GE Aviation Reviews

Updated June 26, 2015
129 reviews filtered by
  • Cincinnati, OH Area
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset

129 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. An alright place to work.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EID Intern/Co-op in West Chester, OH
    Former Employee - EID Intern/Co-op in West Chester, OH

    I worked at GE Aviation full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good amount of networking opportunities. Pay for interns is relatively good.

    Cons

    Low expectations from superiors. Not enough work to keep interns occupied. Very slow moving culture.

    Advice to Management

    Make preparations for arriving employees before they come onsite.

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015 – Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Great feedback and advice! GE has recently made some steps into exactly what you are recommending. This is good feedback to encourage that we are moving in the right direction. Thanks!


  2. Outstanding Products, Training, and Co-Workers; You get out what you put in.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very exciting product and incredibly complex business. Opportunity to work with world class engineers and leaders. Excellent work-life balance if you want it. Good compensation. Comprehensive leadership training for those that desire it.

    Cons

    Slow computer systems; little accountability for under-performing team members; Many decisions made by committee; Potentially long and politically arduous path to executive ranks; Little to no performance based compensation if not executive.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to strive to move faster.

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015 – Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate platforms like Glassdoor to help us make GE better.


  3. Helpful (1)

    Have found my niche

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in West Chester, OH
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in West Chester, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Tremendous opportunity to grow, flex my skills. Great mentoring opportunities and the ability to make a difference. Strategic vision has placed company in a great spot for the next 5-10 years

    Cons

    Need to balance work vs. home life. GE can be the bottomless coffee cup if you let it. But GE does recognize the need for a quality home life and will respect your desire for that.

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015 – Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your feedback on this site. We know we always have room for improvement at GE. Transparent reviews and feedback like this will help us to continue to improve. We appreciate your pros ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. FMP

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FMP in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - FMP in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great learning experience; actively engaged in your development

    Cons

    Audit staff is the real career accelerator

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015 – Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your review. We love the transparent feedback we receive on this site.


  6. Helpful (1)

    Professional environment, lots of opportunity

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    GE really does hire and retain great people. Most everyone is very professional and pleasurable to work with. The company is so large that there's ample opportunity to follow different career aspirations. Compensation is above average.

    Cons

    Because GE is so results-driven, management can be very demanding sometimes unreasonable. Work-life balance can be a challenge because employees are expected to work long hours and meet seemingly arbitrary deadlines. When looking to move up in the company, things become very political and you must shift your focus from delivering quality work to pleasing the correct people and projecting the "right" image.

    Advice to Management

    Trust employees more to build goals and set own deadlines. They know much more about the projects and technologies than you do.


  7. Helpful (3)

    Great company which is dominating the marketplace in terms of technology and backlog.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications and Marketing in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Communications and Marketing in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Smart people, mature leadership team, incredible CEO, High performance, excellent media team

    Cons

    Hard to get beyond a point based on meritocracy. Too much of mutual admiration. We are good but not as good as we believe.

    Advice to Management

    Shake it up a bit. Go beyond the tried and trusted. You will be surprised. Also, more humility and less "bullying" should be tolerated. People invest a lot of time and effort and take pride in their work but some people get away with just being rude and obnoxious with others since they are in the "good graces" of the Comms leader. Also, lots of investment in youth at the expense of experience which leads to sense of entitlement.

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014 – Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your transparent feedback! We appreciate your response and will certainly include your feedback and advice in looking at ways to improve our company. Thanks!


  8. Exposed to various groups to work on projects as an Co-op/Intern

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Design Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Intern - Design Engineer in Cincinnati, OH

    I worked at GE Aviation as an intern (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    -Decent pay as an Co-op/Intern -Real life work that impacts the business on daily basis -Opportunity to apply to their prestigious EEDP program -Good support group for interns

    Cons

    -As seen any big company, flow of information is very restricted.

    Advice to Management

    -Keep up the good job so far.

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014 – Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Great feedback and advice! GE has recently made some steps into exactly what you are recommending. This is good feedback to encourage that we are moving in the right direction however have room for ... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    Great place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Mechanic (Union) in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Assembly Mechanic (Union) in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Pay, overtime, and duties are not strenuous

    Cons

    Generation gap and some conflict between older and younger workers

    Advice to Management

    Put people in positions that have experience, rather than running a company with 22-28 year olds

    GE Aviation Response

    Oct 24, 2014 – Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate platforms like Glassdoor to help us make GE better.


  10. Helpful (1)

    Engineering Intern

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Cincinnati, OH

    I worked at GE Aviation as an intern (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of great engineering experience that will prove valuable in the future Many resources to accomplish a variety of tasks Was given many projects, but only if I kept asking for more work Good people to look up to in higher management

    Cons

    Big corporate environment where many on my team worked only as much as they had to Impersonal to the point that my boss consistently mistakenly called me the wrong name, even after I completed many projects by the end of the internship Upward mobility is highly subjective according to other employee feedback and not laid out well Often left waiting for others to complete their portion of the task, which causes projects to fall behind schedule


  11. Helpful (2)

    Program Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - You will learn alot - You will be able to do as much as you can

    Cons

    - Dont pay the best - Stress will be high - Bureaucracy! - Change is slow



Showing 129 of 490 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.