Enaxis Consulting Reviews

Updated February 13, 2015
26 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.2
26 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dhiren Shethia and Jonas Georgsson
13 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 5 people found this helpful

    Be very careful and do a lot of homework before considering this firm (not recommended)

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Not bad place for a career transition, especially from the high travel life of management consulting firms
    If you're a "rah rah" for the firm type, you will get better reviews
    Expect only a 45-50 hour work week (40 for the client and 5-10 for the firm) but expect more work if you take vacations to make up for the time off (hours often limited since most clients don't allow billing over 40 hrs per week)
    Very few people have to travel
    If you have a role where you can bill beyond 40 hrs/week, you're a hero
    Some enjoyable happy hours and social events

    Cons

    Management not looking for feedback on anything of significance (all real decisions made by top two people behind closed doors)
    Perks and bonuses are minimal compared to larger firms
    Very few roles where you can demonstration what you can do--most client work is staffing positions where you are doing change mgmt. (presentations) or project management directly working for client personnel and evaluations are based on keeping the client person happy and hours billed
    No one wants to hear any real feedback from the staff
    Partners will not protect staff from abusive behavior by clients
    Very, very few (2?) repeat clients
    Training materials are poor and there are not individual training plans for everyone
    Senior managers and partners are always talking about each other behind their backs

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Make it a policy that it will no longer be tolerated for manager, partners, and clients to yell at staff
    Stop trying to "spin" to employees and present honestly about the challenges the firm faces in finding sustainable growth

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
  2. 9 people found this helpful

    Culture of Mediocrity and Egos

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Enaxis Consulting full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Firm is more of an IT staffing than a consulting firm so the hours are not as long as at the big consulting firms (but the pay and career opportunities are way lower also)
    Titles are inflated so if you were a sr. consultant at a big firm, you can easily get a manager title here (though Managers don't "manage" projects, they just have a higher bill rate)
    Firm likes to have people in the office on Fridays

    Cons

    Very little deep I.T. or industry expertise in the firm--no one to learn new skills from if you already have a strong background
    Selling mostly "bodies" and not "projects" to clients
    No path to being a "true" partner, i.e. no one can advance to the level of ownership and control of the 2 founders unlike in a management consulting firm; lots of backbiting and talking about each other at the senior levels--hierarchical, not collegial
    Watch out on Glassdoor, seems like they let the companies pick which reviews are shown first as "popular"

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop "strongly encouraging" employees to talk up the company and make only positive comments about the firm; accept criticism

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
  3. 5 people found this helpful

    Staffing (not Consulting) Firm That Doesn't Have the Expertise They Claim

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Enaxis Consulting full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy to get hired
    Location is outside of downtown with good parking and many nearby restaurants
    A few colleagues are very nice and helpful

    Cons

    Presents itself as way more than it is--most of what they have done and do is very basic I.T. staffing
    No real Oil & Gas experience--Owner insisted a pumpjack was really a derrick and couldn't believe he was wrong
    Training, development, benefits are marginal compared to the major consulting firms

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Honestly describe the work that they may do to applicants
    Tone down the owners' egos and start listening to the staff

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 7 people found this helpful

    Do Your Homework and Talk to Former Employees for Honest Reviews

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Enaxis Consulting full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    They pay for expensive office space to have social Fridays and as a base for social (drinking) events
    Definitely a place if you like to attend every drinking event they put on
    Great place to get staffed in project mgmt. in I.T. at Chevron

    Cons

    Owners do not apply their "core values" to themselves--they love employees to call them "brilliant" and support their ego--quick to threaten if you don't line up with their views
    They pressure employees to provide favorable reviews on the firm (many current employees, including myself, don't feel comfortable providing an honest view of the firm to candidates)
    Most of the profits go to the owners and their few favorites

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Provide an ability for staff to judge the owners according to the core values
    Allow dissent
    Broaden the client base and get clients to stick with the firm

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
  6. 7 people found this helpful

    Still the same ego-driven place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Low travel for most
    Can work in I.T. without deep technical skills
    Largest client (half their business) is a great credential

    Cons

    Benefits were very minimal though I hear they now have a 401K match.
    Profit sharing payments at the end of one year can be deducted from your bonus the next year; only a small number of "favorites" are paid decently, and if they don't like you, watch your bonus disappear
    Social events were used to judge how into the firm you were
    Watch out for the "culture": I was looking over the reviews and spoke to some former colleagues that are still there and it sounds like it's still the same old place. From the 4/16/11 review to the 2/15/13 review to the new 4/16/14 review, there has been no evolution of a self-centered group of owners that run the firm according to their egos and are not concerned about insulting and belittling those below them.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Realize the disconnect between your actions and your words and stop using the firm as a vehicle for your egos

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Enaxis Consulting Response

    Dec 8, 2014Talent Director

    We realize that there will be some unhappy folks who are no longer with us, but we hope readers will take the time to learn more about us and decide for themselves.

