GE Oil & Gas Reviews

Updated August 19, 2014
Updated August 19, 2014
108 Reviews

3.5
108 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Lorenzo Simonelli
26 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Good experience in terms of career development (in 6 reviews)

  • Great place to learn people skills (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • Management doesn't listen, no growth, and work life balance is non-existant (in 5 reviews)

  • politics, inexperienced mangers, long hours, penny pinching, short term views, more concerned about the share price than anything else (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Pretty Good.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - ITLP Intern  in  Houston, TX
    Former Employee - ITLP Intern in Houston, TX

    I worked at GE Oil & Gas as an intern

    Pros

    Lots of emphasis on leadership growth, very easy to contact anyone in any of the GE businesses. I did not contact the CEO, but was able to interact quite a bit with the CIO & CTO of the company, everyone that worked there was very nice.

    Cons

    The pay felt low for an Oil & Gas position

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  2.  

    Managers need development in order to become successful leaders.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician  in  Schertz, TX
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Schertz, TX

    I have been working at GE Oil & Gas full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and exciting growth potential. On the cutting edge of LNG production. Domestic and international travel. An excellent IT program that provides all the tools you could need whatever your role is.

    Cons

    Salary offered was based on "plenty" of overtime, which hasn't been the case. A lack of a structured training program for new hires. Managers are overwhelmed and don't know what tools are available to them. A recent acquisition that has plenty of growth potential, but is currently suffering.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please sit down with your managers, mentor and train them. Your business and product are suffering, you're loosing good people. Identify the problem, develop a solution and implement.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3.  

    I have been with the company for nine months.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Controller  in  Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Project Controller in Houston, TX

    I have been working at GE Oil & Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The flexibility of work hours along with great benefits allows for a work/life balance. I don't see many opportunities in my personal business line for personal and career growth. Co-workers are nice.

    Cons

    I feel compensation is not equal nor high across departments.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Cultivate your team members to allow for their career growth.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Great growth opportunities available for those who are adaptable to change.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I have been working at GE Oil & Gas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GE is frequently recreating itself. Employees are encouraged to take risks and continue moving forward. Other benefits include Company values, professional development opportunities, global diversity, cross business technologies and a flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Frequent change. It is important to be adaptable and flexible. That can be a pro or con for some. GE is not a place to get "comfortable" but a place to challenge yourself.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Oil & Gas Response

    Jul 22, 2014Recruitment Marketing Leader

    We appreciate your response and review. You make some valid points about the way that GE operates today and we really appreciate that!

  6.  

    Great company to work for. Enviroment was friendly and laidback.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - EID Intern  in  Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - EID Intern in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at GE Oil & Gas as an intern for less than a year

    Pros

    GE is really great about hiring women engineers. Most women engineers I have ever seen at a company. Friendly coworkers many in their early to mid 20s. GE Oil and Gas also offers great rotational training programs that many other oil and gas companies do not provide.

    Cons

    New company in Oklahoma City still working out somethings since they are so new. Some training programs require relocation.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Managment was very friendly and welcoming. Coperate managers could be more organized a provide interns or new hires with more information regarding thier work timelines and expectations.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Oil & Gas Response

    Jul 22, 2014Recruitment Marketing Leader

    Thank you so much for your feedback. It is nice to see the efforts we are making are recognized. We appreciate the pros and cons that Glassdoor has for us and look to always improve for the future ... More

  7.  

    Still Learning to trust employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at GE Oil & Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I believe this segment of GE offers growth and opportunity. You can get out of this company what you are willing to put in. They have fitness incentives, decent salary, and tuition assistance. Plan to be here for many years.

    Cons

    Still have trust issues with some of the shop personnel.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Oil & Gas Response

    Jul 22, 2014Recruitment Marketing Leader

    Thank you for your review. We value the information and feedback left on Glassdoor.

  8.  

    great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Wireline Operator  in  Midland, TX
    Current Employee - Wireline Operator in Midland, TX

    I have been working at GE Oil & Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great work environment. family oriented. family is always first. benefits are ok. could be better.

    Cons

    low salary. work life balance. long hrs.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    switch to hourly pay for operators. it would slow down the turnover rate.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Oil & Gas Response

    Jul 22, 2014Recruitment Marketing Leader

    We are always striving to be better at GE. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly include it in our thoughts and we continue look to improve.

  9.  

    Great Company, not a great team

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Strategic Communications Intern  in  Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Strategic Communications Intern in Houston, TX

    I worked at GE Oil & Gas as an intern for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong, reputable organization
    compensation
    leadership (above my department)
    opportunity for development for full time employees

    Cons

    don't treat contractors with respect
    worked on a newly acquired organizations team and GE employees did not treat acquired companies team with decency and respect.
    communications manager did not invest in team's personal or professional growth

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Observe managers and rate them based on their team's successes, professional growth and of course failures, putting pressure on them to actually interact with and manage their team.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Oil & Gas Response

    Jul 22, 2014Recruitment Marketing Leader

    We appreciate your feedback. This is a great platform to see the transparency of the efforts we are doing good in and those that we need to improve on. Thank you for the feedback and know that it ... More

  10.  

    “Good company to work for.”

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - QA/QC Technician  in  Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - QA/QC Technician in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at GE Oil & Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GE Oil & GAS employment has been a very good to me. Management and Coworkers are very Friendly & supportive . Benefits and compensation are at the top of the industry. Good training programs for career development.

    Cons

    I can't think of any Cons at this time.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    GE Oil & Gas Response

    Jul 22, 2014Recruitment Marketing Leader

    Thank you so much for your positive review. It helps to have transparent reviews and feedback to always make GE better. Thanks!

  11.  

    Great place to develop and gain experience, but is cut-throat

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Lead Buyer  in  Deer Park, TX
    Former Employee - Lead Buyer in Deer Park, TX

    I worked at GE Oil & Gas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training opportunities, commitment to diverse workplace, good place to learn & develop, service style of leadership

    Cons

    Too driven by data and not facts on the ground, beware of recent acquisitions (especially mgmt from legacy business), can handle older employees harshly, can be mean spirited if you choose to leave. If you ever have an issue that might give you a possible HR complaint, they'll trash you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get GE mgmt moved in quickly with companies that are being integrated. Treat ur older employees with more dignity, don't treat employees that leave like they're traitors. People matter, treat employees better.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    GE Oil & Gas Response

    Jul 22, 2014Recruitment Marketing Leader

    We always look to improve and we do want to treat our employees with respect. Our employees are THE best part of our company. Thank you for your feedback as it is great to see such transparent ... More

Worked for GE Oil & Gas? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.