Dex One

  www.dexone.com
  www.dexone.com

Dex One Reviews

Updated December 17, 2014
Updated December 17, 2014
241 Reviews
2.9
241 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Peter J. McDonald
32 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great work/life balance prior to merger (in 12 reviews)

  • Great benefits, potentially great income, great business building relationships with accounts (in 19 reviews)


Cons
  • You have people in their 50's that have only sold yellow pages in their life trying to sell new social media products to businesses (in 21 reviews)

  • You cant report anything to upper management or HR because you will be fired (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Great Sales Job
    Current Employee - Great Sales Job

    I have been working at Dex One

    Pros

    Good work enviroment for marketing

    Cons

    long hours pays off though

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    none

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Hello ole' friend

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Raleigh, NC

    I worked at Dex One full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good company with good people. Enjoyed working there.

    Cons

    With so many changes at the company it is hard to keep up with who is doing what job function.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need to be fast to keep up with technology.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Dex One Response

    Dec 2, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We greatly appreciate the service that you provided to Dex for over 5 years. Thank you so much for posting your review! -Ed

  3.  

    Used to be a great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC

    I worked at Dex One full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Initially, working here was great. The company was stable, very profitable and just a great place to work. The employees were happy and things were great!

    Cons

    As businesses started moving from print to online ad marketing, the business slowly tanked. Layoffs started, then came outsourcing. The stability and profitability of the company took a major hit. Company morale then suffered and once that occurs, the atmosphere is just toxic.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep the talent in the states and stop the outsourcing.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Dex One Response

    Nov 14, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We greatly appreciate the service that you provided while working here at Dex Media. Thank you for taking the time to post your pros and cons. -Ed

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    A dead industry...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in Denver, CO

    I worked at Dex One full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    None. At least, not anymore. There was a time when this was a great industry, and Dex was a solid job. Those days are long gone. Starting back when it was US WEST Direct, I put in 21 years with the company - spent many birthdays, holidays and family events on the road, sacrificing a lot for the company, including two stints of strike duty that consisted of 12 hour days, for weeks on end....only to get laid off one year shy of being eligible for retirement. Yup, thats how they roll. Avoid this place at all cost - there are far better opportunities out there than this den of thieves.

    Cons

    They missed the boat, back in '99, when GOOGLE and YAHOO! were desperate to partner with us....

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Let this industry die - your hubris was your undoing. Put it to bed.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Dex One Response

    Dec 16, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We greatly thank you for your 21 + years with the company and wish you nothing but great success in future endeavors. Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. -Ed

  6.  

    large company with little direction, poor communication

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Dex One full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, decent compensation, large

    Cons

    Communication, integrity, honesty, large, real career opportunities

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Dex One Response

    Oct 6, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We feel like we definitely offer great benefits and salary compensation. We also strive to keep an open line of communication with all employees and integrity is of the utmost importance. Thank ... More

  7.  

    Always Changing

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Staff Consultant in Kansas City, KS
    Current Employee - Staff Consultant in Kansas City, KS

    I have been working at Dex One full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    awesome tuition assistance. As with any job, working here is what you make it. If you are willing to relocate, the possibilities seem endless.

    Cons

    With so many offices, it seems impossible to "move up" and remain the same city or even the same department. Non sales employees are treated 'ok'. Not involved in the community and don't seem to be "in touch" with our organization goals at a department level.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Step out of 1980 and get with the times. For a forward thinking company, the senior leadership team is stuck in traditional styles of management. So Sad. Take a class on culture and learn the value it contributes to the company and ultimately our stakeholders.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Dex One Response

    Sep 23, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you for your 8 long years of commitment to the company! We offer opportunities for advancement routinely and encourage all employees to pursue growth within the organization. Your advice to ... More

  8.  

    digital marketing consultant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Consultant (Hunter) in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Consultant (Hunter) in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Dex One full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Flexible, independent work environment and great pay.

    Cons

    Company needs to do a better job of branding its name.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Dex One Response

    Sep 2, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time working with Dex Media. Thank you greatly for taking the opportunity to post your feedback. -Ed

  9.  

    Great people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at Dex One full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great co-workers, good hours, potential for good commissions

    Cons

    Phone book is main business and that is almost a extinct.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to the employees, they know what is REALLY going on

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Dex One Response

    Jul 21, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you very much for the feedback and the time you devoted to us as a valued employee! Ed

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    They treat employees like children

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Digital Editorial Coordinator in Morrisville, NC
    Former Employee - Digital Editorial Coordinator in Morrisville, NC

    I worked at Dex One as a contractor (more than an year)

    Pros

    Contractors get all the time off they want. Why not? No paid time off for contractors. Arcade basketball tournaments taken veeeeery seriously. If you liked being a child, good for you, as you'll be treated like one.

    Cons

    Hard to get straight answers from smiling managers regarding career path potential. Duplicitous answers and double-standards. They train you early to manage expectations. Is that for you?

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be serious. Be real.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Dex One Response

    Sep 2, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- we apologize for the delayed response to your review. Thank you greatly for your feedback as it's invaluable to us. -Ed

  11.  

    Good place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Digital Editorial Coordinator in Morrisville, NC
    Former Employee - Digital Editorial Coordinator in Morrisville, NC

    I worked at Dex One as a contractor (less than an year)

    Pros

    Managers were fair and knowledgeable. Good, frequent training. Nice, clean office environment with a good, casual-but-professional culture. Excellent business processes, too, with clear pathways to success.

    Cons

    Contractors are not hired permanently. Salary is a bit low compared to industry.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It's OK to hire full time employees and invest in them. The ROI will be much greater for your company.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Dex One Response

    Jul 21, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you very much for taking the time out to post your review and your recommendation is appreciated. Ed

Work at Dex One? Share Your Experiences

Dex One

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.