Cigital

  www.cigital.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Cigital Reviews

Updated August 4, 2014
Updated August 4, 2014
35 Reviews

4.0
35 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Cigital Chairman and CEO John L. Wyatt
John L. Wyatt
32 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    15 years of experience ranging from research to consulting to management.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - ICTO  in  Dulles, VA
    Current Employee - ICTO in Dulles, VA

    Pros

    The people's intelligence, breadth of knowledge, and their consistent willingness to help each other continues to keep me interested as well as challenges and educate me. A commitment to genuinely help customers improve their software security initiatives across a broad range of industries and maturities means not getting bored.

    The company rewards the self-starter who possesses ideas on how to improve things and makes bets on younger staff, fostering motivated people.

    Cons

    The organization's client-focus can frustrate those with truly innovative ideas which the client can't absorb. Those who would like opportunities given to them, well-defined and well-within their existing experience base (easy), will struggle. The culture does not cater to those who don't like to be challenged by their coworkers or management.

    Those looking for large amounts of entirely free-form time without direct business impact will be frustrated by a lack of support.

    Those coming into account or technical management positions who have previously run their own initiatives find Cigital's expectations high and difficult to achieve.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management, growth oriented, could focus more time on fostering individuals who have trouble picking their own direction. They could also do a better job raising inter-region visibility into sharp peer mentors for more junior staff and connect these individuals where introverted personalities don't do this for themselves.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Aug 15, 2014Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for your feedback. It's because of wonderful people like you that Cigital is such an amazing place work. We'll be sure to share you thoughts on how to improve the mentor program with ... More

  2.  

    Employees and customers are #1

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Hugely talented group. Very committed to employee development. Collaborative. High energy. Lots of focus on customer satisfaction. Open communications to senior leadership. Very little company politics. Lots of interesting projects and lots of opportunities to contribute.

    Cons

    Organization charts are de-emphasized so it can be a little difficult to understand how the company is structured. So much going on that sometimes you run into two people or groups of people trying to solve the same problem independently.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to communicate and keep putting employees first. Remind the employees to put the customer first.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Aug 15, 2014Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We recognize as a consulting based organization focused on project delivery it can be a challenge to know what different groups or individuals are working on at the ... More

  3.  

    Great place to work and gain experience.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Managing Principal
    Current Employee - Managing Principal

    Pros

    The company is small enough so that if you are motivated and want to have a lot of impact in the direction the organization is headed, you can. but it's big enough that you have a great brand that supports you in the work that you do.

    Cons

    Needs more cohesion between different regions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Aug 15, 2014Marketing Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time out to share your thoughts on Cigital and are happy to hear you feel positive about the direction we are headed.

     If you have any recommendations on how we could
    ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    4 stars only for the rockstar Cigitalites

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Security Consultant
    Former Employee - Security Consultant

    Pros

    Some of the smartest security folks work here. I started my Appsec career with Cigital and I don't regret any moment of it. I learnt a lot while I was there. I interacted and met people who I really respect. Good exposure to practical hands-on Application Security projects which is always helpful. Work culture was the best I've experienced. Young, energetic, innovative employees is what makes Cigital an awesome place to work. I miss that the most.

    Cons

    Compensation is not that great and that matters specially when the benefits are not that great either. If you are working on a project and it gets mundane after some time, you can be stuck there for quite some time.

    Shifting InfoSec domains can be difficult specially when you are just getting started. Cigital is full of experts and some really smart people who get pulled into good projects. So, making your way through them and working on interesting projects can be a bit difficult.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Jul 22, 2014Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it. Understanding it can sometimes be hard to share feedback as an employee please considering reaching out to members of the HR team for ... More

  6.  

    Good learning experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Security  in  Bloomington, IN
    Current Employee - Software Security in Bloomington, IN

    Pros

    Super-friendly colleagues, exposure to varied technologies

    Cons

    low pay, no defined career path

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    increase the pay

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Jul 22, 2014Marketing Manager

    We're happy to have you as a member of the Cigital team and appreciate your feedback. Finding a career path can be challenging in many organizations, we encourage you to talk with your mentor about ... More

  7.  

    Great Place - Great Team

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Intern  in  Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Security Intern in Boston, MA

    Pros

    Fast growing company, plenty of projects, Awesome people to work with. Team always asks you to contribute and guide you in all the tasks to be done. Lots of opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Not many, if one really likes consultant job this is the company to be in.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stay as you are.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Jul 22, 2014Marketing Manager

    We're glad your intern experience has been a rewarding one and hope you will consider staying with us once it's over.

  8.  

    Good

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good company to learn things

    Cons

    Benefits and HR is really bad

    Approves of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Apr 10, 2014Marketing Manager

    We're glad to have you with us and hope you will continue to grow your skills. If you have suggestions about ways to improve benefits or HR talk to your mentor.

  9. 2 people found this helpful  

    Love the work and the people.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Consultant  in  New York, NY
    Current Employee - Security Consultant in New York, NY

    Pros

    Cool projects, awesome crowd in NYC, and a great global knowledge base to learn from. I love coming to work every day!

    Cons

    Financial and organizational growing pains of a small consulting firm. Not enough women (join us!) ... We need another office puppy :(

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Dec 4, 2013Marketing Manager

    With 3+ years under your belt you are a true Cigital veteran. As with any growing organization there are struggles, but we are excited about our new partnership with LLR and expect their investment ... More

  10.  

    Good place to learn new skills

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Consultant  in  Dulles, VA
    Current Employee - Security Consultant in Dulles, VA

    Pros

    It is a good place to learn new skills and work for different companies. You get to travel the world, see many different places.

    Cons

    sometimes too much business travel

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Dec 3, 2013Marketing Manager

    We're extremely thankful to have you as a member of the Cigital team and we look forward to helping you grow your career.

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    A Good Place to Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Intern  in  New York, NY
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY

    Pros

    The relatively small size of the NY office allowed me to get to know everyone and learn directly from the best in the field.

    I received training at the start of the internship, after which point I was tasked with several individual and team projects. Overall, my knowledge of information security grew tremendously over the summer, and I do not think I could've learned as much anywhere else.

    Cons

    The internship program is not very structured and at times I was confused as to what I should be doing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Formalize the internship system and provide housing assistance to relocated interns.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Cigital Response

    Sep 11, 2013Marketing Manager

    We're glad you enjoyed your time at Cigital and were able to grow your skills. We hope you'll intern again or join us full-time. Our openings are always up-to-date at ... More

Worked for Cigital? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.