Exelon Reviews

Updated March 19, 2015
174 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Dead end job in security

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Byron, IL
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Byron, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    Job stability. Benefits; medical, dental, etc. Pay is above average.

    Cons

    Can be mandated to work overtime anytime; can't really plan activities on your days off. Will work nights for quite a number of years until you gain seniority. The management doesn't care about your personal life or your opinion. Seems like the rules are always changing. Procedures are in place but unfortunately left to personal interpretation. Equipment is old or broken; the environment is reactive instead of proactive. If in security dept., very difficult to transfer to another department, even if you have experience or qualifications. It's a "who you know" environment. Lots of cliques and seems like a lot of buddy-buddy environment. If you are what's considered an "outsider" your career will not flourish.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat employees like human beings. After all, they are your greatest asset.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Feb 5, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review. If you are willing, please email CorporateTalentAcquisition@exeloncorp.com to provide additional insight. Exelon appreciates and values your input ... More

  2. Plenty of opportunities!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Analyst
    Current Employee - Business Analyst

    I have been working at Exelon

    Pros

    Because of the company’s size there is usually plenty of entrance opportunities, with good compensation.

    Cons

    On the other side of coin, try to enter into the area you are interested in, moving from one job to another becomes difficult especially if you are good at your job.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Work harder at promoting from within.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Feb 5, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review. We value your feedback! Thanks again!

  3. A great company with its fair share of faults and challenges.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Industrial Cleaner in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Industrial Cleaner in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon

    Pros

    The pay is excellent. One of the few employers that still offer some college tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Many departments are understaffed and/or presented with so many challenges that it is hard to stay above the water.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep a positive attitude regardless of the seemingly endless uphill battle. Support those who are striving to succeed on a task and hold accountable those who do not. No more, "good ol boy" club.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Jan 21, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this helpful review! Exelon appreciates and values the opinions of our employees. Thanks again!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful

    Great resources, bad culture

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Exelon

    Pros

    Access to top notch modeling and risk systems. One of the largest energy trading platforms in the country.

    Cons

    No transparency on pay or performance. Poor morale in the trenches.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Lead the company as a meritocracy.

    Exelon Response

    Feb 19, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking your time to post this review. We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion. Thanks again!

  6. 1 person found this helpful

    Just OK

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Exelon

    Pros

    Pay, Work Life Balance, Benefits / Pension

    Cons

    Clique-ish, Career Opportunities, Integrity within leadership

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to people on the front lines

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Exelon Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Exelon values your opinion and we truly appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!

  7. Great benefits but low morale

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Operations
    Current Employee - Operations

    I have been working at Exelon

    Pros

    Compensation is great as are the benefits. Job security is solid and company is well established.

    Cons

    Job sites tend to lean towards the rural side. Company morale is lacking due to poor management communication and increasing difficulties with staffing. An aging employee base with mass retirements and the judicious use of contractors at huge expense to the company.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you very much for this helpful review. Exelon appreciates all feedback and we value your opinion. Thanks again!

  8. Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern

    I have been working at Exelon as an intern

    Pros

    Great culture and good pay with opportunities for personal growth

    Cons

    Possibly not enough work for to have a full day

    Recommends

    Exelon Response

    Nov 17, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review! If you have further suggestions please feel free to email CorporateTalentAcquisition@exeloncorp.com. Thanks again!

  9. 3 people found this helpful

    A culture rich with diversity & inclusion initiatives, career opportunities, caring for employees and communities.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakbrook Terrace, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    One of the best corporate orientations I have ever attended. People here are passionate about their work. There are alot of employees that come in and stay for their entire career. World class recruiting, diversity and inclusion initiatives, employee resource groups, training and development opportunities. They pay their employees very well and offer great benefits.

    Cons

    I am still new and learning about work-life balance in ComEd. You have to be in the office every day and in my department are required to stay until atleast 5:00 pm which is peak traffic time. . It is difficult to be home early enough to get dinner on the table help kids study for tests, attend kids activities. Would be nice to have a little more flexibility to come in earlier and leave earlier.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    There has been alot of training. There are alot of perks. I will have to see with more time how work life balance is.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Exelon Response

    Nov 4, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review! Exelon appreciates all of your hard work and we greatly value your input. Thanks again!

  10. Good Experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Exelon's employees are very committed and hard working. The team I work on is very collaborative, and I appreciate the opportunity for open dialogue and idea sharing. Exelon provides lots of opportunities to become involved in the community and is very generous with its policies on matching gifts and supporting employees who volunteer regularly. The company also offers generous compensation, benefits, and pension plans.

    Cons

    Exelon is a very large corporation with many subsidiary companies that often seem to operate in silos, so there is a missed opportunity to share practices, resources, and employees between the companies. Training opportunities are abundant at the leadership level, but less so for middle management.

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Nov 17, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate your input and value your opinion. Thanks again!

  11. Good compensation but it's a whirlwind

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lead Analyst IT
    Current Employee - Lead Analyst IT

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Good pay and benefits
    - Opportunities for advancement
    - Opportunities for employee development

    Cons

    - Constant change is chaotic and destabilizing
    - Overly ambitious, too much work
    - Corporate culture values PC veneer to authentic expression

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Slow down, stop expanding and changing all the time. Focus instead on simplifying and refining core businesses and functions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Exelon Response

    Nov 17, 2014Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review! Exelon values and appreciates the opinions of our employees. Thanks again!

Work at Exelon? Share Your Experiences

Exelon

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.