GE Aviation

  www.geaviation.com
  www.geaviation.com

GE Aviation Reviews

Updated November 15, 2014
Updated November 15, 2014
387 Reviews
3.7
387 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
GE Aviation President and CEO David L. Joyce
David L. Joyce
212 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great place to work and lots of opportunities for personal growth and development (in 11 reviews)

  • Work-life balance is great, at least in my department (in 8 reviews)


Cons
  • Difficult to achieve any work-life balance, even at the beginning of your career (in 19 reviews)

  • Large company and you can be lost in the shuffle if you do not "buddy up" to the powers in charge (in 10 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Sourcing Co-op

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at GE Aviation as an intern

    Pros

    Great individuals to work with who are committed to delivering as much knowledge as possible during a short rotation. There are numerous opportunities to learn more about the aviation industry and the engines that GE builds

    Cons

    Given the complexities of sourcing there is a steep learning curve, but you have very knowledgable coworkers to counteract this.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your review and positive feedback! We appreciate you pointing out the good things going on within GE Aviation.

  2.  

    Company Review

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineering in Clearwater, FL
    Current Employee - Software Engineering in Clearwater, FL

    I have been working at GE Aviation as a contractor (less than an year)

    Pros

    Friendly people. Nice facilities. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    The Florida heat can be brutal.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    Excellent experience, Great People, Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Muskegon, MI
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Muskegon, MI

    I worked at GE Aviation as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    Laid back work environment everyone was very willing to help out and give advice.

    Cons

    There were no readily discussable cons to speak of, supervisor and work associates were excellent

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    No specific advice to give to management.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate platforms like Glassdoor to help highlight what's working within GE!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Very good company coming of age...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Sales in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Good steady people. Level leadership. Ambitious.

    Cons

    Too Conservative. Must continue to diversify to other OEM's

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Ensure there is an adequate balance of home grown vs outside talent in the top end in order to stay nimble.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your feedback on this site. We know we always have room for improvement at GE. Transparent reviews and feedback like this will help us to continue to improve. We appreciate your pros ... More

  6.  

    completed

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Wells, ME
    Former Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Wells, ME

    I worked at GE Aviation (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    always completed and believed mangers on top

    Cons

    happy with job and mangers on top

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    management has always wonderful

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your positive feedback! We truly value you pointing out the good things going on at GE!

  7.  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Leadership - Always looking for young talent.

    Cons

    Need to be willing to move.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Put younger potential leaders with more experienced ones. Far to many mistakes being made not having a mentor for the fast burners.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your pros, cons and advice! We will make sure to use this advice to make GE a better work place.

  8.  

    Engineering Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineering Co-Op in Ronkonkoma, NY
    Current Employee - Engineering Co-Op in Ronkonkoma, NY

    I have been working at GE Aviation as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    You get off to a quick start with lots of individual projects to work on. You get a decent amount of autonomy which makes it easy to excel and show off your skills.

    Cons

    I did not feel that I was surrounded by people I could learn from. Most of the engineers I dealt with were either incompetent or complacent. That being said, it was probably just the site I ended up at.

    No opinion of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your transparent feedback! We appreciate your response and will certainly include your feedback and advice in looking at ways to improve our company. Thanks!

  9.  

    Plenty of work and steady work

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Aviation

    Pros

    Job security, good vacation,alot of discounts

    Cons

    To many restrictions when it comes to eating on the floor,and when it comes to safety they try to be to safe which actually make the job more dangerous. Insurance is going down hill fast.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Let the employees do their job

  10.  

    Exposed to various groups to work on projects as an Co-op/Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Cincinnati, OH

    I worked at GE Aviation as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    -Decent pay as an Co-op/Intern
    -Real life work that impacts the business on daily basis
    -Opportunity to apply to their prestigious EEDP program
    -Good support group for interns

    Cons

    -As seen any big company, flow of information is very restricted.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    -Keep up the good job so far.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Great feedback and advice! GE has recently made some steps into exactly what you are recommending. This is good feedback to encourage that we are moving in the right direction however have room for ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Intern at GE Aviation (Evendale, OH)

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Evendale, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Evendale, OH

    I worked at GE Aviation as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    Good, motivated people. Compensation as intern (engineering) was excellent. Interns were involved in some of the most ambitious projects that the company is working on.

    Cons

    The work site is atrocious. Very dull buildings. Many people (engineers, administrators, technicians) have to work underground. That can be demoralizing when it's sunny outside.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I think you could attract even more talent by improving the facilities.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Nov 22, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Great feedback and advice! GE has recently made some steps into exactly what you are recommending. This is good feedback to encourage that we are moving in the right direction!

Work at GE Aviation? Share Your Experiences

GE Aviation

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.