Exelon

  www.exeloncorp.com
  www.exeloncorp.com

Exelon Reviews

Updated November 25, 2014
Updated November 25, 2014
148 Reviews
4.0
148 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Christopher M. Crane
48 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Excellent pay and benefits in an exciting Industry (Energy) (in 10 reviews)

  • Work /life balance is heavily promoted in most organizations within company (in 9 reviews)


Cons
  • Increase working off-site acceptance and increase work-life balance considerations (in 26 reviews)

  • No flexibility, no work life balance (in 5 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Exelon as an employer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Exelon as a company is great to work for in many ways. Excellent pay and benefits and I work with amazing people. There are so many intelligent people who work here and everyone is always so willing to answer questions and help. The friendly culture here is really a great thing as I came from a company where employess would not even say hello in the elevator or restroom, so the fact that we do here without it being such a chore is a fabulous breath of fresh air! I work here with pride and can smile when people ask me where I work and what I do. It's a neat industry to work for.

    Cons

    Desperately need job advancement opportunities for mid-level employees. We are top and bottom heavy, and not enough opportunities in the middle. Need more lead opportunities for some to get more leadership experience. Work/life balance is a huge issue. We desperately need to get on the "telecommuting" train like the rest of corporate america. I understand at the sites that's difficult if you are in a plant role, but support roles should be able to more easily telecommute. It should not be something that is frowned upon. It should also be acceptable to have jean Friday's every Friday no matter what floor or work location you are on. Such a basic perk could make so many employees so happy!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    We spend a lot of time criticizing here and not complimenting. I can say from experience, a basic compliment goes a LONG way. A high five or a thank you for your efforts motivates employees so much more than always saying work harder, work faster, work more, it's never enough. We need to acknowlege more often what amazing things our employees do and you'll see even more amazing things to follow!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Exelon Response

    Nov 4, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you very much for your input! Exelon greatly appreciates these helpful suggestions and we value your opinion. Thanks again!

  2.  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at Exelon full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    I worked at Exelon for 5 and half years and overall it is an excellent company to work for. Total compensation package is top notch. Work /life balance is heavily promoted in most organizations within company.

    Cons

    Leaders tend to advance and promote who they like. Very political at times. Salary tends to be just average.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Consider all employees for advancement opportunities.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Oct 28, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Exelon values the opinions of our employees and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Engineering Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Lombard, IL
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Lombard, IL

    I worked at Exelon full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Very laid back, request time off if needed, can get by doing not much, extremely high pay for an intern

    Cons

    Very misleading job description, did little to no engineering work.

    This truly seemed like a place where you just do the daily grind and get paid way too much.

    Some interns were doing groundbreaking projects and contributed a great amount of work. While others simply counted telephone poles each day. Really just a hit or miss in regards to intern experience.

    I actually almost quit the internship how unhappy I was.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Have more control over the interns projects, very unfair across the board.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Operations analyst

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Good benefits, good if you live in suburbs of baltimore

    Cons

    Too many levels before becoming a manager

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Nov 25, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for your post. Exelon values the opinions of our employees and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  6.  

    Strong company with good benefits

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources Support
    Current Employee - Human Resources Support

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, pension with company match, competitive salaries and ability to develop in different areas.

    Cons

    Understaffed in areas, chaotic at times, while some departments support work life balance the company as a whole has a long way to go.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7.  

    Lifelong friends at a Company that doesn't care about their employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Principal Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Principal Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Exelon full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people are hands down amazing, will miss working with each of them

    Cons

    The Company leaders are so far removed from employees, you get the sense that they really could care less about employee satisfaction, work life balance, etc. There is so much amazing talent, that the leaders are unaffected when people leave, and in fact the company culture is such that, many people feel like they are getting pushed out, regardless of their excellent performance reviews.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your employees, empower them to speak up, back them and invest in them. You may see a change in turnover if you do these things. However, it is likely that you like to see employees leave and so if that is the case, dont need to change a thing.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Exelon Response

    Oct 28, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review. Exelon values and appreciates your opinion. If you are willing to provide additional detail, please email CorporateTalentAquisition@exeloncorp.com ... More

  8.  

    Good company, friendly employees, good benefits and pay

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Exelon

    Pros

    Pay, friendly people, solid benefits, good environment

    Cons

    Some of the work is tedious and not challenging

    Exelon Response

    Oct 16, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review! Exelon values and appreciates the opinions of our employees. Thanks again!

  9.  

    Working for PECO (an Exelon Company) has opened many doors!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Exelon

    Pros

    Great compensation.
    Great vacation benefits.
    Awesome Health Care benefits and resources.
    Onsite fitness facilities at most locations.
    Wonderful training program for most positions.
    Back-up/ Emergency childcare is available.

    Cons

    Work-life balance
    Emergency response roles can keep you away from family and planned commitments for days and/or weeks.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Oct 28, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you very much for posting this review! We greatly appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  10.  

    Exelon is a great company to work for, and has a position for any background!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The opportunity at Exelon is limitless, it truly is an organization that wants to develop each of its individual employees. The work is fulfilling and management is approachable and encouraging of new ideas and strategies. Good work life balance, schedule can be flexible and opportunity to work from home. Compensation and vacation days are generous. Exelon allows you to be a contributor from day 1, and has high expectations of each of its employees, however employees are rewarded in both compensation and recognition. Collaborative team culture, and sense of community among departments.

    Cons

    There are not any negative comments to make about Exelon.

    Recommends

    Exelon Response

    Oct 16, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you so much for your input! Exelon appreciates the hard work of our employees. Thanks again!

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Exelon as a contractor (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, compensation and company culture. The best part about working at Exelon is the people. All of the people I interacted with had a through understanding of what they were doing and how they were helping the company strive for excellence. Everyone was the one same page.

    Cons

    A lot of contractors that leech the company, not enough in-house talent. Hire from outside too often when there is a perfectly qualified candidate in-house. I have seen many people be passed over for openings simply because they didn't want to show favoritism in the hiring process. Flawed system of hiring.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Try investing in employees more and try caring about work/life balance. Work consumed a lot of my time and energy along with many others at the company.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Oct 16, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for posting your review. If you would like to provide additional insight please feel free to email CorporateTalentAquisition@exeloncorp.com. Thanks again!

Work at Exelon? Share Your Experiences

Exelon

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.