Decisive Analytics Corporation

www.dac.us
Employer Engaged

Decisive Analytics Corporation Reviews

Updated February 9, 2015
Updated February 9, 2015
14 Reviews
4.8
14 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John S. Donnellon
13 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    I don't want to work anywhere else!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Analyst
    Current Employee - Analyst

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Interesting work. Management cares about me. Amazing benefits. I'm given the tools I need to succeed. I love it here.

    Cons

    It is a small company, so not many opportunities to change jobs as often as some people might like.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Feb 13, 2015Manager, Human Resources

    We are glad you love it here at DECISIVE ANALYYTICS and that you don't want to work anywhere else! Many of our employee-owners feel the same way! We agree that management cares about us, the work ... More

  2.  

    Work-Life Balance, Unbelievable Benefits, Low Stress

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA

    I worked at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    DAC is a great place to work. Intelligent co-workers, stunning HQ, and the opportunity to work on some excellent projects. Your experience will depend on why your manager is. The benefits including 401k contribution are extremely generous. Employee ownership is a huge draw as well. Technical skills are definitely a key asset working at DAC so if you have the drive and opportunity to go beyond just doing your job you will be recognized.

    Cons

    If you are interested in management, I am not sure if the opportunity will present itself. Most of the managers have been with the company since its inception.

    EOs on client site tend to have different experiences and have a different outlook on the company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    good work. identify future managers and let them know they are valued.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Jan 9, 2015Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you think DECISIVE ANALYTICS is a great place to work. We do too! Yes, we have a number of long-term managers who were promoted from within. In more ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Amazing company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation

    Pros

    They have fair pay, they are a highly rated company, and the benefits are extraordinary! This company has been everything they committed to through the hiring process

    Cons

    It is a small company, and the room for increased position and/or pay is extremely dependent on what contract they win. With the government being their top contract they are directly subject to the governments lack of budget management.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    With the company being geographically seperated, it's tough to create a strong office culture at all the locations. I would suggest after maybe 6 months with the company, an EO should be offered an extended time, maybe a month, to work at another location.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Jan 9, 2015Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. During a time when many companies face cutting benefits, DECISIVE ANALYTICS goes to great lengths to try and preserve and maintain its outstanding employee benefits ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great small company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineer
    Current Employee - Engineer

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great retirement benefits, smart people, employee stock program, sense of purpose, dedicated managers and executives with open-door policies

    Cons

    Small business- limited opportunity for vertical movement, not much training/mentoring support, sometimes limited interaction between folks at customer site and home office

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on areas/projects/missions where there is expertise, don't always let the desire to grow the company drive the decision to enter new fields. Otherwise, keep it up.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Jan 30, 2015Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and advice. We agree, DECISIVE ANALYTICS has great benefits and smart and dedicated employees. Like many companies in the defense industry, we recognize that ... More

  6.  

    Be Heard

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Alexandria, VA
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Alexandria, VA

    I worked at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    They try very hard to make you feel welcome and part of the company. I had a strong sense that people were listening to me and paying attention. I felt very "empowered" and appreciated.

    Cons

    Some work is direct for customers at their location. You feel robbed because you are at the crummy customer location with the bosses who aren't as good as the DAC bosses.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be more diversity conscious. I'm Jewish and some behavior at company events made me think that hadn't been considered. Try to find a way to get people who aren't in Crystal City to the big off-site.

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Jan 12, 2015Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know you felt empowered and appreciated! We definitely want our employees to be heard here at DECISIVE ANALYTICS. We recognize everyone has different ... More

  7.  

    Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager

    I worked at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Great compensation and bright people

    Cons

    Very political environment. Poor CEO with insecurity issues.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  8.  

    Amazing internship experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Arlington, VA
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Arlington, VA

    I worked at Decisive Analytics Corporation as an intern (less than a year)

    Pros

    Everything about DAC was fantastic, from the people to the work. Everyone's very good at what they're doing, and you'll get to work on your own project and see it through from start to finish. There's very little micromanaging, and you have a lot of free reign over how you design your project, but at the same time everyone is willing to give you suggestions and assistance when you need it.The overall environment is fantastic, everyone is really friendly, and I couldn't recommend this company enough.

    Cons

    Was occasionally unsure of what to do next, but generally was able to get ideas for how to proceed pretty quickly.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Jan 8, 2015Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your positive feedback on your internship experience. We work hard to provide meaningful internships to enable interns to make real contributions on work for our customers and to gain ... More

  9.  

    Best Company I've Ever Worked For

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Manager in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people who are very talented and smart, interesting and challenging work, outstanding benefits and work environment.

    Cons

    Lack of Business Development professionals

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    Great place, great people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Intern, Machine Learning Division in Arlington, VA
    Current Intern - Intern, Machine Learning Division in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation as an intern (less than a year)

    Pros

    - extremely friendly coworkers
    - wonderful opportunities to learn on the job
    - interesting projects and assignments

    Cons

    - worrying political climate (defense cuts)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  11.  

    Research Scientist

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Arlington, VA
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Arlington, VA

    I worked at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Employee-Owned Company filled with bright, energetic people. Potential to work on a variety of interesting problems in text & natural language processing, operations research and sensor/data fusion. Lots of freedom to pursue a research agenda. Employee's are treated very well. Hours are flexible, managers are supportive and there is even an annual off-site company-sponsored retreat (in places like Hawaii and California).

    Cons

    Relatively flat management structure. Lots of ability to take on additional responsibility, but little ability to get promoted.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Decisive Analytics Corporation Photos

Work at Decisive Analytics Corporation? Share Your Experiences

Decisive Analytics Corporation

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.