  7. 9 people found this helpful

    Very Deceitful

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Minimal travel, some decent coworkers, latest technology

    Cons

    Horrible management, fake reviews on this site (yes, the marketing guy wrote most of them), low pay, no ethics, not growing

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Change the management - need people that can actually grow a company

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Enaxis Consulting Response

    Dec 8, 2014Talent Director

    Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear this. We have grown about 25 - 30% for almost 4 years in a row, so we believe the management team is doing a great job of growing the company and ... More

  8. 9 people found this helpful

    Extremely disappointed that representations upfront were wildly inaccurate--Be Careful

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Only a few employees have to travel for business
    Work week for most junior employees averages only 50 hours per week
    Office facility in Houston is spacious and well located for many

    Cons

    Mostly I.T. staff augmentation work at a very small number of clients, not "management consulting"
    Compensation low and bonuses are seldom what is promised (many "discretionary" factors that are used against you)
    High turnover so constant change of colleagues
    Currently focused on oil & gas clients but no industry-specific expertise or training; mostly work in generic I.T. infrastructure areas
    Employees are all levels are subject to angry emotional tirades if they don't agree with a decision
    [the more negative reviews below are still accurate; positive current reviews are directed by the firm]

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Present an honest, balance view to perspective employees and clients

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Enaxis Consulting Response

    Apr 25, 2014Talent Director

    We would like to take the time to address this review since we find it to be overtly counter to what we deem as true. The work we do is true Management Consulting around IT, you can read white ... More

  9. 9 people found this helpful

    Very negative work environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting

    Pros

    - Small firm, gets to know everyone, rather than just being a number
    - Excellent coworkers
    - Interesting projects to work on

    Cons

    - During economic hardship, decided to cut people's salary by 50% but still expecting them to be happy and put in 45 hrs a week. Meanwhile, one of the owners was buying a new 5,000 sq ft house in Bellaire City.
    - Extremely political. Promotion/project placement are based on whether the leadership likes the person, not the capabilities.
    - Cheap. Terrible/non-existent internal training and no external training offered (unless you are well connected).
    - Very negative work environment where management only pretends to care about the wellbeing of employees. Have heard the owner said: "we pay them enough for them not to complain."
    - Pays at 40hr/week but expects everyone to bill 45hrs a week to the client. The "up to" 10% bonus is suppose to compensate for the extra hours, but management finds any reason not to give it out. Examples include taking vacation/sickness (counts against total utilization if you take time off), not on a project, or that they just don't like you.

    Hostile work environment where someone might yell at you for little reason. Or be extremely nice and then turn around and back stab you. Basically, in order to work/survive the place, bring in your own project or kiss up to the leadership.

    Doesn't Recommend
  10. 10 people found this helpful

    Unsupportive and not open to new ideas

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Great office space downtown, free parking
    Snacks at the office.
    Most consultants are friendly

    Cons

    This firm promotes itself as being very open to new ideas, but is steadfast and firm in the way that it likes to do things. They focus much of their team building efforts around drinking alcohol, if you are not a drinker you will not fit in. Some of the consultants and senior managers hold back on information that you need to get your job done.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be more open to new ideas and look for novel approaches to solving issues. Develop a mission and vision, not just have value statement. Be more honest in what you tell future employees concerning the scope of the work. There is very little management consulting and much menial work to be done, be honest with this instead of promising otherwise.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Enaxis Consulting Response

    Dec 8, 2014Talent Director

    We are sorry to read this review but thank you for taking the time to write it. Readers can get a good idea of the type of work we do by the White Papers listed on our website. We also encourage a ... More

  11. 7 people found this helpful

    Dishonest Practices, bait and switch

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Contract opportunities with Houston's oil and gas players. Good place to start your career if you're undecided about where you're going

    Cons

    Most opportunities are staff augmentation. Bonus percentage is not 10% as pitched if you ever take a day off. Marketing processes still being developed, lack on internal synergies amongst staff, trust and a den of dishonesty and lies, catering to those who thrive in such cut throat back stabbing environments. Hire turnover rate, revolving door, most people just stay for a short while then leave.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Revamp internal ethical practices, marketing, pay, training and retention. Perhaps hiring a consultant company to identify and assess why people never stay and execute their recommended changes.

    Doesn't Recommend

Work at Enaxis Consulting? Share Your Experiences

Enaxis Consulting

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.