Criteo Reviews

Updated August 20, 2014
Updated August 20, 2014
54 Reviews

3.7
54 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Criteo Co-Founder & CEO JB Rudelle
JB Rudelle
45 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great place to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst  in  New York, NY
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in New York, NY

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a great team of people here. There is a good time off policy, fun office, and great perks. The team is very supportive and open-minded and a determined individual can really make a difference here. Go-getters really prosper here but you also need to be able to work as part of the team.

    Cons

    The only downside is that the central office is in Paris so it can be a little difficult getting certain things done when you have to involve them. Getting answers or fixing bugs can be frustrating at times.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get more foreigners in the central office so things can get done in a more timely manner.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Criteo Response

    Aug 26, 2014HR Director, North America

    Hi - thank you for your feedback! Glad you're having such a positive experience overall at Criteo :). Totally appreciate the feedback on the cons, and we're working to grow the region in the US as ... More

  2.  

    A very fast-paced, challenging, satisfying, and rewarding environment to work in.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Our product - simply put, it works and is well known within our industry & competitors.

    - Company went public in October 2013; corporate company, but with a start-up like environment/atmosphere.

    - The ability to have direct impact from day 1, company is still growing - opportunity to work hands-on on new projects and add value from get-go.

    - Wide open office layout; easy access to executives & managers within the office.

    - Similar industry standard perks & benefits: 100% of premiums of healthcare are covered, 401(k) matching (US only), phone & travel reimbursement, monthly office parties/happy hour, arcade/recreational room with Ping Pong, beer/keg, etc..

    - Excellent work-life balance; depending on your department/job responsibilities/manager you may have the option to work from home some days throughout the week.

    - Great career opportunities within the company: employees who have been with the company for 1 year are eligible to apply to any Criteo position regardless of location (as long as their experience matches the qualifications/requirements of the position).

    - Internal company career map is very transparent and allows you to see what opportunities are down the road within each department, along with the requirements and qualifications needed for a promotion/job change.

    Cons

    - Company headquarters (Central organization) is based in Paris, France which sometimes results in delays when requesting approvals/support/tasks.

    - Growing pains: as the company continues to grow new policies/procedures/processes are being implemented & existing ones are being fine-tuned.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    - Allow more control and flexibility within the regions outside of the Paris headquarters.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Criteo Response

    Aug 26, 2014HR Director, North America

    Hi - thank you for your feedback! Glad to see your overall positive experience at Criteo, we work hard to try and make this the place where employees can grow their careers and have fun along the ... More

  3.  

    Visibility, Mobility, Stability

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst  in  Palo Alto, CA
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in Palo Alto, CA

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed dress code, friendly people, open communication from all levels, great work ethic within all departments

    Cons

    There are no drawbacks that come to mind.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please continue being transparent, on a regular basis, with happenings within the company. It makes people at all levels feel involved, informed and valuable.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Criteo Response

    Aug 15, 2014HR Director, North America

    Hi - Thank you so much for the positive feedback! Criteo US has developed a conscious strategy around communications and transparency, and its great that this seems to be having an impact!

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Best in class product, developing culture, solid career pathing

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -fun, smart, engaging culture
    -defined, transparent career paths
    -perks (travel to Paris, cool offices, events)
    -competitive comp, decent benefits
    -adequately resourced, good work/life balance
    -mgmt not afraid to listen to suggestions and make changes (lots of positive changes in the past year)
    -very, very solid product

    Cons

    -tasks/approvals/support can take longer if it has to go through HQ in Paris
    -communication could be better across all offices

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    keep up the good work and don't be afraid to make changes to enable the business to scale!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Criteo Response

    Aug 5, 2014HR Director, North America

    Hi - thank you for the great feedback! We're trying hard to listen and adapt, and be a place not just to grow your career, but to have some fun along the way as well. So glad you're seeing some of ... More

  6.  

    Meh

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Criteo

    Pros

    Great benefits. Awesome office manager in Palo Alto.

    Cons

    Poor management; everything is run out of Paris so there is a lot of miscommunication. Terrible internal support. They have a rule that says you cannot switch roles until you have worked there for a year

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Criteo Response

    Aug 26, 2014HR Director, North America

    Hi - thank you for your honest feedback. It's important to us so we know where we can focus our efforts.

