GE

  www.ge.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

GE Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.6 2,377 reviews

83% Approve of the CEO

GE Chairman & CEO Jeffrey R. Immelt

Jeffrey R. Immelt

(932 ratings)

77% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Provides ample opportunity for growth in career , work -life balance is encouraged(in 123 reviews)

  • Lots of opportunities to advance if you're willing to move around a lot(in 55 reviews)


Cons
  • Also most of the people i know who work here don't have much work life balance(in 132 reviews)

  • Can be long hours but if you are good at planning your day, you will be more than fine(in 76 reviews)

2,377 Employee Reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Assist Clients & Cardholders with resolving their fraud inquiries. Handle a high volume of phone calls where their accou

    Senior Fraud Representative (Former Employee) Kettering, OH

    ProsGE is a very good and strong company, I enjoyed working for GE and learned a lot.

    ConsGE has a lot of very good perks and promotions. Very strong office culture

    Advice to Senior ManagementManagement should always be hands on,

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    GE Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 26, 2014

    Thank you for your review. We value information like this to always strive to make GE better. Thank you!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Great people, enjoyable job, awesome benefits

    Vendor Manager (Current Employee) Dayton, NV

    ProsGood opportunity for mobility across business units (global).Talented people. Good company infrastructure. Great benefits. Free parking. Opportunity for bonuses.

    ConsHeavy workloads. Incoming work 24/7.

    Advice to Senior ManagementMake effort to instill fun back in workplace. Ease up on Six Sigma project requirements.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    GE Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 26, 2014

    Thank you for your response. We value this information to make GE even better! We will continue to work on our workload (especially since we are global and 24/7 is likely). We appreciate your ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Excellent

    Logistics (Current Employee)

    ProsGood flexible environment; Perks, and benefits,
    Most management is great; open about budgets and project longevity.
    Endless ability to train and grow.

    ConsInterns and Contract hires don't see a dime; overworked, and are also given alot less privileges.
     yet the company literally throws money at staffing agencies; this is a SERIOUSLY vulgar trend among larger companies. I know people working for GE through Staffing agency for 10 years now; and never got even an offer for full time. ....compucom employees for example.
    same goes for insurance, 401 and benefit reductions. Although GE is BETTER than most companies.
    Just like many large companies there are higher ups that I don't understand why I can't get paid too much money to do nothing.
    as in many other companies the division management really determines your personal satisfaction with the company. and just like many other companies internal work gets passed around without accomplishment.

    Advice to Senior Managementwould it really change if I wrote an opinion. That is the best advice. personal growth; but when your 'upper' in title do you really care what 'unders' think?

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Big Company, Big Opportunities, Easy to get lost

    Operations Manager (Current Employee) Detroit, MI

    ProsCompany is large, but don't let that discourage you from applying. Knowing someone internally will always help move your resume upward on the stack. People within GE rely heavily on connections (internally and externally).

    ConsCan't really think of any. The company does a good job of keeping everyone informed and aware of company goals and accomplishments.

    Advice to Senior ManagementKeep focus on the end goal of leaving the Capital/Money business and moving more into the infrastructure, technologies industries. At it's core, GE is really a software company backing the many products that it develops (trains, airplane engines, gas turbines, etc.).

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 26, 2014

    Thank you so much for your review. Very sound advice! We value this platform to show transparent feedback and help us to always improve.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    GE Experience in a nutshell

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsFlexible work environment and compensation

    ConsWorkload is brutal due to reduction of resources

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 26, 2014

    Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback such as this to see exactly how our employees (current and past) feel and to hopefully improve the company for the future. Thanks!

     

    GE

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsTechnology is interesting and varied.

    ConsLack of competent technical leadership.

    GE Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 26, 2014

    We appreciate your review.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Procurement

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsGreat company and great people. Lots of career development opportunities. Make sure to develop your network.

    ConsI can't think of any.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 26, 2014

    Thank you so much for your review. GE values our employees and always continues to develop people. We appreciate your response.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Lots of opportunity

    Project Manager (Current Employee) Greenville, SC

    ProsDifferent industries, lots to do, job can be as exciting as you want it to be

    ConsLots of overhead and BS

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 26, 2014

    We appreciate your review. Working at GE does present many diverse opportunities. We value the feedback.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Continuously Challenging

    IT Project Manager (Current Employee) Belleville, MI

    ProsLots of opportunity for exposure to the cutting edge technology. Full ownership of program or projects.

    ConsBecause of the enormity of the organization, it is sometimes difficult to implement major changes and improvements in processes.

    Advice to Senior ManagementOpportunities for promotions may be somewhat limited.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 26, 2014

    We appreciate your review. We always strive to make GE better. We know that being a big company we need to encourage communication like this to provide a transparent platform to gain feedback ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Good experience

    Senior Consultant (Former Employee) Stamford, CT

    ProsGreat brand and reputation. Excellent training programs. High quality people throughout the organization. Even if GE is not for you long-term, it's a great stepping stone to other opportunities.

    ConsBureaucracy, which would be virtually unavoidable in a company of this size. GE handles it pretty well though, all things considered.

    Advice to Senior ManagementJunior employees are eager to make a meaningful contribution and would benefit from more opportunities to do so.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    GE Recruitment Marketing Leader responded to this review

    Jul 26, 2014

    Thank you so much for your review. Very sound advice! We value this platform to show transparent feedback and help us to always improve.

Worked for GE? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.