Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated October 10, 2014
Updated October 10, 2014
71 Reviews
2.9
71 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
36 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance (in 4 reviews)

  • The company also heavily promotes from within (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • The company boasts an "open door" policy which is a joke (in 3 reviews)

  • Too often a person in an upper management position will have either no casino experience or they are "old school" casino people (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Conservative Pay for most positions

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Secretary in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Executive Secretary in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Paid holidays at corporate offices

    Cons

    401(k) match is paltry compared to most gaming companies

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Loosen up dollars to pay employees more

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Oct 12, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest and frank feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to
    ... More

  2.  

    Cage cashier was decent money for easy job.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    The money is decent, employees are fun.

    Cons

    This company follows a point system policy.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It would be nice if the insurance was better and cheaper.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 29, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your review. Boyd Gaming is committed to operating with the highest ethics, and when we fall short, we want to know about it.

    We will pass along both your compliments and your
    ... More

  3.  

    I love working here, everyone is helpful and nice.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Specialty Bus Person in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Specialty Bus Person in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    There are a lot of great people here staff is awesome! Enjoy coming everyday to work, I can see myself here for a long time.

    Cons

    I don't see no cons yet I am still new to the company, all I know is it's great.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Awesome job!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 18, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5.  

    A steady paycheck.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Table Games Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Table Games Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Pros

    A "paycheck" for life. It would be very difficult to lose a job at Boyd gaming. They have fair medical benefits.

    Cons

    Amateur management team. Management does not like suggestions or ideas. The company has not kept up with the times and operates like its still 1980. Salaries are sub par. The work culture is very weak. Very few employees take pride in their work. Work loads and pay are very imbalanced.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 19, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest and frank feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to
    ... More

  6.  

    Amazing, love my job, wish it paid better

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    The people. The ones I work with and the guests. My job is very enjoyable. Management is great and the opportunity to advice is there

    Cons

    Pay sucks. At least offer overtime if you can't pay better or cross train something

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 18, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    We strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it. That is why we commit to items such as our team member opinion
    ... More

  7.  

    Awful, very inexperienced management.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Casino in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Casino in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Steady paycheck. Hourly employees are great.

    Cons

    I work in a downtown property and management basically blamed us for the awful shortcomings they have. Our VP has become so outdated in his running of our casino that it is failing. He is always golfing and doesn't actually know what goes on in his casino. Shameful. They took a week of vacation away from us per year, they took our pto sellback away, they have more than tripled our cost of medical insurance since it was changed from percs,

    But the most worrisome thing of all is that picture frame of managers they put up and all of them are Caucasian. Except the FB director. He's the only African American. They laid off the other African American manager. But you look the employee of the month wall there is the diversity they so claim.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If your heart is really not in it you should move elsewhere. Good employees are being lost because of your inadequacies and severe lack of knowledge or skill.
    Diversity is lost on you. Get better HR representatives because frankly they are a joke. They now refer you to outside companies or materials to deal with your "problem." ALOHA.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Oct 8, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your frank and honest feedback.

    It is always helpful to get the perspective of a long-time team member. You’ve been with us for a significant amount of time, and we hope your
    ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    If You're non-management, watch out!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The benefits were on-par with today's standards, Usually the properties are well maintained. Free employee meals.

    Cons

    Their open door policy is used as a tool to retaliate against you. I've seen some genuinely good employees go to HR for help about being harassed, treated differently or something unfair in their dept only to have it happen more blantently before they are ultimately fired or forced to quit. Management laughs about the issues amongst each other and uses HR as their weapon against employees so their actions are covered and HR helps them find a way to fire the employee.

    Nothing but a corrupt bunch of fools who want to make the rules up as they go along and god forbid anyone has a problem with anything or youre history.

    Im go glad i walked out on these guys , the place wasnt worth the stress.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You spend all day preaching your core values, try following them yourselves. Your management is abusive and they think its funny.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 2, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for your review. Boyd Gaming is committed to operating with the highest ethics, and when we fall short, we want to know about it.

    We’re extremely concerned about the situation you
    ... More

  9.  

    Smart, friendly family owned company that is losing market share due to increasing competition

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Peoria, IL
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Peoria, IL

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Friendly employees & customers. Customer oriented focus. Some top management actually cared and listened to the employees. They promote from within. Decent benefits. Free food. Great work schedule.

    Cons

    The pay was not the best. Small bonuses. The chain of command was a bit disorganized, and there was a lack of communication between departments. I don't think they reached out to understand their customers very well. The gaming Industry lacks avenues for growth, and the market is becoming saturated.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to the customers. Don't just ignore what they have to say, because it conflicts with revenue. Bridges were being burnt with customers all the time, sooner or later, if things don't change or more new customers are not created, there will be no solid ground for the company to stand on.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Aug 11, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    We strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it. That is why we commit to items such as our team member opinion
    ... More

  10.  

    Paul M. The manager at Eldarodo, and Jokers Wild Is. GOOD AMERICAN!

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Great Nose to Nose Marketing! Great customer service! He the MAN.

    Cons

    ZIP< NONE Not with this TEAM 110%

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Name him CHIEF RUN SO FAST!

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Aug 11, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you as part of the team!

    Paul M sounds like a true leader. We appreciate your information.

    Thanks again for your review!

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Boyd is a "people oriented" organization, with lots of potential for employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer, IT in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer, IT in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    This company seems to pride itself on employee loyalty, flexibility, and a stress-free worker culture. The balance between personal life and strong work ethic is a priority for upper management. This ethos supports a culture of loyalty at the company.
    The company also heavily promotes from within. Boyd provides opportunities to employees that have the ability to constantly progress without being stymied by politics or nepotism.

    Cons

    Salary and pay rates lag behind other competitors in the local industry. Employee performance review process does not seem to carry weight with regards to compensation and promotions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jul 10, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    You did mention a few issues of concern
    ... More

Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

Boyd Gaming

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.