Exelon

  www.exeloncorp.com
  www.exeloncorp.com

Exelon Reviews

Updated November 25, 2014
Updated November 25, 2014
148 Reviews
4.0
148 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Christopher M. Crane
48 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Excellent pay and benefits in an exciting Industry (Energy) (in 10 reviews)

  • Work /life balance is heavily promoted in most organizations within company (in 9 reviews)


Cons
  • Increase working off-site acceptance and increase work-life balance considerations (in 26 reviews)

  • No flexibility, no work life balance (in 5 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Engineering Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Lombard, IL
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Lombard, IL

    I worked at Exelon full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Very laid back, request time off if needed, can get by doing not much, extremely high pay for an intern

    Cons

    Very misleading job description, did little to no engineering work.

    This truly seemed like a place where you just do the daily grind and get paid way too much.

    Some interns were doing groundbreaking projects and contributed a great amount of work. While others simply counted telephone poles each day. Really just a hit or miss in regards to intern experience.

    I actually almost quit the internship how unhappy I was.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Have more control over the interns projects, very unfair across the board.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Blessed

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Braceville, IL
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Braceville, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    This company is innovative and has strong values and core beliefs.

    Cons

    Very hard to get promoted, education doesn't count, tough to get intervies and leave the department.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Look at education as a strength. Get to know your employees all the way to the "lil" people.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Exelon Response

    Oct 16, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review. If you are willing, please email CorporateTalentAquisition@exeloncorp.com to provide additional detail. Thanks for your feedback!

  3.  

    it was great working with Exelon corp.

    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    office culture was great, and work life balancing was great too.

    Cons

    training was pretty good.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Exelon Response

    Oct 6, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for your review! Exelon values the opinions of our employees and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 3 people found this helpful  

    Office Politics run amok

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD

    I worked at Exelon full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are very good and pay is above average

    Cons

    Office politics are very big here and your career advancement is dependent on you getting into the right circle. Your opportunities for promotion as well as your annual bonus is very dependent on you kissing up and knowing the right people. Backstabbing and gossiping were rampant during the time there and it felt like a high school hallway at times. Favoritism runs its ugly head in terms of promotions and merit increases.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Oct 16, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate all of the feedback our employees provide. If you are willing to provide additional information, please email ... More

  6.  

    Lifelong friends at a Company that doesn't care about their employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Principal Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Principal Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Exelon full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people are hands down amazing, will miss working with each of them

    Cons

    The Company leaders are so far removed from employees, you get the sense that they really could care less about employee satisfaction, work life balance, etc. There is so much amazing talent, that the leaders are unaffected when people leave, and in fact the company culture is such that, many people feel like they are getting pushed out, regardless of their excellent performance reviews.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your employees, empower them to speak up, back them and invest in them. You may see a change in turnover if you do these things. However, it is likely that you like to see employees leave and so if that is the case, dont need to change a thing.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Exelon Response

    Oct 28, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review. Exelon values and appreciates your opinion. If you are willing to provide additional detail, please email CorporateTalentAquisition@exeloncorp.com ... More

  7.  

    Good exposure to large corporate legal department

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Law Clerk in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Law Clerk in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Exelon as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    Large Corporation provides opportunities to gain insight into the many facets of the legal function. Real estate, regulations, litigation, transactions, etc. Pay was good for someone in law school, especially when most people did not find paying summer internships.

    Cons

    In the regulatory group, work is slow if there is no rate case with the ICC. There was no involvement with the other practice areas. Not looking to hire from the intern program (at least at the time I was there)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Provide more continuous communication with attorneys and interns and collaboration among attorneys and interns across different departments to provide more exposure to the different areas of work.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Oct 16, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for posting this review. Exelon values the opinions of our employees and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  8.  

    Great place for career growth and opportunity

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The energy industry is currently in a state where innovation and creative thinking are a must. It has been very refreshing to work in a place where innovative thinking is a priority. There is a lot of opportunity for movement and the leadership training courses are very impactful.

    Cons

    It can be very overwhelming and you can sometimes have too much on your plate at once. For most of my time here i was in a group where i was the youngest employee by 5-10 years. As a young professional you can often feel a part of the minority. But, the demographics are changing and there are many more young professinoals than there were even a few years ago. There are also employee resource groups where young professionals can meet and can network.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Sep 24, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you very much for posting this review! Exelon values the opinions of our employees and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  9.  

    Great Place to Grow and Work!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Recruiting Programs Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Recruiting Programs Specialist in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Exelon has been one of the best companies I have ever worked for. The projects and teams that I support are amazing. My leadership team is very engaged in our team structure, alignment, and strategies that support both our own teams and the company as a whole. The company provides very competitive pay, superior benefits, and career development opportunities to help further my professional growth and education. I work with some of the best people and thankful for the role I have.

    Cons

    While some say there is a problem with Work Life Balance, you have to remember we are a 24/7 operation. For me, this has never been an issue and have received great support from my Supervisors and Managers. Other than that, there is nothing negatively I can say about Exelon.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Sep 24, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you so much for taking your time to post this review! We greatly appreciate all of the hard work you do for Exelon and we value your feedback. Thanks again!

  10.  

    Best Place to Work - Even with only 2 years at Exelon, this is the best company I've worked at in 40 years.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources Analyst in Chicago, WI
    Current Employee - Human Resources Analyst in Chicago, WI

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Exelon provides me opportunities to work on projects that align with the Corp strategy. The work I do really matters! My leadership team (manager, director, VP, and SVP) ensures that my dept has the right people, in the right roles, and at the right time to deliver results. I work in a dept where team work is 'off the charts.' I truely enjoy the challenge of serving as a strategic business partner to other Exelon's depts. Never a dull moment; the word 'bored' is not in my vocabulary. Ffeedback on work performeed is constant and very rewarding. Even with just 2 years of experience as an employee, Exelon supports my career goals and development. My manager encourages me and allows me to use my knowledge, skills, and abilities to enhance the work assigned to me. What a great place to work!!!!

    Cons

    Computer setup and system access takes too long when an employee first joins the company. The first 3 days are NOT highly productive, but after that — no problem. It seems to take approx 3 days to get your computers and system access all setup and ready. Too many calls to IT, but all issues get resolved. It would be great if all the computers and system access was ready on Day 1 of a new hire.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Sep 24, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you so much for taking your time to post this review! Exelon values the opinions of our employees and we greatly appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  11.  

    Great growth opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Exelon full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, demanding work, promotions, compensation, incentives

    Cons

    leader's not held consistently accountable

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Sep 24, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for your post! Exelon greatly appreciates the opinions and feedback from our employees. Thanks again!

Work at Exelon? Share Your Experiences

Exelon

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.