First Data Reviews

Updated March 27, 2015
666 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Tight ship

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Operations Representative in Monterey Park, CA
    Former Employee - Operations Representative in Monterey Park, CA

    I worked at First Data full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The work was very consistent. Most people were nice to work with. Management was fair regarding policies. Nice quiet location.

    Cons

    There was not a lot of opportunity for growth at this location. The work was very repetitive and you could get easily burned out because you still had to make quotas everyday.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Create more training opportunities for the employees and be more encouraging to those who want to grow. More incentives would be beneficial too.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    First Data Response

    Mar 12, 2015Community Manager

    There are many training and education opportunities in MindSpring. If you're not familiar with that resource or with other advancement opportunities at First Data, talk to your manager or email ... More

  2. 5 people found this helpful

    First Data

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at First Data full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    First Data provides opportunities to be part of the next generation of innovative payment system advances. The commitment to providing a secure environment for consumers to transact in the growing online and face-to-face marketplace is unequaled in this industry.

    Cons

    First Data is a very complex organization in part due to multiple acquisitions over the last couple decades. Integration of these systems is slowly progressing and has become more focused in recent years.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to look at the talent within the organization for key leadership roles

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 25, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. If you'd like to share additional comments, feel free to email us at employeecomms@firstdata.com.

  3. Great products, great employee's.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Operations in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Operations in Denver, CO

    I worked at First Data full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Company offers training and inspires personal growth.

    Cons

    Lots of leadership change which brought many, many changes in order to improve earnings and reduce debt. Employee benefits was greatly impacted along with morale.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Support your employee's.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Mar 10, 2015Community Manager

    Your review is curious. Efforts to “improve earnings and reduce debt” are, to most people, a pro, not a con. Everybody at First Data is a shareholder—an owner-associate of the company—and the value ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 5 people found this helpful

    Innovative At Times - Traditional At Times.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at First Data full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Innovative leader in the payments and tech industries. First Data partners with industry leaders. Many talented coworkers who are rewarding and enjoyable to work with. Great leadership team. Work life balance on point. Fair compensation and bonuses. Quality acquisitions and investments in the recent years (Clover, Perka, Gyft, etc.). A ton of potential.

    Cons

    Difficult to steer the inner workings of the company (HR, Politics, Compliance, Expense Reports, etc.). At times, departments can feel siloed and you feel like you're working for a dated company. Corporate priorities seem to be well thought out most of the time but occasionally can be thoughtless and last minute.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Upper management has done a great job steering this giant ship around and beginning the transformation into a leader in the financial and technology industries. If business moves that way then it makes sense to create a culture that follows. If young and talented prospects are wanted at First Data then the culture needs to change.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 25, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for your comments. We'd be interested in hearing more about your thoughts on the culture. Feel free to email employeecomms@firstdata.com.

  6. 6 people found this helpful

    Sometimes shaky, but overall solid career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at First Data full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company is going through a large turnaround. I enjoy being part of this opportunity. The new CEO and executive management have brought with them a significant cultural shift in the company. While some changes are hard to swallow, its easy to see the positive results when you look at the larger picture. I've been with the company through several CEOs and believe Frank is the right guy to lead this company out of the debt laden situation of the leveraged buyout to a profitable public company.

    Cons

    Change. Change is hard for anyone. This management committee has made some big changes at the employee level like ending 401k matching and implementing an expensive health insurance program . But they have also given all employees ownership in the company. While worth nothing today, the potential once vested after IPO is an exciting opportunity. So we wait and we do our part to help advance the company towards that day.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Fourth quarter 2014 we reported a profit. The first since 2007 I believe. If we continue on this path, as I believe we will, give the 24000 hard working employees a bone and reinstate 401k matching. Ownership is great. Combined with a match in retirement savings helps ensure we will have financial security later in life.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 18, 2015Community Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  7. 5 people found this helpful

    A chance to build something!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY

    I have been working at First Data full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Going through exciting change; best company in industry; we all own a piece of the company.

    Cons

    Undergoing a transformation so you should want to be a part of change.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More interaction with front line employees

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 17, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for your review and suggestion.

  8. 18 people found this helpful

    My experience of this company was not horrible until the last year or so that I was employed with the company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Chargeback Representative in Hagerstown, MD
    Former Employee - Chargeback Representative in Hagerstown, MD

    I worked at First Data full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    they do give their employees company stock

    Cons

    However the stock you have is worth nothing because it is not publicly traded

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If you get rid of the employees that are tenured, you may feel that you are going to be saving money but by hiring new people and training them, you are doing your clientele a disservice.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    First Data Response

    Feb 17, 2015Community Manager

    Sorry to hear that your experience wasn't positive. First Data is committed both to retaining good talent—as evidenced by our strong and highly tenured workforce—and to bringing in new talent. Having ... More

  9. 5 people found this helpful

    I worked at First Data

    Pros

    Flexible schedule with high income potential

    Cons

    Lack of ethics and poor client support

    First Data Response

    Mar 9, 2015Community Manager

    First Data expects all owner-associates to conduct themselves ethically and demonstrate genuine concern for our clients at all times.

  10. 4 people found this helpful

    Momentum is growing

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at First Data full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Financial progress, leadership delivering on the promise, massive accumulation of talent, clients want to hear what we are doing

    Cons

    Expectations are high and you need to be prepared to work hard

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't slow down, and make sure our promise of meritocracy is always delivered

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    First Data Response

    Feb 17, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your review.

  11. 11 people found this helpful

    Recent Reviews

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at First Data full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Recent reviews come from high positions and those new to firm. Veterans can have different impression. Loyal veterans love the firm and happy seeing long hard fought success. Vets have been strung along for years.

    Cons

    Vets not earning money as new co workers do. Time off not consistently given. Loss of days off last year hard on colleagues who value time off with their family. our firm does business all day every day why force specific holidays. Elitist atmosphere such as "VPs should get more time off than those at other ranks" contributes to disengagement in your rank and file. Easy for good colleagues to find a job elsewhere. We will be left with new bankers to run our complex firm. Not so easy to replace.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat tenured staff with respect and respect their viewpoint- ownership not as important to some who need money now to pay mortgage or value days off more than ownership. Think outside the 6 figure box and imagine work for average employees. Stop imposing rigid bank atmosphere:'low salaries, 6 foot cubicles with no place to put a jacket (we even had lockers in high school), ties on Fridays, to our technology firm and start appreciating the culture that paved the way for newcomers. It really is not all bad.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 23, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. If you'd like to comment further, we invite you to send email to employeecomms@firstdata.com.

Work at First Data? Share Your Experiences

First Data

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.