Copart

  ww2.copart.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Copart Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

2.5 115 reviews

Not yet rated.

(no image)

Jay Adair


29% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • It's your average 8-5 job but yeah you do overtime during the busy season just like any employee would(in 7 reviews)

  • Copart is virtually a recession proof job, as long as people drive cars(in 6 reviews)


Cons
  • Upper management is absolutely clueless about how to successfully run a used car purchasing program(in 9 reviews)

  • Sometimes there are long hours, but that's to be expected in just about any job(in 8 reviews)

115 Employee Reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities

     

    Copart, a Java centric shop needs to shed it's lackluster big dopey company image.

    Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) Fairfield, CA

    ProsGood support from co-workers. Pays on time. Engineering management has there act somewhat together.

    ConsCommute not the best. Java centric shop so if you develop with something else you are on your own. Unrealistic project dates etc. Not invented here syndrome...

    Advice to Senior ManagementCopart needs to shed it's lackluster big dopey company image. Engineering needs to be modernized by using Agile methodolgies etc.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Copart Vice President Human Resources responded to this review

    Jul 23, 2014

    As you probably have seen, we're taking steps to make sure employees DO get more engaged and that their ideas for improving our company are heard. If you haven't had a chance to attend any of our ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Love it

    Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) Tampa, FL

    ProsPay, the hours, work life

    Conspersonal growth, time off policies

    Advice to Senior Managementwork-life balance, personal growth

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Copart Vice President Human Resources responded to this review

    Jul 23, 2014

    THANKS!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Anonymous

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    Pros-company culture
    -HR Department
    -GM's are great

    ConsMicromanagement
    Top Heavy
    No open door policy

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Copart Vice President Human Resources responded to this review

    Jul 23, 2014

    Thanks for your review and for the props of the HR Department! I noticed you mentioned a lack of an open-door policy in your "Cons" and would welcome a call to discuss how we do make an effort to ... More
  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Senior Analyst

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsThe projects were exciting and challenging. I met many talented and dedicated peers, in the process gaining knowledge of various platforms that integrated with the AS/400.

    ConsMany different managers that did not have the same common interest. Moving HQ from California to Texas left many hard decisions for most employees

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

     

    Technology Leader

    Technology Manager (Former Employee) Dallas, TX

    ProsI can't really say anything pro about this company outside of the fact that they have a pretty good hold on the marketplace for what they do

    Cons1) horrible CEO
    2) horrible CMO
    3) runs the corp office like a junk yard
    4) continues layoffs - can't seem to get it right
    5) has a horrible reputation out in the work marketplace
    6) horrible benefits
    7) totally inexperienced senior management team
    8) treats all employees as dispensable resources
    9) ton of nepotism within the upper ranks
    10) no bonus outside of VP or higher levels
    11) no vacation for entire first year

    Advice to Senior ManagementQuit

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Copart Vice President Human Resources responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    I was sorry to read that you were unable to find anything "pro" to say about your time with Copart, and after reading your post I wanted to attempt to address a few of the points you raised in hopes ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    A Great Place to Work with a Market Innovator

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    Pros8-5 or 6pm and weekends off, good benefits and good health insurance company is extremely well capitalized and continues to innovate and grow. This company places a high value on integrity and tries to do the right thing when the inevitable problem pops up

    ConsHaven't found any yet ... only been with the company for 4 months.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Copart Vice President Human Resources responded to this review

    Jul 23, 2014

    Welcome to the Team! With 4 months in, you're probably getting acclimated and I want to encourage you to be an ACTIVE PLAYER -- If you have questions about the business, or ideas on how to make our ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    much better than what i expected - LDP

    Leadership Development Program (Current Employee)

    ProsThe people are amazing at the yards. It is always exciting and something new. Stock plan. Leadership Development Program is new but definitely going places. New suggestions are heard. The hourly employees really are the ones who make going in everyday bearable.

    ConsYard employee turnover. Corporate does not allow GMs to venture out and be creative to do things they think will better the company. Stress of being fired for not meeting unrealistic goals set by corporate. Take advantage of salaried employees by limited lunches to less than half hour often.

    Advice to Senior ManagementBenefits could be better. Mostly the unrealistic goals/standards for audits needs to be changed because each yard has its own individual problems/issues/benefits that do not fit the guidelines. Salaried employees should be allowed to take at least 30 minute lunch breaks instead of being told to get back to work when they have to go in early and usually stay late.

    – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Copart Vice President Human Resources responded to this review

    Jul 23, 2014

    Thanks for taking the time to post--With regard to your comment about the turnover in the Yard, I'd love the opportunity to talk with you about ideas you have to improve the experience for our yard ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Copart is a great place to work. They do a lot for us, and the people are wonderful

    Customer Service Representative (Current Employee)

    ProsI love Copart. I wish I could stay, but I need to work on starting my career now that I have completed my degree. The people are great, both fellow employees and the customers you interact with every day. The health insurance is pretty good. Days off accrue if you don't use them, which is pretty awesome.

    ConsRetirement benefits are pretty poor. There isn't much room for growth, unless you are interested in management. Like all customer service positions, things can get pretty hectic, and you might need to really work to keep a level head.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Copart Vice President Human Resources responded to this review

    Jul 23, 2014

    Congrats on getting your degree! We hate to see you go--Have you considered staying with Copart and pursuing our Leadership Development Program especially developed for recent college graduates ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

     

    CSR

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsEasy job. Repetitive, cannot mess up job.

    ConsThe pay is terrible. Works employees like slaves

    Advice to Senior ManagementCorporate needs to stop sending ridiculous requests for yards to follow. Try working there for a day!

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    An opportunity that changed my thinking

    Manager (Current Employee) Dallas, TX

    ProsI'm having the opportunity to learn about everything inside the company, not only about my own department.

    ConsSometimes you need to do things by yourself, even if is expected that somebody else do, doesn't matter what kind of labor is, otherwise, the fault will fall over you.

    Advice to Senior ManagementTeach all the time, but listen is necessary

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

Worked for Copart? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.