Exelon Reviews

Updated April 13, 2015
178 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Very Happy

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Salary, bonus, time off/vacation, location, flexible.

    Cons

    Tough on work/life balance sometimes (but when you work for a giant corp...it happens)

    Exelon Response

    Feb 5, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for your post. Exelon appreciates the opinions of our employees and we value your feedback. Thank you again!

  2. Senior IT Analyst

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior IT Analyst
    Current Employee - Senior IT Analyst

    I have been working at Exelon

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Job security, large corporation (if you like being a #)

    Cons

    GOB Network, Typical big corporation which keeps growing. Too big to fail.

    Exelon Response

    Feb 19, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your opinion and thank you for your input!

  3. Good pay, lots of opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Contractor - Associate Recruiter in Warrenville, IL
    Current Contractor - Associate Recruiter in Warrenville, IL

    I have been working at Exelon as a contractor (more than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great pay, I love the team that I am working I am working for a company that is really making a difference. There are a lot of opportunities if willing to put the work in. Inspired by leadership.

    Cons

    Hard and fast goals sometimes not communicated very well.

    Exelon Response

    Feb 5, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you very much for posting your review! Exelon values your opinion and we highly appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    Too many meetings

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Exelon

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very competitive work environment. The company hires very smart people and continues to challenge them which allows for a great learning environment.

    Cons

    Manager level and above spend at least 75%of their work day in meetings. Meetings are held to discuss what to discuss in the next meeting and another meeting is held to debrief what was discussed in the last meeting. It takes a long time to get anything done due to the excessive amount of time spent in meetings and the lack of empowerment of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Empower employees to make more decisions and cut the amount of time spent in meetings.

    Exelon Response

    Feb 5, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for posting this review. If you are willing to provide additional insight, please email CorporateTalentAcquisition@exeloncorp.com. Thank you again for your input!

  6. Dead end job in security

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Byron, IL
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Byron, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Job stability. Benefits; medical, dental, etc. Pay is above average.

    Cons

    Can be mandated to work overtime anytime; can't really plan activities on your days off. Will work nights for quite a number of years until you gain seniority. The management doesn't care about your personal life or your opinion. Seems like the rules are always changing. Procedures are in place but unfortunately left to personal interpretation. Equipment is old or broken; the environment is reactive instead of proactive. If in security dept., very difficult to transfer to another department, even if you have experience or qualifications. It's a "who you know" environment. Lots of cliques and seems like a lot of buddy-buddy environment. If you are what's considered an "outsider" your career will not flourish.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like human beings. After all, they are your greatest asset.

    Exelon Response

    Feb 5, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review. If you are willing, please email CorporateTalentAcquisition@exeloncorp.com to provide additional insight. Exelon appreciates and values your input ... More

  7. Plenty of opportunities!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Analyst
    Current Employee - Business Analyst

    I have been working at Exelon

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Because of the company’s size there is usually plenty of entrance opportunities, with good compensation.

    Cons

    On the other side of coin, try to enter into the area you are interested in, moving from one job to another becomes difficult especially if you are good at your job.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder at promoting from within.

    Exelon Response

    Feb 5, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review. We value your feedback! Thanks again!

  8. A great company with its fair share of faults and challenges.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Industrial Cleaner in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Industrial Cleaner in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The pay is excellent. One of the few employers that still offer some college tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Many departments are understaffed and/or presented with so many challenges that it is hard to stay above the water.

    Advice to Management

    Keep a positive attitude regardless of the seemingly endless uphill battle. Support those who are striving to succeed on a task and hold accountable those who do not. No more, "good ol boy" club.

    Exelon Response

    Jan 21, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this helpful review! Exelon appreciates and values the opinions of our employees. Thanks again!

  9. Helpful (1)

    Great resources, bad culture

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Exelon

    Pros

    Access to top notch modeling and risk systems. One of the largest energy trading platforms in the country.

    Cons

    No transparency on pay or performance. Poor morale in the trenches.

    Advice to Management

    Lead the company as a meritocracy.

    Exelon Response

    Feb 19, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review. We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion. Thanks again!

  10. Helpful (1)

    Just OK

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Exelon

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, Work Life Balance, Benefits / Pension

    Cons

    Clique-ish, Career Opportunities, Integrity within leadership

    Advice to Management

    Listen to people on the front lines

    Exelon Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Exelon values your opinion and we truly appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  11. Great benefits but low morale

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Operations
    Current Employee - Operations

    I have been working at Exelon

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Compensation is great as are the benefits. Job security is solid and company is well established.

    Cons

    Job sites tend to lean towards the rural side. Company morale is lacking due to poor management communication and increasing difficulties with staffing. An aging employee base with mass retirements and the judicious use of contractors at huge expense to the company.

    Exelon Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you very much for this helpful review. Exelon appreciates all feedback and we value your opinion. Thanks again!

Work at Exelon? Share Your Experiences

Exelon

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.