Gannett Reviews

Updated July 1, 2015
517 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
2.4
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Bob Dickey
180 Ratings

Pros
  • Worked with some very good people who wanted to do a great job but were often hindered by management from doing so (in 15 reviews)

  • Work-life balance is pretty good for everyone outside of the sports department (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Having a healthy work/life balance is something that's frowned upon (in 8 reviews)

  • Upper management routinely blamed lower level employees when something went wrong (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

517 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    Principal Designer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal User Experience Designer in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Principal User Experience Designer in McLean, VA

    I worked at Gannett full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Great team. Great Leadership. Very good benefits.

    Cons

    I really didn't find any cons.

    Gannett Response

    Jun 30, 2015Project Manager

    Thank you for the feedback!


  2. Consumer Marketing and Sales Manager

    Current Employee - Consumer Marketing and Sales Manager in Saddle Brook, NJ
    Current Employee - Consumer Marketing and Sales Manager in Saddle Brook, NJ

    I have been working at Gannett full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay and paid time off.

    Cons

    Little career development opportunities with the company.

    Gannett Response

    Jun 30, 2015Project Manager

    We hope that more career development opportunities will be coming your way with the #NewGannett.


  3. Helpful (1)

    gannett

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in New Brunswick, NJ
    Current Employee - Marketing in New Brunswick, NJ

    I have been working at Gannett

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Diverse workplace, talented coworkers, stimulating, good training

    Cons

    High pressure, rigid management, limited income

    Advice to Management

    Needs more flexible working conditions and hours, remote work

    Gannett Response

    Jun 30, 2015Project Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and your recommendations on how we can make our workplace better.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. It was good while it lasted

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Washington, DC

    I worked at Gannett

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Exciting company - high profile. Great name to have on your resume. Good connections to have - the Gannett/USAToday name opened doors. Was excited to be part of a new program introduced in 2012 that encouraged innovation. I think there is a good future in the split of the the companies but I mourn the people and programs that were cast off trying to cut costs. There are little pods of genius and great teams hidden within the catacombs of this museum of a company. Having a woman CEO is a good move, so on point right now. I wish they would use this to gain some traction for women, not continue to promote the "good old boys" business model of newspapers. I was thankful to have the opportunities they gave me, though, and appreciated the education and training.

    Cons

    Old school thinking almost paralyzed this company. Exec. board is quick to approve innovation and cool initiatives (digital products, TV programming, community service) but then lets them almost die from neglect. Extremely poor communication within departments for a "communications" company. There was very little enthusiasm for learning or sharing between divisions. No central networking system (they tried Yammer, to a horrible adoption rate). No one ever knew "who did what" on other teams.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to strive for innovation in the new TEGNA. Don't overlook the talent you have buried in small divisions.

    Gannett Response

    Jun 30, 2015Project Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and constructive criticism. We hope to cultivate more innovation and collaboration as part of the #NewGannett culture.


  6. Office job

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Gannett full-time

    Pros

    Stable hours, good co-workers, good benefits and a nice campus.

    Cons

    It was a fairly typical large office job with compartmentalized work.


  7. Company Review

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Gannett

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Very fast pace work environment, pushy with hitting numbers, a lot of outgoing and incoming calls. Low Pay and decent work environment.

    Cons

    GreatVery fast pace work environment, pushy with hitting numbers, a lot of outgoing and incoming calls. Low Pay and decent work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Grand


  8. Helpful (1)

    Great company trying to remain so

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Gainesville, VA
    Former Employee - Director in Gainesville, VA

    I worked at Gannett (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of internal opportunities for moving to different jobs. If you want to be in a company that will still be around in five years, Gannett will be. The company is splitting its print/digital side from its broadcast side this year, which will create growth opportunities and new jobs at both ventures. Of course, it will also create uncertainties, too.

    Cons

    The company has had to lay off people in its core newspaper business as digital has become more important and ad revenues from publishing have declined.

    Loyalty is not necessarily valued, and older employees are subtly and not-so-subtly shown the door.

    Advice to Management

    You're best when you do things at large scale. You're least effective when you chase others.

    Gannett Response

    Jun 30, 2015Project Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and constructive criticism. As we embark on a new day with #NewGannett, we look forward to shifting cultural paradigms in the way we operate as a publishing company, and ... More


  9. Master Control Op

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Gannett full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    I can not think of any pros regarding this company.

    Cons

    No career ladder available. No cross-training. Dead end job.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your employees instead of the bottom line.


  10. Good place.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Gannett

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good place to work. Enjoyed working there.

    Cons

    None. Enjoyed working there for years.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring gifted people

    Gannett Response

    Jun 30, 2015Project Manager

    Thank you for the feedback!


  11. Helpful (2)

    Need new job

    Current Employee - Digital Graphic Artist II in Des Moines, IA
    Current Employee - Digital Graphic Artist II in Des Moines, IA

    I have been working at Gannett full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fun environment that gives you the best opportunities to improve your skill set. Knowledgeable staff that are willing to help you achieve your goals. New building that has a well designed interior. Good benefits. Good for first job out of college.

    Cons

    Not much for room advancement. Pay wages are low and are not competitive to the current job market.

    Gannett Response

    Jun 30, 2015Project Manager

    We hope that the introduction of new structures and processes in the #NewGannett will provide you with opportunities for advancement and development.



Showing 517 of 532 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.