Constant Contact Reviews

Updated April 27, 2015
149 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (3)

    Helping professionals to make informed decisions for
    their career and prospective employers. Use it.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Waltham, MA

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Many times companies will harmfully “bad mouth” you unfairly to other prospective employers. This many times causes us to be unemployed,. We that have families and needs, serious needs, not just greed to make our bank accounts get bigger numbers. At least this is not my case. I take pride of my work.

    Share you views fairly about places that you worked. Companies share their views about you in unfair ways sometimes anonymously. I will not be anonymous. BTW, I am writing this a few years later of my "let go" from those past jobs. No "disgruntled person" as some companies may claim. (note: this site forced me to remove my name from this review although I don't want to be anonymous).

    I worked for Constant Contact for almost 5 years from Jan 2007 until October 2011. The first years were a great and growing experience as a person and as a professional. The company had a vibrating group of people and a fair opportunity growth. I was promoted from Lead to Senior and Senior to Principal.

    Their systems are fairly complex and worthy your time invested, really, invested. You will learn a lot about engineering and collective team work.

    It came the moment of “employee clean up” process. Many times I was a target and also many times I was given a fair chance to correct myself and become a more productive and better employee. Kudos to my director xxx (I am not allowed to mention names on this site - site's policy not mine).

    Unfortunately HIGHER MANAGEMENT hired an individual for that job that would curse and make sex jokes. Not a very professional attitude. My manager suffered the pressure of finding ways to let me go. Not cool, but also fair. Be prepared for unfair "you are not so good anymore" and having total disregard about track record of your good work. There is an expectation that you should be an “Einstein” all the time.

    Unfortunately one new hire became aggressive towards others and me and at a point was "fired" at the spot for loosing control. I was to be blamed. I asked HR to fairly investigate the issue. They were not fair. Selective group of people were chosen as witnesses. I seriously thought, and many others, that they did a "witch hunt" on me. Believe or not I still managed to save my job but that stressed me to the point that I expressed my concerns to HR. I was given the choice of resign or be fired. I chose to be fired since I do believe in my own integrity even to the cost of losing a job.

    When other prospective employers check with them about me , they are, anonymously, quick to denigrate (back door) my person and cause my opportunities to "fly away", again, leaving me and my family to suffer despite all the things I have done for the company. I worked directly on 3 of 4 of their most important products, Survey, Respondent App, Document Hosting and many other sub-systems including fixing bug in productions.

    If you are considering working for ConstantContact be aware of that culture in the company. Management's poor judgment about their employees can hurt you despite your ability to exercise your duties with success. People are great and my Director of IT xxxx (I am not allow to mention names on this site - site's policy not mine) is very fair and understanding.

    They have a great opportunity for growth and the complexity of their systems/code will teach and straighten you. Super fun. They have a solid structure, real software company and utilize a vast number of technologies. The real deal. Take it in my opinion.

    I would highly advice you to work there, just be aware of HIGHER MANAGEMENT hidden plans of "clean up" and employe xxxx (I am not allowed to mention names on this site - site's policy not mine), the "job cleaner". Keep HR unfair decisions in mind when you will seriously need them.

    They are flexible with sick time and vacation. Watch out for extra work when your vacation time is coming. No roll over vacations. They seem to have an interest in you taking a "two weeks" and "single days" vacations to avoid one long vacation.

    The company seams to have a very health approach to customers and overall policies. Salaries are very competitive.

    I am not allowed to mention names on this site - site's policy not mine. I want to say what is my name but I am not allowed. Bummer.

    Cons

    Watch out for for unfair HR and selected group of HIGHER MANAGEMENT's favorites. Vacations times are favored for shorted one day or one week vacation instead of long vacations. No roll over vacations. Interstate 95 commute is very stressful. Use the flexibility that company provides.

    Timelines are usually fair and managers understand that. Agile process is healthy. You must learn fast.

    Advice to Management

    Be more fair when things don't go right. Purge out the useless employees not the honest ones. If one cannot be openly honest about your company one looses professionalism.

    HR do fair investigations not just bias investigations. "Job cleaners" remember that employees have families and are humans. Prohibit alcohol usage inside the company during working hours.

  2. A great, caring company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA

    I have been working at Constant Contact full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Colleagues are fantastic - smart, focused, professional, and all really care about the success of the company
    All levels of management seem to care about their employees
    Great for working parents - flexibility to attend family events
    Good opportunities for career growth, with some patience and hard work

    Cons

    I am very happy on a daily basis - engaged but not stressed.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for your clear communication with us, and for clearly articulating the direction you want the company to go.

    Constant Contact Response

    Mar 2, 2015Talent Brand Partner

    We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you've had a great first year with us! We value our employees and are constantly finding ways to improve the work-life balance. We want our ... More

  3. Helpful (2)

    Manage growth

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Constant Contact

    Pros

    Nice culture and good benefit package. Enjoyed working with the talent they employ and company goes out of the way to provide additional perks.

    Cons

    Maintaining start-up culture seemed to take precedence over addressing growth challenges from a systems and management practices perspective. Saw some positive indicators that management will catch up on that.

    Constant Contact Response

    Mar 2, 2015Talent Brand Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! It's always nice to hear that the benefits/perks and colleagues have created a positive experience while you worked with us. We also appreciate your feedback regarding ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (8)

    Where Salespeople Go To Die

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Waltham, MA
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Waltham, MA

    I worked at Constant Contact

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Some good people you will work with - free soda - good place to work at if you are not in sales or support

    Cons

    If you are a salesperson looking for a company where you can grow your career and become a better salesperson this is NOT the place for you.

