Comodo Reviews

Updated March 27, 2015
132 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Work life is balanced and sensible goals to achieve.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Clifton, NJ
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Clifton, NJ

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    I like working here because the company's working hours and schedules didn't affect my personal life. I had these issues in my previous company but Comodo helped me in that regards. Besides helpful co-workers and my job role, there isn't much to be said about. It's going ok so far, and still learning.

    Cons

    There is no choice of food in the cafe and overall work environment lacks professional touch. It can be better. Employee recreational activities are limited.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Add more recreational games to beat job stress.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Product Marketing

    The hours are great --- I was looking for the same. Look for the suggestion box that will be coming soon!

  2. 5 people found this helpful

    This company is completely dysfunctional

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clifton, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clifton, NJ

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    They are profitable. They pay well. They have great antivirus technology.

    Cons

    Management is completely arbitrary. I wasn't able to spend time doing the job for which I was hired because I had to fight fires and cover for others who weren't doing their jobs. It felt like I was hired just to take blame.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on your core products. Be more sensitive to the real operational issues that are slowing down development.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    We are a growing company and sometimes our employee's are ask to wear different hats. We believe that this gives them the opportunity to learn different aspects of our business.

    Thank you for
    ... More

  3. 3 people found this helpful

    Mediocre earning potential, high employee turnover

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Clifton, NJ
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Clifton, NJ

    I worked at Comodo full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Competitive initial salary with bumps for hitting initial quotas. Paid training. Nice building (even if it is pretty much empty) and all the free coffee you can drink. Semi-supportive management (for more read cons). My experience was generally positive.

    Cons

    Extremely high employee turnover, I saw dozens of people hired and let go during my tenure. Management was supportive but understand that they are "supportive" until you miss a quota. Depending on which dept. you're in, expect 2/3 of the people you were trained with to be gone within the first month. Long story short, expect to be let go within the first 3 months.

    Quotas are unrealistic and few sales people hit their number on a month to month basis. Instead of working on new sales strategies and promotions they insist on hounding potential customers (check customer reviews elsewhere, they go far more in depth). Sales is a "set it and forget it" mentality, create the order, forget the client and move on.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Good luck.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    We are currently working on new strategies and they are being implemented. These new strategies have sharply reduced our turn-over rate on the sales floor. We've had zero turn-over within the last ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 6 people found this helpful

    Telemarketing and spam blasts. Hit your unrealistic quota, or you are fired.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales in Clifton, NJ
    Former Employee - Sales in Clifton, NJ

    I worked at Comodo full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere minus the telemarketing. Free coffee and fruit. The CEO is generous with buying food for everyone. Most people there are fun to be around. Incentives for hitting quota.

    Cons

    Hilarious turnover rate. Yes, it's true, most of these positive reviews are fake. I saw these reviews before I was hired, and then fired and I should have listened. I feel like the marketing department writes these review (you can tell by the similar positive reviews and grammar style). It must look so bad the upper management tells others to write these reviews. I have not met a "3 year employee", let alone 1 year employee even for management.

    You get a 1 week paid training class. The website vtiger you use to manage the clients you spam is TERRIBLE and is not explained well at all in training. The system goes down often. You have to hit a certain number of sales your first month or you are fired. The majority of people you train with will either get fired or quit. When you train, take a look at the floor and people working ... the "face" of Comodo will be quite different than what you saw before in 1 week.

    They only care about an order number or credit card from a client.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You're only wasting more money by hiring, then firing. There needs to be a longer training period other than what an SSL is. I understand you learn most on the floor, but it's unrealistic to expect workers to produce a number, then suddenly expect them to cross sell other expensive products that we have no idea what the are. Fix your coding and software (your SSL's are not always compatible), and quit spamming the same clients 100 times a day. We have lost more business to hounding clients through telemarkerting than anything else.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    We have revamped our hiring process as well as our initial training with workshops, spot training and more role plays which have greatly reduced our turnover.

