or at least comparable to the average pay of the job you do.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Feb 2, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to have you on our team!!!

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about
    ... More

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Going downhill

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Mid Career in East Peoria, IL
    Former Employee - Mid Career in East Peoria, IL

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Fun place in central Illinois.

    Cons

    Some true professionals are true professionals and others are corrupt or have very poor management styles. The core beliefs are not upheld by all of top management. Non-smoking and opening up video games to public venues has taken its toll. A company is only as good as the person/s leading it,,,without their integrity you have no good foundation.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Let conscience, not money or greed be your guide. Do what you know is right in your heart...you'll feel good and it has a positive trickle-down effect!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Feb 2, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve
    ... More

  7.  

    Fun place to work but doesn't pay well.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    The people are really great to work with and it is never a boring job. You can definitely tell Management tries to make up for the lack of pay.

    Cons

    The pay is very low for the amount of work put in. Very stressful environment at times.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Feb 2, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest feedback.

    We strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve.

    Assuming you
    ... More

  8.  

    Dealing: My Dream Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    I LOVE the teamwork. Working with Human Resources has been a real pleasure. The supervision staff, especially Lori Sommerness, has been so professional and caring that it has been smooth and easy to learn my new job. The leadership has been superb. I absolutely love my schedule.

    Cons

    At this point I am part-time and do not share in the benefits of full-time workers. I am looking forward to growing in this company so I may be considered for more hours later. I wish it was a smoke-free environment.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work. I liked everything about getting the job, and appreciate it very much.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 27, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  9.  

    Really love what I am doing in slot marketing!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Slot Marketing in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Slot Marketing in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits(once I start receiving them) and the team members dinning room.

    Cons

    Some of the challenges have been getting comfortable with the people that I work with. Some of them not very nice, tattle tales, and don't even show up for work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    A better eye on what is going on in our department.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 22, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to have you on our team!!!

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about
    ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Not employee friendly

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Hourly Worker in Biloxi, MS
    Current Employee - Hourly Worker in Biloxi, MS

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, expensive, but at least they have them. PTO, when you can get it

    Cons

    No respect for seniority. Got yanked from a job I truly enjoyed and put in a job I hate because the manager of the department I got moved to wanted to get rid of someone. No choice in the matter. If you're not rah rah enough, forget promotions. And raises are a joke. I work hard, very rarely miss any time, and am not rewarded for it. A one percent raise is nothing. Management does not treat everyone equally. Screw up, if you're "in", don't worry about it. If not, watch out.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat all employees the same. Recognize and appreciate the hard workers you have. Give seniority respect.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Feb 10, 2015Company Administrator

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve
    ... More

  11. 3 people found this helpful  

    Don't apply

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Nothing. You will be promised many things, don't get your hopes up. You'll be lied to, not treated with respect, and they do not pay you what you're worth. Do not apply here.

    Cons

    Shady shady shady company. Do not apply here. Your boss will not look out for you or help you. Employees are on drugs but human resources turn their head. No body cares about anybody but themselves. One man for himself at this employer.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    They are all drug addicts.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jan 14, 2015Company Administrator

    Needless to say, we are extremely concerned about the issues you raised in your review. The only way we can address them, however, is to get more information on exactly what happened.

    We ask that
    ... More

Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

Boyd Gaming

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.