Discovery USA

  www.discoveryworldwide.com
  www.discoveryworldwide.com

Discovery USA Reviews

Updated November 5, 2014
Updated November 5, 2014
9 Reviews
3.3
9 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Donald Young
6 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Happy

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Account Supervisor in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Discovery USA full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Amazing vacation & benefits policies, wonderful boss, transparent leadership, very interesting work

    Cons

    Lots of changes in the past couple of years which has been frustrating, also there is conflict between creative vs project management vs account management teams that sometimes leads to negativity

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Discovery USA Response

    Nov 19, 2014Group Managing Director

    Thank you for your feedback. Yes, there has been a lot of change but its going to put us in a great position in the long run to be successful, I believe it! We need to address any conflict with our ... More

  2.  

    A sinking ship that used to be the premier medical communications company to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Director in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Account Director in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Discovery USA full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Smart people, great place to work if you're entry or mid-level employees and want to learn the ropes in medEd. Good exposure to clients.

    Cons

    Sweat shop, long hours and lots of office politics.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat your hard working employees with respect and better compensation.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Discovery USA Response

    Nov 19, 2014Group Managing Director

    I'm sorry your experience has been disappointing but thank you for being transparent, which we is one of our values as an agency. Obviously we've enhanced our focus as an agency for a number of ... More

  3.  

    Exciting Agency in Transformation

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Discovery USA full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The leadership appears very committed to creating a great place to work for it employees. Being part of a large network of agencies there are lots of resources available that smaller agencies just can't provide. The benefits are amazing, especially the 15 holidays a year! The fact that the agency is in a tranformative state also allows us to have input into creating the agency we want to be.

    Cons

    There are some challenges related to the moving parts & pieces of the organization, so getting the foundational items in place will be key to future success of the agency. The downside of being part of a large network is less autonomy on certain things, but it's evident that Groupe tries to provide balance between being over bearing and completely abscent.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Discovery USA Response

    Nov 19, 2014Group Managing Director

    Thank you for your response and your excitement, we're excited. The possibilities for our clients and employees with the new Discovery are amazing. Bringing a holistic approach to healthcare ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    No client management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Yardley, PA
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Yardley, PA

    I worked at Discovery USA full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    I worked out of their recently acquired Yardley PA office. Great group of people at that location which made some of the long nights easier to deal with. Formed some life long friendships during my time working their.

    Cons

    Always at the mercy of the client. Account managers were always running around like the world was about to end and were constantly in a panic/frenzy over client requests. That panic/frenzy trickled down to the rest of the team members and upper management who would always be quick to point the finger at the project managers. No one ever took a step back to think maybe the employees who were the primary client contacts were setting the team/agency up for disaster. Instead of being strategic leaders and actually taking control of clients and working with them like an adviser/consultant they were basically order takers doing whatever the clients said. They never pushed back on clients when team members had other ideas on how to assist clients on their needs and certainly never pushed back when project managers advised the timing clients were seeking for project completion were unrealistic even after a fair amount of extensive research was put into scheduling/timelines to give honest milestones. There were many late nights and not enough resources to complete the work on a daily basis. Even if you did leave the office at a normal hour you usually would end up arriving in the morning to a barrage of emails from some account manager who decided to continue working until 3AM the night before. I understand the workhard/playhard mentality but over here it was the norm to be at the office well past 5pm on a regular basis.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire account managers who actually have the experience/guts to manage their clients not simply take orders from them. Hire more resources/PM's to manage the work to improve work/life balance. Instead of constantly pointing the finger at the hard working project managers who are at the office late every night with their team members ensuring the work is completed as assigned point the finger at those individuals that aren't listening to their pm's/team members and making unrealistic promises to clients thus setting up false client expectations and disaster for the agency team members.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Discovery USA Response

    Jun 11, 2014Group Managing Director

    We've continued to add expertise and find ways to work in a more productive manner for both employees and clients, we're working to get better

  6.  

    company with growth ahead of them

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Discovery USA full-time

    Pros

    The company is made up of individually creative and hard working young people.

    Cons

    There are no established values at this company; and from senior leadership there is no sense of discretion or team work. It's difficult to come into work motivated, and stay motivated when so many of the employees not just seem miserable, but speak to how miserable they are.

    While the company boasts of offices around the world, no one in the US offices can really speak to what the offices in other countries are doing. I suppose this in and of itself speaks to how connected the offices are.

    I'm not sure how many people in the office trust the senior leadership, considering how often misleading and incorrect information is disbursed.

    There are some good benefits that get muddled down by the lack of work/life balance. Doesn't matter how good the time off policy is, if the expectation [whether said or implied] is that employees have to stay logged on while out of the office sick or on vacation.

    In a given year, there is no time spent on looking back at what worked, and what could improve in efficiencies. There is no reflection on how to work smarter. Rather, there are frequently changing internal processes with every new senior employee hired.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to the people, particularly before they're leaving.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Discovery USA Response

    Jun 11, 2014Group Managing Director

    As Discovery USA has come together by bringing three agencies with different skill sets together and geographical locations, its been an exciting challenge. We continue to find ways to get employee ... More

  7.  

    Great place to grow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Vice President, Account Director in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Vice President, Account Director in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Discovery USA full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Opportunities for advancement were plentiful, and clients and colleagues were incredibly talented.

    Cons

    Long hours on call...weekend meetings were difficult and workload made it tough to take time off.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Discovery USA Response

    Jun 11, 2014Group Managing Director

    Thank you for the feedback, please share any ideas on work balance directly with me or HR, we would love to hear your ideas!

  8.  

    Good benefits but not good work environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Discovery USA

    Pros

    perks, benefits, vacation, location, clients

    Cons

    company values, work-life balance, politics

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    company values

    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    Discovery USA Response

    Jun 11, 2014Group Managing Director

    We're working through rolling out our core values and mission through the summer so we're clear about who we are moving forward post integration- thank you for the feedback

  9.  

    stagnation

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Discovery USA full-time

    Pros

    The people I work with

    Cons

    top management lacks inspiration and vision

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    pay for talent

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Discovery USA Response

    Jun 11, 2014Group Managing Director

    sorry you experience was not engaging, I'm pleased to say that there were merit adjustments in April, a significant amount of promotions and good growth. We're in a different place then a year ago ... More

  10.  

    Account Management Review

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Discovery USA full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Broad company capabilities, friendly atmosphere, ability to move onto other teams if desired.

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunity and mentoring

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

Discovery USA Photos

Work at Discovery USA? Share Your Experiences

Discovery USA

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.