Emergency Medicine Associates

  www.emaonline.com
  www.emaonline.com

Emergency Medicine Associates Reviews

Updated October 15, 2014
Updated October 15, 2014
16 Reviews
4.4
16 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jacqueline Pollock
15 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 3 people found this helpful  

    Great Place to Work--feels like a family!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Emergency Medicine Associates full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Collaborative, supportive environment. Management truly cares about employees. Ideas are encouraged, and employee satisfaction is important.

    Cons

    There are a few employees who are very disgruntled. They continue to stay at the company--but they have a very negative attitude. Nothing anyone does for them is good enough.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to increase communication, solicit employees' ideas, and employ technology to enhance workflows. It's great to work at a place where people care, continue to care.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emergency Medicine Associates Response

    Oct 20, 2014Director of Human Resources

    Thanks so much for your feedback. We are glad you feel welcome and happy here.

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Overworked, Underpaid and Verbally Abusive

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Supervisor
    Former Employee - Supervisor

    I worked at Emergency Medicine Associates full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    They promote from within. They will, for hourly employees, pay any overtime worked without a fuss. The company continues to grow and expand even in bad economic periods.

    Cons

    They expect exempt employees to work overtime without any comp time or pay. They foster an environment that allows the clinical staff to be verbally, mentally and emotionally abusive to the office staff. They have created an non-equitable salary structure. They do not pay their employees what they are worth. The backstabbing and politics start at the top.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay your employees what they are worth regardless of age, gender or race. Change the abusive environment between clinical staff and office staff. Stop attempting to use backdoor methods to get rid of employees who won't participate in the politics and backstabbing.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Emergency Medicine Associates Response

    Oct 20, 2014Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear that you were frustrated with your overall experience while working for EMA. We always want our environment to be a positive and productive one ... More

  3. 4 people found this helpful  

    Wonderful co-workers, supportive CEO

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Germantown, MD
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Germantown, MD

    I worked at Emergency Medicine Associates full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great work environment, fair compensation and good benefits. Hard work never goes unnoticed at EMA.

    Cons

    Some of the doctors we deal with on a daily basis can be a bit difficult, but that comes with the territory!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emergency Medicine Associates Response

    Oct 10, 2014Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you had a great experience working with us and wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 2 people found this helpful  

    False Reviews

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Emergency Medicine Associates

    Pros

    Flexibility is the only pro I can think of

    Cons

    Pay is low, benefits are expensive and once you are in management....you are free to do what you please and totally walk all over your employees. It is obvious that management is posting false, 'fluff' pieces on this site.

    If you are an office/administrative employee, you are treated as less than a person as compared to the medical staff.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your employees, stop being so superior, allow opinions to be given honestly without retaliation.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Emergency Medicine Associates Response

    Oct 10, 2014CEO

    Thank you for your honest feedback. I would love the opportunity to meet with you personally to discuss your concerns. As you know, my door is always open. Our Practice strives to provide a ... More

  6. 4 people found this helpful  

    Excellent growth opportunities!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, MD

    I have been working at Emergency Medicine Associates full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    -Lots of ability for growth within the organization for hard-working, motivated employees
    -Responsive to employee concerns and desires
    -Shift flexibility in certain departments

    Cons

    -Limits on physical space due to company growth
    -Limits on telecommuting for certain departments

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Telecommuting should be encouraged and expanded to more employees - it is a huge satisfier and enables employees to be better prepared in the event of an emergency.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emergency Medicine Associates Response

    Oct 10, 2014Director of Human Resources

    Thanks so much for your feedback. We are working diligently to accommodate our ever growing population in the administrative offices. We are offering telecommuting options to certain groups of ... More

  7. 3 people found this helpful  

    Great Company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Emergency Medicine Associates full-time

    Pros

    Great company with smart, dedicated people. Opportunity to learn and grow your career. Glad to be part of a growing company that cares about its employees.

    Cons

    I have no negative reviews about this company

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emergency Medicine Associates Response

    Oct 10, 2014Director of Human Resources

    Thanks! We are glad you are happy here.

  8. 3 people found this helpful  

    Good place to work, nice people.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Germantown, MD
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Germantown, MD

    I worked at Emergency Medicine Associates full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Nice people for the most part to work with.

    Cons

    Communication with Human Resources and upper management could be improved upon.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Communication with Human Resources and upper management could be improved upon.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emergency Medicine Associates Response

    Oct 10, 2014Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Hopefully you will see an improvement in overall communication. We are working diligently to ensure that all employees receive information in a timely manner. Your ... More

  9. 3 people found this helpful  

    Excellent Company!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Emergency Medicine Associates full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    I've been with the company for less than a year, but right away I knew I made the right decision by coming here. Excellent support from upper management, and when people come here, they usually stay for a very long time for a reason! This company really cares about their employees!

    Cons

    The benefits are a little pricey, but still manageable.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10. 3 people found this helpful  

    Positive and dynamic!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Emergency Medicine Associates full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    I've been with EMA for over 10 years, and the growth I've witnessed is astounding. The company is always looking for ways to be better and on the cutting edge of the industry, as well as improving their employees' work lives and providing the utmost care for patients in the community. There is a high standard set for performance, but achievers are recognized and rewarded. The company maintains an environment where employees are encouraged to learn, grow, and better themselves both personally and professionally.

    Cons

    The rapid pace of such growth and success can sometimes provides challenges in terms of meetings and general work overload.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The rapid growth has also led to a shortage of appropriate, comfortable office space - perhaps upper management should look into additional office space?

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 4 people found this helpful  

    It's a growing company that rewards hard workers

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Emergency Medicine Associates full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    I've worked with EMA for 8 years and they provide an environment where motivated, self-starters,who want to develop their careers, thrive.

    EMA has doubled in size since I started working here. This growth is directly related to the stability of it's leadership and the leadership's commitment to appropriately rewarding t high performers. People who work hard are rewarded for it and this incentive has helped stimulate the company's growth.

    They are also a transparent company. They tell you what it takes to be successful. They provide you with the resources and the continual feedback to achieve that success, and then they reward you for that success.

    Cons

    There aren't as much tele-commuting opportunities as I'd like.

    It's sometimes difficult to connect with people in the office as different people work different schedules.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More office space is needed as we've grown so much.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Emergency Medicine Associates Photos

Work at Emergency Medicine Associates? Share Your Experiences

Emergency Medicine Associates

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.