GE Aviation Reviews

Updated October 21, 2014
Updated October 21, 2014
372 Reviews
3.7
372 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
GE Aviation President and CEO David L. Joyce
David L. Joyce
205 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great place to work and lots of opportunities for personal growth and development (in 11 reviews)

  • consider discussing: work-life balance, compensation, office culture (in 9 reviews)


Cons
  • Difficult to achieve any work-life balance, even at the beginning of your career (in 19 reviews)

  • Very large company - can be easy to get lost in the sea of employees (in 10 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    GE Aviation

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Newark, DE
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Newark, DE

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Great place to work and lots of opportunities for personal growth and development

    Cons

    A little too much by the book. Everything has a specific procedure and lots of paperwork to go with it.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Oct 24, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your feedback. We are always interested in how to make GE Aviation a better place to work.

  2.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Assembly Mechanic (Union) in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Assembly Mechanic (Union) in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Pay, overtime, and duties are not strenuous

    Cons

    Generation gap and some conflict between older and younger workers

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Put people in positions that have experience, rather than running a company with 22-28 year olds

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Oct 24, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate platforms like Glassdoor to help us make GE better.

  3.  

    Global Opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Grand Rapids, MI
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Grand Rapids, MI

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Fair compensation and decent vacation, health and support benefits based on service. Defined contribution retirement. Global opportunities where top performers with the right placement can go as far as they want. Training is career path oriented - continuing education available. Compliance and integrity expected and maintained from the top to the bottom. Plenty of affinity and internal support groups and exemplary GE community support (GE volunteers).

    Cons

    It is a huge company interested in engaging the entire workforce where it can - sometime tasks are distributed to the point there is more managing than doing. Easy to become a cog. It seems every operation has been six-sigma examined and optimized. Global and finely detailed processes in each function makes it difficult to be proficient across functional silos.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to Ranjay and bridge the silos

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Oct 24, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your feedback on this site. We know we always have room for improvement at GE. Transparent reviews and feedback like this will help us to continue to improve. We appreciate your pros ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5.  

    Excellent, wide variety of opportunities for career growth on a variety of engines, hardware types, design cycles.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer/Technologist in West Chester, OH
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer/Technologist in West Chester, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Satisfaction in utilizing technical skill. Mentorship by other technical leaders. Team leadership.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy. Presenting the same pitch to multiple levels of management. Demanding work/life balance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire technical managers more often than "well networked" managers who lack either technical or managerial skill.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 30, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your transparent feedback! We appreciate your response and will certainly include your feedback and advice in looking at ways to improve our company. Thanks!

  6.  

    Great People and unprofessional management in Bohemia

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Engineer in Bohemia, NY
    Former Employee - Engineer in Bohemia, NY

    I worked at GE Aviation full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people and engagement activities. The paid overtime for salary workers was great, too. Other sites seemed to work better.

    Cons

    Poor procedures and lack of clear direction. The work/life balance is dismal and the expectations are stressful with no support to achieve plausible goals. Everyone does their own thing with no regard to documenting what they do - tribal knowledge reigns. No accountability.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Reduce engagement and focus on value added work to make making a profit the top priority for the short term, at least. Quit with all the Goals that all consider a joke just to appease management. Let managers measure success along with results, not timed reviews.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  7.  

    Engineering Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH

    I worked at GE Aviation as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    Lots of great engineering experience that will prove valuable in the future
    Many resources to accomplish a variety of tasks
    Was given many projects, but only if I kept asking for more work
    Good people to look up to in higher management

    Cons

    Big corporate environment where many on my team worked only as much as they had to
    Impersonal to the point that my boss consistently mistakenly called me the wrong name, even after I completed many projects by the end of the internship
    Upward mobility is highly subjective according to other employee feedback and not laid out well
    Often left waiting for others to complete their portion of the task, which causes projects to fall behind schedule

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
  8.  

    Program Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    - You will learn alot
    - You will be able to do as much as you can

    Cons

    - Dont pay the best
    - Stress will be high
    - Bureaucracy!
    - Change is slow

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9.  

    Mad rush to deliver numbers

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Analyst in West Chester, OH
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Analyst in West Chester, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Smart People, Promotions, Lateral movements, Work Environment

    Cons

    Work-life balance, No bonus or rewards, Highly Metrics oriented

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Run the business on the basis of economics and not to deliver quarterly result

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    Great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time

    Pros

    Inclusive leadership team. Very intelligent people to work with

    Cons

    Healthcare plan changes in recent years

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 30, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your feedback on this site. We know we always have room for improvement at GE. Transparent reviews and feedback like this will help us to continue to improve. We appreciate your pros ... More

  11.  

    UDC Student Software Engineer Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - UDC Student Engineer in Manhattan, KS
    Current Employee - UDC Student Engineer in Manhattan, KS

    I have been working at GE Aviation as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    Very friendly environment. Everyone is great to work with. Pay is very competitive for internships. The training process is thorough. Coworkers are more than happy to help you. Hours are very flexible, and allows for remoting in from home. Paid philanthropy's to do charity work for the community. The management is great, and provides explanation whenever necessary.

    Cons

    Work is monotonous, and programming languages are outdated. Most of the programming is auto testing flight management software. This corporation is huge, so it's a constant hurry up and stop feeling the entire way.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I was very pleased with the management.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 30, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your transparent feedback! We appreciate your response and will certainly include your feedback and advice in looking at ways to improve our company. Thanks!

Work at GE Aviation? Share Your Experiences

GE Aviation

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.