    Thank you for your feedback.

  6. 1 person found this helpful

    Sickening

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Clifton, NJ
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Clifton, NJ

    I worked at Comodo full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    -pay if you can stand to work there

    Cons

    -terrible commute
    - spam telemarketing people that know who we are because we have already called them 300 times.
    - SUPER high turnover, I was hired with 10 other people, all fired/quit within 2 months.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Do not spam call potential clients, calling the same people every other day is not the way to do business. Sometimes calling 3-4 times in the same day.

    should probably just switch the business model you guys are doing - the shotgun approach to sales - use generic presentation on the phone 150 times per day does not work.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    Sorry, we couldn't do anything about your commute. We have revamped our hiring and recruiting process, which have lead to a overall reduction in employee turn-over.

    We're proud of that. We've
    ... More

  7. 3 people found this helpful

    Horrible Experience Stay Far Away

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Clifton, NJ
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Clifton, NJ

    I worked at Comodo full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay , Location , Basic Call Center Experience

    Cons

    Staff doesn't care about you at all . If you don't meet your goals the first month they throw you out there you are fired ! They only care about unrealistic goals in a very tough and limited selling market . It feels like your working your butt off for little to no compensation . Its not worth it .

    Also , they only give you one week of training and expect you to produce immediately when there is so much that you need to know before getting on the phones.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    We believe we offer a very competitive salary + commission + benefits. In addition the Internet Security industry is viable and growing. We've also added more training (i.e. spot training) to ... More

  8. 4 people found this helpful

    Absolute Joke of a Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Jersey City, NJ
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Jersey City, NJ

    I worked at Comodo full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    You're in the same boat with the other employees.

    Cons

    Everything. Fake reviews on this site are very entertaining. This is the WORST place ever to work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire someone else to run the company and go away. You are evil, go back to where you came from.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    We are sorry to read your experience with us wasn't a pleasant one and wish you all the best in your next position.

  9. I enjoy working here

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company is convenient to work.
    Very flexible top management. Streamlined job roles. And, most of all it's a new lesson every day to be here. I recommend Comodo to my level best.

    Cons

    Transit is bit difficult by car and the parking area is not spacious as it should be.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need more space for parking, if possible

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Product Marketing

    Thank you for your thoughts.

  10. I learnt the nuances of SSL industry from the best CA.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Engineer in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Engineer in New York, NY

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Introduced me to the world of SSL
    Professional work atmosphere
    Streamlined deadlines
    Supportive management

    Cons

    More employee benefits should be added, in the near future.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Glad that I could be part of this company.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Product Marketing

    Glad we could introduce you to this new SSL world!

  11. 1 person found this helpful

    Hit quota or your fired!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales in Clifton, NJ
    Current Employee - Sales in Clifton, NJ

    I have been working at Comodo full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Great introduction to software and B2b sales

    Cons

    High pressure environment exacerbated by long work hours, inflexible management, and intense micro management. You Work from 9 to 6 and are expected to stay to 7 at least once a week. One hour lunch, and reprimands if you actually take your break.

    I'm posting this because the reviews on here are fake. They're trying to make comodo seem like a cool, fun progressive work environment but in reality it's grueling. If they want to be like Google or yelp they should let adults be adults and work instead of baby sitting your every move. The fact that almost everyone I work with has been there less than 6 months and most new hires don't pass the 1 month mark makes me wonder who these happy longer than 3 year employees are. Where are they, I'd love to meet them!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on developing the team you have instead of praying for magic sales genius new hires!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Comodo Response

    Aug 8, 2014Manager, Talent & Acquisition

    Yes, our hours are 9-6 and the sales team is expected to work until 7 one night a week. However, they also come in an hour later from 10 - 7. Glad we could introduce you to software sales ... More

Comodo Photos

Newport Tower
Our New Location
Comodo India

+ Add Photo

Work at Comodo? Share Your Experiences

Comodo

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.