    Incredible micromanagement with constant emphasis on call stats (dials, minutes on the phone, calls over 5 minutes, etc). You will have a manager constantly looking at these numbers and harassing you about it throughout the day (like emails at 11AM showing where you are and asking why you are behind pace). They require 80+ dials & 4 hours of talk time on the phone & 24 conversations over 2 minutes. You will be more focused on getting these call stats up than caring about your actual quota. You cant even go to the bathroom without fearing you will be behind pace

    Goals are extremely lofty and they do nothing to correct them if they are off in their predictions. For example one month nobody hit 100% and a good majority of people did not make any money in commission. They did nothing to correct this and with your base salary being so low you were making less that month than fast food employees.

    You absolutely have to bully/trick people in to paying for an account. You have to be heartless to be successful in doing this. People who should not be buying accounts like old ladies without a real business – it doesn’t matter….get them signed up! Management/coaches will constantly pressure you into uncomfortably asking people for their credit card on the very first call. You need to get 8 sales a day at this job and if you have any success in doing this you will feel guilty you tricked someone into paying for an account.

    Lastly there is no room for career advancement. You are stuck and they will keep bringing in new batches of people. They hire anyone - including people who did not graduate - because they know they burn out their salespeople so fast. They usually give 1-2 “promotions” a year in which 40 people are battling for and usually the person who sucks up the most to authority gets it

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees and customers like real people - not just bodies to get to your numbers.

  6. Helpful (1)

    Good benefits and environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Constant Contact

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Free drinks. Great employee rewards

    Cons

    Some of the engineering was faulty. Aka they would push releases before they were ready just to meet goal and get rewarded

    Advice to Management

    Throughly test. Make sure your pushing a good product to your customers

  7. Helpful (3)

    Great company to work for, but not without some areas that could be improved

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Waltham, MA
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Waltham, MA

    I have been working at Constant Contact full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Great people, great culture
    - Unlimited vacation
    - Lots of opportunity for growth
    - Execs are very transparent with what's going on in the company

    Cons

    - Too much middle management
    - Too many priorities which results in confusion about direction of the company
    - Lots of change in short amount of time
    - Certain processes seem to continually change without any apparent reason or explanation
    - Company has been losing a lot of top talent. Hopefully the company is looking at why so we can retain our top talent

    Advice to Management

    Pick a FEW top priorities. Too many top priorities means nothing is a priority.

    Constant Contact Response

    Mar 2, 2015Talent Brand Partner

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you took to provide detailed feedback and we're happy to hear that you've enjoyed the culture, benefits and perks for the last 3+ years ... More

  8. Great Place to Work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Waltham, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Waltham, MA

    I have been working at Constant Contact

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great work life balance and culture.

    Cons

    Underpaid and limited opportunities for advancement.

  9. Hands down this is the best job I've had in my 20+ year career!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer II in Waltham, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer II in Waltham, MA

    I have been working at Constant Contact full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    This is the closest thing to a "no judgement zone" workplace I've experienced. No judgement does not equate to "no performance, or no expectations", a great deal is expected of folks who join our team. The "no @$$hole" hiring policy has a real impact on the quality of people that are brought in to join the team, & believe me, I've worked with plenty of them in the past (Crossbeam Systems anyone?). There is plenty of opportunity for me to play in multiple areas beyond the job I was hired to do, and that is what keeps this place fresh, challenging, and exciting for me. Work-life balance is a real thing here, not just a buzz-word, and they promote those who deserve it on their merits.

    Cons

    It's a rather large organization, and trying to find the right people to help you with a problem outside of your domain or project can be challenging at times. Also, the issue of effective cross-team commuinications and breaking down silos is raised fairly regularly, even though this has improved dramatically over the past 2+ years I've been here.

  10. Great culture with a focus on growing your skills

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Intern in Waltham, MA
    Current Intern - Intern in Waltham, MA

    I have been working at Constant Contact as an intern (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    The company has their priorities straight. They understand that life happens.

    Management is easy to approach and talk to

    Strong focus on letting people learn new things

    Cons

    Tech debt/some processes are stuck in the past. But that happens with an old company. This is getting better every day.

    Constant Contact Response

    Jan 7, 2015Employer Representative

    We love having interns and co-ops here because they teach us as much as we teach them. Please don’t hesitate to continue letting us know what we’re doing well and what we can do to improve your ... More

  11. Helpful (2)

    Great Company to Work For!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA

    I have been working at Constant Contact

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Everyone that works at Constant Contact is super friendly and full of information. You have a question they will stop what they are doing and help answer your questions they best way they can and if they do not have the answer they will get it for you pretty quickly. There is a lot of training so you know the ins and outs of Constant Contact, it does not matter if you know how to use there product or not they teach you everything you need to know to success within the company.

    Cons

    The traffic to the company in Waltham is awful.

    Constant Contact Response

    Jan 7, 2015Employer Representative

    Depending where and when you're starting from, traffic can sometimes be an issue. If you are coming from the city or anywhere near the Alewife station, in case you haven't already, you might want to ... More

Work at Constant Contact? Share Your Experiences

Constant Contact

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.