Exelon Reviews

Updated March 31, 2015
49 reviews filtered by
  • Chicago, IL
  • Any Job Title
4.2
49 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Christopher M. Crane
20 Ratings

49 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Working here is great and rewarding

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Comed AMI in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Comed AMI in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I love working for a company with great pay, benefits and takes care of its employees safety 24/7. It also helps out in donations and volunteering that makes it stand out in the community's it works for making it a better place for all.

    Cons

    I cant find anything but good stuff to say about Comed at Exelon. I want to stay here for a long time. The pros overshadow any minimum cons at Exelon.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to reward the hard workers that will make the core of the company even stronger.

    Exelon Response

    Mar 12, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you so much for posting this review! We appreciate the time you took to post this review. Thanks again!

  2. Helpful (1)

    Nuclear plant operations

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Relatively good pay and benefits although in line with similar utilities. Many opportunities up to a certain level of pay. Well respected company in the nuclear industry.

    Cons

    Some shift work. Long hours expected for no extra compensation. Upper management cliques. Upper management often says one thing and does another. Many senior people lack integrity and will put their future over doing the right thing or treating employees fairly. Middle management often has the attitude of do what I say or else.

    Advice to Management

    Become a transparent company and stop rent seeking behavior. Have more concern for the public and less for the bottom line. Do as you say you do and not what enhances careers or just increases revenue. Build trust with employees and the public through actions not words.

  3. Very Happy

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Salary, bonus, time off/vacation, location, flexible.

    Cons

    Tough on work/life balance sometimes (but when you work for a giant corp...it happens)

    Exelon Response

    Feb 5, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for your post. Exelon appreciates the opinions of our employees and we value your feedback. Thank you again!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    Job security and great benefits, but lacks growth potential

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Lead Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Lead Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Exelon full-time (more than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    IT Dept seems to be moving more toward newer software and innovation, but it is slow.
    Benefits are great (PTO, Flexible work schedules and remote work, Medical Ins).
    Great, modern office space in the Chicago loop location.

    Cons

    Training and growth opportunities are lacking above a Sr Analyst (Sr Developer) level in the IT department.
    Although they talk a lot about work life balance, it doesn't come to fruition due to the constant downsizing and resistance to hiring new FTEs.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach with emphasis on training and work-life balance.
    Provide more opportunities for inter department transfers to allow employees to grow at least laterally and learn other businesses to help with job satisfaction.

    Exelon Response

    Feb 5, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We highly value and appreciate your input. Thanks again!

  6. A great company with its fair share of faults and challenges.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Industrial Cleaner in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Industrial Cleaner in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The pay is excellent. One of the few employers that still offer some college tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Many departments are understaffed and/or presented with so many challenges that it is hard to stay above the water.

    Advice to Management

    Keep a positive attitude regardless of the seemingly endless uphill battle. Support those who are striving to succeed on a task and hold accountable those who do not. No more, "good ol boy" club.

    Exelon Response

    Jan 21, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this helpful review! Exelon appreciates and values the opinions of our employees. Thanks again!

  7. Analyst

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Large company with many career opportunities. There is a lot of potential for growth. Great compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    Need to offer more development opportunities and workshops for lower level employees.

    Exelon Response

    Nov 25, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for your helpful review! Exelon values and appreciates the opinions of our employees and we thank you for your feedback.

  8. Building a Strong Family of Companies

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Exelon continues to build a strong family of companies across the Unites States. Corporate values are blended with cultures of the various operating companies to drive strong performance that allows for excellent career opportunities. Compensation and benefits are enhanced by dedicated training and developmental opportunities allowing employees to build and enjoy an excellent career with the company.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be a challenge in this industry. This can vary by operating company as emergency response can be a large part of the energy industry.

    Exelon Response

    Nov 4, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review! Exelon greatly appreciates the feedback of our employees and we value your opinion. Thanks again!

  9. "Excellent Company"

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits in an exciting Industry (Energy). I love that Nuclear is clean energy and we are expanding into other areas in Energy/Utilities. I get to work with intelligent people who promote safety and excellence every day. We are a top notch organization and Industry leader and we demand the best in all we do. I take pride in working here.

    Cons

    Need more career advancement/Managing/Team Lead opportunities for mid-level non-managers or rotation programs. Increase working off-site acceptance and increase work-life balance considerations.

    Advice to Management

    People respond better to compliments and recognition rather than continuing to demand more work with less resources to save money. Happy employees are productive employees. Stressed, overworked, and disgruntled employees do not do their best work.

    Exelon Response

    Nov 4, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for your helpful comments! Exelon values the opinions of our employees and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  10. Exelon is a great place to grow your career.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Exelon is at the heart of the changing energy industry; the organization is facing significant challenges (as are all energy companies) in the next few years, and for those who like to make an impact, this is the place to be in this sector. If you are a high flyer and contribute at the top of your game you will be recognized and you can make things happen that wouldn't be possible in other companies.

    Cons

    Because of the challenging space the company is in right now, it can at times be a bit of a tough environment and the demanding, self-criticism culture isn't for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    We need to find ways to make it safer for people to take risks and experience set backs as learning opportunities.

    Exelon Response

    Nov 4, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Exelon appreciates the hard work of our employees and we value your opinion. Thanks again!

  11. Great company that genuinely cares about its employees and has excellent benefits.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    There are plenty of resources for training and development. Exelon is good about promoting from within and offers plenty of opportunities for both professional and personal growth. Also, the employee benefits are great and Exelon partners with multiple business to offer company discounts.

    Cons

    The work load can be challenging at times. The culture is definitely that of a team environment, however, employees are expected to sometimes drop current projects that they may be working on in order to put out any fires that may arrise.

    Exelon Response

    Nov 4, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks again!

Work at Exelon? Share Your Experiences

Exelon

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.