GE Aviation

  www.geaviation.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

GE Aviation Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.5 342 reviews

83% Approve of the CEO

GE Aviation President and CEO David L. Joyce

David L. Joyce

(185 ratings)

70% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • There's lots of opportunities to grow as an engineering student(in 14 reviews)

  • Work-life balance is great, at least in my department(in 8 reviews)


Cons
  • Difficult to achieve any work-life balance, even at the beginning of your career(in 14 reviews)

  • Large company and you can be lost in the shuffle if you do not "buddy up" to the powers in charge(in 10 reviews)

342 Employee Reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Excellent

    Product Support Supervisor (Current Employee) Dayton, OH

    ProsBenefits, empowerment, security, Pay, Growth

    ConsAttrition, training, some leadership, Investing in capital,

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Aviation Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    Thank you so much for your review. We always strive to make GE better. We appreciate your response.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    You learn a lot interning here. It's a great experience

    ITLP Intern (Current Employee)

    ProsWork hours are very flexible, and people are always willing to help. Also the pay is great for an internship.

    ConsThere is more opportunites for engineers than IT.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    NPI Engineering Co-op at GE Aviation

    Engineering Co-Op (Former Employee) Newark, DE

    ProsTraining and opportunity to learn is good, with an opportunity to work directly with the product. During my short co-op, I was given similar responsibility as the salaried engineers. The work was fun, interesting, cutting edge, and challenging.

    ConsAlthough GE is a large company, it is sometimes hard to obtain the hardware, tools, and/or software needed for the job. Sometimes there is a disconnect between engineers, management, and designers.

    Advice to Senior ManagementMake sure to talk with everyone, from technicians to engineers to designers, on a regular basis.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Aviation Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We are always trying to make a 'large company' smaller. Feedback like this will help us to pin point areas we can target. We really appreciate your review!
  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Thinking Forward To Maintain Plant

    Maintenance Mechanic Supervisor (Current Employee) Exeter, NH

    ProsThinking Forward To Maintain Plant

    Conscommunications with productions needs and maintenance Shifting Mechanical / electrical manpower supporting

    Advice to Senior ManagementOperations and Maintenance Teamed

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Aviation Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    Thank you so much for your review and advice. We will certainly consider this feedback as we always look to improve.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Good

    Mechanical Design Engineer (Current Employee) Cincinnati, OH

    Proschallenging, good support for women

    Conslong work hours, too much emphasis on meeting quarterly numbers

    Advice to Senior Managementna

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    GE Aviation Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    Thank you so much for your transparent feedback. We are always looking to simplify and improve the experience for your career at GE.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Intern

    EID Intern/Co-op (Current Employee) Everett, WA

    ProsPositive helpful community; personable people.

    ConsTedious onboarding and this is the buggiest site ever

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    GE Aviation Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    Thank you so much for your review and advice. We will certainly consider this feedback as we always look to improve our onboarding and candidate experience process.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Engineering Co-op with GE Aviation - PIC

    Controls Engineer (Former Employee) Cincinnati, OH

    ProsGreat work environment, lots of younger people and events to get to know co-workers. Always busy at work.

    ConsLots of hoops to jump through when getting company access to software or files.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    GE Aviation Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    We appreciate your feedback. We will certainly consider this feedback as we always look to improve.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    GE Aviation

    Mechanical Design Engineer (Current Employee) Victorville, CA

    ProsPaid charity work, good health & wellness programs, friendly co-workers.

    ConsNot always efficient, documentation processes are tedious.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Aviation Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    Thank you so much for your feedback from Victorville! Please know the work that you do there is so appreciated across the company! We appreciate the transparent feedback and will take this into ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great place to work

    Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) Manchester, CT

    ProsGood benefits, great learning exposures, plenty of opportunity to further career

    ConsIt's a big company so generally it is not so easy to make the name heard all the way up to the higher management.

    Advice to Senior ManagementStop giving employee numbers and call them with their names and recognize their contribution.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Aviation Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    We really appreciate your review. We currently know one of the areas we can improve is to make a big company smaller. Thank you for this feedback.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    This is a great company to work for if you want to live a comfortable life and nothing more.

    Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee) Cincinnati, OH

    ProsFair compensation
    Works hard on continuous improvement
    Leadership courses
    Pay for grad school 100%
    Decent benefits

    ConsOverworked
    Work/Life Balance
    Promotions seem based more on favoritism than merit
    Positions are fairly narrowly scoped due to the company size making job satisfaction difficult at times

    Advice to Senior ManagementTreat everyone fairly

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    GE Aviation Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 24, 2014

    We appreciate your review. It is so helpful to have feedback such as this to make GE a better place to work. Thank you for the transparent outline and thoughts.

Worked for GE Aviation? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.