    Firstly, glad you like the benefits and are giving our Office Manager a shout out
    ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Work hard, Play hard

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Criteo is definitely nothing like any other company I have worked for. I came from a super corporate environment, so it took a little while to get used to some of the perks...
    ~Amazing, helpful, laid back personalities of fellow employees and management
    ~Frequent happy hours and social events
    ~Casual yet professional dress code
    ~Yearly trip to Paris for a company summit
    Criteo is an amazing company to work for, some tweaks need to be worked out, but I can honestly say I enjoy coming to work every day. Everyone here works hard and it shows. Having that kind of environment pushes everyone else to go above and beyond.

    Cons

    The technology is not up-to-par. I don’t have the authority to do a lot of the things I should without going around the red tape.

    Since this is a French based company, working with the time difference is difficult, it’s hard to get things done.
    I feel like the offices outside of Paris are just following along in their footsteps without any control. Its not fair when we have issues at hand and need an immediate response. All the decisions come from people who work in a completely different time zone and its impossible to get answers and get your job done.

    We don’t have a dedicated IT person who knows everything with our systems and programs in the office daily to help us with all the different issues/questions we have. Usually, we wait for Paris for answers, and waiting for Paris is definitely NOT a pleasant experience; especially when they really don’t understand the issue at hand.

    We are a tech company correct?? Well, we definitely need more knowledgeable technical people helping employees out with daily issues in every office.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Employees around you may have some really helpful suggestions from previous experiences; especially since this is a start-up company. Take the time to talk to your employees, hear what they have to say and make their experience working at Criteo that much better.

    Take note and acknowledge those employees, who are not managers, going above and beyond their job. Maybe they deserve a promotion? You'd be surprised who knows a lot more than some of the upper management.

    Have a few more days off for summer Fridays. In my past experiences, we were able to take off 6 Fridays, at another company, we were able to leave the office by 1pm on Fridays throughout the summer.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Criteo Response

    Jul 30, 2014HR Director, North America

    Hi - thank you for your feedback! Appreciate you putting this review on Glassdoor, and absolutely acknowledge that as a company there's always more room to grow e.g. with creating smoother processes ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    It's starting to go downhill

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Employee  in  New York, NY
    Current Employee - Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product itself is very good

    Cons

    The culture is on the decline

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    US tier 1 needs to stop hiring middle management. Their output is minimal. Use the equivalence of their salary and expenses to hire 2-3 employees that handles the day to day work. AB test it and let us know how that works out.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Criteo Response

    Jul 30, 2014HR Director, North America

    Hi - sorry to hear that you are having a negative experience. Appreciate your honest feedback, and we'll make sure that this is passed on and taken into account. Thanks for putting this through.

  9. 4 people found this helpful  

    Great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Empowering, the company is growing very quickly and there's constant opportunity to stand up and take on more
    - Has a non-political culture
    - Great happy hours and frequent social events!
    - Annual trip to Paris for the Summit :)
    - Great product makes everything else easier
    - It's evident how much the company is investing in growth and the future

    Cons

    Because the company is still growing, a lot of the processes are still being figured out. This is sometimes great (gives you a chance to shape things), but can also be frustrating. Theres a fair amount of trial and error in the implementation approach.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    De centralize and allow more control and flexibility within the regions outside of the Paris headquarters.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    Account Executive

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive  in  Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and opportunity for growth. Great culture, great product. Easy sell as they are the global leaders in digital retargetting

    Cons

    Still proving themselves as they just went public. Still in growing phase and figuring out organizational structure. Getting there

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Criteo Response

    Jul 30, 2014HR Director, North America

    Hi - thank you for your great feedback! If there's any specific changes you'd like to see, absolutely encourage you to reach out to your local leadership or HR where they can help. Thank you as ... More

  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great company to work for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Criteo full-time

    Pros

    Criteo is a great company to work for and is growing very quickly - now is the time to join! I would say the culture in Boston is better than any at Criteo - the people are awesome. The product is an easy sell because it works. Benefits are covered 100%. Generous amount of vacation days, to include summer days.

    Cons

    Opportunities to grow within the company are definitely increasing, but we aren't quite there yet. The timeline and expectations are still not very clear, but it is being worked on.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to create growth opportunities for current employees and promote from within.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Criteo Response

    Jul 30, 2014HR Director, North America

    Hi - thanks for your great feedback! Absolutely agree on the additional growth opportunities, and that's a significant part of our growth strategy as we continue to scale. Thanks for putting this in!

Worked for Criteo? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.