GE Aviation Reviews

Updated September 26, 2014
Updated September 26, 2014
364 Reviews
3.7
364 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
GE Aviation President and CEO David L. Joyce
David L. Joyce
199 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • There's lots of opportunities to grow as an engineering student (in 10 reviews)

  • Work-life balance is great, at least in my department (in 9 reviews)


Cons
  • Difficult to achieve any work-life balance, even at the beginning of your career (in 16 reviews)

  • Large company and you can be lost in the shuffle if you do not "buddy up" to the powers in charge (in 10 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Excellent, wide variety of opportunities for career growth on a variety of engines, hardware types, design cycles.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer/Technologist  in  West Chester, OH
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer/Technologist in West Chester, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Satisfaction in utilizing technical skill. Mentorship by other technical leaders. Team leadership.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy. Presenting the same pitch to multiple levels of management. Demanding work/life balance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire technical managers more often than "well networked" managers who lack either technical or managerial skill.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 30, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your transparent feedback! We appreciate your response and will certainly include your feedback and advice in looking at ways to improve our company. Thanks!

  2.  

    Great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time

    Pros

    Inclusive leadership team. Very intelligent people to work with

    Cons

    Healthcare plan changes in recent years

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 30, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your feedback on this site. We know we always have room for improvement at GE. Transparent reviews and feedback like this will help us to continue to improve. We appreciate your pros ... More

  3.  

    UDC Student Software Engineer Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - UDC Student Engineer  in  Manhattan, KS
    Current Employee - UDC Student Engineer in Manhattan, KS

    I have been working at GE Aviation as an intern for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly environment. Everyone is great to work with. Pay is very competitive for internships. The training process is thorough. Coworkers are more than happy to help you. Hours are very flexible, and allows for remoting in from home. Paid philanthropy's to do charity work for the community. The management is great, and provides explanation whenever necessary.

    Cons

    Work is monotonous, and programming languages are outdated. Most of the programming is auto testing flight management software. This corporation is huge, so it's a constant hurry up and stop feeling the entire way.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I was very pleased with the management.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 30, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your transparent feedback! We appreciate your response and will certainly include your feedback and advice in looking at ways to improve our company. Thanks!

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Great experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Finance Co-Op  in  Durham, NC
    Former Employee - Finance Co-Op in Durham, NC

    I worked at GE Aviation as an intern for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment
    Great people
    Flexible around my school schedule
    I really enjoyed my time at G E Aviation
    And would recommend it to anyone

    Cons

    Work day starts at 7 am
    But other than that I have no complaints about my experience at G E Aviation

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up what you are doing

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 30, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you so much for your review! There are great things going on at GE... great to see that our employees see them as well!

  6.  

    Great Experience! Well Structured Company that makes every employee happy

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation as an intern for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone you work with is always willing to help no matter how busy they might be with their own work.

    Cons

    If you do not take network and take initiative to meet other employees you might get stuck in a small group and not know what is going on elsewhere in the company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Improve retention rate on interns

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 30, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you so much for your review. We value the feedback on this site. There are good things going on at GE... thank you for pointing that out!

  7.  

    Lead Design Engineer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Lead Engineer  in  Lynn, MA
    Former Employee - Lead Engineer in Lynn, MA

    I worked at GE Aviation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    GE Aviation offers a great possible breadth of work experience and internal training
    GE has tuition reimbursement for higher degrees
    The workplace is generally a meritocracy, with nearly all employees interested in doing their jobs well
    For a design engineer, there are a broad array of challenging parts that need to be designed

    Cons

    Department determines what type of work you get, there are good and bad departments
    Company has a huge amount of bureaucracy and some double work (engineers and drafters both make models)
    Workload is program dependent and management often puts in too short of a schedule, making it engineering's problem
    Crushing hours on some new product programs, 80-90 hrs/week at times with no bonuses or appreciation for exceptional effort
    Evendale, OH and Lynn, MA employees are compensated the same amount (cost of living much higher in Boston)
    Management stresses cost and schedule deliverable but does not place emphasis on employee development or job satisfaction

    I view GE as a very good place to work, but one needs to be very proactive. GE would be glad to pay you minimum wage and have you grind away on work at your desk, never giving you a higher title or significantly higher pay. If you work there you need to be actively seeking out your next position which will challenge you more than your current position. Otherwise you will get defaulted into the same role and no development, and have too much work put on your shoulders.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on developing and rotating employees more.
    Identify what will keep employees working at GE, and focus on keeping them challenged and on a development path.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 23, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your review . We are trying to use new platforms such as Glassdoor to collect transparent feedback and make changes to continue to make GE better. We appreciate your review and comments ... More

  8.  

    Engineering intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Aviation as an intern

    Pros

    Fun and challenging assignments that relate to your field of study, very helpful staff, and a great place to get to know more people. I really enjoyed my time there and got to learn a lot.

    Cons

    None that I noticed. I interned for three months and enjoyed my time there

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None specifically. Everyone seemed to be doing there job well.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 23, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you so much for your review. We value the feedback on this site. There are good things going on at GE... thank you for pointing that out!

  9.  

    Good company to work for. Pays well, positive work environment, understanding of personal life and time needs.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op  in  West Chester, OH
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op in West Chester, OH

    I worked at GE Aviation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was offered challenging projects that helped me understand the business. The people I worked with were friendly and always happy to help with what I needed. Boss was understanding when I needed time off for the death of a friend.

    Cons

    Was not made a part of a group as much as I would have liked. Not that I was ostracized, but most of my projects were done solo, which didn't necessarily offer the most room for learning

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 23, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your feedback on this site. We know we always have room for improvement at GE. Transparent reviews and feedback like this will help us to continue to improve.

  10.  

    Mad rush to deliver numbers

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Analyst  in  West Chester, OH
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Analyst in West Chester, OH

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart People, Promotions, Lateral movements, Work Environment

    Cons

    Work-life balance, No bonus or rewards, Highly Metrics oriented

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Run the business on the basis of economics and not to deliver quarterly result

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11.  

    GE

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Product Support Engineer  in  Lynn, MA
    Former Employee - Product Support Engineer in Lynn, MA

    I worked at GE Aviation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    consider discussing: work-life balance, compensation, office culture

    Cons

    consider discussing: leadership, personal growth, perks

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Consider discussing: leadership, personal Growth, perks

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Aviation Response

    Sep 4, 2014Recruiting Coordinator/ Talent Recruitment Social Media/ Event Planning

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate platforms like Glassdoor to help us make GE better.

Worked for GE Aviation? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.