Comodo Reviews

Updated July 3, 2015
141 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

141 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (5)

    Cut throat environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Clifton, NJ
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Clifton, NJ

    I worked at Comodo full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    They are in a brand new building in Clifton. (They moved from Jersey City, which was apparently a much better location). The technology is state of the art.

    Cons

    They don't have enough engineers supporting their infrastructure. They have totally ridiculous expectations of what an employee should be able to do, and they provide ZERO training or guidance. As a sys-admin, I was expected to be an expert in networking, security, windows, gentoo linux (which nobody knows), desktop support, programming, email, applications, data centers, cabling and proprietary systems.

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating people like garbage.

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Product Marketing

    Thank you for your post. We have been making changes and all the departments in the company are benefiting from the changes.


  2. Helpful (1)

    Fun atmosphere with large potential for growth

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Operations Analyst in Clifton, NJ
    Current Employee - Marketing Operations Analyst in Clifton, NJ

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Comodo has a lot of opportunity for growth, they have a very flexible work schedule, a very nice and comfortable office including a 24/7 gym , very helpful work colleagues, as well as complimentary coffee and fruits daily.

    Cons

    On site cafeteria isn’t great, so for lunch you are limited to ether bringing your own food, or going outside of the office.

    Advice to Management

    Have an employee suggestions drop box that is anonymous.

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Product Marketing

    Great idea! I would like to see a suggestion drop box by the end of the month!


  3. Challenging & Rewarding experiences

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Coordinator in Clifton, NJ
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Coordinator in Clifton, NJ

    I have been working at Comodo full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Challenging Projects, great for fresh out of college graduates
    - CEO mentorship, he will teach you how to make money
    - You will learn how to be profitable, which is a great resume booster
    - You get a chance to work in a team with different strengths
    - A lot of opportunities for growth in your career

    Cons

    - Lack of company events (bowling, happy hour, etc.)

    Advice to Management

    There should be more cohesive flow of information from upper management to their employees.

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Product Marketing

    Suggest some events for us to do together! Maybe add them into the drop box --- see above :)


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. My experience with Comodo is good.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great scope for career in the security industry.
    Learnt about new terms such as SSL.
    Friendly peer group
    Supportive management

    Cons

    Compensation
    Team activities
    Promotions are slow

    Advice to Management

    If skilled people could be identified earlier and duly rewarded, it will motivate them better.

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Product Marketing

    Welcome aboard!


  6. Helpful (4)

    Stay away goals are set high to ensure higher turn over rate !!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Jersey City, NJ
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Jersey City, NJ

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Getting fired, football pool was great!

    Cons

    Leaving my Job to come there place is a grave yard for sale s rep to go and die

    Advice to Management

    Shutdown scrap the company management used to give inbound sales to certain people and take a cut thats how bad it is I survived 5months in those five months the trainer was fired during training class the vp was fired during training class the recruiting department was fired before my first month the guy from hr that does the firing go t fired thwn they downsized to Clifton from downtown jersey city

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    We have an automatic dialer in our sales department, where leads are distributed equally amongst the sales staff. So, I'm not sure how it's possible to give leads to certain people on our sales ... More


  7. Helpful (6)

    RUN FOREST RUN; Seriously don't work there!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clifton, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clifton, NJ

    I worked at Comodo full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Free coffee and fruit in the morning…seriously thats it though

    Cons

    Every other aspect; no leadership, no mentoring, no strategy, unrealistic, mind-baffling quota…its a cold-calling telesales job where you are making over 120 calls a day and getting through to no one because its essentially calling a phonebook. The marketing dept. is also a joke; lets throw sh*t at the wall and see what sticks..absolutely a farce..if you need the money short term I guess go for it but if you have other options take them and/or never stop looking for another place..total debacle from start to finish.

    Advice to Management

    lol--this is comical..get out of your own way..monkeys can't sell bananas.

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    Your thoughts are valued. We have been working hard to develop a positive and productive culture at Comodo.

    We have also introduced a workshop where potential employees can shadow a Internet
    ... More


  8. Work life is balanced and sensible goals to achieve.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Clifton, NJ
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Clifton, NJ

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I like working here because the company's working hours and schedules didn't affect my personal life. I had these issues in my previous company but Comodo helped me in that regards. Besides helpful co-workers and my job role, there isn't much to be said about. It's going ok so far, and still learning.

    Cons

    There is no choice of food in the cafe and overall work environment lacks professional touch. It can be better. Employee recreational activities are limited.

    Advice to Management

    Add more recreational games to beat job stress.

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Product Marketing

    The hours are great --- I was looking for the same. Look for the suggestion box that will be coming soon!


  9. Helpful (4)

    Mediocre earning potential, high employee turnover

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Clifton, NJ
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Clifton, NJ

    I worked at Comodo full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Competitive initial salary with bumps for hitting initial quotas. Paid training. Nice building (even if it is pretty much empty) and all the free coffee you can drink. Semi-supportive management (for more read cons). My experience was generally positive.

    Cons

    Extremely high employee turnover, I saw dozens of people hired and let go during my tenure. Management was supportive but understand that they are "supportive" until you miss a quota. Depending on which dept. you're in, expect 2/3 of the people you were trained with to be gone within the first month. Long story short, expect to be let go within the first 3 months.

    Quotas are unrealistic and few sales people hit their number on a month to month basis. Instead of working on new sales strategies and promotions they insist on hounding potential customers (check customer reviews elsewhere, they go far more in depth). Sales is a "set it and forget it" mentality, create the order, forget the client and move on.

    Advice to Management

    Good luck.

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    We are currently working on new strategies and they are being implemented. These new strategies have sharply reduced our turn-over rate on the sales floor. We've had zero turn-over within the last ... More


  10. Helpful (6)

    Comodo is a revolving door..hit your unrealistic quota or expect to be fired or quit within 5 months. Worst company.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Clifton, NJ
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Clifton, NJ

    I worked at Comodo full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    They hire almost everyone with decent 30k salary.
    Free coffee and fruit daily.

    Cons

    The job is telemarketing cold calling which people hate.
    No incoming calls because Comodo has a terrible reputation.
    Even if your a good salesperson the support team with destroy many of your deals by being rude to customers.
    They fire almost everyone.
    No job security or positive reinforcement.
    Pressure with scares of losing your job every few weeks.
    You will be fired or quit within 5-6 months most people last 1-2 months.
    Terrible commute alot of traffic coming from surrounding areas.

    Advice to Management

    The system of treating your salespeople bad with constant uncertainty of having a job doesn't motivate people to do better, just burns people out. Stop firing so many people and build upon some good sales people. Hint only 2-3 people hit quota a month out of 25 people.

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    Our Inside Sales positions are 100% outbound calling which should come as no surprise - we do an excellent job at explaining what the job entails.

    We also offer a workshop where potential
    ... More


  11. Helpful (6)

    This company is completely dysfunctional

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clifton, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clifton, NJ

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    They are profitable. They pay well. They have great antivirus technology.

    Cons

    Management is completely arbitrary. I wasn't able to spend time doing the job for which I was hired because I had to fight fires and cover for others who weren't doing their jobs. It felt like I was hired just to take blame.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your core products. Be more sensitive to the real operational issues that are slowing down development.

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    We are a growing company and sometimes our employee's are ask to wear different hats. We believe that this gives them the opportunity to learn different aspects of our business.

    Thank you for
    ... More



Showing 141 of 141 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.