Clever Devices

  www.cleverdevices.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Clever Devices Reviews

Updated July 21, 2014
Updated July 21, 2014
29 Reviews

3.1
29 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Frank Ingrassia
8 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Had a wonderful experience working with Clever and learning about new products

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Products are excellent and lot of potential for learning

    Cons

    Loose Management and no transparency

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More Transparency

  2.  

    Program Office

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Fantastic co workers and good benefits. Training available for many scenarios.

    Cons

    Short on real world experience. Many new solutions offered at one time. Need improvement with Quality but starting to excel on that front.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Encourage employees to take their vacations. Too many employees burning out.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Clever Devices Response

    Aug 18, 2014Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your review. We agree everyone should be able to take time off to recharge!

  3.  

    Interesting place to work, but not a good experience.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Woodbury, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodbury, NY

    Pros

    At the time I joined the company was growing rapidly, but I believe it may have changed. Overall nice people and some of the upper management level folks were very helpful and supportive. The technology was very interesting more so than in other places where I worked.

    Cons

    There was a lack of training for my position. The only training I got was a few one hour sessions on the products. They bid on every piece work that came across their desk. Sometimes they and did not communicate whether or not they were bidding to others on the team. Some long late night hours where I sat around and did nothing since I was new. The office tended to be very noisy making it difficult to focus. It seemed all the folks I had to work with to get my job done were constantly swamped which made it very difficult for me to pin them down. I felt the management was very cheap especially when it came to the heating. One late night I was shivering since the heat had been turned down and could only warm up in my car. On a lesser note, the office was not within walking distance to stores, etc as I had been led to believe. Finally, it is not convenient to mass transit as driving the LIE everyday from Queens was not pleasant and then having to worry about finding a parking spot at night.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need to have better communication between the decision makers and non-management staff. Provide better training for new employees. Don't scrimp on the heat if you have employees staying late.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Clever Devices Response

    Aug 18, 2014Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we take your comments seriously and will work on increasing training for new employees and improving communication, and of course ensuring ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    No Clear Strategy

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Some very nice people, nice office.

    Cons

    Weak management, and almost non-existent sales management. Busy buying other companies that added no value. Wasted a fortune going after international business that never materialized. Then promoted the head of international sales!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Find a real sales manager, and focus on your core business, not purchasing other companies and chasing international business.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Clever Devices Response

    Aug 18, 2014Chief People Officer

    I am sorry you did not have a good experience and we take your feedback to heart, we continue to work on our business and value all our people and everyone's experience. Good luck in your current ... More

  6.  

    Lack of direction from management and direction.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Product Specialist  in  Plainview, NY
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in Plainview, NY

    Pros

    Free beverages, co-workers, and certain projects.

    Cons

    Compensation, Management, Certain Policies,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your staff and get out of the clouds.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Clever Devices Response

    Aug 18, 2014Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we try hard to keep focused, and work on our comprehensive benefits packages.

  7.  

    Would not recommend

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Competitive salary. Diverse workforce.

    Cons

    Lack of direction and communication added a lot of stress and adversely affected efficiency.

    Clever Devices Response

    Aug 18, 2014Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review, we always try hard working on communication and will continue to make sure it is a priority so we can do better.

  8.  

    Nice place to work if you want to be insulted

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineer  in  Woodbury, NY
    Current Employee - Engineer in Woodbury, NY

    Pros

    Smart co-workers and most are willing to help.

    Cons

    Some of the worst management I've encountered in my career,
    micro managers,
    yes managers,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire managers with some integrity. Managers with a morale compass.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  9.  

    Better luck next time around "Not"

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Woodbury, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodbury, NY

    Pros

    Very good technology and learning experience.
    Great Benny's
    Soda Machine

    Cons

    No real structure to departments.
    Company has a different set of policies for it's employees and it's managers.
    HR doesn't follow through with complaints. Complaint are swept under the carpet.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    In order not to loose good employees you have to stop letting one man run the show. You guys have so many chiefs and yet one man is still calling the shots.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Clever Devices Response

    Aug 18, 2014Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the detail of your response. We have been increasing our management structure and our management training which should allay some of your concerns. We do listen, sometimes it takes time ... More

  10.  

    Used to be better

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Woodbury, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodbury, NY

    Pros

    Free popcorn and soda is about it. Some managers are good, but most upper management is not.

    Cons

    Awful management that cares solely about "payment milestones" and not the quality of work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Start caring about employees.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Clever Devices Response

    Aug 18, 2014Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we try hard to balance the business and customer requirements with the needs of our employees, we will try harder to make sure every employee feels that focus.

  11.  

    Interesting but not pleasant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Proposal Writer  in  Woodbury, NY
    Former Employee - Proposal Writer in Woodbury, NY

    Pros

    Small fast growing company, decent benefits, friendly staff

    Cons

    Hours, work load, people not cooperating, commute, no access to public transportation

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pick a location closer to the LIRR

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Worked for Clever Devices? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.