GE Aviation

www.geaviation.com

GE Aviation Reviews

Updated January 29, 2015
Updated January 29, 2015
413 Reviews
3.8
413 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
GE Aviation President and CEO David L. Joyce
David L. Joyce
227 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great place to work and lots of opportunities for personal growth and development (in 11 reviews)

  • Work-life balance is great, at least in my department (in 8 reviews)


Cons
  • Difficult to achieve any work-life balance, even at the beginning of your career (in 19 reviews)

  • Large company and you can be lost in the shuffle if you do not "buddy up" to the powers in charge (in 10 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

     

    Challenging and Supportive Environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very focused on leadership development and challenging roles to grow career
    Very supportive team and leadership environment

    Cons

    Challenging work / life balance
    Expectation to relocate to grow career

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you so much for your review. We value the feedback on this site. There are good things going on at GE... thank you for pointing that out!

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to gain experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Aviation

    Pros

    GE is a great place to work for a young engineer. I feel like through the Co-Op/Intern program I have both grown as an engineer as well as a person. Some of my most highly regarded mentors are people that I worked with at GE. It is a great place to meet leaders and learn about Aircraft Engines.

    Cons

    Sometimes the sheer size of GE can be overwhelming. As a 20 year old college student starting my first rotation with GE, I felt like what I was doing wasn't being recognized. This is simply due to the massive infrastructure that is GE.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep focusing on the Co-Op program. This is the program that feeds the future leaders of GE. Also, make sure operators and laborers understand they are important. Nothing worse than having one of the largest and greatest companies in the world and having the people who make the products feel like their opinions aren't heard.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your transparent feedback! We appreciate your response and will certainly include your feedback and advice in looking at ways to improve our company. Thanks!

  3.  

    Cool

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Aviation

    Pros

    Cool place to work loved it

    Cons

    To big for little old mr

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Ns

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Piedmont, SC
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Piedmont, SC

    I have been working at GE Aviation

    Pros

    Overall it's an impressive place to work. I feel a since of pride being an employee.

    Cons

    Constant management changes in every position.Makes me wonder if they aren't seeing a good future for the company itself. I wonder about the job security.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Make the right decisions for the company regardless of the complaints! Just keep our job security!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your transparent feedback! We appreciate your response and will certainly include your feedback and advice in looking at ways to improve our company. Thanks!

  6.  

    Outstanding Products, Training, and Co-Workers; You get out what you put in.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very exciting product and incredibly complex business. Opportunity to work with world class engineers and leaders. Excellent work-life balance if you want it. Good compensation. Comprehensive leadership training for those that desire it.

    Cons

    Slow computer systems; little accountability for under-performing team members; Many decisions made by committee; Potentially long and politically arduous path to executive ranks; Little to no performance based compensation if not executive.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to strive to move faster.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate platforms like Glassdoor to help us make GE better.

  7.  

    Great people and great place to learn.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Lynn, MA
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Lynn, MA

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    As far as big corporations go, GE's one of the best out there for best places to work at based on:
    -opportunities for professional growth
    -a bunch of smart people to learn from
    -they put a lot of emphasis on right work/life balance

    Cons

    Don't expect best salaries in the industry.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Do more to cut red tape.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate platforms like Glassdoor to help us make GE better.

  8.  

    assemble experimental airplane harnesses communicate with ME to correct instructions discrepancies

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Production Associate III in Jacksonville, FL
    Current Employee - Production Associate III in Jacksonville, FL

    I have been working at GE Aviation

    Pros

    relocating to Tennessee with my husband and I have 17 years working for GE in Jacksonville Fl. and I would like to retire from the company

    Cons

    I would like to be train in every job available I am a fast learner and easy to get along with my co workers

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I always prefer Quality before Quantity

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9.  

    Something

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Pilot in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - Pilot in Sacramento, CA

    I have been working at GE Aviation

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with the people there

    Cons

    Not enough action daily for employees

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Go here, they're great.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your feedback and advise!

  10.  

    FMP

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - FMP in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - FMP in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great learning experience; actively engaged in your development

    Cons

    Audit staff is the real career accelerator

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Jan 29, 2015Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your review. We love the transparent feedback we receive on this site.

  11.  

    Nice place to be

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Intern in Grand Prairie, TX
    Current Employee - Intern in Grand Prairie, TX

    I have been working at GE Aviation as an intern (less than a year)

    Pros

    Best place to learn experience and develop your career

    Cons

    Can't think of any, alots of intelligent people on board
    You don't get noticed with your effort by higher management

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be friendlier, so more people will be working for you

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at GE Aviation? Share Your Experiences

GE Aviation

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.