Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated June 18, 2015
69 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
2.6
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Ranelli
5 Ratings

Pros
  • There are some really great people at this company with many years of industry knowledge (in 6 reviews)

  • Most of the employees are really great (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • Senior management is completely focused on maximizing their personal compensation with no regard for the company or its future (in 4 reviews)

  • Board of Directors is not a true functioning (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

69 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Worked four years

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Palm Bay, FL
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Palm Bay, FL

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people. Very flexible. Able to create schedule around any issues you have. Etablished teams whom are very positive

    Cons

    Going in to on average 3 stores a day lifting fertilizer changer tiring but gives you a good workout. Having drama from Scott's

    Advice to Management

    Enjoy the flexibility and ability to make your employees happy. Happy employees equals productive employees which in turn nets in more profit

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    We LOVE our merchandisers! Thanks for all of your hard work over the past four years.


  2. Helpful (2)

    Pays the bills

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 5 years)

    Neutral Outlook
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    If you do your work you are pretty much left alone.

    Cons

    You are nothing more than a disposable number to them. No matter how hard you work or how well you do, you are easily replaceable.

    Advice to Management

    None, cause they don't care.


  3. enjoyable at times and also stressful

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Tons of opportunity for sales

    Cons

    I have a horrible back and its only getting worse lugging 2500 lb pallets around

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. If you have concerns relating to your job requirements, please talk to your supervisor or Human Resources. We want our employees to be safe!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. After 3 months, still drinking through a fire hose here. There is a lot to learn in this great company.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    This is a very diverse company with a lot opportunities to learn different business models. The people here are passionate about their business and eager to do the right thing for it. I feel I am fairly compensated and the Atlanta office is in a great part of town. There are opportunities to make a difference and people who are willing to do that. The on-boarding process was pretty good for me. My manager took a few days to walk me through systems, priorities, duties, and office politics.

    Cons

    The only downside I see so far is that the company is over-reacting to a poor experience with a consultant by decentralizing and basically tearing apart everything they brought to the table. There also could be a bigger push to consolidate all businesses into same ERP.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a way to identify and implement synergies while keeping the passion in the individual business units.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for providing feedback. We agree that Central is a great company!


  6. IT operations.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of IT in Carson, CA
    Current Employee - Manager of IT in Carson, CA

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Diverse Organization with many avenues for growth and challenges with regards to Enterprise operations.

    Cons

    Often too many IT projects going on at same time that can keep focus and deadlines from being achieved.

    Advice to Management

    Centralize financial systems from mergers without interrupting current business operations.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Central definitely is a place with many avenues for growth!


  7. Good people just going in the wrong direction

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Colleagues are great and help you at all costs. Lots of team centered discussion and people trying to make you better

    Cons

    Upper management makes poor decisions. Lost a lot of good brands to their competition and in an industry like this that's a killer

    Advice to Management

    Work more at serving your reps who give everything they have to serve their customers and you'll do much better

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. We are always trying to improve and appreciate your honesty.


  8. Helpful (2)

    Lack of Leadership

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Fantastic people. Improved office conditions.

    Cons

    No longer have a vision or strategy. The Chairman micromanages and does not communicate. The CEO is merely a puppet of the Chairman. No work-life balance. Reliance on contractors who have no stake in the business.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback.


  9. Strong company, fair, compeititive

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Acct Manager in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Acct Manager in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Excellent sales support, recognition for work done well, performance bonuses, provided tools & support to do work, Great benefits; strong middle management who care about what goes on in real makretplace. Compensation is good, car allowance ok

    Cons

    Upper management needs to respond to conflicting marketing moves between distributor & retail markets when issues occur as it affects everyones business. Sales teams need to work alot of weekends to maintain market penetration.

    Advice to Management

    Respond quickly, engage more with street warriors to get a real glimpse of market segments
    Overall good to great management!

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    The sales team is the face of Central in front of our customers. The work you do is very much appreciated!


  10. Helpful (3)

    Central Garden and Pet

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to work, people are awesome most associates I work with have been with the company for 15+ years.
    Truly people focused.

    Cons

    Some transitional issues going from many separate companies to one and now leadership is splitting the business again. Many are confused, not good direction from the top down. Seems to be an identity crisis.

    Advice to Management

    Company should remain as one and work towards the CPG model, going back to individual business units is a mistake.
    Execution in any model is key, this is a slippery slope, but one worth continuing. Collaboration is almost entirely gone amongst business groups. Barriers and walls are forming as everyone is concerned for only their budgets.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Congratulations on being with Central for over 15 years! Yes, we have gone through some changes over the past few years but our results show that we are headed in the right direction. Thank you for ... More


  11. They pay you what your worth. Work hard and your compensated.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Boise, ID
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Boise, ID

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    They have good benefits,Med,Dental, Optical. Linda who manages Boise is an Excellent manager and person in General. She is fair and genuine in the way she cares for her employees. She has an open door policy along with her managers. If you work hard and have the companies best interest at heart your paid well. Advancement and raises are fair. The atmosphere is nice,calm and your not Mico managed to death. I love coming to work everyday.

    Cons

    They could use more in classes to help motivate employees, maybe motivational speakers, classes to teach others how to get along and communicate better. They could have a little better PTO system. Maybe combine their sick pay into PTO and have more vacation time open.

    Advice to Management

    Management there is great, they work hard at motivating teams, training and helping employees to move up.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    May 8, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the positive feedback!



Showing 69 of 73 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.