Dex One Reviews

Updated June 26, 2015
247 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
2.7
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Peter J. McDonald
34 Ratings

Pros
  • Great work/life balance prior to merger (in 12 reviews)

  • Great benefits and a matching 401k (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • You have people in their 50's that have only sold yellow pages in their life trying to sell new social media products to businesses (in 21 reviews)

  • We didn't act as "Marketing Consultants" but more as nagging sales people (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

247 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (1)

    Great people, difficult industry!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Dex One full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Everyone worked hard towards a common goal in Santa Monica. The culture was good and the benefits were too. It was an environment that provided a lot of learning.

    Cons

    The industry is struggling, so investment is difficult. I can't speak to the new Dex Media as the entire team has changed.

    Dex One Response

    Jun 29, 2015Employee

    Hi - We greatly appreciate the service you provided to Dex. Thank you for your feedback. -Ed


  2. Helpful (1)

    Dead

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager

    I worked at Dex One full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The people and front line managers are awesome. Good training but almost too much.

    Cons

    Top level managers do not care about front line employees or customers. They consistently would have you sacrifice a relationship with a good, long standing client and then pressure you to find new business to replace them.

    Advice to Management

    I tried to give advice to upper management for years. They don't want it. They are just trying to squeeze as much money out of the company to line their own pockets before Dex goes out of business forever.

    Dex One Response

    Jun 29, 2015Employee

    Hi - Thank you for your 5+ years of service and for providing your feedback. -Ed


  3. Helpful (2)

    Account Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Dex One full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Met a lot of great people both employee and business owners. Pay was virtually unlimited with a decent base and good benefits. Training was excellent.

    Cons

    Company couldn't move fast enough with the changing market. Lost too many people to downsizing which impacted the business. Doors started to close.

    Dex One Response

    Jun 8, 2015Employee

    Hi - Thank you for your service and commitment to Dex and for providing your feedback. -Ed


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    From good to horrible.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Dex One full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, good training, great benefits. The books still deliver recent results to advertisers. Dex online sites shaky at best. Not the best way to advertise.

    Cons

    No management support, closed all offices, always threatening sales staff with layoffs. Union is weak and gets run over by the company. All website work handled in third world countries with English as a third language. Company keeps huge amount of customers online budget as management fees.

    Advice to Management

    Just get it over with and go bankrupt again and close the doors. Your books are dead meat.

    Dex One Response

    May 1, 2015Employee

    Thank you for providing your feedback. -Ed


  6. Helpful (1)

    Very disorganized. Poor management team.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Dex One

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    There were some work from home options.

    Cons

    Guaranteed chaos day in and day out

    Dex One Response

    May 11, 2015Employee

    Hi- Thank you for providing your feedback. -Ed


  7. Slow decline

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telephone Account Executive in Olympia, WA
    Current Employee - Telephone Account Executive in Olympia, WA

    I have been working at Dex One full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Great job with benefits even though income and benefits declined year over year for the six years I was there.

    Cons

    Management scrambles to keep the boat afloat.

    Dex One Response

    Mar 13, 2015Employee

    Hi- We greatly appreciate the time and service that you've provided to the company. Thank you providing your feedback. -Ed


  8. Helpful (1)

    Less than satisfying

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Sales Executive
    Former Employee - Digital Sales Executive

    I worked at Dex One

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The pay structure and benefits are very good

    Cons

    Management is not helpful, they are very controlling. They blame failure on the individual and never look at the market, product or processes.

    Advice to Management

    Analyze the market place and help nurture success

    Dex One Response

    Jan 7, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Management should always be there for employees when needed. We hate to hear that you feel management wasn't helpful or supportive. That is definitely not indicative of our management team or ... More


  9. outstanding

    Former Employee - Premise Sales in Arlington, VA
    Former Employee - Premise Sales in Arlington, VA

    I worked at Dex One

    Pros

    pay is good, management is good, awesome people to work with

    Cons

    too many product changes and additions

    Advice to Management

    too much pressure

    Dex One Response

    Jan 5, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're happy to hear that you were pleased with management and your surrounding team. Thank you for posting your feedback. -Ed


  10. Helpful (2)

    Dex Media, what a joke

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Dex One

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits insurance

    Cons

    Horrible Management. The worst I have EVER worked with, completely useless and make 135k a year.

    Advice to Management

    Non to write about at this time

    Dex One Response

    Jan 28, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We hate to hear that your confidence in management at this time is not very high. Management should be there for the employee in every way possible. If you have some concerns that you can't seem ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    Company with no future

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Dex One

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Nice People to work with

    Cons

    Chaos will feel shame
    No team work
    CEO micromanages and thinks for everyone job. He could fire everyone and do everyone job more efficiently
    Worst is they don't take out and use the best in employees they hire.

    Advice to Management

    Self Rundown of the busines

    Dex One Response

    Jan 26, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you for the service you provided to the company and your feedback is greatly appreciated. -Ed



Showing 247 of 251 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.