DCP Midstream LP Reviews

Updated April 23, 2015
60 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
2.6
60 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Wouter van Kempen
17 Ratings

Pros
  • Great place ot work and live in Denver (in 5 reviews)

  • Good place to work, good work/life balance (in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • Finding a work life balance sometimes is difficult (in 3 reviews)

  • High turnover adds a lot to your already heavy workload (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Accountant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer

    I have been working at DCP Midstream LP (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great benefits, location and meets basic needs for family benefits

    Cons

    Hard to move up past manager unless friends with management

    Advice to Management

    Work together for success and interact with your employees

    DCP Midstream LP Response

    Mar 31, 2015Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback! We're glad you're enjoying the benefits. We'll continue to provide some of the best benefits in the industry and offering the SimplyWell program to reduce the overall cost ... More

  2. Why I left

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Asset Engineer in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Asset Engineer in Houston, TX

    I have been working at DCP Midstream LP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Friendly work environment that provides ability to learn my aspects of the company

    Cons

    Failure to have a plan for successful growth. Most people are expected to wear many hats despite qualifications. Recent layoffs have made employees un easy of company vision and the CEO literally told the company we don't deserve bonuses/recognition. It's very unclear about the future of this company at this time and engineering management is ineffective

    Advice to Management

    Hire and keep talent

  3. Helpful (2)

    Excellent Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Buyer in Tulsa, OK
    Former Employee - Buyer in Tulsa, OK

    I worked at DCP Midstream LP full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Stable company with a good financial outlook. Fair Pay with a constant effort given to be competitive in the marketplace

    Cons

    Frequent changes in management makes it difficult to assimilate and rise above the change period.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down the changes to the company and give your employees a sense a stability.

    DCP Midstream LP Response

    Mar 26, 2015Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review.

    DCP Midstream continues to push for operational excellence. While change is difficult, we hope to ensure our stability for the next
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    Get out

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO

    I have been working at DCP Midstream LP

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Aside from the decent insurance benefits there are none to speak of anymore.

    Cons

    Upper management bragged about how they weathered the recession and how great they were because there were no layoffs. (Technically there were no layoffs but they continued to outsource IT.)
    Well guess what happened in 2015? They laid off 20% of their workforce. It was done not in the fashion DCP would have it's employees believe. I watched as people I considered friends were escorted out and given cab rides home.
    This should come as a surprise from a company that over the last few years touted itself as having a focus on the employees and operations but the sad reality is DCP is no different than any other soulless corporation and I am actively looking to leave as soon as humanly possible. I don't want to be a part of a company that lies to it's employees and treats them with such indifference.

    Advice to Management

    leave.
    Vouter, Lewis; just stop talking already. We can see you for the insincere, exploitative snakes you are. You ask us about our morale and pretend to listen but don't do anything.

  6. Helpful (1)

    DCP Midstream; The National Helium Plant Upgrade project in Liberal, KS by Azota Gas Processing, Ltd, Houston, TX

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Superintendent in Liberal, KS
    Former Employee - Superintendent in Liberal, KS

    I worked at DCP Midstream LP

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Well balance work - life in the project upgrade

    Cons

    Existing plant safety need to be studied.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks!

    DCP Midstream LP Response

    Mar 31, 2015Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate the work Azota does for DCP!

  7. Helpful (3)

    Management that just phones it in and HR that doesn't care.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Oklahoma in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - Oklahoma in Oklahoma City, OK

    I worked at DCP Midstream LP full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The people I worked with were generally respectful, polite and personable. The benefits are pretty decent as well but in the long run that doesn't make up for the cons.

