GE Healthcare

  www.gehealthcare.com
  www.gehealthcare.com

GE Healthcare Reviews

Updated December 20, 2014
Updated December 20, 2014
1,024 Reviews
3.4
1,024 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John L. Flannery
18 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great potential for good work/life balance depending on which team you are on (in 73 reviews)

  • There is no accountability, so you can basically take off or work from home at your leisure (in 31 reviews)


Cons
  • At times unreal expectations from the boss makes it very difficult to manage work-life balance (in 70 reviews)

  • No work life balance; said I'd travel 10-20% and it was 50-70% of my time (in 13 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Overall great experience and employer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous
    Former Employee - Anonymous

    I worked at GE Healthcare

    Pros

    Quality people, great products, quality stable company

    Cons

    Very large company so communication sometimes an issue

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 18, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing your opinion.

  2.  

    If you have the opportunity to work for this division, you should.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Sales Specialist
    Current Employee - Product Sales Specialist

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great Culture, Great People, Great Products. Committed to being the best in what they do and an organization that you know is going to be around forever. A place I am proud to work for.

    Cons

    Red Tape, Can be difficult to do business with customers. You will need the ability to manage your internal relationships just as you do external relationships. You are truly a relationship liaison to protect customers from the bureaucracy that may be going on internally.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    N/A

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 18, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for providing your feedback.

  3.  

    Very frustrating work environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you like to stay busy, there is plenty of work to do. There are many folks on the front lines that do truly care about the customer.

    Cons

    No training. No clear path for growth. Constantly reorganizing. Always trying to do more with less. No balance between work and home life.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Formulate a plan and stick to it for a while. As the old saying goes..."Rome was not built in a day". Constant change is demoralizing to employees and gives the customer the impression that you do not have your act together. Use stats as a roadmap for what needs to be changed/improved, not as punishment.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Oct 29, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    We appreciate your feedback as we continue to work on making GEHC an employer of choice.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    More talk, less action

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Waukesha, WI
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Waukesha, WI

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great talent - highly under utilized
    Great processes - on paper
    Great training opportunities

    Cons

    Leaders not in for the long haul - make changes short term to make their resume look great and jump roles.
    Highly matrix - to the point of no accountability
    Poor out of box quality - focus on time to market over robustness of design

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Spend less time on reviews (and PPTs), and more time on doing actual work
    Make decisions and don't suffer from analysis - paralysis
    Hire leaders who are knowledgeable about business they are leading

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  6.  

    Abused by constant complaints of veteran employees, referred to as a Scab stealing someone's job.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Production in Waukesha, WI
    Former Employee - Production in Waukesha, WI

    I worked at GE Healthcare part-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    I was paid very well, the work was easy but detailed.

    Cons

    Huge favoritism towards individuals by team leaders, unprofessional manners by veteran coworkers.
    Experienced physical and verbal abuse personally'

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't allow your 20 year + people to ruin it for others' nothing worse then hearing bad things about the company you just chose to work for by their own Union Stewart constantly. Detox your environment, companies that allow bad behavior to thrive in tight areas reap nothing! Production suffers and so does morale. Quit favoring those who are stagnant and recongnize those who produce with detailed accuracy Consistantly. At first I was honered and felt humbled to work for a company I have grown to know throughout my entire life, but the very first week was an eye opener. Regardless of my attempts to avoid and detach myself from all the gossip within the company I found it right back in my face day after day. I have worked in Prodution Manufacturing for more then 30 years and have never experienced such unprofessional and inexcusable behavior by other coworkers and management as well because they never addressed these issues and still haven't
    today after talking with a good friend who is still employed there today.

    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    change

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Global Product Manager
    Current Employee - Global Product Manager

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    work-life balance, no micromanagement, flexible hours

    Cons

    this is a company that does not know what to do in this branch, they are mechanics, salespeople, they have no business being in healthcare

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    learn healthcare business don't concentrate on the immeadiate profit only

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 13, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    We appreciate your insight. Thank you.

  8.  

    If your "in", it's a good place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Global opportunities for employment, work-life balance is good but it depends on your manager. I have seen people move from interns to upper management very fast coming out of the handpicked leadership programs.

    Cons

    I am exposed to many layers of the company from the bottom to the top and many people feel they are not valued by their managers. There are layoffs almost every year to deliver the bottom line to parent GE. These are needed because of over-commitments and overly optimistic business analytics. If you didn't go through the leadership programs right out of college, you have a slow path to the top.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be honest with your teams and don't over-commit on revenue in a difficult market.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 13, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback; one of our new beliefs is staying lean to go fast. We continue to work towards improving our processes and staying focused.

  9.  

    GE Healthcare Lifesciences bedeviled by personnel from former acquisitions

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager in Piscataway, NJ
    Former Employee - Manager in Piscataway, NJ

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work-Life balance: Favored employees are allowed to abuse medical time off and work from home policies. If you are competent and conscientious at your job, or you are from a newly acquired company, you will not be a favored employee.
    Benefits: The GE benefits package is very good if you can keep your position.
    Perks: If your personal agenda coincides with that of a Manager, GE will allow you to pursue it during work hours.

    Cons

    GE Lifesciences doesn't develop new products; it advances itself by acquiring companies. Unfortunately, personnel from GE's acquisition of Amersham in 2005 have not accepted the acquisitions as opportunity; they have instead viewed any new acquisition as a threat to their view that "It was better before GE took us over' (direct quote). They are in position to target new personnel for dismissal and do so. There is absolutely no emphasis on "Talent Retention". Advancement opportunities are denied to new acquisitions; training in GE procedures is minimal; if you try to move within GE the former Amersham personnel will try to block any such move.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Changing the prevailing corporate culture of Amersham personnel suppressing new acquisitions will require the drastic measure of firing former Amersham personnel that have had any supervisory capacity.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 13, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Your feedback is valuable to us, thank you for sharing your experience.

  10.  

    Program Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    People are dedicated and passionate of product being developed

    Cons

    Challenging market landscape for the product life cycle.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need clear strategy to get employee to focus on execution of critical projects. Too many divergence of development resources. Over commits to customers is straining business and engineering execution.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 18, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing.

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    I have been at GE Healthcare for 10 years.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Healthcare

    Pros

    Good salary, good benefits and a company that cares.

    Cons

    I dislike punching a time clock.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Trust your people to be honest in all their dealings.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 18, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    You have some longevity with us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Work at GE Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

GE Healthcare

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.