GE Healthcare

  www.gehealthcare.com
  www.gehealthcare.com

GE Healthcare Reviews

Updated December 20, 2014
Updated December 20, 2014
1,025 Reviews
3.4
1,025 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John L. Flannery
19 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great potential for good work/life balance depending on which team you are on (in 73 reviews)

  • There is no accountability, so you can basically take off or work from home at your leisure (in 31 reviews)


Cons
  • At times unreal expectations from the boss makes it very difficult to manage work-life balance (in 70 reviews)

  • No work life balance; said I'd travel 10-20% and it was 50-70% of my time (in 13 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Engineering

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    A fast learning and growing up environment, many great colleagues to work with, lots of opportunities and challenges in your daily work, the training system and resource is excellent.

    Cons

    Workload, pace, pressure.... in most cases similar to consultant I would say.

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 18, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    We appreciate your feedback.

  2.  

    Overall enjoyable experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Validation and Verification Engineer in Madison, WI
    Current Employee - Validation and Verification Engineer in Madison, WI

    I have been working at GE Healthcare as a contractor (more than an year)

    Pros

    Very flexible work hours.
    Very casual work environment.
    Pay was comparable to similar jobs.

    Cons

    Lack of long term employment opportunity.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Dec 2, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    We appreciate your feedback.

  3.  

    CLP Internship

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - CLP in Milwaukee, WI
    Former Employee - CLP in Milwaukee, WI

    I worked at GE Healthcare as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    Independence, skill improvement, group and individual tasks, great pay, awesome networking opportunities

    Cons

    "GE Robot"- becoming a suit, highly competitive aspects

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    inspire your teams

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Dec 2, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing. On an interesting note - reading your advice to management - you might be interested to know that we recently launched our new GE Beliefs (how we work together and service our ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Overall good...when times are good.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Wauwatosa, WI
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Wauwatosa, WI

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Vast opportunities in many different areas once you get your foot in the door.

    Cons

    Leadership/Management promotes in their likeness, resulting in one dimensional executives. Which is fine when all is going well. If they all lack vision and the ability to course correct in difficult times, it makes the business weaker than it really is.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop promoting in "your" likeness and pedigree. Sometimes substance is better than style.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 18, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate hearing from people that have some longevity with the company.

  6.  

    Great learning experience!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Engineer
    Former Employee - Engineer

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Huge company, networking opportunities, get to learn various aspects of the healthcare business

    Cons

    Hard to have good work-family balance with work load

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Dec 2, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing your experience.

  7.  

    Program Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    People are dedicated and passionate of product being developed

    Cons

    Challenging market landscape for the product life cycle.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need clear strategy to get employee to focus on execution of critical projects. Too many divergence of development resources. Over commits to customers is straining business and engineering execution.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 18, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing.

  8.  

    GE review

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE Healthcare

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Lot of corporate play. Difficult to fathom if not aware.

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 18, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    We appreciate your feedback.

  9.  

    Lots of work, some internal processes are cumbersome

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Supplier Quality Engineer in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Supplier Quality Engineer in Milwaukee, WI

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good people, will learn leadership and influencing skills

    Cons

    Health benefits are not great, opportunities to move up are limited in the US. Work life balance is affected due to global nature of business

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take a little more time to understand processes

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Nov 18, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    We appreciate your feedback as we continue to make GE an employer of choice.

  10.  

    Offers entry to the multinational conglomerate

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elizabeth, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elizabeth, NJ

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Deep pockets/ resource rich/ global reach. Relative stability & security. Affords chance to explore meaning of
    modern organization extending world-wide. Dynamic upper level management.

    Cons

    limited individual opportunities / flip side of global is being remote "outpost" / company motto...imagination at work
    not applicable here.../ a healthcare company which reduces employee medical benefits seems insecure of its own
    future.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    ultimately, healthcare is delivered one patient at a time: let us shape our efforts for innovation and growth ever
    mindful to help those tending our ill.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Oct 29, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts as we continue to work to make GEHC an employer of choice focused on the customer. We recently brought to the forefront our new GE Beliefs which target internal ... More

  11.  

    Management Issues

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at GE Healthcare (less than an year)

    Pros

    While I worked at GE I received little help managing my shop from my District manager, but that created an environment for high paced learning of systems and operations.

    Cons

    Management wouldn't provide overtime for times of large workload. Management would rather pull technicians from other shops who are also behind on services. I understand that that effects their quarterly bonuses. Nice incentive for them, but site managers and techs get the short end of the stick most of the time. Requesting overtime shouldn't be similar to pulling teeth.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Work on individual site support. Offer more over time when needed.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Healthcare Response

    Oct 29, 2014Recruiting Manager/Marketing Leader- US Talent Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing your feedback as we work to improve GEHC.

Work at GE Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

GE Healthcare

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.