    Cons

    Management AND HR seem to willfully ignore employee concerns.
    My reason for saying this is that after years of telling my boss I didn't feel engaged, that my skills weren't being used to their fullest, and that I wanted to progress nothing was ever addressed.
    I gave up trying to understand what my boss wanted and spoke to HR. Ultimately their recommendation was to have a mediated discussion with HR present.
    The first HR rep I worked with said they would arrange everything but they, as polite as they were, failed to do so and ended up leaving that position for another position in the company.
    They never followed up with me.
    The second time I brought this to HR I explained what happened with the previous HR rep and again requested the mediated discussion. Instead of arranging the meeting as I requested this second HR member I spoke with went directly to my boss to "express my concerns" even though I told her that I felt like we had hit a wall and formally requested a 3rd party be present.
    You can imagine how that went.
    I should note that during this whole ordeal I found out I was supposed to be receiving a "9 box" review/coaching session twice a year. The only time that was given to me the -entire- time this gentleman was my supervisor was to explain why he didn't think I deserved a rank advancement.
    I should note that after HR going to him directly that he DID encourage me to use company funds to sign up for some training. It was a seminar titled "How To Communicate Effectively with People."
    IT was held in a conference room at a LaQuinta Inn close to the airport.

    To reiterate on continuing education; That decision is up to your direct supervisor's discretion on whether or not they'll approve anything like that. I asked repeatedly and was constantly ignored or told "we'll see but for right now..." Please see my above description of the seminar he assigned to me.

    In summary, if I could go back in time to the date I signed on I'd tell myself that the "growth opportunities" my hiring manager used to rationalize my extremely low starting pay are outright lies and to run in the opposite direction.
    Now that I'm gone I can see that nothing was worth the stress and stagnation I suffered enduring such a dead end job with such uncaring management.

    Advice to Management

    I doubt anything I have to say would be heeded but in case they actually are; please, PLEASE listen to your staff. It's rare that our concerns are unfounded and even if you think they are at least investigate them. You owe us at least that much.

    DCP Midstream LP Response

    Apr 13, 2015Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We’re glad you enjoyed the benefits and overall culture. The goal of Human Resources is to advocate for the people and provide the best possible outcome for both the employees and the business. This ... More

  8. Helpful (6)

    Supply Chain

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at DCP Midstream LP

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Hands off management, and competitive compensation.

    Cons

    Lost touch with the needs of internal stake holders, decisions made in a vacuum (at HQ) with no regard to their impact at the ground level.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to those who know how things work at the ground level and build solutions around their needs to sustain the business.

    DCP Midstream LP Response

    Mar 26, 2015Talent Acquisition Specialist

    DCP Midstream has re-aligned our goals, placing Operations at the forefront of the company and of greatest importance. Our Operations employees will continue to make the greatest impact and lead the ... More

  9. Helpful (2)

    Company is old fashioned in ideology and management style.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff

    I have been working at DCP Midstream LP full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Good medical plan. Good location.

    Cons

    No advancement if over 40. No experience with modern business practices.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and appreciate you very experienced new hires. Do not let them die on the vine.

    DCP Midstream LP Response

    Mar 26, 2015Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

    DCP Midstream is working to align our company goals and vision with clear principles. It's often our new hires that can provide a fresh perspective
    ... More

  10. Senior Trader

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at DCP Midstream LP

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment. Mgmt doesn't micro manage

    Cons

    Politically motivated decision making.

    Advice to Management

    Decision making skewed by political motivation rather than what's in best interest of company, in my humble opinion.

    DCP Midstream LP Response

    Mar 26, 2015Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

    We hope to create an environment that works for everyone. If you have concerns in the future, please feel free to address decisions and our vision
    ... More

  11. Helpful (2)

    The IT Department is going downhill

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - IT Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - IT Employee in Denver, CO

    I have been working at DCP Midstream LP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    The Company Leadership is trying to right the ship in the face of challenging commodity prices

    Cons

    IT Leadership especially at the top, is only interested in making a name for themselves.

    Advice to Management

    IT leadership should actually define and stick to a strategy, as it changes from week to week. Look at real ROI

    DCP Midstream LP Response

    Mar 23, 2015Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback.

    The IT Leadership team has reviewed this information and we are taking this feedback very seriously. David Jost, VP of IT, would like to discuss further with you
    ... More

DCP Midstream LP Photos

Work at DCP Midstream LP? Share Your Experiences

DCP Midstream LP

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.