Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated April 22, 2015
101 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.3
101 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
48 Ratings

Pros
  • They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance (in 4 reviews)

  • The company also heavily promotes from within (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • Too often a person in an upper management position will have either no casino experience or they are "old school" casino people (in 3 reviews)

  • Negative work environment, no recognition, top-heavy, no one seems to really care what the lower level employees feel (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Simply the best work environment I ever been around

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Plate Runner in Biloxi, MS
    Current Employee - Plate Runner in Biloxi, MS

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I'm a people person the guest my coworkers are amazing and help me feel like I'm apart of the Boyd family

    Cons

    There are none this company is the best

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and I feel like yall really care about the employees. ...thanks for hiring me this feels like the right place for me to be...

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Apr 5, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  2. Director

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great co-workers, great environment, caring managers

    Cons

    Life Work Balance, A little political

    Advice to Management

    Realize that your employees are your most important Asset

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Apr 20, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve. We'll
    ... More

  3. Good people.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people and they have provided everything I need to get my job done, which is what I expect from my employer. Everyone is friendly where I work and the facility is nice. Boyd is big on philanthropy, which I really appreciate. They have a stand up reputation around the state for being a corporation that cares.

    Cons

    The dress code is very rigid. Be prepared for formal business attire.

    Advice to Management

    8 hours of orientation is too long, expecting people to get the required online policy training at their desk after starting a new position within set timeline is a bit unrealistic.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Apr 5, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve.

    We
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    over worked under paid

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cage Cashier
    Current Employee - Cage Cashier

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great work experience, easy work,.constantly meeting new people And learning

    Cons

    down sides back of knowledgeable management, employees seem to know more, supervisors are rarely avalible when needed graveshift seems to really have the short end of stick we simply dont get said enough, point system (attendence) does not take parents into consideration easy to gain almost impossible to rid! food is never fresh for graveshift sometimes we have none! Scheduling weekends/holidays never rotated but give off to certain people. its diffucult to balance home and work !They also expect workers to cover shifts thats not theres i understand team work but with this company there is none And noone working with you

    Advice to Management

    I would advise mamagement to undergo really training because its basically the blind leading the blind

  6. In my first two weeks, my experience with Boyd Gaming has been great.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Reservations in Biloxi, MS
    Current Employee - Reservations in Biloxi, MS

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Boyd Gaming is a big company, but it has a small family company feel.

    Cons

    Can't apply for another position because I haven't been here long enough. I could if I wasn't an employee.

    Advice to Management

    Let new employees apply for another position before 90 days.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 16, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us. Please know that you have the Open Door Policy
    ... More

  7. Company like none other..!!!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Audio Visual Technician in North Shreveport, LA
    Current Employee - Audio Visual Technician in North Shreveport, LA

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great staff.... the perk of wearing dress clothes... having the chance to make people enjoy their selfs

    Cons

    Can't find one at the moment.. not to be cheesy but I have the greatest job inside the Boyd gaming corporation

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 16, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  8. Helpful (1)

    Not the advancement opportunities hoping for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    New, recent acquisition, advancement depending on area you were in

    Cons

    work/life balance, senior management, inconsistencies in procedures

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 20, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve.

    We
    ... More

  9. Decent employer needs to promote when earned

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Front Office Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Front Office Manager in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Team members are always willing to help in my department, very small turn over rate (in my department) upper management that mentors

    Cons

    They pay isn't up there for the amount and level of work expected. Benefits package is available and that's better than many company's but the packages get more and more expensive each year.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 20, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest feedback and your dedication to the company for more than 10 years.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that
    ... More

  10. In the short time that I've been here, it appears that Boyd Gaming really cares about it's employees.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Ground Agent (Vacations Hawaii) in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Ground Agent (Vacations Hawaii) in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    It's like an Ohana, open door policy and the intense safety training are really impressive. Just the fact that we are asked to rate this company and with an "advice to management" section is pretty cool I think. If this is the norm, expect me to stay here till I die!!!

    Cons

    While I agree with the clothing policy, as an part time worker I think the company should provide more. For example, I have a very expensive jacket that is very warm but I can't use it because the color is blue (we are required to wear black). Buying another jacket of the same quality would put a strain on my budget. This is more of a thought than a complaint. I can survive with the current policy.

    Advice to Management

    At this time I have no advice to give but for you to continue as you are doing and ensure that what we've learned at the orientation was not just a dog and pony show.

    I left a few blank below only because I'm not qualified to have an honest opinion just yet.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 16, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us. Please know that you have the Open Door Policy
    ... More

  11. Helpful (1)

    Not worth the money and the stress. Look elsewhere. Prison would be the same quality except better pay

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Kenner, LA
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Kenner, LA

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Free food poisoning. Employee food is out too long and not keep up to temp and food and safety codes.

    Cons

    Pay is terrible, management attitude is terrible, expect too much, will be blamed for supervisors faults

    Advice to Management

    Pay more, look harder at supervisors, fix these issues because I would prefer working in a prison over this

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Apr 13, 2015Company Administrator

    Needless to say, we are extremely concerned about the issues you raised in your review. The only way we can address them, however, is to get more information on exactly what happened.

    We ask that
    ... More

Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

Boyd Gaming

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.