Fremont College

www.fremont.edu

Fremont College Reviews

Updated December 22, 2014
Updated December 22, 2014
27 Reviews
3.1
27 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Fremont College Chancellor and CEO Sabrina Kay
Sabrina Kay
12 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Big vision, big mission, big plans

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Fremont College full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Great colleagues to work with, extremely sophisticated and savvy, collaborative, and very nice people. I see it like a bunch of friends with similar likes yet uniquely different in their own way, working together to achieve an overall purpose. Its refreshing and stretching at the same time.

    Student affairs department does an amazing job interacting with the students, providing them with hope to succeed and reminding them that they can do a great job if they continue to work hard.

    Collaborative culture of care. CEO's vision drives the ship and anchors every effort - focused on offering students a new reality and empowering people through education and real opportunities.

    Cons

    So far so good. Hours can be wonky at times and traffic driving to LA is never the best but what can you do in LA? I couldn't find a helicopter for sale on Craigslist

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continual encouragement of the staff, allowing them to grow and do what they do best, and integrating the student experience along with their goals as one of the forefront core values

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  2. 2 people found this helpful  

    The most miserable and unethical period of my life while earning over $100k.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Director of Technology
    Former Employee - Director of Technology

    I worked at Fremont College full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    You can see the CEO Sabrina Kay walk onto campus after her Beverly Hills shopping spree with bags from luxury retailers while walking past an enrolled but homeless student. You can also work with condescending faculty with PhD's who demand you address them by Doctor first. You can get paid over six figures to watch Netflix all day long.

    Cons

    Most of the executive staff are highly inexperienced in running an ethical and efficient business. This organization acts corporate when it's convenient otherwise they are very unethical. I witnessed the CFO instruct the Director of Financial Aid to write an essay for a prospective student so they could guarantee enrollment and get their student loan money.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management is a joke....a highly unprofessional one.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Fremont College Response

    Dec 19, 2014Director of Human Resources

    We are very disturbed by your unfounded comments and personal attacks. It must be mentioned publicly on this forum that your comments regarding our CEO and CFO are false, malicious and personal. If ... More

  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Professional yet very unorganized

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Fremont College full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed working in an educational institution.. SOME of the staff and students were great to work with.

    Cons

    Very unorganized, lack of appropriate work space for staff, often feel overlooked, very difficult to educate upper management on necessary changes (often unavailable and/or close minded to the new options)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your staff.. they have suggestions for a reason.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Fremont College Response

    Dec 17, 2014Director of Human Resources

    We appreciate the comment and are disappointed that your experience was not pleasant. We do our very best to organize our workplace and listen to those who care to dialog with upper management ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    I'll Look Back Fondly

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Fremont College full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Very accessible management team who are open to new ideas. Very dedicated and hardworking staff. Although my position didn't work directly with students, from what I could tell, staff and faculty really seemed to care about each and everyone.

    Cons

    These weren't cons for me but potential new hires should be aware that this is a very fast paced environment. Things change quickly. If you do not like frequent change (for the better!) than maybe Fremont College is not for you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Thanks for the opportunity!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6.  

    Good company with nice working atmosphere.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Fremont College full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    people are nice and well educated.

    Cons

    no annual increase of salary or bonus

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7.  

    Positively positive experience at Fremont College

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Student Affairs in Cerritos, CA
    Current Employee - Student Affairs in Cerritos, CA

    I have been working at Fremont College full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    As described by even the negative comments, we do have great people working here and many are happy to come to work, enjoy company outings, and participate in our monthly forums. We make a big difference in our students' lives and the College is very mission-centered.

    Cons

    I think some people are more emotional than others and the company culture doesn't fit well with those who gossip and be negative.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Fremont College Response

    Jun 16, 2013Director of Human Resources

    We greatly appreciate this type of feedback as well as employees like you who bring a positive attitude to the workplace. The reason we are able to make a difference in students’ lives is because we ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    These positive reviews are an absolute scam (shame on you Fremont)

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Faculty
    Former Employee - Faculty

    I worked at Fremont College full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good to great faculty and some wonderful students that deserve better.

    Cons

    WHERE DO i START.

    As a long-time (and long suffering) former employee (and left on my own accord) I must say that these postive reviews put forth are an absolute scam and sad. This is by far one of the worst working enviornments that I have ever been a part of and its a tragedy the way the staff and the faculty is treated. The students deserve better.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    They never did listen before and why would they now. You are better off working at a concentration camp than working for this company.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Fremont College Response

    May 22, 2013Director of Human Resources

    It is obvious you were upset when you left us, but we had no idea how upset you were. I am disappointed that we did not have a chance to address the issues with you so that we could have taken the ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great working environment and great people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Marketing in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Fremont College full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    There is a lot of positive energy in the workplace; my coworkers are helpful and have a positive attitude, making Fremont College a pleasant place to work. I appreciate the teamwork and seeing the end product of everyone’s hard work and effort. We work as a team to overcome challenges and achieve goals.

    Cons

    It would be nice to have more company outings and get-togethers after work. It's a great way to get to know your co-workers.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Fremont College Response

    Apr 17, 2013Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the positive feedback. It’s people like you who bring positive energy to the workplace and make Fremont a great place to work. We realize that getting to know your co-workers is important ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Burning Question

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Fremont College

    Pros

    Again, easy freeway access. Free parking too.

    Cons

    Burning question... Just who does write all of the positive reviews? I hope they are well compensated for their efforts. And being allowed to maintain their employment doesn't count.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be sure to turn off the gas before you leave.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  11.  

    Making a difference in students' lives

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Fremont College full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The best part about working at Fremont College is the STUDENTS! Fremont College is a student-centered environment. Helping our students and making them feel 100% satisfied about being a part of the Fremont family is what I like most about my job. I truly enjoy fulfilling the needs of the students and making a difference in their lives, and I feel proud to work at Fremont College when I see students' lives change for the better.

    Cons

    Cross training in related departments might help everyone perform their duties better. Learning what others do is always interesting and helps everyone work better together.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Fremont College Response

    Feb 11, 2013Director of Operations

    We are pleased that you enjoy making a difference in students’ lives, as that is our main goal at Fremont College. We are proud to have people like you on our team. In terms of cross-training, we are ... More

Work at Fremont College? Share Your Experiences

Fremont College

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.